Fasthosts Internet reviews

Fasthosts Internet reviews

Acceptable
6.3
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
266 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Fasthosts Customer Service "Flying High" First Class

I have just spent time talking to your customer service representative Arvel
The call as you know was to the Philippines, he was most helpful articulate and was a credit to your business, without his help I would not have been able to rectify my problems with my website, which without the site being live for the Easter Holidays would have been most costly.

My sincere thanks
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

David, I'm really pleased that you got all your issues sorted and that you are now live in time for the holidays. I'll pass on your feedback to Arval and make sure he knows what a difference he made. Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review and please do let us know if we can help with anything else.

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Helpful & Responsive!

The team help guide me through a tricky patch on the control panel with ease - thanks Karen!
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Chris, thanks very much for your review. I'm glad the team was able to help out and you have everything working perfectly now. Please let us know if we can help further.

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

After 3 years of service you're nothing but a number...

I Have been a customer of Fast Hosts for 3 years now and a reseller for 2 years, however over the past 6 months the company is failing to deliver!

The Technical support department are continually failing to resolve tickets with regards to simple requests and the attitude and tone of voice used by some technical support advisers is disgusting!

I have had enough of being passed from pillar to post with FastHosts and having just registered a large amount of new servers with them its a major disadvantage to be stuck in a situation where they've taken my money and are now not offering the service they advertised.

It doesn't go without saying that when I joined FastHosts the level of support from Sales to Technical Support was consistent but since losing 2 account managers and some staff being lost in the technical support department, the level of support being offered by Fast Hosts is not as advertised!

Also the attitude and approachability of department managers is disgusting, having spoken to 2 in the past who came across as rude and dis-respectful, I am taking the quick exit and preparing to migrate my entire account away from Fast Hosts.

Sam Ikiniya however has to be one of the best Account Managers since joining Fast Hosts. He tailored my requests each and every time and was always prepared to help, but what they make up for in sales "LACKS" hugely in technical support.

Sorry Guys but its time to move!

You Haven't listened,
You Won't Listen!
I have a business I need to run!
I need reliability!
Fast Hosts can't offer this at the moment!
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Byron,

I’m disappointed to hear that you haven’t been happy with the level of support you have been given in recent months. I have discussed your account with our support team to get a little background and it would appear that the team has previously given you levels of support usually expected with a fully managed service. I understand that this has caused higher expectations but this is a level of support we unfortunately cannot sustain nor offer to all our other customers. As an unmanaged provider we only offer support for hardware and infrastructure and I understand that it is neither of these which are the cause of your issues. If you’d like further clarification, please let me know.

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Love the simplicity

Awesome site to be able to check web names. If anything it gave different results searching through google to searching within fast hosts.
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Thanks for a great review Kevan. I'm glad we could help, enjoy your new domain extension!

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Very good site with easy to follow instructions

As a novice to this sort of web building, I was very pleased with the way I was able to follow the instructions and build my site.

On the down side. I published the site and then was not able to see it on the web. it was not until I rang the support line that I was told it could take up to 8 weeks to show on the google search engine. This was very disappointing and should be made clear from the start, as I spent a lot of wasted time trying to find the site. Also I have to pay for something which I cannot get to.
I still dont know when I can expect to see the site on a search engine.!!!!!! NOT GOOD
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Colin, I understand you spoke with one of our senior agents who has discussed the SEO element with you further. We don't restrict visibility of sites but it does just take Google that time to index the site. If you have any more questions, please get in touch and we'll be happy to discuss further.

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Crap

At first they did not register my domain name and I had to chase them up by email and by phone. The person on the end of the helpline did not listen, or could not understand what I was saying. Then they got the spelling of the domain name wrong - despite having the correct spelling on my chase-up email. Bloody awful service.
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Alden, I'm sorry that our support fell short of your expectations in this instance. I have spoken with the senior support agent who spoke with you yesterday and I can assure you that we will pass your feedback on and hopefully use it to streamline our processes.

Kind regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

very fast and good service

Decent site quick n easy
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Nathan, thanks for such a positive review. Enjoy using your service.

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent Service and fantastic staff

I spoke to Karen to help me with adding privacy to my domains, she was concise, quick and very pleasant.
Quick call and all sorted. Cant ask more!
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Vicky, I'm glad to hear you got everything set up and working so easily. Thanks for such great feedback.

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

EASY TO USE, EXCELLENT SERVICE

EASY TO USE, EXCELLENT SERVICE
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Zia, Thanks very much for you review!

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

premium number for support, and Philippines call centre takes 20 minutes to understand a question

I have been fastshosts.co.uk for over 2 years now, I am happy with the service as for the price is concerned, but I am very unhappy with their premium 0844 support number, you hardly ask for help once every blue moon, this premium number costs a lot of money, and then their Philippines call centre takes at least 20 minutes to understand a question just to make you receive a shocking bill

I would not recommend their service to anyone, unless they change their premium support number to a free number to dial and then their money oriented Philippines call center can even take 1 hour to understand the question as long as I am not paying if they do not understand simple plain english. I have also learnt that they take on a normal call 21 minutes (as in my case), because they earn from holding customers, repeating the name, account number, etc etc, and tell you 30 times at least that they are about to help you etc.

Its terrible, because i have suggested them previously to have a free number, I have 9 or more accounts with them, and I have to pay when i get support, thats terrible

I might shift my accounts with another provider which can actually afford a free phone number for users which need support
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Luqman, I'm sorry that you feel disappointed with the support we have provided for you. There are several ways of contacting our support team:

•You can call
•Use our live chat facility
•Submit a support ticket via the support site
•Email support directly (using the email address registered to your account)

If you do prefer to call you can call 0844 5830 777 which is charged between 1p and 13p per minute for landline customers- this varies depending on your provider. However calls from a mobile are typically between 20p and 41p per minute again depending on the provider.

You can use our local number 01452 541499 this is a normal, landline number which is charged at standard rates.

Alternatively, you could upgrade your hosting to Platinum hosting http://www.fasthosts.co.uk/web-hosting/business-web-hosting/business-platinum/ which features UK based support.

Over the coming months we will be introducing 03 phone numbers which will cost no more than a national rate call to an 01 number.

If you want to discuss any of these options please get in touch.

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Very Fast Domain Registration

Needed to register a .co.uk and fasthosts seemed like they had a resonable price
Was set-up and working in 25 minuites
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Adam, thanks very much for your review. If you need any help with your domain don't hesitate to contact customer support who are available 24 hours a day.

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Don't touch with a bargepole!

I had a contract for hosting with Fasthosts but never used it as someone else hosted us. When the contract was due to end, I contacted Fasthosts by email to cancel and duly cancelled my direct debit. I then got a bullying letter from them, denying that they had received my cancellation and insisting that I pay the arrears. I challenged them but to no avail and I have since had a couple of emails from them demanding payment.

I then read some pretty negative views from others who found themselves in the same situation and wished I had seen these reviews before I even signed up to them.

I've now tried to renew the domain name but have been told that I cannot renew until I pay these 'outstanding invoices'. I again insist that I do not owe Fasthosts any money but it looks as if I will lose my domain name unless I cave in to their demands - this is something that on principle I will not do.

A bad experience and I shall take my business elsewhere as I won't be bullied or blackmailed like this!
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Dianne, We will always cancel services if we are advised to do so by the customer, subject to contract periods. In this case we have no record of the cancellation I’m afraid, so we were not aware of your wishes. I am sorry that we haven't been able to resolve this satisfactorily for you.

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Good and fast service.

Good and fast service
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Kutiwa, thank you very much for your review. I'm happy to hear everything is working well for you. Enjoy your services!

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Helpful, supportive and polite

The support team at Fasthosts are always helpful and knowledgeable when offering their help and support. Being a new site they have helped me plenty of times when in need of technical assistance.
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Thanks Perry, It's great to hear you've had such a great experience. Good luck with the new site and get in touch whenever you need to, we're always more than happy to help.

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

A superb service that ia miles better than my previous hosting company.

I had been having major problems with the hosting company. Even to the extent they caused my business website to be off line for 3 weeks. I switched to Fasthosts and within 1 week had hoting, e-mail up and running. A few days later I built and published a new website using their Websitebuilder system. Fasthosts support has been excellent throughout. Highly recommend ed.
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Maurice, that's great news. Thank you so much for letting us know. It's always great to hear about customers whose expectations we have not only met but exceeded!

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Incompetent, Bullying, Intimidating.

My wife used Fasthosts and it was "OK" until she tried to cancel the subscription. Fasthost were contacted to cancel (but they have no record of this!). The DD was cancelled but Fasthosts tried to take another subscription, which was thankfully declined by the bank. Fasthosts then wrote to her saying she has to pay up for the next year's subscription. A few days later she was sent a letter that said

"Unless payment is received within the next 7 days we will have no alternative than to pass your details to a debt collection agency for recovery of your arrears, in addition to the full value of your remaining contract. You will also be liable for any additional charges incurred as result of this recovery, and you should note this may affect your credit rating". Wow, heavy handed or what. For clarity, this is not payment due for services already received, this was demanding payment for services for the next year!!

My wife was freaked out at this and we both felt intimidated as we were re-mortgaging and didn't want this to affect our ability to get a mortgage, but I decided to tackle fasthosts on this. I rang their customer support line and was eventually put through to 7 (yes SEVEN) different handlers all of whom couldn't put me through to the right department. Eventually out of desperation I asked that someone contact me back, which they did. The upshot so far is that, after a tedious email exchange, they are forcing me to pay up or suffer the consequences. I have written to their customer services department and copied in their General Manager (Simon Yeoman) in the UK, their CEO (Ralph Dommermuth) in Germany, The Sunday TImes and BCC Watchdog, so we'll see if this helps. I cant believe we're having to do this to avoid paying (in advance!) for a service we don't want anymore . Is this a new low in customer service/rip-off?

I forgot to mention that they also wanted to charge me £20 plus VAT for "late payment"... seriously!!!

Account is UK506584097
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Please can you edit your review and add your account number or ticket number. I'll have a look at the notes on your account and investigate these issues for you. I'm so sorry if you have felt intimidated or uncomfortable at all and will make sure that this is looked into.

Jackona, we have a senior member of our support team trying to get in touch with you to try and right this situation. They've left a message but will try again if we don't hear from you.

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Superb technical help for a non-technical person!!

The lady I spoke to was polite, professional and reassuring. She guided me through the various steps (simple when you know how!) with a perfect result for my initial query. She then went on to help with merging accounts, another seemingly difficult task. Well impressed!!!
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Glenn, thanks very much for your feedback. I'm glad it's all been plain sailing. Do let us know if you have anything else we can help with. Enjoy your services!

Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Excellent service

As a technophobe, I was guided through the set up of my web address with ease. Everything was explained in detail and the IT specialist was extremely helpful. I couldn't have done it on my own, so thank you very much
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Thanks for your review Allyson, I'm glad you found everything so easy to use. Remember our support team is available 24/7 and they'll be able to help with any questions you might have, so don't be afraid of asking for help.

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Shocking incompetence, a nightmare to deal with

I had to do something pretty straightforward that I've done several times in the past - set up a testing environment for a new site. I wanted to minimise downtime by having the new and live sites running at the same time. According to fasthosts this very obvious and reasonable request is IMPOSSIBLE. And they certainly made it that way. I spent TWELVE HOURS and spoke to no less than FOUR different people. They all told me something different and almost always incorrect.
The first person I spoke to [Name] gave me the wrong information about a hosting package, and then later emailed having disabled the old hosting package and set up nothing to replace it. Result - website down. I replied to his message, but got an automated reply refusing my instructions because mine is the technical contact email and not the main account admin. I replied again via the support site and nothing happened for over an hour until I called again. This time I got the hosting package set up, but no one bothered to complete the site migration properly. Website still down. After another HOUR ON THE PHONE, I finally got the website restored - FOUR HOURS DOWN. But it wasn't working properly, and spent two hours fixing it.
Then I discovered that the new hosting package doesn't allow me to change permissions on directories, and I need a different kind. Another half an hour on the phone asking AGAIN for a live site here and a test site there. SO SIMPLE! No it's not possible? WHY? WHY?
me: Why can't you point a subdomain at a new hosting package and leave the existing one in place?
Slowhosts: 'Because a subdomain would be forwarded'
REALLY? REALLY YOU THINK?
me: 'Do you realise that what you said made no sense? Do you realise that?'
slowhosts: 'please wait' then 'we can point a subdomain at a new hosting package'
REALLY? REALLY? YOU THINK? WHY COULDN'T YOU DO THIS TEN - 10 - TEN!!!!! HOURS AGO?
absolutely appalling.
[Name] -[Sensitive information]
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Talia, I'm so sorry to hear that you've had such difficulties getting your new site up and running. Please can you edit your review to include your account number or a support ticket number so we can review the details and see where this went wrong? I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience.

Thanks Talia- we have been investigating your account and the support you have been given and agree that it fell below our required standards. A senior member of our support team will call you today to discuss further. Please accept our apologies.

Kind Regards,
Donna
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

good customer service

Good friendly and speedy service
Fasthosts Internet

Reply from Fasthosts Internet

Thanks for the review Tony. Enjoy your services!

Kind Regards,
Donna

Fasthosts Internet Details

About Fasthosts

Fasthosts has delivered market-leading online services to the home, home office and SME markets since 1999. We have a successful track record in providing high value, award winning products.

Visit Fasthosts Internet

Contact information

Call us on: 0844 583 0777
We live here: Discovery House, 154 Southgate Street
GL1 2EX Gloucester
United Kingdom

Category

Fasthosts Internet is ranked 145 out of 182 in the category

Our Promise to You

Commitments that add value to you and that you can trust.

At Fasthosts we believe in making commitments that are of value to you, and that you can trust. We want you to be assured that you are in safe hands and that we care about you and your business. There is, of course, still lots for us to do. As we continue to listen and learn from customers, we’re sure our charter will continue to adapt and grow. To view our 6 customer promises visit... http://bit.ly/FasthostsCharter

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.