Groupon UK reviews

Groupon UK reviews

Very low
1.8
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
427 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Groupon don't tell you all the facts about booking a hotel Phone Ticket-complaint (request #4886157

Phone Ticket-complaint (request #4886157 Don't book a hotel with Groupon.
I spent over £400 on a hotel break in Paris. I contacted the hotel to book a room for two nights on the 27th of December 2013. The hotel said there was a vacancy but refused to honour the voucher. I pointed out that the date I had asked for was not a date excluded by the voucher. They just said they would not accept the booking.
I contacted Groupon, asked for my money back and said I wanted to make a complaint about the hotel. I was promised that the person investigating the complaint would be in touch.
Groupon refused to refund my money and said " all deals are subject to availability".
Although I told them that the hotel did have availability just would not honour the voucher, they said that the hotel had a limit on how many Groupon voucher holders they could take at any one time. I asked them where that was written in the terms and conditions and they refused to answer the question. Just said they would give me a credit but not a refund.
If the hotel did have this policy then it should have been in the Groupon deal T & C's.
Whatever you do don't book a hotel break with Groupon, the hotel and pick and choose what dates to accept you (maybe never) and cite the excuse that they are full of Groupon voucher holders.
The Customer Service manager was Neil S
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

worst costumer services ever

oredered a watch off of groupon, waited 3 weeks even though it says it will be delivered in 5 days, nothing, contacted groupon, was told to wait another week, joke!! waited a week still nothing, 4 times iv emailed them 4 times iv been fobbed off, complete utter joke of a company, its the its not our fault, so im ment to lose my money, no dont think so, next step small claims court, will never use them again...
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Do not use Groupon!

I bought 2 silver necklaces for my daughters. One turned up and was bent! The silver was so flimsy that the necklace had obviously bent in transit. I phoned Groupon straightaway and was told to email the company, Sivercraft Design.
I emailed the company (a UK email address) and got a response from, I believe, Poland. Basically, they would replace but not refund.
I telephoned Groupon to explain that my issue was about the quality of the silver and said that a replacement would still be of a poor quality. Groupon informed me that they vetted all suppliers and that no one else had complained! REALLY!?! As a token of goodwill they offered me a £5 voucher. I offered to send them the necklaces to look at the quality but they said they were a voucher company and did not wish to see the goods. So customer service at Groupon is pure lip service - they have your money and they do not care about the product.

I am now left with 2 necklaces that I do not believe are fit for purpose. I will not be giving them to my daughters as I do not believe that they are safe. I will never do business with Groupon again and say to anyone interested in listening, BEWARE WHAT YOU BUY WITH THIS COMPANY. The only word I can use is UNSCRUPULOUS!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

I've never had a problem

Ordered many times through groupon and the goods have always arrived within a week. Great site and I shall continue to use them..
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Spammers. Unethical company. Avoid.

Unsubscribed from their email (to which I never even subscribed) three times and still receiving one daily. They obviously care nothing for their image and won't be around for much longer.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

shabby customer service

I bought a set of 50 led solar lights, and when received they were faulty. I contacted them straight away, by recorded delivery. I wanted an exchange of which I was told wasnt possible as they would only be able to refund. I contacted them a few times to ask about the refund to be told they hadnt received back yet. I got my tracking number and the goods and been signed for a week and a half previously. I told the girl on the phone I had emailed a link with the signature and she very patronisingly told me she couldnt open the link properly !! I then suggested I fax it to her, and she said she never had a fax number to send it to. She then told me I needed to send her a proof of postage!! How do I do this with no fax to send it to???? She then informed me that she needed confirmation from the warehouse on the return before she could do a refund. They have had the goods for a week and a half already and not confirmed it!!!!!
My frustration got so much that I told them not to bother refunding me as I never had the patience any longer to chase them for £7.99.
I most certainly will not be buying goods from them again!!! Far far too much hassle!!!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Customer service is fantastic

I have used Groupon many times and I have had a couple of issues. Their customer service is fantastic and resolve my issues within 24 hours unlike wowcher who i made the mistake of using once
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Worst company to ever do business with rude, greedy and unproffesional

We had worked with Groupon on and off for 3 years and to start with even though we were paying a lot for the advertising we got quite good expose so we just ignored the cost but as time has gone on, the service they provide has got worst we have had to wait weeks to get paid and this after they have had the money from our clients weeks if not months before hand , no business provides a service and then should have to wait weeks to get paid and then only after threatening legal action do we get paid.

And to add insult in injury there staff seem to think they can tell us what we should or shouldn't do and expect us to work for free,why they reap the rewards. We own our business and paid them for advertising that is all. When we dared to argue about what service we should offer they will argue with us and push us to keep lowering the price groupon are only interested in them selves not the partners and not the customers and the service they provide is disgusting. They seem to forget that without the businesses working with them and the customers buying the goods and services there would be no groupon they should try remembering that.
Groupon UK

Reply from Groupon UK

Hi Diane, further to your feedback we would like to investigate what has happened. For us to do this would you please send all the details to sm.support@groupon.co.uk and one of our team will be able to forward your issue to the correct people. We are very sorry to hear that you are not happy and we will do all we can to help. Thank you. Groupon UK.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Unscrupulous company who have charged me twice for goods

I ordered a mixer from Groupon earlier in the month which duly arrived and was good. A week later I received an email to say the mixer was being delivered. I quickly emailed back to say this was a mistake. However it seems to take this company several days to reply to emails and a courier tried to deliver a second mixer which I refused to accept. I then found that two payments of £150 had been taken by Groupon from my account. After numerous emails from them stating that I need to provide 'proof of postage' I am no nearer gaining my refund on their mistake! I shall never deal with Groupon again and I will make sure I tell as many people as possible about the unreliability of this company to add insult to injury I now find that the said mixer is available, at Robert Dyas, for £50 less anyway!
Groupon UK

Reply from Groupon UK

Hi Anne,

We are very sorry to hear that you have had this issue and we would like to help. Please send this comment to sm.support@groupon.co.uk and add Trustpilot into the subject line. One of our dedicated customer service agents will contact you with a resolution. Once again we are very sorry and we will hopefully be able to turn this around for you. Thank you Groupon UK.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Worst Customer Service Ever!!!

I received a faulty item from a seller that Groupon used. It took 2 months for them to give me a refund for the product with me emailing them every day.

Groupon would not always reply and update me on the situation so thats why I had to email every day.

The company that I received the faulty product from was "www.supavalue.biz" and they would not respond to me or Groupon. Groupon took 2 months to tell me this.

The first thing Groupon asked me todo was send the item back to www.supavalue.biz.

After doing this at my expense when i finally got a refund Groupon told me that they would not refund the postage cost. They told me to take this up with www.supavalue.biz which they knew would be impossible as they were not even able to get hold of them.

I have now vowed never to use Groupon again as i never want to go through the hassle of their ridiculous returns process.

They are one of the worst companies I have used online.
Groupon UK

Reply from Groupon UK

Hi Kyle,

We are sorry to hear that you have had this experience, please send the details to sm.support@groupon.co.uk and one of our customer service agents will contact you. Please also put Trustpilot in the subject line. Thank you Groupon UK.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Terrible customer service process

Firstly, I have bought a few things from Groupon which were all fine, until I had to call them about one of the merchants.

I bought a voucher for some tickets to a murder mystery event on a particular date. The instructions say you must confirm your booking with merchant a minimum of a week prior to the event, however it is impossible to reach the merchant as they never answer or return calls left on their machine and their email addresses don't work. I reported this to Groupon and they said it will take 10 working days for them to investigate at which point I must call them back for the result as they will not call me. About a week later I got an email from groupon saying they need my email address and phone number to pass to the merchant which I provided (obviously they already have this and could surely have asked for permission to share details when the complaint was raised).

I waited another 10 days or so and called their call centre again and they said that it had been passed only 2 working days ago to customer care who would need another 10 working days to investigate! I complained as this would take us beyond the date that the event was taking place, the agent I spoke to was unhelpful and a bit rude and said I either wait or have groupon vouchers - I actually just wanted to go to the event so I said should I go or not as we don't know if it is tracking place but the agent just said she could not advise and that the voucher did not expire for a few months - how could this be when the event was in less than 2 weeks? I asked for a manager who was a lot more pleasant and said he understood and he would raise the issue again and explain that I need an answer in less than 10 working days as it is urgent, he also offered to credit me£10 as a gesture. This entire conversation took over 40 minutes on the phone.

The very next day I received an email from groupon saying as they haven't heard from me they will be closing my enquiry! I could not believe it, I replied saying I had spent over 40 minutes on the phone only yesterday and it was ridiculous as I was promised this would be dealt with not closed, I requested someone call me to discuss it, but it has been 4 days now and I have not heard anything - even though they advertise emails will be replied to within 24 hours.

Basically I've been waiting almost a month and am no further forward, I don't know if I should turn up for the event or not. Clearly groupon's processes are poorly organised and not customer friendly.

It appears that if the merchant is good groupon is fine to buy from, but if you have a problem don't expect groupon to help!
Groupon UK

Reply from Groupon UK

Hi Suzanna, we would like to help you with this situation please copy and paste this review and email it to sm.support@groupon.co.uk confirming your email address of all previous correspondence. We will then be able to look at the history of this issue and work on finding a resolution for you. Please put Trustpilot in the subject box. We would like to apologise and look forward to finding a resolution for you. Many thanks, Groupon UK.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

abysmal

I saw an advert for a luxury mattress at a great discount via groupon. Paid for it and was told that the freight company would contact me to arrange delivery. Two days wasted waiting for an item that was never going to arrive. Freight company couldn't really give a damn and worst of all Groupon have told the supplier to cancel my order !!! The cost of all of the phone calls, constantly being held in a queue or being put on hold, being passed from pillar to post has been a nightmare, let alone my partner having to take a day off work and then a wasted Saturday waiting for an item that's never going to arrive !!! To say I'm livid with this shower is an understatement. Groupon sort yourselves out. Trading standards and watch dog are only a phone call away.
Groupon UK

Reply from Groupon UK

Hi Jacques, we would like to hear from you please email sm.support@groupon.co.uk and put Trustpilot in the subject line. We sincerely apologise for the negative experience you have had to go through and we will do all we can to turn this around. Thank you, Groupon UK.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

my money is gone, but the goods nowhere over month

I've ordered goods through Groupon and immediately paid. Groupon promises to send the goods within 5 working days, but now I'm waiting over month. I constantly am sending emails to Groupon, but I get a reply that the goods arrive in a few days. This is incredibly stupid. If you want to have a quiet nerves, leave Groupon.
Groupon UK

Reply from Groupon UK

Hi Jan,

Please send an email to sm.support@groupon.co.uk and we will investigate what has happened. We sincerely apologise for the delay in you getting your product. Please also put Trustpilot in the subject line. Thank you, Groupon UK.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

This is a scam. Avoid please

There is a NO STAR rating.

I bought a Groupon voucher for Swedish Massage and Facial at 7 Amen Corner Exquisite Hair and Beauty. I tried calling the merchant to book to have my treatment. Their number was constantly engaged. I finally got through on Saturday lunchtime. I was informed that they are fully booked up and to go back to Groupon for a refund. I contacted Groupon on Monday for a refund. They informed me that they will investigate the matter and get back to me. I heard nothing back and rang Groupon again. They informed me that they have contacted the merchant who advised that they have plenty of availability and so Groupon cannot refund the voucher. They have asked for a written evidence that the merchant is fully booked. How on earth am I going to get this from a business that cannot be bothered to take calls from customers and have now taken their phone off the hook.

I have now been trying the merchants telephone number and it is constantly engaged. I have gone onto their website and cannot book the treatment via the website as the treatment is not available in the drop down options. I have sent them a message and am still waiting for a call back. The only option left is for me to drive down the 9 - 10 mile trip to contact them face to face.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Avoid - seems like a scam

I thought I had bought a leather satchel - a great deal, was really looking forwards to receiving my bag. But although I'd put in all my details, and the transaction, made through Paypal (which I never have a problem with) seemed to go through ok, I received no email receipt.

Seemed odd, so I looked at my Groupon account and saw the order was recorded there. Phoned up Groupon - who said they'd had problems with the transaction and immediately cut me off. Checked paypal and no record of the transaction.

Phoned back. This time they asked for a credit card. I said no - I didn't trust them, it was my first experience of using Groupon, please use Paypal. Then it transpired that the bag was only now available in a different size and colour. They asked again for a card and I said no and asked them to cancel my Groupon account. They said they would - but cut me off again. I think this is a company to avoid.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Unbelievably shocked at the racketeering

Last night I bought the voucher for a few nights in Dublin at the Cassidy hotel. This morning I got the voucher which I thought was very good and quick, so at lunchtime I thought I would book with clear sky's holidays to get in quick. After spending nearly an hour on the phone I was told that Cassidy's was booked up, no matter which week he checked and I couldn't go from my chosen airport gatwick. I was offered stansted which is a long way for me, I live in Brighton, which would make a weekend trip start to be a chore. When I queried the availability of both hotel and airport I was told to read the small print and was only if available. Having rung only 5 hours after the groupon was issued I was shocked. He told me that going from gatwick was very expensive and would incur extra cost, well I didn't read anywhere that gatwick would cost more. Also I was offered a hotel 20 minutes by car outside of town. I said I wanted to stay in town at the Cassidy, which is why I booked, and was told "no no this is a very expensive hotel and booked up"??? Again I queried this and was told I could stay there if I paid an extra £59 per person. Having been put on hold countless times and getting very confused as I kept getting so many conflicting things being said I paid the extra to stay and go from exactly the reasons why I bought the groupon on the first place!!
Now to add insult to injury I've just looked at aer lingus and Cassidy's on booking.com and found out I could have booked it myself £60 cheaper!!!
Groupon UK

Reply from Groupon UK

Hi Sara,

We are very sorry you have not had a good experience with this Groupon and we would like to investigate what has happened. Please email us at sm.support@groupon.co.uk and we will be happy to help. Groupon UK.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Don't expect a delivery once you have paid.

I recently bought orderd a memory foam mattress from groupon and four days later received an email saying my order had been dispatched and will be with me "shortly" which included tracking info. I logged into the courier site to track the delivery only to be told it's the wrong tracking code.
After many unsuccessful attempts to contact the couriers I got back in touch with groupon only to be forwarded an email saying it is being looked into.
The money was taken for payment within hours of the order almost a week has past since the first dispatched email saying it will be with me " shortly "
I still have no idea when or if I'm going to receive my order.
I would say if you don't mind paying for goods that you may or may not receive after waiting in for days and being fobbed off when trying to find out what has happend to the items you have been charged for, then yeah use groupon.
Personally it has cost me alot more to use this company with lost days at work and phone calls to premium rate numbers to at best get an answer machine at best than it would have done to go to a shop and pay the full price for the item.
In short A RUBBISH UNRELIABLE COMPANY and still no mattress.
Groupon UK

Reply from Groupon UK

Hi Gavin,

Please email us at sm.support@groupon.co.uk so we can investigate this further. Thank you.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Never again, nightmare

short story - I purchased a sofa bed to allow more room in spare bedroom, received email advising out for delivery allow 5 days so disposed of a perfectly good bed and mattress to make room for the delivery of sofa bed, 5 days passed still no sofa bed. called the merchant and was advised 10-14 days. waited 10-14 still no sofa called merchant to find out they didnt have sofa for me as they had damaged some that had been delivered and was unsure if they would restock. Took this up with Groupon and was advised I would receive my delivery as they were advised of how much stock was available and that my order had been accepted they passed to escalation department. No news from escalation department after a couple of days so called again and was told allow 7-10 days well this was now over a month since purchasing the voucher. Called again after 10 days and still no further forward, called again after another 2 days and received email advising that Merchant had been trying to call me to deliver the sofa, advised groupon this was rubbish and that the merchant had not been in contact at all. Gave groupon all my contact details and still no call regarding delivery, was emailing them everyday advising no contact from Merchant and received an email advising that they had refunded without even asking ( in other words was to much trouble for them to sort with Merchant) I advised them that I wanted compensation to cover the bed and mattress that had been disposed of as they sent the email advising this was out for delivery and would not have disposed of the bed if this had not been sent. Groupon sent email advising that they would credit my account £20.00 as a good will gesture ( are they having a laugh ) yeah £20.00 will really go far to buying a new bed and mattress to replace the one that was disposed of, The refund for the sofa wouldnt even come close to the cost of the bed and mattress, they advised me to look out for more deals on sofa beds on Groupon ( they are having a laugh) do you really think I would purchase another sofa from Groupon.

But I did report the Groupon/my city deal & Bed & Mattress World to the Office of Fair Trading as they already had a case with Groupon in 2012. This is now closed but the OFT is monitoring complaints about its trading practices. So would encourage all that have had problems with Groupon/My City Deal to contact the Office of Fair Trading.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Not bad experience for me in general

I think I'm a bit shocked when I see so many bad reviews. I think for me, in general, I've got a not so bad experience. I have been a customer of Groupon UK for a long time, bought quite a lot of things from them, and also cancelled, returned quite a few times. I think they refunded me very quickly. Some products are not good of course, I think it is quite normal, so you have to choose wisely, try not to choose unecessary things. If you indeed had bad experience from some companies, well, you can only accept it I'm afraid.

I bought some vouchers to buy the cloths in OhMyLove, the quality of the clothes are terrible in terms of the pricing, and they are even made in the UK! I was very surprised. I had to return all of them, but Groupon returned the money to me quickly as usual.

I had bought two vouchers from two different salons. One of them, the skills of styling is brilliant, but the customer service is very bad, and behaved very cold to me, like I own them something. It is the DEN in middlesbrough. Another one, the styling skill is not quite good, I wanted to have my hair dyed nicely, but they only wanted to give me a simple colouring. Customer service is not bad though, and was warm and chatting with me, so I won't name them.

I also had a voucher for Beneficial Chiropractic Clinic in Darlington, the chiropractor has good skills which I like, but the time he practised on me was less than specified in every session as far as I remember.

For the other vouchers, so far, so ok. In terms of customer service of Groupon UK itself, I think it is a bit slow, but in general the problems are solved. Well, for example, less timing for the previous voucher mentioned above wasn't solved as far as I remember. So in general, I'm ok with Groupon UK, will visit them again, but just need to choose the products more carefully as it is very likely you'll always meet some canny companies.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Total waste of time

Huge amount of junk mail; website impossible to search properly; signposts deals that ended two years ago. Groupon a flash in the pan that is well past its offer date.

Groupon UK Details

About this company

Visit Groupon UK

Contact information

Call us on: 020 35 100 444
We live here: United Kingdom

Category

Groupon UK is ranked 7 out of 7 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.