HPI Check reviews

HPI Check reviews

Good
8.0
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
561 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

glad i used it

Found a car i like ran the hpi check it tell me its automatic car an the car i was viewing was a manual car some think wrong there.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Very helpful

I had never done a Hpi check before and this website was very easy to do. Would recommend to everyone
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Rude Customer Advisor

she dropped the phone on me
HPI Limited

Reply from HPI Limited

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear of your experiences. If you can confirm the date and time of the call in question, we would be happy to look into this further. Please email hpicustomercar@hpi.co.uk
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

quick and accurate

Very quick and accurate, also phoned me when I wasnt convinced so nice of them to put a personnel touch rather than just using a computer, would definatly recommend
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

pathetic service,computer glitch took money out twice, travelled 280miles round trip to see the car and went to confirm v5 document that didnt got through was told there was a computer problem

I recently order a 3 car check on Sunday 2nd march and paid by card on line it didn’t go through the first time but did the second time I then got a phone call from the bank to say if id authorised the payment and that it had gone through TWICE CAN YOU CONFIRM THAT PAYMENT WAS ONLY MADE ONCE.

Secondly I did the check whilst I was still at home and headed of to bishops Stortford which is a 145mile journey from my house when I got there I got the details to verify the check and got my son who was at home to input the data id given him the website was encountering problems so he phoned you instead and was told that there was a problem with hpi’s computers and that he should try back in half an hour unfortunately the garage we were buying the car from closes at 4pm it was well after 5 and they weren’t able to hang around another half an hour as they were already past there closing time so they closed up. That was a very costly round trip of 290 miles to see a car that we were going to buy had we got that check in time I could have chosen various online companies to check the history of that vehicle but chose what I thought of was the best for my investment couldn’t be further from the truth IMO.
Secondly I tried on Thursday to do another check on a different car and put in a reg that was on the car unfortunately it had private number plates on it but unaware to me and the Toyota dealer had been transferred that same day so obviously your check didn’t recognise the plates and came back blank and I was informed I only have one check left

I phoned yourselves this morning and was told that I had to email you regarding the issues that Id raised and that there wasn’t a number I could phone for customer care.

BTW THE CAR ID SEEN ON SUNDAY WAS SOLD MON MORNING

D Sanghera
HPI Limited

Reply from HPI Limited

Thank you for your feedback. Our records show that you have already contacted our Customer Care Department who are looking into the issues you have highlighted.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Brilliant Service

I used HPI to check out a potential car I was interested in purchasing and it flagged up that finance was still owing on the vehicle.

The seller had informed me of this fact. The only problem was that when I contacted VW finance company who still have an interest in the vehicle, they refused to speak to me citing the data protection act !!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Reassuring......However

I my opinion, HPI check is the recognised brand that you can trust with the reassuring comeback should anything go wrong with the purchase. However, I did not discover until late in the application stages all the information required to qualify for all the assurances. So I had to keep going back to the seller asking for this information and that. If it was made clearer from the start I could have asked for it at the viewing or all in one hit.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Peace of Mind

When buying private even if you know the seller, its always best to HPI it for peace of mind.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Fantastic service

Fast and reliable service, very happy with the outcome and amazing value at only £19:99
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

I would highly recommend.

I can't thank HPI check enough, they sorted everything out for me. The staff are all so polite and helpful. Thanks so much for all your help.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Comprehensive, quick and reasuringly helpfull.

I just needed a bit of reassurance that the car I was buying was indeed what it said in the ad. Initially the report I had back from HPI said their was HP still outstanding but by following the advice and calling the finance company, I was pleased that this had indeed been cleared. I logged back in after 45 mins and found the info had been updated giving me confirmation that it was safe to go ahead.
Chris Wokingham
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Excellent

Good service.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Why take the risk with your hardearned cash - it's so easy to check it's bona fide

I've never checked before as when buying from a garage it tends to be part of the pack. However, my daughter is spending £'000's on a car, from a private seller, and i feel responsible that i'm helping her make a sound decision. I wouldn't dream of not going along with her to check the car, so why would i not make sure we do the finance and ownership checks to make sure what we are looking it is as it should be. I'd feel pretty stupid if the car turned out to belong to a finance company or was stolen!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

I have used this service first time and I am realy realy please with service ,

The customer service is excellent online customer adviser was realy help full I get my anser realy professionally and very much help full, thank you so much , regards mr s ali
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Peace of Mind & Security

Excellent Service,felt very confident when buying a car after checking with HPI
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Don't trust everything you receive from HPI

I paid HPI to check out the status of a car being offered at auction. The car was being sold without registration documents and I wanted to be sure there was nothing undesirable with the vehicle.
Given the reg number HPI returned a clean bill of health.
Turns out the vehicle had been registered (on the plate supplied with the vehicle) and de-registered by the main agent, then passed through the system, eventually popping up at auction - UNREGISTERED!
The aggrovation that ensued would make an interesting tale. The information held (or obtained) by HPI was erroneous. So what did I pay all that money for??

Update: Since writing, HPI have basically said get lost. Loads of patronising advice about what they recommend (as if we don't know) about buying a car. And although their advice was inaccurate they'd rather argue the toss and keep the fee they've charged me for providing zero service. Disgraceful really. Anybody decent would put their hand up and apologise.
DVLA on the other hand have been magnificent. They have explained the background to the vehicle, it's history, why it was registered/unregistered and have now issued a brand new number. First class. Makes you wonder why the hell we need HPI at all!
I know one thing, don't be fooled into thinking 'oldest and therefore the best'. Rather 'Oldest and most complacent' fits the service we obtained. Next time I will used one of the other service providers who are also cheaper.
HPI Limited

Reply from HPI Limited

Thank you for feedback. We are sorry you are unhappy with the service you have received, and you had already raised this as an issue. Our records show that you have been advised of our findings.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

used as HPI were the original and also offered insurance as well

I would have scored as 5* but the actual online process was messy and I was forced to pay three times for the service.
I'm fairly IT literate, so it was annoying to have to pay more than once.
One of the extra payment was due to the fact there was a reg plate transfer and the HPI service said the V5 reference didn't match the reg, so I had to pay again using the new reg & old V5 Doc number.
The last insult was when my bank statement came through and I'd actually been charged 3 times. Not sure how I was charged again?
I would like to be refunded for the mystery 3rd payment.
HPI Limited

Reply from HPI Limited

Thank you for your feedback. The vehicle had been involved in a very recent plate transfer at the time of your check, and that is why you had issues with the the report. We are always willing to investigate any data query we receive (full contact details are provided on our website). We can usually update reports within 30 days of the initial check. We will also check the charging for you, and if any refunds are required, we will of course process this for you.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Quick and easy with the confidence to trust the information provided.

Register for HPI because you can't afford not to. The ability to spec check and CAP every car is invaluable when you could lose £1,000s if you decide to take a chance and not check out a car. HPI takes the risk factor out of my business and help me sleep at night.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Excellent Services by HPI, I strongly recommend the HPI services

Excellent Services by HPI, I strongly recommend the HPI services

HPI Check Details

About the HPI Check

HPI have been checking the histories of used cars since 1938. The HPI Check will tell you if the vehicle you are looking to buy is stolen, on finance or has been written off by an insurance company. The HPI Check also includes a guarantee up to £30,000 with unique clone cover. Make sure the next vehicle you buy has an HPI Check so you can ensure it is a good car.

Visit HPI Check

Contact information

Call us on: 0845 300 8905
We live here: Dolphin House, New Street
SP12PH Salisbury
United Kingdom

Category

HPI Check is ranked 23 out of 51 in the category Cars

HPI Check is ranked 2 out of 3 in the category

HPI Check is ranked 160 out of 306 in the category Transportation

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.