Hungryhouse reviews

Hungryhouse reviews

Good
7.0
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
614 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Blacklisted me for an error in their own mobile app but have taken my money

I had an utterly appalling first order with HungryHouse. I downloaded and registered on their mobile app on my Android device in the hope of placing an order for a local Chinese takeaway. I used their Facebook option to gather my basic details and added my address and contact phone number (landline) manually as requested.

I placed my order, with HungryHouse debiting money from my MasterCard. Then - nothing. The order said 'sending' on their app for around 20 minutes, and then said 'cancelled - could not contact restaurant'.

I didn't know whether to try and resend the order, so I went to my desktop PC and used their live chat function.

The customer care person who answered my questions told me I was blacklisted as I had used a fake mobile number to place the order, so nothing would go through.

I hadn't even used a mobile number to register - I had used my landline number, so where this 'fake' number had come from is a mystery.

There was a long delay in getting further feedback from the online live chat, so I called HungryHouse as their site said the call wait time was around 1m55s. After waiting 10 minutes on hold, I spoke to an agent who said to me "you should know you're blacklisted, you've tried to place several orders this week already". I explained this was my first order, but again I was told I had used a fake number. At this point, something seemed to happen at the agent's end, as he quickly asked me to hold for a moment.

When he came back on the phone, he said that potentially something had occurred where this fake number had been appended to my account during the registration process.

I was amazed by this - by two customer services agents I had been accused of using FAKE details to register. They had taken my money, yet had not vetted the details on my account before taking this money. Surely all security information should be checked before you debit customers?

I was advised the money would be refunded in 3-5 days, but two weeks later I was still waiting for the refund. I read my credit card statement to find no refund and nothing pending.

Upon calling their call centre once more I was told that the money had not been
refunded as the order had gone to a fulfilled status and as such the order
had been supplied.

The operative then told me AGAIN that I was blacklisted as I had provided a
fake phone number on my original order.

This company is a shambles. I'm still waiting on my refund.
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Dear Lee,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear about the issues that you experienced when trying to place an order and the subsequent customer service responses. I understand this must have been frustrating. Unfortunately there was an error in our system which allowed users to place an order without providing a mobile number and our system automatically added a test numner to your account. Our customer care team were unaware of this error and it did cause some confusion. I appreciate this was not the standard of customer care that we wish to provide our customers. The error in the system has now been fixed and should not result in issues like this in the future. I do hope that you give us another chance in the future.

Regards,
Your hungryhous team.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Shockingly bad experience, terrible customer service.

Sounds like my experience is quite common looking at other reviews.

Ordered on New Year's Day at around 20:00 for a delivery at 21:00. Order accepted and payment taken then delivery time changed to 22:00. Tried to call to check that it would definitely come by then, to find that one of the numbers supplied by Hungry House was constantly engaged, the other was a mobile number that didn't work.

To cut a long story short, after trying every 10 mins, once getting through only for the phone to be left on the side and ignored, I eventually spoke to someone at 22:45 who said they could deliver the next day! They also said I needed to call Hungry House to get a refund sorted.

In the meantime I had tried the Hungry House helpline, no answer, left my number for a callback, still haven't had a call back two days later, and tried the Live Chat which didn't work.

Hungry House have said they will refund, but the response I received took two days, and was super generic, defending the restaurant, implying that in busy periods this kind of service is acceptable and not giving any indication that they would deal with the problem with the restaurant. They also completely failed to deal with the help line and Live Chat not working.

Will now give Just Eat more of a try - hopefully their 'live acceptance' of orders means this problem is less likely of happening - it's the second time it's happened to me with Hungry House.
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Dear James,

We appreciate your feedback. We're very sorry to hear that you were unable to contact either us or the restaurant on that particular evening and please also accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointing experience with our customer service.

This is uncharacteristic of our staff as we pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and I'm sorry you didn't receive a call back or a response on Live Chat.

I will pass this information on to the Director of our customer care department and hopefully your feedback will help us improve on our service.

Kind regards,
Your hungryhouse team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Took my money for no service and no food

Same experience as half the people on here it seems - ordered and paid with an hours waiting time. As soon as the money went through this was changed to nearly a two hour wait. Food still didn't arrive even at the massively delayed estimated time. Tried to call their helpline - couldn't get through to anyone for ages and finally when I did get through the person on the other end of the line immediately hung up. Called the original restaurant - turns out they were closed because it's New Years Day.

Have contacted for a refund. Hope to receive it immediately but judging by what I have now read on here I'll be lucky to get through to anyone for this. Absolutely horrendous service. Avoid this company - do not give them your money.
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Hi Lolly,

I apologise for the service you received last night. Usually if an order is cancelled or declined a refund is issued automatically unless you place a second order. If you could email help@hungryhouse.co.uk we would be happy to follow this up with you and ensure you receive your refund and some form of compensation.

I apologise for the inconvenience, if you have any further enquiries please don't hesitate to contact us again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Can't amend card details - can't make payment

Shame. I used Hungry House a lot but for some reason their site keeps rejecting my card and there's nothing I can do about it. Did offer voucher, but obviously I can't use it.

I was a happy customer but the site needs an overhaul to be customer friendly
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Hi Rozee,

I'm sorry to hear that there have been issues with our website accepting your card. Could you please email us at help@hungryhouse.co.uk with further details and we can follow this up for you.

I apologise for the inconvenience, if you have any further enquiries please don't hesitate to contact us again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Charged twice for order, not refunded

I was a long time customer and fan of hungry house until now.

Just under a month ago I placed on order, for some reason the order was declined but I was still charged. I contacted hungry house and after waiting on the phone for 30 minutes I was told by a member of staff that there had been an error with their payment system and I would be refunded a few days later. They recommended that I place the order again. The second time round I was charged and the order was successful.

I have spent three weeks trying to get my original payment refunded and on every occasion I have been told that the IT department have been unable to find my transaction. Under recommendation from my bank, I will be filing a goods not received dispute.
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Hi,

I'm sorry to hear about your delayed refund. Do you have an order reference number for the declined order and I will follow this up for you? Or were you able to follow this up through your bank.

I apologise for the inconvenience, if you have any further enquiries please don't hesitate to contact us again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

not a happy bunny

i order from here quite alot and usally ok but two weeks ago i ordered some food and they took the payment when i phoned the shop to ask how long they would be they said they had not recieved an order... i had to order again and they took the money once again, once i phoned hungry house they said that they see payment came out twice and will put it back... two weeks on and i am still waiting
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Hi Danielle,

Thank you for contact us in regards to this. I am sorry there has been a delay on your refund. Could you possibly respond with an order number from that evening, or you could send us an email at help@hungryhouse.co.uk and we can get this issue sorted out.

I apologise for the delayed refund. If you have any further enquiries please don't hesitate to contact us again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Cut out the middle man

The first time we used Hungry House, we waited an hour and a half for our order. They gave us £3 to use towards our next takeaway - which is an insult. The second time we used it, our food took TWO and half hours to come!! After talking to them for around two hours, I was finally given part of my money back. Before this they were trying to blame the restaurant, telling me I would need to take it up with restaurant and that they couldn't help that the takeaway was busy - so what exactly am I paying them commission on my food for in the first place? When our food did eventually arrive, it was all wrong and cold. Worst service on the internet - don't use it!! Go direct!
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Hi Elizabeth,

I'm sorry to hear about your most recent ordering experience and thank you for the feedback. We endeavour to have your orders sent to you as soon as possible, however this was obviously not the case when you placed your order.

I was able to find your order in our system and you have been refunded for most of the order. Once again, I apologise for any inconvenience. If you have any further enquiries please don't hesitate to contact us again at help@hungryhouse.co.uk.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Better to order direct. Hungryhouse promises a delivery time that is delayed once you have paid.

In short: delivery takes longer through hungryhouse.

The idea of offering a wide range of local takeaways through a single site is a great one, especially when there are accompanying reviews/recommendations. Hungryhouse is good at this but delivery is a problem. Before placing an order the hungryhouse site tells you delivery will be within a certain timeframe. After ordering you get an email telling you the restaurant has informed them the time has been adjusted - with delivery two hours later. This has happened to me both times I have ordered through hungryhouse. On both occasions I phoned the restaurant directly and was told they could deliver earlier. On the most recent occasion the restaurant advised me not to order through hungryhouse as delivery would be delayed and that I should always place the order through them directly. It isn't clear whether hungryhouse is delaying the orders, or whether restaurants deal with hungryhouse orders with lower priority. Either way I've learned my lesson after two similar experiences and will order directly from restaurants in future.
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Hi,

Thank you for letting us know about your ordering experience using us, please accept our apologies. Our system is automated to a 45 minute waiting period though an extension can be added by the restaurant at confirmation. If it is at all possible, could you please provide us with the order numbers from your last orders so we can follow this up with the restaurant you ordered from.

Once again, I apologise for any inconvenience and the delay to your orders. If you have any further enquiries please don't hesitate to contact us at help@hungryhouse.co.uk.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Fool me once

Having tried wrongly to blame the nearest takeaway to our house I complained and received a £ 10 voucher, which we have used and the waited an hour and a half for our delivery, that's just too long. Back to the superior site from now on. Service and speed without these no matter how shiny the advert or profuse the apologies there is no incentive to use the service, the clue is in the first word of the name.
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Dear Tim,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that it took an hour and a half for the delivery of your recent order. We would like to investigate what caused this and prevent this issue from happening again with this restaurant's customers.

We would appreciate if you could reply to this post with the order ID as we could not find any recent orders associated with your trustpilot username.

Looking forward to hear from you again soon!

Kind regards,
Your hungryhouse team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Don't use them - go direct

I don't usually do reviews, but I feel that people need to know about this. I placed an order through Hungry House on Friday night, only to be told it wouldn't be delivered for almost 2 hours. I contacted Hungry House to cancel, as I was due to go out. I used their live chat and confirmed that my money would be refunded by the end of the evening and the order would not be processed. Thought no more of it, until I was getting ready to go out an hour later and the delivery turned up!!! I refused to take delivery and immediately tried to contact Hungry House but with no luck. I have since sent several emails and tried to use to the live chat again and had no response. I have given up hope of getting my money back, but thought other people should be aware of the lack of customer service from this company. I suspect they will post against this and say to contact them, but as I've already tried I don't plan on spending any more of my time trying, its time for them to contact me.
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Dear Lorraine,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent order experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the delay in refunding the payment for this cancelled order.

We can confirm that the refund has been issued. We have also sent an email to the email address used to place this order to confirm this.

Kind regards,
Your hungryhouse team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Waste of time and waste of food

Ordered the takeaway with an estimated delivery of about 45mins. Once order placed got an email warning me of an hour and a half wait. Phoned to cancel the order, which was no problem, and advised that they would 'try' to cancel the order with the restaurant. They called me back to say the restaurant was engaged and not to worry if the order turned up.
An hour and a half later the order turned up. And an understandably angry (and slightly intimidating) delivery driver said they had not been told the order was cancelled resulting an argument on the doorstep.
I was then called directly by the take away restaurant (equally angry owner) to ask why I had turned the food away. I called Hungry House and they said not to worry about it.
As far as an ordering process goes, it's obviously simple to place an order but not so to cancel it once you realise the estimated delivery times are misleading.
I simply don't understand why Hungry House cannot automate cancellation of orders in the same way that I would assume orders are passed on the restaurants.
I ended up feeling very bad for the restaurant and for the wasted time and food because of Hungry House's poor processes. Wouldn't ever use again.
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Dear Rob,

We are sorry to hear about about this. Submitted orders that have not been sent to the restaurant can be cancelled from the order history or by clicking on the link in the Order pending email if you order as a guest. The process for cancelling orders accepted by the restaurant is not yet automated and we sincerely apologise for this mix up with the restaurant and our customer care team.

We appreciate your feedback as this is helpful for us in improving our processes. We will make sure to pass this suggestion on to our tech team.

Please do not hesitate to send us an email on help@hungryhouse.co.uk should you have further questions or concerns.

Kind regards,
Your hungryhouse team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Order from restaurants unless you want to wait :(

I have ordered three times from Hungry House in the last two months and have been disappointed every time! I think it's a great idea but unfortunately you end up having to wait about an hour and a half for your food as it goes through the middle man. When a driver got lost it took ages to contact them via hungry house and then the restaurant. Similarly, I moved house (thinking maybe it would be better in West London than North London) and ordered again but this time the order arrived incomplete from a sushi restaurant, again after about 100 mins wait. I had to contact them and they offered me a free Fanta as a sorry. I once ordered from a restaurant directly and they arrived 45 mins quicker. Yes it's a good idea for a website with all choices but I really would think twice about ordering again via Hungry House as it takes such a long time and there seem to always be issues between the customer order and the restaurant.
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Dear Rachael,

We are sorry to hear about the delays with your last three orders. Majority of our restaurant partners are connected to the hungryhouse automated livelink routing network which allows orders to be printed in-store and confirmed within seconds after orders are placed online.

We would like to investigate why these delays happened but we could not find any recent orders associated with the username you have provided here in trustpilot. Could you please reply to this post with an order number so we can look into this for you?

We look forward to hear from you again soon!

Your hungryhouse team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

BEWARE!!

Order got automatically cancelled with no explanation.
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Dear Ms. Cross,

We are sorry to hear about this problem with your recent order. Could you please reply to this post with the order number so we could investigate this for you? Alternatively, you may also send an email to help@hungryhouse.co.uk or contact us 0800 612 3333 and any of our customer care advisors will be more than happy to assist.

Kind regards,
Your hungryhouse Team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Waited 2 hours for an order and no option to cancel after payment.

Very disappointed with the service. Second time I used them as the restaurants i chose used hungry house, will never do it again.
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Dear Shereen,

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear about the delay in receiving your order. We would like to investigate this further but we are unable to find the order associated with your Trustpilot username. Could you please reply to this post with the order reference number?

You may can cancel a submitted order until the point your order is sent to the restaurant. As a member, submitted orders can be cancelled from your Order History using the Cancel order button. As a guest, you can cancel an order by clicking on the link in the Order pending email. Alternatively, you may also contact our customer care team or hop on our live chat and they will be more than happy to assist with this request.

We look forward to hear from you again!

Your hungryhouse team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

50/50

I've used hungry house a few times but have had mixed service. The last time I used them, I didn't receive my order and when I emailed them to tell them they never responded and when I rated the takeaway (in a professional way) they refused to publish the review. Hungry house benefits takeaways and not customers.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

great, fast and easy service

used this service a few times and never had a problem. ive ordered from different places and the food always arrives on time and never had any issues with card payments. i find the service alot easier to use then having to find a number online then ring around trying to find somewhere that makes the food i want or trying to remember the names of the companys that make the food i want. and the fact that it remembers what i ordered last time is a great time saver (especially when other half useually spends ages deciding what he wants now i just click re-order lol )
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Remove bad feedback to dupe customers

I had my bad feedback removed and was emailed to revise it. Even though it just said stuff like "took 2 hours to arrive, chips cold and soggy, donut was dry and had a chunk out of it, brought me cola instead of 7up" and things like that. I tried to revise my feedback (even though I don't think there was anything wrong with it in the first place) and it said I could not leave a review as my order had been cancelled. I received food and I want to share my opinion with other customers so they can make an informed decision on whether to buy from that restaurant. Just because I received a refund for the dreadful food it doesn't mean I shouldn't be allowed to leave feedback. Their ways are misleading their customers and duping them into buying bad food from bad restaurants.
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Dear Eleanore,

We are sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with your recent order. Although we would like other hungryhouse users to benefit from their shared experiences, your review was not published as the issue with the takeaway was resolved and a full refund was immediately issued to your account.

We consider the order voided and therefore not eligible for a review. Other than cancelled orders, we can assure you that reviews on the hungryhouse website are published even if they contain negative feedback for the restaurant. Managers of our partner restaurants frequently check their review pages, so helpful and constructive feedback help them offer better experiences to future customers.

For a full list of review house rules, you may refer our FAQs on the website:
http://hungryhouse.co.uk/faq/

Kind regards,
Your hungryhouse team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Scam site - be aware!

Hungryhouse advertise that a restaurant will deliver to your address when you enter the postcode. You put in your order and they take the money. Later that night you'll receive an email stating that the restaurant doesn't deliver to your address and they will refund your money in 3 days. It will actually take them about 3 weeks and multiple complaints to get your money back!

After this happened to me, I soon discovered many other people that had been caught out by this same Hungryhouse scam! They clearly make profit on the interest they gain from holding your money, and probably hope you forget about the payment entirely and keep it! Be aware, best to stay well away!!
hungryhouse.co.uk

Reply from hungryhouse.co.uk

Dear Ed,

We are sorry to hear about this disappointing ordering experience through hungryhouse. We do not operate a scam site and in the rare event that a restaurant cannot fulfill your order, any online payment is immediately returned to your hungryhouse account and available to re-use on a second order.

Should you choose not to reorder, a full refund will be automatically issued at the end of the night. Depending upon your bank, refunds can take up to three business days to appear on your account.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the delay in processing your refund. We would like to investigate this matter for you and prevent this from happening again.

Could you please reply to this post with an order reference number or alternatively, send an email to help@hungryhouse.co.uk and one of our customer service agents will be more than happy to look into the matter for you.

Kind regards,
Your hungryhouse team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Brilliant way to order take aways

Very easy to use website with excellent updates on any order. I have never been disappointed yet with the service.

hungryhouse.co.uk Details

About this company

Takeaway delivery - order using hungryhouse's online menus. We are independent, and with unbiased customer reviews, you can throw out the junk mail

Visit Hungryhouse

Category

Hungryhouse is ranked 148 out of 181 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.