Melburyandappleton reviews

Melburyandappleton reviews

Acceptable
6.6
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
53 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Unfortunate

You only get one chance at a first impression - So its been 'Unfortunate'
I ordered 8lb of steelcut Oats and recieved some Italian Antipasto - Fish in a Jar.
I personally prefer my breakfast choice.
I have been told I will not get my order until I have returned the one I have been sent.
So on that note - I guess it is my fault !!
A quote from my email - Unfortunately, in common with all online shops, we are not able to send out a replacement parcel until the goods that you have are returned to us as sadly in the past there have been too many times when we have been trusting and people have never returned items to us. However I can assure you that a replacement parcel will be sent out to you just as soon as we receive the original parcel.
So - I am also assumed dishonest.
They have offered to pick up the order - But that is not my point - As way of an appology perhaps the expedited delivery of what I actually ordered would be the way ahead.

Oh well - First and last for me.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Will use again.

I received my order very quickly, everything was there and in good condition.

I'm impressed by their selection of hard to find products.

The huge list of "disclaimers" in the order emails was a little bit disconcerting but turned out to be unnecessary.

I will order again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE - READ ALL THE OTHER REVIEWS!!!

HORRIBLE customer service. I ordered £83 and some of the order was raclette for my daughter's 1 year birthday party. The cheese went off during shipment and I didn't realise this until 30 min before the party was to start! The cheese smelled like animal feces and was in NO WAY consumable. I have been eating raclette for over 11 years now and am no stranger to how racelette is meant to taste! Under stress of the party, I threw the cheese away. Melbury has demanded me to ship the cheese back in order to refund and would rather piss of a potentially loyal customer over £20. Good luck Melbury - I will be sure to post this feedback on every review site and let everyone know what PISS POOR customer service you have.
melburyandappleton.co.uk

Reply from melburyandappleton.co.uk

We have corresponded at length with you on this matter, to try and resolve this amicably, dealing with all communication from you promptly and courteously. Hardly the customer service you describe.

You purchased two pieces of Raclette cheese from us along with five other pieces of cheese. On receiving your complaint (almost four days after the cheese was delivered to you) the remainder of the wheel of raclette from which your pieces were cut was checked and found to be delicious and in perfect condition. We cannot understand how the pieces you received could have deteriorated during delivery to the condition you describe: “a piece of shit from the animal farm”. Certainly we have not received any complaints from you about the other 5 cheeses you received from us at the same time so clearly they were not adversely affected. We have been selling cheese online for many years and have lots of experience in safely delivering perishable foods.

This particular raclette is regarded as being the world’s finest raclette (Raclette, Von Muhlenen Grand Cru), produced in Switzerland by the famous Von Muhlenen dairy who have been World Champion Cheese winners on many occasions at the World Cheese Awards. Raclette is known for being a strongly flavoured, pungent cheese and is not to everyone’s taste, and this raclette has much more flavour and complexity than raclette that most people might be familiar with if they have only eaten mass produced versions from supermarkets.

We are sorry that it was not to your taste – we did offer you a refund if you returned the cheese to us to inspect. However it was only after we made this offer that you informed us that you had already disposed of the cheese.

Your aggressive and threatening behaviour over this matter has astonished us. We do not understand why you feel we have behaved inappropriately by asking you to return a product which you believe to be faulty in order for to be able inspect the product – this is normal practice with all retailers whether on the high street or online. We do ask all of our customers not to dispose of any products that they believe to be faulty and remind all customers of this when their orders are dispatched.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Alt i skønneste orden :-)

Hurtig levering - God pakke status via mail.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

They take your money, don’t deliver goods and to top it all off slowww to communicate.

My order was dispatched apparently on the 10th May and as of yet I have had no goods from them or the original money paid to them. I have chosen to be refunded, to be told after numerous emails sent that this would be done shortly, then after requesting as to when this would be done, I was told I had already been refunded. I asked for specific details as to when this was done and they have failed to do so, other than later contradicting themselves by ‘Once again we confirm that your refund has been processed please refer to our Terms & Conditions (Section 13.4)’ , which basically means they have not refunded me.

I checked the tracking number on 9th June with their Mickey Mouse courier ‘YODEL’ which stated the goods had been picked up, spoke to yodel who also told me to take the matter up with the retailer and that the goods seemed to have been signed and picked up from the couriers home, which all sounds dodgy as it is news to me and I am interested as to what YODEL has done with the goods. Also I was told by YODEL that the retailer had not chased this order up at any point and they did not realise there was a problem and told me to tell them to put in a claim.

Stay away from this cowboy operation unless you want a headache dealing with an company that strings you along for over one month and a half and counting without your goods or your hard earned money, Not worth the hassle.
Kris Yi found this review useful
melburyandappleton.co.uk

Reply from melburyandappleton.co.uk

Dear Mr Gopal,

This review is a completely inaccurate representation of the facts and we have been at a loss for several weeks to understand your behaviour or the motivation behind your actions.

We are sorry that Yodel lost your parcel but we have communicated with you and Yodel at length on the matter. Very occasionally delivery problems do occur but we do try our best to work with our customers and the courier to ensure that problems are resolved quickly. We offered to resend the goods to you and when you declined this offer we processed your cancellation and refund promptly.

- We immediately contacted Yodel when you told us that there was a problem with your delivery AND emailed you to tell you that we had done so.

- We then chased Yodel about this and informed you that they had initiated a trace on your parcel to try and find it. We said to you that we would be in touch just as soon as we had any news.

- We subsequently provided Yodel with descriptions of your parcel and its contents to help them with their search

- After a week we emailed you again to advise you that we did not have any news and that tracing parcels can take a little time

- A few days after that we chased Yodel again and were told that they had not had any luck locating your parcel and advised us that it was most probably lost.

- We then contacted you and asked if you would like us to resend your order or if you would prefer to cancel. You responded by saying that you would like to cancel.

- That was on the 22nd May, 11 days after you first reported the delivery problem to us. Hardly an excessive amount of time particularly when we had been actively working on your behalf to resolve the problem and sent you numerous emails.

- You then asked when you would be refunded and we replied “shortly” and referred to you to our website which provides full details about how and when refunds are processed.

- A week later you emailed us again to find out when you would be refunded and we confirmed that your refund had been processed. Please note this refund was processed some two weeks earlier than when we are obliged to refund.

- Why, as you mention in your review, do you interpret us saying "Once again we confirm that your refund has been processed" as meaning that we have not refunded you?

- Despite the fact that you cancelled your order over 3 weeks ago, you have persisted in emailing us to tell us that you had still not received the goods. Each time we have responded to remind you that you chose to cancel your order. Is there some reason why you still expect to receive the order when you have cancelled it?

- You have also contacted Yodel several times in the past week to find out about your parcel. Again do you still think that you are going to receive it from them despite cancelling your order and it being refunded? If they do ever find the parcel it will be returned to us. If something “dodgy” has gone at Yodel, why are you concerned when you have been compensated in full?
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Deliveries that don't arrive - you pay for!

I ordered a hamper of fresh and canned produce. Although M&A's courier delivered to the wrong address, I still had to pay for the delivery and all fresh produce - despite receiving nothing. And M&A's response is that that's "their Terms and Conditions policy". So order at your peril as you may pay and get nothing for it. I cannot recommend this "service".
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

What a great find

I am so pleased to have found this website. Amazing selection and when I telephoned with a few questions they were really helpful. Everything arrived quickly and what we have tried so far has been very tasty.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

short on weight

I ordered and paid for 1 kilo of membrillo and received 988 grams :(
It was nice menbrillo but rather costly.
melburyandappleton.co.uk

Reply from melburyandappleton.co.uk

Dear Linda,

Thank you for letting us know, but this a very unfair criticism. Unfortunately it is impossible to cut bulk items like this precisely which is why we say on the web page for this product and other bulk products that weights will be approximate. Usually weights are within 10% of the requested weight, and in your case we were just 1.2% out on a 1kg piece - which we think is pretty good going!

It seems unfair to award us just 2 stars particularly when you only paid for the weight you received.

With Best Wishes,

Melbury & Appleton
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Very poor customer service

Having tried to place an order and then been told that my payment had failed, I tried again a couple of times and then bought my items elsewhere.

Then 3 lots of my order arrived and I phoned the company to explain what had happened. Unfortunately, the customer service I received was appauling, basically being told rudely that I what I said must be untrue and that whilst they would refund my order, they wouldn't refund the shipping so I probably shouldn't bother as it wasn't worth it.

I am an entirely computer literate and honest person and was disappointed to be basically accused of either stupidity or dishonesty. Certainly won't use them again.

Nicola
Kris Yi found this review useful
melburyandappleton.co.uk

Reply from melburyandappleton.co.uk

Dear Nicola,

Thank you for providing us with feedback although we are shocked by your response. You ordered three items from us in one order and paid for them online by card at the time. We shipped your order out to you the following day at which time we sent you an email to let you know that it had been shipped (with a link to your invoice). The courier also sent you an email with the tracking information for your parcel.

We did not hear from you at all until 7 days later when you called to say that you had received the parcel but that you hadn't expected it because you thought that your payment had failed. You no longer wanted the items as you had purchased them elsewhere.

In line with consumer legislation, companies are not obliged to accept returns or cancellations for food order unless damaged or faulty - neither of which, you agreed, was the case here. However as a gesture of goodwill we offered to refund you for the items if you returned them quickly to us, but you were very unhappy that we were not prepared to refund the delivery costs too.

At no time were we rude to you and we did not accuse you of being stupid or dishonest. What grounds would we have to do so when you had paid for your order and why would we offer to refund you if we hadn't been paid for your order?

While you were on the phone we also checked the card processing company's system to make sure that your payment had had definitely gone through. Your payment had been authorised by your bank and we had received the funds - we confirmed this to you.

We are just very disappointed that you are so unhappy when we fulfilled your order as quickly and offered you a refund as soon as you contacted us despite having no obligation to do so.

With Best Wishes,

Melbury & Appleton
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Vast catalogue of exotic and exquisite products

Fast delivery, exeptional array of products on offer, everything arrived intact. Would certainly recommend to others!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Being so far from home its good to be able to get American style food.s

I found the place easy to get to by public transportation. I also found the price for what I ordered reasonably priced. I would recommend this place to any friends that are interested in acquiring some American foods.

Thank you,
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Faultless

I found the website easy to use and I liked the way each cheese was described which helped me choose. I placed my order late one evening and it was dispatched the following day and arrived the next! Very quick and I was emailed with the progress of my order step by step. Well packaged with cool gels to keep the cheese fresh. I bought the cheeses as a gift but I hear they were all gorgeous! I will definately order again and I would recommend to others! Thank you!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

"It doesn't get better than this"

Great range of products - dispatched immediately - received next day - great value for money. It doesn't get better than this.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

exvcellent

Easy to use web site and prompt service
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Excellent

The website was easily comprehensible and functioned well. Staff were very friendly and helpful when I phoned to arrange London collection.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

No good at all, goods were broken and never actually reached me.

Ordered a set of 12 small bottles of lemonade and only after ordering was I told that only 6 bottles could actually be delivered in one package. Item never delivered and email telling me any info never sent to me either. I had to track down the delivery depot who then told me that the package had been disposed of! Seems that all bottles were broken upon their delivery at the depot. Am still waiting to be refunded. Very disappointed and will definitely never use again.
Kris Yi found this review useful
melburyandappleton.co.uk

Reply from melburyandappleton.co.uk

Dear Barnaby,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are sorry that you have not receive your lemonade although it was sent out to you two days after we received your order. We also offered to resend your parcel when you first contacted us to say that there had been a problem with delivery, but you declined this offer.

According to the courier's tracking the parcel was delivered to you and we have asked them to investigate this. Just as soon as we receive confirmation from the courier that the parcel was damaged and disposed of, you will be refunded in full and certainly within the 30 day refund period specified in our Terms & Condition.

We are also sorry that you were disappointed to only be able to purchase 6 rather than twelve bottles of lemonade but we do state on our website that we only accept orders for a maximum of six bottles for these and other large bottles of soft drinks.

With Best Wishes, Melbury & Appleton
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

outstanding

Dispite my order been a large amount every effort was made for it to be collected within a few days, outstanding service.
Many thanks to all at melbury & apppleton.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Faulty but replaced quickly

Item faulty but was replaced quickly without fuss. Return delivery at no extra cost using pre-paid label.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Brilliant!

Super range of of products, the Barkham Blue beats the continentals hands down!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

A rare product brought to your door

If you want a product that is difficult to buy in shops, this is an excellent way to do it. Excellent service.

melburyandappleton.co.uk Details

About this company

Visit Melburyandappleton

Category

Melburyandappleton is ranked 153 out of 182 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.