Naked Wines reviews

Naked Wines reviews

Acceptable
5.8
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
88 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

I will never order from this company again.

Ordered 6 bottles of wine on 10th April. I had to make 3 phone calls plus 2 emails as to when the wines will be delivered (as they advertise it as next day delivery), they kept telling me it will be delivered the next day, however I never got them (it's nearly been 2 weeks now). So I had to call them again asking for a refund. I have wasted alot of time following this up. I will never order from this company again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

I just received a Coupon in my email for $100 for Naked Wines.com

Ok, I got online and was looking at placing an order for the voucher I received but came to the conclusion that this company is a scam of such, they are not a secure website they have a link at the bottom of the screen stating 100% secure but its a picture not even a link into the actual website it is secure through. So I proceed to call them, and asked about making a purchase of wine.... Talked with a gentlemen on the phone and was informed that I had to spend $60 to receive the voucher so - they mark up the wine to raise the cost and it might seem like you are getting a good deal but you use your credit card with a site that isn't secure and you have to actually pay for wine that they have, but its new wine that isn't on the shelf in major stores... So they are scamming you into buying new wine that you don't even know is any good or even heard of.... NO THANK YOU.... SCAM ALL THE WAY
Naked Wines

Reply from Naked Wines

Hi Josh! Sorry if you had a frustrating experience trying to use your voucher. No funny business here - promise! All of our credit card transactions are handled securely through Adyen card processing. You can read a bit more about them here: https://www.adyen.com/home. All credit card information that is handled through our page is stored remotely in their secure database.

At NakedWines.com, we invest in small batch independent winemakers and in return get access to wholesale pricing on their wines. Winemakers set the retail price that you see on our site, and our Angel members get access to the Angel prices (set by us) for helping us plan that investment. We do have a satisfaction guarantee on all of our wines - any time a bottle does not live up to expectations, we are happy to issue a full refund for that wine.

If you have any questions (or if we can be of any assistance), please let us know. Our Customer Happiness Team is available at 1-800-673-4718 between 6AM and 6PM Pacific time, Monday to Friday or you can reach us at chat@nakedwines.com. Have a great day!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

not what they say

I thought the concept of naked wines was to help up and coming winemakers. A concept that i would get behind. But having looked at your list of wine makers these people have been in the game along time and as quoted by you they are experienced wine makers or sons and daughters of well known families of wine makers. Give those trying to gain recognition or exposure a chance, get behind these winemakers they are the true naked wine makers.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Very misleading

Received a coupon for $100 off wine from this company. Got on their website and selected what I was lead to believe a case. Only 6 bottles where shipped and the wine very marginal. Never again
Naked Wines

Reply from Naked Wines

Hi Nancy! I'm sorry if you had a frustrating experience with your order. We do our best to make sure that cases on our site are labelled clearly. Did the website indicate 12 bottles were included in the order? With regards to the wines, we do have a satisfaction guarantee on everything we sell. If any of the bottles didn't live up to your expectations, please get in touch with our Customer Happiness Team so that we can refund you for that wine.

You can reach us at 1-800-673-4718 between 6AM and 6PM Pacific time, Monday to Friday. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to be of service. Have a great day!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great Service, good deals and good wine.

My husband and I joined Naked Wines in December 2013 and we were skeptical at first about the Angels program and the automatic monthly debits. Then we read the website which very clearly explains the business model. We are funding winemakers upfront and in return we get discounted wine from them. If I want my money back, just ask. Great! Let's drink to that!
We ordered a case of wine for Christmas and had it delivered to my family in TN. We had a little trouble ordering but not because of NW, because of TN liquor laws. I called and got a very friendly customer service rep who helped me find a way to use my voucher and abide by the TN rules. We needed up paying about $80 including tax for a 12 bottle case of wine. For us, that's cheap. We really enjoyed all but one wine. I think that is pretty good for a first order. This let us learn about the winemakers we liked for ordering our next case.
Today I received my third case of wine. I ordered a 15 bottle case for $164 with free shipping. As an Angel I get one free bottle per month so I added that for a total of 16 bottles. $10 a bottle for CA decent wine is a great deal. Bonus! I received 18 bottles as they only have certain size cases and decided to fill it for me.
I did have one issue of receiving an incorrect few bottles in my second case. I called, they apologized and they sent me the three correct bottles, let me keep the bottles that were incorrect and added three more for the trouble.
There are All American cases for everyone complaining about cheap Shiraz. There is a clear description of the business model on the website for everyone claiming to not understand. Read it. A voucher is not a check and yes, if you decide not to be an Angel, they will deactivate it. Stop acting like they stole money from you - they simply stopped offering you a voucher.This is a great deal on decent wine and if what you are looking for is dirt cheap, try 3 buck chuck.
Nothing in life is free.
Yes, I had a few hiccups but every one was fixed in an "above and beyond" manner.

Cheers!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Angel account vouchers are phony, service is good, wine is variable.

When we signed up for an Angels account, it was largely because Naked Wines offered a $100 voucher for becoming an Angel. We thought that was great! Although the wines that were available to us in Illinois were very limited, we definitely got our share of good ones, as well as some less impressive wines in our 18 months with them. Either way, we enjoyed being able to try a variety of wines.

However, when we cancelled, the $100 was deducted from what had been our remaining account balance. We did not expect this, as it had never been communicated to us that this would happen (neither when we signed up or in the 3 steps I had to go through to cancel the account), and it was incredibly frustrating.

The point is, this company basically lies to you about the "vouchers"--they're loans, not "free money"--but if you don't actually care about getting "free money", or if you plan on sticking with them until you die (I assume they won't take the money back then), the service as a whole is just fine. We enjoyed being able to track and rate wines (and see others' ratings of them!), support independent winemakers, and try new wines at a somewhat reasonable price. But if we'd known all of this, we would not have taken the plunge in the first place.
Naked Wines

Reply from Naked Wines

Hi Janel! I'm glad you enjoyed the service, and I apologize for any confusion about the balance of your account. On the website, any active voucher is included in the amount that appears next to your name. Customers are not charged for these vouchers (they are definitely not loans), however if you cancel your Angel account, the sign-up bonus voucher is simply deactivated. No charges or penalties are applied to your account. All of the money in your account is always yours and any unspent money should have been refunded as soon as you closed your Angel account. Have you been in touch with our customer service department about your account?

If anything looks awry, please get in touch with us as soon as you have a chance so that we can set things straight. You can reach our Customer Happiness Team at 1-800-673-4718 between 6AM and 6PM Pacific time, Monday to Friday. Hope to hear from you soon! Have a great weekend!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Rip Off

I received a $100 voucher from one of my distributors and was excited to redeem it. The rules stated that I had to purchase 6 or more bottles of wine totaling at least $160. So I started ordering away. 9 bottles and $170 in my cart later,I see where I cannot click on the checkout now button but am told that I must purchase 3 more bottles in order to check out. Funny that the rules changed midstream and even reading the fine print with a magnifying glass I cannot find anywhere on the voucher where I will be forced to purchase more. As much as I love wine and would love to have tried this company and the wines they offer,I refuse to put in credit card information,when I have read other reviews that state they charge you automatically. I only wanted to use this voucher and try the wine,before I decided whether or not I wanted to become an angel. I will go back to purchasing wine the way I have for over 30 years.
Naked Wines

Reply from Naked Wines

Hi Catherine! So sorry for the frustration you had on our website. The information you received is correct, if a little incomplete. While our minimum shipping amount is 6 bottles, the next amount that we are able to ship safely is 12 bottles - we have three different sized containers that hold exactly 6, 12 or 15 bottles. This is due to some limitations in our packaging, and I apologize if it wasn't made clear on the site or in the information you received with your voucher.

If we can be of any assistance or if you have any questions, please get in touch with our Customer Happiness Team at 1-800-673-4718 between 6AM and 6PM Pacific time, Monday through Friday or at chat@nakedwines.com. Hope you have a great weekend!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Unreliable service

I ordered twice from them and each time they missed the promised delivery date by a number of days. To be fair, they were courteous and picked up the wines when I told them I no longer needed them but they are too unreliable to be a useful service. The quality of the wines was below average as well.
Naked Wines

Reply from Naked Wines

Hi Simon, I'm really sorry to hear that we let you down with delivery. The majority of cases get delivered next working day no problem - so it's a real shame that you didn't get the wines when expected! Re: the wines, can I ask what wines you tried that you didn't enjoy? Again, I'm sorry to hear that - and I've no doubt that if we knew a little more about your personal tastes, we could pick out a case you would enjoy. Best wishes
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Sophisticated Scam

As we were choosing wines for our first order the site offered us $40 off, no strings attached however when we attempted to place the order it refused to allow us to include one of the wines we had chosen since we weren't Angels. We deleted that one bottle and the system accepted our order.

However upon checking our account we were now shown as Angels, even though at no time had we been offered let alone agreed to this. Even more disturbing we happen upon this site in which management states that if one cancels their membership the $40 discount is immediately rescinded. But most disturbing of all when we went to cancel our order we were specifically asked to hold off so we could try our wines and that the first Angel fee wouldn't be due until the following month and at NO time did the site mention that if we cancelled then that our discount would be charged back.

These are deceptive trade practices under the laws of our state. I would strongly encourage anyone thinking of doing business with this company to be extremely careful about doing so as what the company says on their site is completely inconsistent with what they actually do.

I'm referring them to our Attorney General.
Naked Wines

Reply from Naked Wines

Hi Steve! So sorry to hear about your frustrating experience on our site. No funny business - honest! If you've signed up as an Angel member, then you were given an additional $40 voucher towards your next purchase as a bonus from us. If you were to cancel your Angel membership, that sign-up bonus voucher would disappear but no charges would be placed on your credit card as a result of canceling. The order that you have already placed will not be changed in any way. If you have any questions or concerns, please get in touch with our Customer Happiness Team at 1-800-673-4718 between 6AM and 6PM Pacific time, Monday through Friday or at chat@nakedwines.com so that we can be sure everything is resolved to your satisfaction. Hope to hear from you soon, have a great day!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

The company is a scheme to ripoff people!!

Order some wine in December which it was fine. The wine was ok. A month so later, a woman with called to check how everything went. Then she went on to tell me about become an angle, I told her I'll think about it. After I spoke to her, I went online to check out their reviews. I saw a quite few people said they got charge $40 on their credit card without their authorization. So I send the woman I spoke to a email next day to make sure she understood I didn't agree to be an angel and DO NOT charge my credit card. Got a email reply next day, she assure me my card would not be charged. Today(April 1st), I just realized my Amex was charge twice at $40 each time. Now I have to dispute the charges. What a scheme!!
Naked Wines

Reply from Naked Wines

Hi Michael! Please accept my apologies if there has been any miscommunication about your account - I promise that there is no scheme in play here. I believe I have located your account in our system and it looks like you contacted us and have gotten everything resolved. If this is not the case, please reach out to our Customer Happiness Team at chat@nakedwines.com or by calling us at 1-800-673-4718 between 6AM and 6PM Pacific time, Monday through Friday so that we can make things right.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great Wine, flexible delivery and good customer service

I have just cancelled my Angel account, but only because I only manage about 3 bottles a year max, ending up giving away the rest. But I should however say that I have in the nearly-2 years that I have been a subscribing angel, never had an issue with the service or orders I placed. I also got through to customer services fairly quickly whenever I phoned, had delivery on scheduled dates, and their wines are definitely good - just read their reviews.

Yes it will appear a bit odd that you won't find wine reviews anywhere else other than on their site, but that's not how NW operates - see their website and also look elsewhere for articles about how they work. They have direct relationships with winemakers and support the wine industry in a progressive and unique way, instead of just being another generic reselling store-front.

NW your way of doing business is refreshing, and once I have managed to make my way through half of the last order, I will subscribe again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

I loved the Wine.. but then

Today I was checking my bank statement, I had a suspect withdrawal of $40 didnt say from who, just a withdrawal, so i cancelled my card. I also noticed my angels membership had been taken out, which is normal, but when I went to the website, trying to investigate everything, I noticed that I was charged an extra $40 for something I didnt even buy on the site!!! Im saddened because I love Naked Wines... but this is just unacceptable. And now I have to wait for a new Debit card... on a holiday weekend... with TWO kids.
Naked Wines

Reply from Naked Wines

Hi Miranda! I looked into your account and see that your cancellation request was processed today and your account balance has been refunded. The only transactions I see on your account since your wine order with us have been Angel transfers. Please get in touch with us so that we can be sure everything is straightened out to your satisfaction. Our Customer Happiness Team is available over the phone at 1-800-673-4718 between 6AM and 6PM Pacific time, Monday through Friday. We look forward to hearing from you!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great service

Let me first start by saying I am a small business owner, and I first hand know how people can quickly go to "post" something without having all of the facts. I have had a few instances where someone posted something on my website that is simply not true. They never contacted me personally to ask questions, they just jumped on the internet and posted their frustration. Although the internet is great, I think too many people use it as an outlet and don't fully consider the ramifications of posting something that may not be completely true. Now, what is posted may be true, but I am just urging people to really think about what they are doing before they post.

I downloaded an ap and saw the ad for Naked WInes.com. I typically spend about $20 per bottle of wine, so I thought this looked like a good deal. I used the $50 credit, and got the introductory case much quicker than I anticipated. It arrived at my home, and although I have only tried one bottle, so far so good! Nothing was confusing to me, i got exactly what I expected, and have received some great follow up emails. I think it's great that NakedWInes is giving wine makers the opportunity to get their wines in front of people.

I hope anyone who has posted a negative review has called NakedWines to speak with them. It appears they have responded on the website, and I know when I bought my wine everything was clearly defined. Of course I did actually read it.........
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Do not trust them when you cancel because they don't

I signed up when I was given a free voucher you have to state an amount each month, but before this date I cancelled, however this company took from my bank account £40 in two instalments and now to cancel i lose the £40 it's a scam and I'm telling EVERYONE
Naked Wines

Reply from Naked Wines

Hi Peter, I'm really sorry to hear that you've had a bad experience. To be clear, we do offer a voucher to our Angels as a welcome gift - which sits on your Naked Wines account to enjoy on wine. If you cancel, we automatically refund you any money that you've paid in (unless you've drunk it!) - but you do lose the voucher, as this is a benefit of being an Angel. I can assure you there's no scam - and if you ever decided to give us another try, you would automatically get your voucher back. Best wishes
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Dont TRUST THEM

I bought from them once cause I had a gropoun. I got a phonecall from them asking if I wanted to sign up to some club. I was like I travel for work in the process in moving and I just don't have the time but send me the info via email. GUESS what??? I get charged a monthly bill on my credit card, for wine I haven't seen??? Of course not cause I moved!!!!!! How DARE you!!!!!!!!!
Naked Wines

Reply from Naked Wines

Hi Pamela! I'm sorry that you've had some trouble with your account. I have responded to what I believe is your Yelp review, but wanted to follow up here as well. I looked at your account and see that you have Angel account with us. At the time of registration, a message was sent to the email address on file that explained how our program works and why the charges would be placed on your card. I can see that no wine has been ordered on your behalf, but that your Angels account balance has been building up.

Have you reached out to us directly regarding this matter? We would be happy to get this all sorted out. Our Angel program is designed to be flexible - members can opt in or out at any time and receive a full refund for any monies that have been accrued - there is never an obligation to participate or to place orders with NakedWines.com.

Please get in contact with us so that we may resolve the issues you have. You can either reach me personally at rowan.g@nakedwines.com or get in touch with our Customer Happiness Team at 1-800-673-4718 between the hours of 6AM and 6PM Pacific time, Monday through Friday. Hope to be hearing from you soon so that we may resolve this matter. Cheers!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

I LOVE THESE GUYS!!!

I have received two orders of their wines. The first was for the 6 bottle minimum, using my Groupon. No problems! Arrived quickly and safely! I am not a wine expert but out of the 6 bottle there was only one I did not like....a little to dry for my taste!
My second shipment arrived today ---I went all out! Became an angel and bought 16 bottles. Again, arrived quickly and so far the one bottle I opened is great! I am so looking forward to trying several of the wines and I will not hesitate to give some as gifts. Also, the customer service is outstanding!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Curiouser and curiouser....

Received a $50 off wine voucher at my address in Mass. However when I went to redeem it was told by both the site response and in a telephone call and email later that Mass does not allow wine vouchers to be redeemed. BUT I could buy their wine at a 20% discount which is what I get off any case of wine. Why did they include a voucher to an address in MA when they clearly know it is not redeemable????
Naked Wines

Reply from Naked Wines

Hi Paula, I'm sorry you received a voucher that is not eligible for use in Massachusetts. Unfortunately, this state does not allow a discount in excess of 20% off the sale of alcohol. This is why we offer the 20% off discount for MA residents as an alternative. We partner with many wonderful organizations that send out gift cards to people for our website. However, because we do not ship most of these cards, we have limited control over which states the cards are shipped into. Please don't hesitate to reach us at chat@nakedwines.com or 1-800-673-4718 if you have any other questions. We'll be happy to help.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

sediment yuck

Received the wine frozen. The pinot noir contains a lot of sediment. Unacceptable poorly made wine. Very cheap.
Naked Wines

Reply from Naked Wines

Hi Sue, if you will give us a call at 1-800-673-4718 or send an email to chat@nakedwines.com, we will be happy to refund you for any bottles that were damaged by the freezing temperatures, or give you money back for the wines you simply did not enjoy.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

The wine just wasn't up to par

I purchased a Groupon that was for "$75 worth of NakedWines" for $25. Hmmm, sounded pretty good. Before purchasing it, I went to their site. Wow – those Angel prices look pretty good! So, I bought the Groupon. Of course, when I went to the website and started adding bottles – it’s not giving me the Angel pricing. I looked at the fine print on the Groupon coupon and yep – it doesn’t apply to Angel pricing. Darn, but OK – they got me on that one. My bad.
So, I added $75 worth of wine, but it didn't let me checkout because it says I have to choose 6 bottles (6 bottle minimum to ship)?? Hmmmm, the “fine print” section of my Groupon coupon didn’t say anything about a 6 bottle minimum order?? Now I feel a bit tricked into the coupon. But, heck – they got me again. So, I add 2 more bottles. Of course, now with the xtra bottles (at regular pricing) and the S&H, I'm paying an additional $40 for wines that I have no idea about. So, let's see $25+$40=$65. So, I'm saving $10 for wines that I've never heard of and I can't find reviews of anywhere (except for NakedWines.com). Fishy. I got the wine this week. I opened bottle #1, had a glass and poured the rest out. I opened bottle #2, had 2 sips and realized I got scammed. Oh, and I had a headache.
Naked Wines

Reply from Naked Wines

Hi Mark, I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the wines you ordered from our site with the Groupon. If you will reach us at chat@nakedwines.com or 1-800-673-4718, we will be happy to refund you for any money you spent on top of the Groupon credit amount.

We do try to make the fine print for every Groupon deal as clear as possible so that people understand the parameters of the voucher before it is purchased. We included the requirement to order six or twelve bottles in the actual Groupon offer. However, the six bottle minimum requirement was left out of the fine print for the deal, and for that oversight we apologize. This will be included for all deals going forward.

I truly hope you will reach us so that we might be able to get you a refund for the wines you did not enjoy and hopefully turn this into a more positive experience for you.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

They need to change their delivery company

wanted to share my experience with ParcelForce, on my first order with Naked wines. If this is to be the norm, sorry I won't be coming back. Not really Naked Wines fault, but they need to know how their customers are being treated by PF. Told by NW would be delivered by 6pm (would have had texts to update me but forgot to give NW my mobile-my fault). Waited all day & phoned PF at 6pm. Told it was out for delivery but guy I was speaking to inferred that 6pm was wasn't guaranteed with owner drivers that they subcontract to. ( excuse me??) He then checked system & then told that my wine won't now be delivered today. Driver had already returned to the depot having 'run out of time'. Complained & asked for someone else to deliver it tonight, told that wasn't possible. Told him I would have to make new arrangements for someone to be in & this was v inconvenient & poor service. Asked to speak to manager, told he would call me. Waited until their closing time, phoned back, told manager was busy dealing with drivers ( they hadn't all gone home then) and that he would call me when he had finished. He didn't. Discourteous & unprofessional
Naked Wines

Reply from Naked Wines

Hi Bob, Fran here from Naked Wines. I'm really sorry to hear you had a poor experience - and we will certainly be passing this onto ParcelForce. We would love to make it up to you - so perhaps you could reply with an order number, so I can locate your account (please don't post any personal details!). Sorry again - and I hope we can win your trust back! Best wishes

Details

About this company

Looking to buy wine online? We champion small winemakers, so you get sensational wines at supermarket prices. Next day delivery in the UK.

Visit Naked Wines

Category

Naked Wines is ranked 26 out of 30 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.