Wimdu reviews

Wimdu reviews

Good
8.1
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
264 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Horrible apartment and service at 4 star hotel prices

We just came back from a trip to Barcelona and we were really disappointed with Wimdu quality control. The flat that we had booked had two fantastic reviews (I wonder now if they were helped by a voucher in exchange) and the photos looked great. The advert said that the property was a two bedroom apartment and we thought that although it would cost us the same as a 4 star city centre hotel it would be more practical as we were traveling with a work colleague. For starters, the building looked like a drug den and was super small. This is not all. Squeaky, low quality beds in both rooms and no door in the second bedroom! Yes, no door but a curtain. We phoned the owner and he told us that if we wanted privacy we should have asked if the bedrooms had doors...really?\
I phoned Wimdu straight away (German phone by the way) to inform about the situation and they told us to send them an email with photos at 22.00 pm after a long trip. We did this and went to a hotel the next day hoping that Wimdu would solve the issue. The next day I had to email and phone several times until at last they said that they would partially refund us the money and gave us a 50 euro voucher (useless as we won't be using the company again). The feeling of disappointment and the time spent trying to solve this issue is something a voucher cannot replace. In the end we stayed at a 4 star hotel that we had to book last minute. Wimdu needs to improve many things but above all, make sure that places are as they say they are and that they are priced accordingly. I'm still very surprised at how a German company doesn't have more quality control.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Excellent value for money

Perfect for a short stay in Prague.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

très satisfaisant !

L'utilisation du site est simple et le service est parfait.
Nous avions réservé un appartement à Paris et l'hôte a annulé ma réservation quelques jours avant le départ.
Wimdu a tout de suite proposé d'autres hébergements du même type dans le même quartier, s'est chargé de changer la réservation et a pris en charge la totalité des frais supplémentaires.
Equipe très réactive et service très satisfaisant.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Excellent website -quick and easy to use

easy to use -properties well set out - reasonable - good choices - will use again
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Brilliant

After my first trip with Wimdu I was very happy with the service that they offered. I have booked a second holiday with them and I'm sure there will be a third. For the solo backpacker, like myself Wimdu provide the perfect solution to the task of finding cheap accommodation abroad.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Wimdu is very practical and useful

I really enjoy to choose my stay vacation from Wimdu. The great thing about Wimdu is that there is wide variety of choice with different quality, size and price for all the taste, budget and needs.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Great alternative to hotels

We have used Wimdu to find accommodation in Europe and the UK many times and have always found it to be a great experience. We have never rented whole apartments so can not comment on this but we always rent rooms in apartment that the host is living - by doing this we find you get a great price, great location and really good local advice on where to go and what to do. Check out the hosts reviews first and you cant go wrong - :-)
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Easy, safe, good value

Love using wimdu, it's easy, safe & simple to use, & you get to see honest reviews by people that actually stayed there (unlike tripadvisor) before you purchase! Never had a bad experience with them! Plus, your money goes much further compared to hotels AND it goes to the locals not corporations!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Very happy

I found using Wimdu very easy and our holiday experience was excellent. Customer relations with Wimdu were prompt and took into account our personal situation.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Wimdu is a very helpful and trustworthy service

Wimdu made the accommodation reservation easy and convenient. The money for the reservation are stored by them and if anything doesn't work out when you arrive, you can complain to them. Not that we needed that, because everything went just fine.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

A FRAUD

I booked an apartment in Istanbul with my family, when we arrived the apart was different than shown on pictures: very low ceiling, very small windows, it was a kind of garret. The heating was off and when we turned it on it was working very badly, so it was cold, no blankets on one bed, they brought them 2 days later. The owner didn't answer the phone for 2 days. I contacted Wimdu 2 hours after my arrival but it answered only 2 days after, offering me another flat but charging me the 2 nights I spent in the cold, shady and different apart than the one I booked. It's a fraud.
Wimdu GmbH

Reply from Wimdu GmbH

Dear Davide Pisatis,

We are very sorry to read that your experience wasn´t successful.
As explained on our website, in case of issues with your host, we need to be informed within 24 hours after check-in in order to hold your booking and refund you, otherwise the money is released and paid out to the host.You can easily warn us by calling our 24/7 emergency hotline. The phone number is stated in your booking confirmation and travel documents.
We put a lot of effort in ensuring the quality and reliability of our hosts, and it is easier to react for us if we are warned within these 24hours. But you can still send us an email to the following address : contact@wimdu.com and our customer support team will do some further researches on this particular host.

Thank you for your understanding,
Kind regards,

Stanimir from the Wimdu team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

An inefficient organization

Having hosted with Wimdu for more than a year we have just been booted out. The main reason, apparently, was that we let four requests expire. If Wimdu had bothered to check they would have seen that we responded to all requests but in a few cases rather than rejecting we just let the booking expire but only AFTER a response. Initially it took us several months to get a full listing and Wimdu came up with a different excuse each time. It actually became quite comical. The latest episode simply reflects the continuing Wimdu inefficiency. We were sent an email telling us we had been unpublished. When we appealed we received an email telling us we had been reinstated because we had a good listing. When the listing did not reappear I contacted Wimdu again and the next thing we knew , we received an email saying that we were unpublished... again! Interestingly (but typical Wimdu) I was not able to speak to the person who sent the emails or to a supervisor.
Nor were we happy with Wimdu charging guests 21%. They put higher charges to what the host charges and then add on a separate charge to make it seem like their commission is reasonable. All in all it's probably a good thing we're out. We are with another much larger organization where we have a 5 star rating and have received far more bookings.
Wimdu GmbH

Reply from Wimdu GmbH

"Dear Phil,

We are sorry to hear you disagree with our policy for host cancellations and expired offers. Wimdu is a platform that connects guests and hosts and thus has to keep the interests of both parties in mind. If a host rejects too many bookings or lets too many bookings expire their offer will be taken down to account for the interests and rights of guests. In this way we provide a flawless booking experience for our guests and keep a range of committed hosts. We sincerely hope you can understand both sides of the service and our desire to provide the best possible solution for all parties involved.

We reviewed your case and the publishing and unpublishing was a mistake on our part for which we apologize.

Finally we are sorry to receive your complain about the Wimdu fees and the prices calculation. As you know Wimdu charges a service fee for every booking but please remember also that these fees are clearly showed on the check-out page so every guest is completely able to check which amount will be charged as service fees. Wimdu fees can be different for every booking since that fee depends on the final booking amount. If you want to have more details on how the Wimdu fees are calculated feel free to send an email to contact@wimdu.com and we will be more than glad to provide you all the information you need.

Thank you for your understanding.
Best Regards
Stanimir for the Wimdu Team"
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

A great example of what the WEB should be...

This is an excellent site and a valuable alternative to the traveler who seeks value for money. It is very well laid out and easy to use. Highly recommended.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Returning happy customer, that is the statement!!

Reliable service, I was happy last year when first used WIMDU , this year again, I will book again with WIMDU next year.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Unclear

Tried to make a booking which host has refused and now the apartment has been taken off the website, website is very unclear on when, how or even if I will get my money back.
Wimdu GmbH

Reply from Wimdu GmbH

Dear Sarah,

We are very sorry your booking was refused, we always ask our hosts to update their calendar but sometimes it can happen those are not properly updated. When you book, Wimdu charges the price indicated and block the money until the host confirm or not the booking. In your case, it was refused so the money will be back on your bank account in 4 to 5 working days.
We are always trying to improve our host reliability and quality, but it can still happen that they have a double booking or that there apartment is just not available and they forgot to mention it.

We are very sorry again,

Thank you for your understanding,

Best regards,
Caroline
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

They are worthless thieves!

I booked an apartment through Wimdu late on a Friday afternoon after a last minute decision to travel to Barcelona for a week. Check in was 2pm on the Saturday so less than 24 hours later. Less than an hour after the check in I decided that the apartment was simply not clean enough to justify the $96 per night cost. The bed sheets had stains on them and the bathroom was clearly a quick slap wipe around. I contacted the owners and asked for a refund who told us to return the keys and contact Wimdu. Wimdu messed around for the afternoon and finally told us that we would get half our money back or the owner will arrange for a cleaner to tidy up the place. Clearly the property was not in an acceptable state and I wanted my money back. Now 48 hours later, the owner still claims it was acceptable and Wimp are being total BEEPS and only returning 50% of my payment. Oh plus a worthless Wimdu voucher! The owner is pocketing $400 for doing nothing as less than 24 earlier the place was empty and while he says it was acceptable, he still offered a cleaner (so clearly NOT acceptable) and no one has bothered to tell me what "acceptable" is. The owner and Wimdu are thieves!

Btw the property is entitled "Red apple beach appt" and is situated right on the beachfront. The owner is called Xenia. Do not book the property!
Wimdu GmbH

Reply from Wimdu GmbH

Dear Chris Vogtherr,

We are sorry you had a negative experience with a host from Wimdu.

We investigated your complaint further and after a careful analysis of the situation we have reimbersed you in full. Our customer support agent Paola has contacted you expalianing the situation. Please keep in mind our policies are in place to protect our guests and our hosts. We sincerely hope you are satisfied with the final resolution of your case and that despite your experience we will see you again on Wimdu.

Thank you for your understanding.
Kind Regards
Stanimir for the Wimdu Service Team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Shady company much

Found a lovely apartment on Wimdu, saw that it was free, booked and sent an enquiry off. This enquiry also reserves the money in your account (To which mine came to £1000). Website states on the main booking page that if the booking falls through from the host, the money will be released back to me immediately.

So, as you'll be expecting, no word from the owner, the booking is cancelled, and my funds have APPARENTLY been released. Wrong. 48hours pass, still no access to the money in my account. The people I was going with won't pay me anything as we don't have an apartment for them to pay for. So I'm left £1000 STILL out of pocket.

Contact Wimdu customer service, apparently they "request the release of funds immeadiately". Essentially, while going through the works, I was told they deal with a third [arty financial payment company who deals with all the payment and money. And the worst part, phoned customer services, they can't tell me who this is, they can't even contact them for my on my behalf either. This company reserve the funds, and the company has to REQUEST the release, to which the DO NOT do immediately. I'm not left with £1000 out of pocket and an overdue rent bill. Customer service offered no help at all, basically just said not allowed to tell you, can't do anything, just wait.

No apartment, no release of funds, no explanation of why it's not immediate. No knowledge of who has hold of my bank funds. Almost sounds illegal to me.
Wimdu GmbH

Reply from Wimdu GmbH

Dear Crispin,

We are very sorry to hear that you are not satisfied by our current booking system. We can assure you we are trying to change it to make the guests be able to pay in several times instead of being entirely charged at the moment of the booking.

At the moment, when you book, Wimdu charges the price indicated and block the money until the host confirm or not the booking. If it refused, the money is back on your bank account in 4 to 5 working days. If the booking is accepted, the money is blocked until 24hours after check-in, then it is delivered to the host. So your money should be back on your account this week. We are sorry again for the inconvenience, it is the time international transfers take to go back on your bank account.

Thank you for your understanding,

Best regards,
Caroline for the Wimdu team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Wimdu - usually ok but can be frustrating

I have booked apartments in six countries with Wimdu and found them generally to be fine to very good. Unfortunately my last attempt to book was abortive because, despite all the properties I attempted to book with showing availability, all the owners came back and said their property was not available. My suspicions were that because there was a big international event on in the city that week and I was trying to book early, the owners had not yet hiked up their prices for the event week and so were unwilling to let at their 'usual' price which was still displaying on the website.

I contacted Wimdu and asked how owners could blatantly show their apartments as available and then say they weren't. I appreciate that sometimes this can happen, but four owners in four days saying the same thing is not a coincidence. What really let Wimdu down though was the quality of their response. It came within a day (good), it came from a named person (good), but the content was feeble. A stock answer which did not attempt to respond to any of the questions I had asked. I really hate that because it says 'we're not interested, we don't care, we're just going through the motions'.

I know they are capable of better, but this time they didn't show it. Shame they didn't ask me for a review earlier, they might have got a better one.
Wimdu GmbH

Reply from Wimdu GmbH

Dear Nick,

I am sorry to hear you have been disappointed by our customer support on this issue. Unfortunately, hosts are responsible for setting up their prices as they intend. Despite the fact hosts have the final word on accepting or not bookings, be sure their ranking is getting lower if they decline bookings, so then they get less and less demands, which is not in their interest.

We are always trying to improve our hosts reliability and quality, and we are sorry again you had several bookings refused that weekend.

Thank you for your understanding,
Best regards,
Caroline for the Wimdu team.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Simple, safe, secure and wonderful properties to rent!

I honestly can't recommend this site and company highly enough and my fiancée and I tell everyone about Wimdu. We have now used it three times; Istanbul, Barcelona and most recently Amsterdam and every time it has been so easy and simple and everything has worked as it should. I won't hesitate to use Wimdu again and in fact we are about to book another property in Amsterdam for June this year!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Good experience, but...

Wimdu has a great reviews system, that allows you to know what to expect when you arrive at the accommodation, so you can choose better. The offer is also better than in hostels, at least if we are talking about London (where hostels are too expensive and don't always have the best conditions).

However, I am not giving five stars because forcing the user to pay the complete amount of the stay is too much, particularly if you want to book for 15 days, as I did. In cases where the price surpasses £50 pounds, I believe the expenses should be paid on arrival - the guest could pay a fee in advance, but he/she should not be overloaded with the entire cost and risk - the host should take some part of the risk too. I really needed a room in London for two weeks, so I paid A LOT of money in advance and I was afraid that it could be a scam until I arrived there, even though there were reviews in the website - fortunately it was not.

I wish Wimdu had a decent system for longer stays.
Wimdu GmbH

Reply from Wimdu GmbH

Dear Claudia,

Thank you very much for your review and your suggestion, we should be able to let our guests pay in several times soon!

Best regards,

Caroline for the Wimdu team

Wimdu - Simply Better Than a Hotel

About this company

Visit Wimdu

Contact information

Write to: contact@wimdu.com
Call us on: +49 (0)30 20163310
We live here: Ohlauer Strasse 43
10999 Berlin
Germany

Category

Wimdu is ranked 8 out of 17 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.