Auto Europe UK reviews

Auto Europe UK reviews

Good
7.3
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
2557 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Must do better

We arrived at the airport and waited 20 minutes to see someone at the Eurostar desk, even though there were only two people ahead of us in the queue and they were already being seen to. We then received our car key and documents and I asked how to fit the snow chains because we had to drive the car up a snowy mountain. The counter clerk told me he had no idea but the person in the car park could tell me. We were told to jump on the shuttle bus to the car park, where we would find our car in bay number 425. On arrival at the car park, we struggled with our bags and 5 year old to the designated bay only to find an entirely different model of car occupying it. Having walked around the car park for 15 minutes randomly pressing the key to see whether any car unlocked, someone from Europcar finally turned up and we explained our problem to them. This person had no idea what to do and started doing exactly the same as we had done - randomly pressing the key. My wife complained that this was a waste of time at which point the girl burst into tears (a serious overreaction as my wife was very controlled). Eventually, we found our car about 200 yards away and again asked how to fit the snow chains. The girl said she had no idea but there were instructions. We finally got out of the airport more than 90 minutes after our plane had landed, still with no knowledge of how to fit the snow chains. At the appropriate time, we managed to get them fitted to the car, albeit with little help from the instruictions, which were more or less useless.
I suggest Europcar a) train their staff in how to fit snow chains, b) ensure they have staff at the car park at all times and c) remember where they put their cars!
Auto Europe UK

Reply from Auto Europe UK

Dear Customer,

Thank you for providing us with the feedback from your Europcar Rental and please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of customer service provided by the depot staff.

This is not the type of service we wish to promote and the matter will be taken up with the Europcar management team.

Should you wish to contact us with further information you do can so on customerservice@auto-europe.co.uk

Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

fine

good rental great pity second driver is not affordable
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Very happy

We got a very compatible prize and pre rental service. Our car rental was in Innsbruck Austria. There the Airport Rental place was set to close on a Sunday at noon. Unfortunately due to thick fog our flight was 3 hours late and we didn't land before 1pm. At this time I was concerned that the rental office would be closed but I was very delighted to see that it was kept open for us. This shown how important it is to include your flight no. if possible and to book with a respectable company like Auto Europe. Also we got an upgrade which was very nice too. The car in itself was fantastic. The new Golf TDI 4X only had 2.500 km on its clock so brand new a delight to drive.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

efficient, simple and value for money car hire

I have used Auto Europe for the last five years and have found their site easy to use, efficient and extremely good value for money. booked to pick up car on swiss side of geneva airport this year and it was excellent, no queue, paperwork ready, bus to pick up car every 10 minutes and very efficient and quick on return.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Not very honest?

I travel to Spain 5 or 6 times a year and have booked with AutoEurope four
times in 2013. On the last occasion, even though I have annual "damage
excess insurance", the rental company Record demanded a compulsory extra
payment of 77 euros, which they said was due to my age. They would not waive this charge, so I was forced to pay this before picking up the car.

This was the first time I have booked a car through Record, and have
never previously had this problem, either with AutoEurope, or other car rental
providers.
I complained to AutoEurope, and they said I should have read the T's and C's. If this was such an important feature when using Record, they should have made this clear during the booking, as the T's and C's were not available until the booking was complete and payment taken.
I complained again, and after waiting over a month for a reply and having to chase for a reply, they did finally reply, but would not alter their stance.

There are a number of other Rental companies to chose from, and I will not be booking with them again.
Auto Europe UK

Reply from Auto Europe UK

Hello David

I am very sorry to hear that you will not using Auto Europe for your future travel plans.

Each supplier has their own ruling on additional insurances for certain age groups and as our customer service team has advised these fee's are stated in our terms an conditions.

With our online booking system you must tick to confirm that you have read and understood the terms and conditions of your rental. All items are also displayed on your printable car hire voucher.

Unfortunately as the charge is one of the suppliers and it has been listed as an additional extra we are unable to have the charge reversed.

Please be aware that you can call and speak to our reservations team at any time of the booking process and they can go through any payable extras that may apply, or alternatively you can make a book over the phone and our car hire staff will find the best rate and supplier for your trip.

Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Absolutely disgraceful, I would NEVER use Europcar again! Be warned - SCAM ALERT!!!

I booked a hire car in Austria via the Auto Europe UK website recently, which is something I have done almost every month for the past 7 - 8 years as part of my business. During this time I have never had cause for complaint, never had an accident, or damaged any of the hire cars in my care. I consider myself to be an extremely responsible and careful driver, and my past record supports this.

Fast forward to 23rd January 2014 and that suddenly changed. I hired a car for 12 days from Linz airport, and the cheapest option was Europcar (my usual company, Buchbinder, wasn't available). I returned the car on 4th February, posted the keys through the letter box as instructed, and thought no more about it...

On 5th February I was surprised and shocked to receive an email informing me of alleged "damage" to the car interior, and was informed I would be charged an extra 93 Euros for "special cleaning". I subsequently received an invoice on 11th February for 111 Euros, and I am absolutely furious.

My main concern is the area which they claim is damaged. The photos they sent show a couple of small marks on the rear side of the front passenger seat. However, during the entire hire period I had kept the rear seat folded forward to accommodate my luggage, and the area shown was in fact covered up by the folded seat squab at all times.

Personally I think this is a blatant SCAM designed to squeeze some extra money out of a previously unknown customer, and I will NEVER use Europcar again, regardless of cost. I have contacted them several times to try and resolve this, but my emails have simply been ignored, and the charge has been taken from my credit card.

Thanks for nothing Europcar, you just lost a potential regular customer. I will also pass this information on to all my friends and colleagues, and hope they won't use Europcar in future either.
Auto Europe UK

Reply from Auto Europe UK

Hi David

Thank your for your feedback and for bringing this matter to our attention.

Your comments have been passed to our customer service team so that they can investigate this fully with Europcar.

Please can you send a copy of the paperwork sent by Europcar to the team as they will assist in the investigation: customerservice@auto-europe.co.uk

Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Fair enough

Shuttle bus to car hire centre was so so. Driver very distracted with colleague, and when we arrived only opened front doors, so slow discharge. Very poor signage at Palermo, but found the desks. Hertz check in was slow. No local or national map provided. Car was a little "tired", with overr 80,000 kms on the clock. A little frustrating after having chosen to avoid cheaper less well known brands.

Finally, did not know that if car returned more than 29mns late, an extra day will be charged! Fortunately warned by check in desk, but potentially a big worry.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

No problems

No problems, highly recommended for price and ease of service. Just one thing, make sure you read the directions for car returns carefully as extremely easy to miss.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Can not recommend!

According to our rental agreement, we had rented a Renault Clio with integrated GPS. When we got to the Airport in Alicante we got a crapy old Skoda Fabia with a GPS in a Little bag. As we have rented this cartype several times Before and Always been given a fairly new Renault Clio with integrated GPS we where of course very disappointed. The Car Rental Company, Goldcar, told us that they no longer rent out Renault Clio with integrated GPS. Though we had paid an extra fee for this he recommended us to get in touch with AutoEurope, which we did. We got no service at all. They more or less told us off, saying that they do not have anything to do with this, although they are the Agency that we rented the car through! Amazing! When we complained about the car (old, full of dents, bad brakes etc), they told us, that if we were not happy with the car, we should Contact Goldcar again. You would expect some service! I can not recommend AutoEurope as they do not do anything except for bringing in the cash... I can not immagine what would have happened if you where in an accident. How much help would you get from AutoEurope? Is their so called extra Insurance actually valid????
Auto Europe UK

Reply from Auto Europe UK

Hi Casa,

We are sorry to hear of the problems you faced with your rental vehicle and the customer service received on the return.

Please can you confirm the Auto Europe voucher reference and we will have your file passed to our management team for their review.

Many Thanks
Melanie
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

BRING YOUR CREDIT CARD (OR BOOK WITH ANOTHER COMPANY)

We were unable to collect our hire car as although we had brought with us the debit card used to book (and pay for) the car, we did not bring a credit card. Closer inspection of the Ts&Cs shows that this requirement is hidden in page 3 in a block of text. Apparently a cash deposit or debit card is not acceptable to collect a car (I couldn't tell you why!) and a driving licence / passport is not sufficient for security purposes. TWO other sets of customers were also unable to pick up their hire cars on this same evening at Lyon airport, indicating that this is not a one off case. I have since spoken to two unhelpful (verging on rude) customer service representatives, as the person manning the desk at the airport wasn't around (despite Ts&Cs indicating that they would be there). I will never book with Auto Europe again as we almost ended up paying €800 for taxis (but instead secured an Avis car using a debit card at three times the price we had already paid for the Auto Europe car). I have been refunded for my Auto Europe car hire but am still £250 down. I would advise against booking with this company, but if you do, make sure you bring your credit card, even if it isn't the card you booked with. I would hate to see anyone else's holidays ruined as I witnessed this happen to three customers in one evening.


In reponse to Auto Europe's comment - yes, it does say on the printed voucher. Like I said, it is hidden on page 3 in a large block of text. It should be made clear when you book that a credit card is required. Obviously this was not the case as three different customers at one airport on one evening were unable to pick up their cars. And I did not receive a full refund for my Avis rental, just for the £93 from Europe Car. I am still £250 down overall.
Auto Europe UK

Reply from Auto Europe UK

Dear Client,

Thank you for your feedback, as a car hire broker we do state all of the suppliers terms and conditions when you make the booking online and also they are displayed on the voucher that you must print for collection of your vehicle.

I am glad to hear that Auto Europe were able to get a full refund for your Avis rental.

Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Very good service - much better than expected

Somehow I got 'upgraded' with Europcar and ended up with a much better vehicle than expected, which was a very pleasant surprise. The processes for booking, pick up and drop off were smooth and efficient. The staff at the kiosk in the collection car park were very helpful with both the car and directions.
Auto Europe must make it VERY clear that both parts of the driving licence are required, if they are ( - my fault, but I had a very expensive taxi ride back home from the departure airport to collect my 'paper part'). In Geneva they said it wasn't always necessary, but Europcar on the phone has said it was. I'm still not sure!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Beware the catch!

I live in the UK. Hired a car in Frankfurt via auto-europe. Prices quoted were keen BUT yet again there was a catch, albeit indirect: the hire company was Avis Budget. In their fine print was written that they'll charge penalty if the driver was involved in any traffic offence, but never said how much, for supplying driver's details to the local police. One would think that this would be a reasonable charge, perhaps a few quid for just sending an email. Unfortunately Frankfurt police wrote to me saying I was above the speed limit on one occasion in the city. I paid the police 25 euros for the offence. However Avis Budget charged me 30 euros and not once but TWICE!! on my credit card. When I protested they've refunded one charge but wouldn't comment why their charge is 30 euros for just sending my name and address to the local police! Why their charge is more than the penalty itself? Perhaps the Auto-Europe too have a food for thought here. Avis Budget wouldn't answer the question as to why this wholly over the top charge, no sense. I've no email or postal address of Auto-Europe to complain. Malicious intent on part of Auto-Europe's partner Avis Budget.
Auto Europe UK

Reply from Auto Europe UK

Dear Client

Thank you for contacting us with your feedback.

You can contact our customer service team so that they make take the matter up with Avis Budget on your behalf. Please send an email to customerservice@auto-europe.co.uk and provide you Auto Europe booking reference along with a copy of all correspondence sent to you by Avis Budget.

Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

No nonsense and the best deal available.

When the criteria are entered the best deal and choices are displayed very quickly and you can choose which suits your needs and budgets etc.
Booking is simple without having to change websites - whichever the rental company chosen.
I use Auto Europe every time and have done for some years now.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Efficient and great value

We've used Auto Europe several times, and never had any problems. The car has always been ready and as good or better than requested.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Top quality rental car

very good nice audi , in great and clean condition,
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

They make business by stealing!!!

very dishonest company. They took money when I did not get a car!!! Avoid these robbers!!

Hi Melanie, sorry, I will reply in the same message..

I wouldn't write such an angry review if I didn't contact Customer service. I can give you my voucher details (UK2826499-1) but I don't think you will help me because I've already done for many times. Anyway I am not going to give up and will contact Consumer Protection Division in USA. Please, do not try to explain to me that i cannot get my money back for not providing me right service. I hope Consumer Protection Division will help me to solve this problem, if not I will contact my lawyer to see what I can do next, even if this does not help me, I will use all possible social web sites to prevent people from using your company. I don't want to be mean, I just want my own money back that belongs to me but not Auto Europe as I did not get service (also because of this I had to find a place to sleep in unknown for me country at 11pm on Christmas eve). I have never had such a horrible Christmas in my life. The way how this company behaves can be only called stealing and not caring about its customers at all. Anyway, thank you for contacting me.
Auto Europe UK

Reply from Auto Europe UK

Hi Liza
Our customer service team have been in contact with the supplier and they have adjusted the billing so that a refund may be processed onto the card that you paid with.
An amount of £82.28 will be processed by Auto Europe.
Many Thanks for your patience and understand whilst we dealt with the supplier on your behalf and should you require any further information or assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.
Kind Regards
Melanie
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Very dishonest company with bad business practices - AVOID

I think this company is very dishonest and excess refund service is simply a fraud, since they do everything they can to avoid refunding excess. This accident already ruined our honeymoon trip and current behavior of Autoeurope does not help at all.

Complete story:
We had a honeymoon trip to Sardinia. We rented a car from Autoeurope(as a broker, and I bought excess refund coverage), it was Firefly car. On 2013-08-19 at aprox 14:00 I was slowly driving down the hill at about 30-40km/h in La Pelosa beach, Stintino (road number SP34). Road was narrow, on my side of road there was sidewalk and cars where illegally parked on it(there was a sign "no stopping"), because of this, people was walking on the road itself on the opposite side of road, so incoming cars drove closer to the middle of the road, and I kept closer to sidewalk on my side to not crash into incoming cars. Road was slightly bent to left, two cars where left unattended dangerously with 2 wheels on the road, not in line with all others (other cars was all 4 wheels on sidewalk) this way further narrowing already narrow road. My wife saw a spider on me and started to shout (she’s scared of them), I got scared of sudden shout and looked at her to see what happened, a second later I touched first of not in lined cars and by friction I was dragged to a second car. I did not break any traffic rules: I was in my side of road before and after the crash. We called police, it came and filed a report, also fined all those cars for illegal parking. I did everything I had according to contract rules: called police, notified supplier, collected all documents I was given, did not agreed to be guilty. Autoeurope first rejected my request to get excess refunded by stating that I do not gave them all documentation: police report and repair bill is missing. Firefly did not had repair bill then we left Sardinia, and police did not give me a copy (I asked them for it) at sight of accident, but they said Firefly will get it. After I complained to them pointing out rule in contract that they will retrieve missing document from supplier, they just ignored my emails. Then I complained to my local ECC(www.ecc.lt), after they talked with Autoeurope, I received a letter saying they will try to get missing documentation and it should take them 2-4 weeks. After that time passed and I have not received any response from Autoeurope, I requested police report from Italian police on my own and I forwarded it to Autoeurope. Then I got response saying it does not matter if I have a police report or no, this accident was caused by gross negligence and they offered only 1/3 of excess that I paid, stating this is their "good will" offer. Firefly contract also has exception for gross negligence, but they did not consider that as gross negligence.This was a driving accident and probably all driving accidents have some sort negligence involved, but if anyone was grossly negligent in this case, then it was people parking cars dangerously in forbidden place. In police report, I can’t find who fault it was, however, it has written that car drivers what I crashed into where fined for violating traffic rules.. I have not breached any contract rule, I have not violated any traffic rule, so I don’t see a viable reason to reject my excess refund request.

This can not be considered as gross negligence:
- I did not violate any traffic rules: I was careful and driving at low speed(impact was weak event airbags have not deployed), I was in my lane before and after the crash
- Other car drivers broke traffic rules and created this dangerous situation. If anyone was grossly negligent it was they - they knew they were doing wrong, but they still did it. Moreover they left it dangerously with 2 wheels on road itself, not in line with all others(other cars was all four wheels on sidewall further from road).
- I did all procedures as stated in contract: called police, notified supplier, filed all the documents, have not agreed I`m guilty...
- I can not find any statement I am guilty in police report, but it has statement that other drivers where fined for illegal parking
- Car supplier(Firefly) also has exception for gross negligence, but they did not consider this as a gross negligence, moreover they did not event mentioned this can considered as such.
- This was reflexive behavior and most would act the same. Just a simple divers mistake in a situation what you are not prepared for.

Would you buy this service if exceptions was clearly outlined? You find them only after you buy this service! Moreover can you think of a case there it can be refunded considering simple drivers mistake is interpreted as gross negligence?
Exclusions(from original contract):
When damage is caused to interior, underside, clutch, gearbox, underside, oil pan or roof of vehicle.
- When any rental vehicle has been driven off-road, on unpaved roads, in unauthorized countries or areas.
- When the driver is not named and authorized on the rental agreement.
- When the driver is under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- When any fraudulent, dishonest, or criminal act has been committed by the driver and/or passengers.
- When the damage is caused by the driver due to: gross negligence or intent, adding wrong fuel, traffic violations, burned clutch, using
the hand brake incorrectly.
- When the vehicle is stolen due to the loss of keys.
- When parts of the vehicle are stolen as well as personal belongings from the interior.
- When damages occur while parking or in a parking facility.
- Also excluded from any refund are towing fees, extra costs for overnight accomodation, public transportation, taxis and adminstrative
fees of car rental suppliers

If for some reason you must use Autoeurope service, DO NOT BUY REFUNDABLE EXCESS, its a total scam. They have no intent of paying, its exactelly the opposite - they will do anything they can to NOT refund ! ! !

References:
Auto Europe voucher number: EU6120659-1
My rental agreement number: 90600399-1.

Credit Card is still valid, you can refund...
Auto Europe UK

Reply from Auto Europe UK

Dear Mr Mikaitis

I can now confirm that the refund has been processed; thank you for your co-operation and patience in this matter and we do hope that this gesture restores your faith in Auto Europe.

The refund may take 15-20 to process onto your credit card.

Warm Regards
Melanie
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Good quality vehicle!

The vehicle was brand new and very clean. The airport pick-up parking was not too far and easy accessible. The overall experience was very good!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

fuel price

hello
I use to rent cars by Auto Europe and just now I realised something very bad
if a car is rented for a week or more, we have to pay the full tank of fuel to the rent a car
at this time they charge me 84 euros... and normal price is no more than 60 euros. Ibeen in two different petrol stations and for a full tank I paid 60 euros
no good... trust me I will never bock again with your company
Auto Europe UK

Reply from Auto Europe UK

Dear Customer
Thank you for your feedback regarding your rental experience. It is correct that some of our suppliers do require you to purchase a full tank of fuel and the price that they charge includes both the fuel and a service fee.

Auto Europe is a broker and deals with a number of car hire suppliers, each with their own terms and conditions. In a bid to be as transparent as possible we do have a 'fuel filter' in our search options so that you can choose to look at those suppliers that charge a full tank option or for those who simply charge for the fuel used during the rental period.

I do hope this information is helpful and should you require any further information please do not hesitate to contact our team.

Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Very easy/hassle free transaction

Quick easy transaction. Ended up with a Europcar car at Geneva Airport. Europcar Rep said that Auto Europe were very reputable. Will use again.

Auto Europe UK Details

About this company

Visit Auto Europe UK

Contact information

Call us on: 0800 358 1229
We live here: 39 Commercial St.
04101 Portland
United States

Category

Auto Europe UK is ranked 23 out of 38 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.