Autonet Insurance reviews

Autonet Insurance reviews

Very low
2.9
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
60 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Terrible customer service

I'm changing vehicle and every time I try to speak to update my Autonet policy, either to get a quote or actually finalise it, I have a nightmare. Either they can't find my new car on the system and tell me they will call back, they don't. I've even taken names off staff but can't get back to the right person; they must either leave after a few days or staff are told not to transfer calls. Hardly a customer focussed service. They give themselves 48 hours to respond and can't make that neither by telephone or email. And the new annoyance is they cut me off and I have to call back on the premium rate number and go through the whole thing again to be told again they can't find the vehicle, now they can find the car but have to speak with the underwriter Royal Sun Alliance and put me on hold for 15 minutes and counting...

You think you're getting a cheap deal and you are. You get a cheap service to boot. Staff are poorly trained and totally uninterested. You're also topping up that cheap premium with 10p for every minute you spend on the phone (into the 100s of minutes for me now) and if you're self employed like me I can't do anything else but sit here. I've written this while I'm still on hold again!
Autonet Insurance

Reply from Autonet Insurance

Dear Sir/ Madam,
At Autonet, we take great pride in providing good customer service. In this instance, it appears that our process has not worked efficiently and I'm sorry you did not receive a response from us in the specified timeframe.

We'd really like the opportunity to look into this for you and would be grateful if you could send your contact details to reviewsites@autonetinsurance.co.uk to enable us to do this.

Kind regards
Nicola
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

I would not recommend autonet to anyone

On being accepted for insurance on a van by autonet on 24th Feb through Comparethemarket - who I would have thought would not want to be associated with this company if they were aware of all the complaints people have made, and paid a deposit of £395. I drove my van confidently for 6 days and then received an alarming letter from autonet who had my email and phone number but neglected to use these 21st century communications devices especially when they were letting me know that I had was no longer insuranced due to a change of heart when they investigated a claim I had made which I did declare initially so this seems unfair because they initially told me I had been accepted and were happy to take my £395 which I still haven't had returned. The letter they sent was dated 24th Feb, the money was taken 25th Feb and the letter arrived 1st March!! On ringing them to query their decision they told me I had to pay £57 for a weeks insurance which was fair, but another £75 to cancel a non existant policy, outrageous. Todays date is 5th March, after several heated phonecalls which have cost me a fortune on a premium number and 2 promises of a call back from autonet, one of which I logged through the online service because I thought it might be more efficient than the actual sales assistants however I still haven't had the call back. I will attempt to once again cancel today and will be back to give you an update. I am on here to warn anyone who is contemplating using this company to definately not do so. I also intent to seek a refund from the financial ombudsman and the fsa as well as making a formal complaint to Comparethemarket to make them aware autonet are accepting customers on their behalf, taking money, setting up a credit agreement, then cancelling a policy and charging £75!!

We have managed to use the online chat which seems much more efficient, We are speaking to Kirsty who seems to finally be actually helping to sort this out. After wasting another two hours of my life today, it is apparently cancelled. However we now have to wait a further 5 days to be given a figure for a refund which will no doubt take another millennium to appear in my bank, meanwhile I am £395 out of pocket.

After more time spent complaining, we will have to pay £139 for this mix up with a partial refund of the original deposit paid, we will be claiming a further refund of the cancellation fee which is not acceptable in any way and probably illegal.

To anyone who is considering autonet BEWARE
Autonet Insurance

Reply from Autonet Insurance

Dear Sue Birchall,
Thank you for your comments in relation to Autonet.

We have had the opportunity to look into this and understand that you did disclose the claim to us, but didn’t know the value of the it. (i.e. How much had been paid out). When a policy is booked on to our system, various checks take place. One of these checks uses the Claims and Underwriting Exchange, where insurers can share data with one another. This showed the value of the claim and when we entered this into the system, unfortunately, it made the quote unacceptable to the insurer.

The letters and service you received from Autonet since then is not of the standard we expect for Autonet and we sincerely apologise for this.

I believe that our Complaints team are now dealing with this for you and will ensure you are only charged the relevant premium from the insurer for the time that you were covered.

I trust this is satisfactory, but if you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Kind regards
Nicola
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Disgusting treatment of customer

I used a comparison site in early February, and Autonet came back as the clear price leader, so i proceeded to book my insurance with them, which doesn't start until March 7th. A few days after this, I received correspondence from them that there was a claim on my record that I had not informed them of. (a couple of years ago, I called my insurance as one of my headlights had gone on fire - but although they recorded an incident, no claim was ever made) Granted, by the wording in the insurance form, I should have notified them of it, but didn't think to. Anyway, they now want an extra £86 from me to cover the adjusted premium. I asked them what this was for and they said that it's what my premium should have been because of the claim. I said to them a) there wasn't a claim. they answered that there was still an incident, I then said b) even if there was an incident, non fault with no claim, would it affect my premium, they answered yes. At this point i had had enough and told them to cancel my policy. They told me there would be a £50 administration fee to cancel - i thought all online sales were governed by cooling off period? Bottom line, as I said to them, I am being held to ransom. I either have to pay £50 to cancel or £86 to have insurance reinstated. Haven't decided what to do as yet, but wanted to let everyone here know that this company should not be dealt with in any capacity. I wish I had come across this site before going with them. To anyone thinking of going with them, don't do it.
Autonet Insurance

Reply from Autonet Insurance

Dear Paul Padaruth,
Thank you for contacting Autonet via TrustPilot and giving us the opportunity to look into your comments.
Unfortunately some of our insurers do make a charge for incidents that are reported, even if there is not an actual claim made, which then affects the price offered to customers.
We’d like to re-iterate the importance of disclosing all accidents, claims, losses or incidents, regardless of blame, on any vehicle, whether or not a claim was made. This enables us to provide customers with the correct quotation for their individual circumstances.
I believe this has now been resolved by our Complaints department and trust you are happy with the outcome.

Kind regards
Nicola
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Arrogant Tricksters. Unscrupulous Business Practices.

They cancelled my insurance and charged me an extra £50 for their cancellation, claiming I had not sent them a copy of my driving licence (I had, and I had proof). They then tried to sell me a new policy. Then they used their own company called Lion Debt Recovery adding another £25 and threatening court action! I did not pay them any extra money. I contacted my credit card and got a chargeback for the full premium and then contacted the Financial Ombudsman. I have had £91 compensation and an apology. The Ombudsman state they do not police businesses. This company needs closing down, anybody who has been ripped off get in touch with Watchdog, Rip off Britain, Your money their tricks etc.
Autonet Insurance

Reply from Autonet Insurance

Dear Mr Hughes,
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Some of our insurers request copies of driving licences to keep on file. This assists us in reducing insurance fraud, keeps our costs down and helps us to remain competitive for our customers. Unfortunately, there appears to have been some overlap in timings, between you sending your documents and Autonet requesting further fees.
I apologise for the inconvenience that you suffered as a result of this and I believe our complaints department are now working with you to resolve this.
If we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to get in touch.
Kind regards
Nicola
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Disgraceful and Oppressive Terms and Conditions

renewed my wife's insurance prior to getting the renewal from the company she is with at the moment. When her renewal came through it is cheaper than the price this company has offered me. Even though the new policy is not yet in effect, this company wants £50 simply to cancel a policy that has not even begun. Avoid this company and deal directly with insurers instead.

Update
This company is trying because less than 60 minutes after I left this review, they contacted me and resolved the matter to my satisfaction. Clearly they deserve a lot of credit for that!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Disgraceful

Rang to renew my insurance with them...when paper work came thought THEY had made some errors in the renewal policy documents. I rang to change the errors they made, only for them to increase my insurance by over £200!!! To nearly £800. I decided to cancel as I knew I could get insurance for a lot less than that. Again to be told it would cost me over £70 to cancel. So they have taken the money off my card....which is theft! It was their fault the info was incorrect on the policy document, as the info in question they didn't even ask me over the telephone. They ASSUMED the info was same as last year. I have now gone elsewhere and have got insurance for £390 which includes legal cover and breakdown. BUYERS BEWARE they will do anything to get money out of you. I am going to try and get expenses back as this clearly was not my fault. Another customer lost and another BAD REVIEW!

Update: after sending my details as requested in the comment below, autonet looked into my complaint and have since refunded the full amount. Thank you!
Autonet Insurance

Reply from Autonet Insurance

Dear Sir/Madam

I am sorry to hear you are unhappy in regards to your policy renewal. Please email your details including name/address/DOB and reference number to review@autonetinsurance.co.uk and the relevant person will look into this for you.

Kind Regards
Amanda
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

STRESSFUL & USELESS, AVOID THEM!

I am coming to the end of my Autonet policy and no not intend to re-new it.

Customer service were useless, often telling me they would call me back because they didn't have the relevant information and then never calling me back.

During a claim that I was trying to resolve i was passed between Autonet, Autonet Claims Dep, Aviva Claims Dep and something called Team 5, i was put on hold and passed back and forth between these different companies and departments for over and hour!

they evaluated my claim poorly, I did not feel as if they were trying to get me the best outcome and to be honest caused me extra stress.

also after missing one payment whist on holiday in 2013, Autonet cancelled my policy without even notifying me by mail, letter or email!
when I returned I had no idea I was driving an uninsured vehicle for almost a month!

I paid my current policy off in full 2 weeks ago and I am still receiving txt messages and phone calls telling me to contact them and pay again.

I feel very very dissatisfied with the service and would not recommend them.
Autonet Insurance

Reply from Autonet Insurance

Dear Nic Green,

Thank you for your comments.

I’m sorry to hear you are unlikely to renew your policy with Autonet or recommend us. We take all feedback seriously and would like to look into this further, so that we can resolve it for you and improve the service we offer in the future. I can see there are numerous aspects of our service you are unhappy with (including the amount of time on the phone, cancellation of your policy and not receiving call backs). Due to this, I have passed you details on to our complaints team, where someone will contact you accordingly.

Kind regards
Nicola
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Fraudsters

Horrible customer service! Absolute JOKE company and products, an organized financial crime that's what Autonet is. They will take hundreds of pounds from your bank account. They won't let you leave. They'll autorenew your policy without your permission and will claim £100 cancellation! AVOID AUTONET
Autonet Insurance

Reply from Autonet Insurance

Dear Sir/Madam

I am sorry to hear you are unhappy with the service you have received. Please email your details including name/address/DOB and reference number to review@autonetinsurance.co.uk and the relevant person will look into this for you.

Kind Regards
Amanda
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

LIARS AND CROOKS - AVOID AT ALL COSTS

I applied for Household Insurance where building works with this company through a Comparison website. Biggest mistake I ever made.
They took the first instalment twice although refunded one - they then wanted bank details which I had already gave them
They then wanted proof of no claims and when I rang them regarding this to discuss everything they denied that I had asked for a policy covering building works. They then said they would cancel the policy.
Then heard nothing until I was contacted by Lion Recovery some debt recovery company linked to Autonet saying I owed them nearly £200.00. The policy was less than that for the year!!!
The policy was in effect from 1/8/13 to 12/9/13 even though they didnt cancel it straight away after I spoke to them. I had already paid 37.00

PLEASE PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THESE ROBBERS AND LIARS AND GET YOUR INSURANCE ELSEWHERE
PS SHOULD BE ABLE TO GIVE NO STARS BUT FORCED TO GIVE ONE STAR!
Autonet Insurance

Reply from Autonet Insurance

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for your comments in relation to our household insurance and the issues you experienced with your no claims bonus and our cancellation policy. I believe that our Complaints department have been in touch and the matter is now resolved.
If there is anything else we can assist with, please don't hesitate to get in touch.
Kind regards
Nicola
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Complete Rip Off / Disgraceful

I paid £368.46 for 12 months car insurance. When I changed my car I rang Autonet to change my policy for the new car (I have this on numerous occasions in the past with car insurance with no problems) . However Autonet said I would have to cancel the existing policy and start a new one!

I didn't think this was acceptable so I asked them to cancel the policy for me. I was told they could not do this over the phone and that I had to email them to cancel the policy. So I emailed them requesting to cancel the policy. I then received an email asking me to write to them to cancel the policy! I felt like they were giving me the run around! I wrote to Autonet to cancel the policy I asked them if they could send me a breakdown of any charges they would be adding as I felt that I had the right to know how they were justifying what they were using my money for.

I had no letter back confirming the cancellation of the policy and it was only when I checked my bank statement that I could see they had refunded me £166.14. I originally was paying £30.70 a month & now when I cancel it I have paid £101.16 a month. Today I have spent £3.50 on telephone costs to Autonet & have been put on hold for ever and then told that they have kept the rest of the money as their brooker commission fee plus the additional £50 cancellation fee! Come on Autonet how is that fair! I want the rest of my money back. Your customer service is rubbish!

Please Please people AVOID, AVOID, AVOID AUTONET INSURANCE!
Autonet Insurance

Reply from Autonet Insurance

Dear Ian Osborne,
Thank you for your feedback.

I'm sorry to hear you are disappointed with the service you received and that you are unhappy with the process around your cancellation.

I can also see that you are unhappy with the costs associated with your phone calls to us.

As every case is individual, we'd like the opportunity to look into this further for you. If you'd like us to do this, please can you send your contact details to us (name/ address/ DOB/ reference number) and I will arrange for someone to contact you.

Kind regards
Nicola
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

INSANE and ROGUE Insurance provider with no ethics

Typically, one would associate word “Insurance” with piece of mind. However, if you commit the same mistake as I did by getting my car insurance from cheap internet provider “Autonet” – you are inviting a massive trouble.

I chose Autonet because they were about 20 quid cheaper than other provider. When I changed my car and had to contact them, I discovered the following:

1) Charges of cancellation the car insurance is random, it is 35 + whatever they think is the other cost. In my case, to my surprise it was £130 quid. Roughly, I paid £450 for annual car insurance, after 3 month the refund calculated for cancellation is just £200. It means that I have lost more than half of my annual premium in less than 3 months.

2) Other option given by Autonet was to take new policy on the new car. However, they quoted the figure £720 for the insurance if I go via change of car. This figure was way too high, as comparison site quoted the figure as £434 via Autonet (i.e. same provider). They said that they can’t honor the special price offered to the existing customers, as they are for the new customers only.

I CAN’T BELIEVE THIS. THIS COMPANY CAN ROB YOU LIKE THIS IN THE BROAD DAYLIGHT.

REGULATORS AND COMPARISON SITES – I KINDLY BEG YOU BAN THIS COMPANY, AS THEY ARE SHAME TO THE INSURNACE INDUSTRY AND FOLLOW UNETHICAL PRACTICES.

3) After numerous discussion with the agent, they put me across to their boss “Mr Ryan”. Ryan pacified that he understands my frustration and will look into this matter and give me a call within 30 minute. I received a call from Autonet’s number few minute later and they immediately disconnected the call. I didn’t receive any more calls. THEY MADE A DUMMY CALL TO KEEP THIS IN RECORD THAT THEY CALLED BACK.

4) Another thing to note is that:

a. For NEW customer – the contact numbers is free 0800 number.
b. For EXISTING customers – the contact number is chargeable 0844 number to speak to their unhelpful customer services.

In summary, I am here with the new car but without the insurance. Therefore, I have to rely on public transport to take my kid to school until the situation has been sorted. I feel cheated and robbed by this unethical insurance provider and would like to suggest you: PLEASE STAY AWAY, THESE GUYS ARE LIKE PLAGUE TO THE INSURANCE INDUSTRY.
Autonet Insurance

Reply from Autonet Insurance

Dear Shailendra Kulshreshtha,

I’m sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with the level of customer service you feel you received, our cancellation charges and the cost of our phone numbers.

I have located your contact details and passed them to our Complaints team to look into.

Kind regards
Nicola
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Not a good experience

I have to start by saying that I realise that most people review when they are unhappy with the service they receive.
I took out the insurance on a Friday at midday now usually with all other companies I have dealt with they ask for all of the information on the website and then send the insurance certificates within hours.
Firstly the website asked for proof of no claims as expected, no mention was made of proof of driving licence’s perhaps this needs to be added to additional information as in subsequent conversations I was told that I would get seven days to sent the driving licences to the policy will not get released until we see your licences.
I had to call every day using the premium number every day I was told a similar story that they had sent the paperwork to me nad check all of my junk and spam folders and on Tuesday I even gave them a different email address and was told that they had resent the paperwork while I was talking to them and that I should get it within 15 minutes or at worse 24 hours.
Guess what still no paperwork. I eventually got my policy on the following Wednesday after having to go through the Live Link chat option, this proofed to be the only good experience of the whole purchase.
The conclusion seems to be that the systems they are using are not up to the job, if you want a hassle free experience avoid if you want a cheap policy and have time on your hands then take your chances.
Autonet Insurance

Reply from Autonet Insurance

Dear Marcus Payne,
I’m sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with the time taken to receive your documents and the clarity of our request for a copy of your driving licence.

If you’d like to send your details to me, I will pass them on to the relevant department to look into.

Kind regards
Nicola
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

good customer service

I would just like to say how well insuring my van was today down to a member of staff (David)
Friendly and helpfull and exceeded my expectations. I hope my incurance policy runs as smoothly as the customer service recived today. I took up a lot of his time but he stayed patient and got me a quote that i was extreemley happy with. I hope that all your staff are trained just as well as him. In the past i have had a lot of negative things to say about insurance companies they should all take a page out of davids book. Very happy and would deffinatley recommend....so far so good
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Accused of lies and failed to keep promises

Took out insurance last night with them via Uswitch. Quote looked good, certainly the cheapest so I clicked and bought. Sent off everything they asked for (having paid in full) and received certificate of insurance a 12:20pm the next day.

15:20 I get a phone call saying one of the claims I noted was put down as non-fault when it was a fault claim. Operative said I had done it deliberately and demanded more money.

I explained that wasn't the case, I had declare dit as a fault claim and even went back through the Uswitch site to demonstrate that given the option I have picked (single vehicle -driver skidded) it was impossible for me to have put it down as anything but a fault claim.

I knew they had the right incident as it was on the schedule of insurance the operative told me I wasn't looking at because they hadn't sent it. She continued to tell me they hadn't sent it then said that they'd changed it after a review which to me was a bare faced lie.

I then asked to speak to customer services. This is the only bit of the whole ting that seemed to go well. The operative listened, spoke to a supervisor and agreed that if I could send them a picture of the Uswitch site, showing I had entered my details correctly and I had purchased their quote in good faith, they'd ignore the extra fee.

I did this. Again, it was impossible for me to have done anything different than declare it as a fault claim.

I then called back as instructed. Got through the Hayley at a premium rate who took my details and promptly cut me off when trying to put me on hold.

Called back. Got Emma who didn't understand why I was calling despite assurances the earlier agreement would be logged.

She spoke to a manager and amazingly told me that I might have faked the screengrab I was asked to send! Also insisted I had done ten quotes (I didn't just moneysupermarket and Uswitch) and despite the earlier agreement declared that it had shown as a non fault on their system and it couldn't be wrong despite the evidence in front of her eyes. Honestly, it was like something out of Little Britain with 'computer says no' I honestly couldn't believe what I was hearing.

As for autonet's computer being infallible, the car shows up in the model as an auto but despite this, the autonet website insisted it was a manual with no option to change it.

Eventually I simply asked them to cancel the policy. They tried to tell me the same would happen with other companys which is a lie because e I'm sure other firms will have a computer system that works properly.

Basically, they were rude, provided a terrible service. Refused to accept their mistake or rectify them. Amazingly, at least two of their sales people called me to "discuss the quote I'd had and get me the best price" despite me having took out the policy! Yet they have the brass neck to say the system they use has no faults. Disgraceful

I am waiting on a full refund, no deductions, as promised but given the way they change their mind that remains to be seen.

No need to ask me to get in touch, as you can tell I have had quite enough!
Autonet Insurance

Reply from Autonet Insurance

Dear Mr Allen,
Please accept my apologies for the confusion over your claim and the level of service you feel you have experienced.

I can see you are unsure about getting in touch. However, if you would like us to look into it further, you can send your details to me.

Kind regards
Nicola
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Low cost broker, possibly needs to scaleup to deal with volume of business

Reviewing for new policy purchase.
Autonet identified as cheap quote through confused.com.
Purchsed online through redirection, three attempts to complete transaction OK.
Read reviews on TrustPilot after completing transaction and became concerned as I needed to change address on driving licence having just moved.
Initial e-mail from Autonet requested additional information but did not include any detail of what was being requested.
Used details from this forum to e-mail directly and received good response from Autonet, clarifying what was required.
I did not try telephoning after some of the comments on this thread, I wanted written communication, neither did I want to pay to talk to them.
Autonet do indeed require photocopy / scan of both sides of all licences and counterparts. Also NCD although this is less unusual.
I believe this company has an automatic policy cancellation system that may run after 7 days, this could be where the problems arise. If you are not successful in communicating with Autonet, they will cancel your policy.
I was successful, they accepted my documentation and delay to receipt of updated licence.
I can not say I had any real problems with dealing with Autonet.
It is unusual to have to provide all this information at policy start, other companies can either access the insurance database or probably don't bother until you make a claim and then it's your problem if you made a mistake.
Part of the problem / surprise may be because you get your quote through a third party and the full terms and conditions for Autonet do not really become available until you have purchased the policy - Autonet should make it clearer that they require all this information before you buy, that way if you have a problem you would know in advance.
Autonet Insurance

Reply from Autonet Insurance

Dear Mr Tuck,

Thank you for your comments regarding our requirement to see proof of your driving licence and making it clearer for customers. We will take these comments on board when considering improvements for the business.

Kind regards
Nicola
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

*****AUTONET WARNING*****

I purchased a policy with Autonet via the Go compare website & paid in full £270. Soon after payment, I received the usual welcoming emails. One email in particular took me by surprise. It stated I must supply copies of all drivers’ licenses. So I sent a copy of my license using their text service and I advised them that my wife had misplaced her license & that she had applied for a replacement from the DVLA. I received an automated reply stating they would be in contact if there are any problems within 7 days. At the end of the first week I received an email stating unless I supplied driver licenses for all drivers then the policy would be cancelled. I emailed Autonet of the situation regarding my wife’s license. I stated that the replacement license would be submitted as soon as it arrived and explained I had already submitted my licence. I thought this would be acceptable as no reply was received. I later learned they do not reply to any emails or text messages - Probably because you are forced to telephone their premium rate number. A letter arrived in the post the following day explaining my policy will be cancelled ect,ect. This time I had no choice but to telephone Autonet’s premium rate number & explain to them that my wife’s license was being replaced by DVLA. The response was basically ‘Not our problem’ & that they must receive the license or the policy will be cancelled. To overcome the problem I suggested they remove my wife from the policy to prevent the cancelation. The price to remove her would have cost an additional £120! I complained that surely you would reduce the premium if a named driver was removed, not increase it. They explained it’s something to do with spouse discount and admin fee’s….Of course it is! I choose not to opt for that. I was then advised by Autonet to contact the DVLA and ask them to place the replacement license application on the ‘urgent list’ and request the DVLA to send an email stating the license was in progress. With this email Autonet would request an extension period to submit the license. I contacted DVLA explaining what Autonet had advised. They [DVLA] do not offer such email service and there certainly isn’t an ‘urgent list’ in existence. The DVLA advised me that my insurance company can contact DVLA to establish drivers credentials. Autonet’s response was ‘We don’t telephone DVLA’
I’m not getting anywhere with Autonet, Policy was due to be cancelled in a four days and no license from the DVLA. One other option was to drive to DVLA Swansea and re-apply for the license in person and return back to Swansea in 48 hrs to collect the license. The trip would be a 1,000 mile round trip, However my wife is eight months pregnant so I decided this was not a viable option. If I have insurance cancelled this might affect future premiums (it’s a question asked on all quotations) the only option left was to cancel my policy with Autonet. Their cancellation fees are far higher than the industry norm, any discounts are not repaid and of course the trusty admin fee is added in. I received a refund of £130 from Autonet so I paid £140 for a two week premium, Not a bad earner for Autonet. They advised If I choose to do business again I would be refunded £50 from the cancelation fees! How nice.
I’m happy that I’ll never need to deal with this firm again. I couldn’t imagine how they would perform if I needed to submit an accident claim. I’ve gone with a well know insurance company, The premium is only £30 extra. And not any question of submitting drivers licenses. Expensive lesson learned. Save yourself the trouble and go with a reputable insurance company. If you’re reading this then it’s probably too late. I have requested their complaints procedure which has not yet been received. Probably being sent by email.
Autonet Insurance

Reply from Autonet Insurance

Dear Mr Withers,

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this matter has caused you.

Your details have been passed to our complaints team who will be in contact with you to discuss the concerns you have raised with a view to securing an amicable solution.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Terrible. Absolutely terrible. Incompetent and sharp

Cancelled my insurance without any notification leaving me uninsured. I only found out when I tried to renew my tax.

Then they charged me for an early cancellation, then they send letters pretending to be from a Debt Collection Agency (Lion Debt Collection, but actually it's still them) threatening to add another £110 to the money they're trying to steal and threatening court action. I've sent them the money they demanded, and now have to try and get it back. Great. I wonder if they'll compensate me for my lost time?

My advice - yes, they might be the cheapest on Confused.com, but there's a reason for it. Cheap company, incompetent staff, and sharky business practice - best avoided. Pay a few quid extra and save yourself the hassle. Read the other reviews and make your own mind up which are genuine and look to have been posted by Autonet themselves. That in itself should give you a clue what sort of company you're dealing with...
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Fine untill you cancel and need to call

I had to cancel a car policy due to the car being written off by a 3rd party. The cancelation fees were very high so beware. I was then sold a house hold policy so I could have the fees put towards the cost of the pemium. However they used the refund from the car policy as well without telling me. Over a month later several phone calls sitting on hold at 10p per minute and still no refund. Avoid and use a proper insurance company
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

An internet company that can't e-mail renewal documents.

I had my van insured with Autonet which was expiring on 13-05-13. Two weeks before the renewal I contacted them asking for my renewal documents. I was told they were in the post. A week later they had not turned up, so I contacted Autonet again asking where my renewal document were. They said they had been sent but would resend replacement documents. I asked if they could e-mail me a copy. The response I got was amazing. They said that their procedures do not allow them to do so, and they could go through them over the phone. I said this was unacceptable and that in the 21st century an internet company not being able to send a renewal document over e-mail was unbelievable. Two working days before my insurance expired I contacted them again requesting the renewal documents to be e-mailed to me as the hard copy had not turned up. Again they refused to help, just saying that their procedures do not allow renewal documents to be e-mailed. I asked if someone from customers services could return my call as I was unhappy and did not want to pay 10p per minute for there internal procedure problems.
On the last working day before my insurance ran out I received the renewal documents through the post along with SIX separate letters reminding me that my insurance was about to expire ! I then had a call from Autonet by someone who was probably reading off a crib sheet saying they were not set up to e-mail renewals out to customers. After a heated conversation with her I found out that she was not from customer services but Renewals Team Leader. She kept saying that I was offered to go through the documents over the phone. I explained several times that this is unacceptable as I could not physically see them and that when they eventually tuned up there were SEVENTEEN pages of documents & small print, how you can go through that amount of documents without having a copy in front of you I find to be reckless. In the mean time I had made other arrangements with another Insurance Company that proved to be only £9 more expensive, but at least I could sleep at night knowing that if I had to make a claim I would be dealing with one of the major insurers.
Later that day, not long after I requested the Trustpilot reference number I had a call from Autonet Customer Services. The lady who called me was very apologetic, saying this sort of situation should not happen, and said they would credit me with £10 to cover the cost of the calls I had made. She also said that she would be bringing this up when they have a management meeting. So the questions has to be asked -
1. Was I happy with the service - A resounding No.
2. Would I use them again - No.
3. Would I recommend them to anyone else - No.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Wish I had never heard of them.

On the 7th May I received a letter from Autonet stating that they had cancelled my insurance as of 30th April!!!! Their reason for this is that I had not provided the copy driving licence details for the named driver. The last correspondence I had from them was to confirm that they had received the copy of my driving licence and that if there was a problem they would be in touch within 7 days. When I sent the e-mail with copies of my licence, I explained that the other named driver had misplaced his licence and I would send it later. His van insurance was arranged through Autonet so you would think that they already had a copy.
I rang them earlier and spoke to Chloe, who blankly refused to give her surname. Her response was - they told me in previous correspondence that they would cancel my policy if I didn't provide the copies within 7 days. When I told her that I had supplied mine and received an E-mail stating that if there was a problem they would be in touch within 7 days she said that this was an automated response and they get thousands of e-mails and perhaps I should have rung them to check.
I have unknowingly been without insurance for a week!!! and to cap it all off they have charged me £108.87 for the pleasure. Plus when trying to reinsure, I now have to declare that I have had insurance cancelled and of course that puts your premium up. In my opinion Autonets business focus is on sales and has no interest in a customer once they have your money.
Autonet, I await your computers automated response.

Customer Feedback Details

Let us put things right

We work hard to deliver the highest customer service to all of our customers. If, however you have experienced customer service that does not meet your expectations then we would like the opportunity to put that right. If you have an issue that needs resolving then please contact us at: reviewsites@autonetinsurance.co.uk

Visit Autonet Insurance

Customer Contact information

Call us on: 08444 930 870
We live here: Nile Street
ST6 2BA Stoke on Trent
United Kingdom

Category

Autonet Insurance is ranked 76 out of 81 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.