Balsam Hill reviews

Balsam Hill reviews

Good
7.3
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
30 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

They made it right

Ordered an artificial tree. Tree came with over half the lights not working. I was unwilling the trouble shoot a brand new tree. They paid for the return of the defective tree and provided me a tree that works. Very please with the customer service. Will have to see if the tree lasts.
Balsam Hill

Reply from Balsam Hill

Hi Ronda, we’re truly happy to know that you are pleased with the service you received. Let us know if we can provide any further help with your tree. Thank you.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

VERY HELPFUL STAFF TO ADDRESS QUESTIONS

Although we purchased a Christmas tree after the Holidays, we were impressed with the answers provided by the Balsam Hill contact person. Due to family illness we have not set-up the tree, however we were assured that any issues could be addressed during the next Christmas season.

We look forward to seeing our new tree, which has received excellent reviews by many consumers.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

looks very real and seems to be easy to assembled. prompt delivery. have not used it this year. looking forward to next xmas to see the results.

once we set it up we will be able to tell friends about your product and will give out all of the information for them to order.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Extremely disappointing

I ordered a tree on line, my order was accepted and then I waited. About one month later I received a survey questionnaire asking how I liked the tree. Since I had not received one I called the company and learned after they looked into it that the tree was out of stock, had never been shipped and no one had bothered to communicate that to me. The customer service representative suggested I pick another tree however by that time most of the good ones were also out of stock. I suggested they hold my money and simply send me the new version when it was again available. They said they could not do that. Despite their screw up the best they offered was 10% off the same tree next year. I believe the offered solution was unreasonable and totally unacceptable and would not do business with Balsam Hill again.
Balsam Hill

Reply from Balsam Hill

Hello James, thank you for letting us know of this issue. We are sorry to hear about the service you’ve received from us and for the product being out of stock. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and this has been brought to the attention of our management team in order to improve our processes and make sure customer experiences like yours do not happen again. Please let us know if we can further assist you in any way. Thank you.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

So far..............so good

We ordered our Christmas tree in January for our 2014 Christmas. The tree arrived in a timely manner and, as far as we can tell, in great shape. We decided not to even take it out of the box but stored it away for next year. Can't wait to see it up and decorated!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Excellent service

I have always had live Christmas trees and have never wanted an artificial one, but because of health problems, I very reluctantly had to get rid of my live tree this year and understood that I can never have a live tree again. So it was that after Christmas I accepted that I would have to buy an artificial tree. I saw the Balsam Hill tv commercial and went on the website. I was impressed by the apparent quality and sale prices, but was hesitant to order online. I appreciated that I could call a customer service rep directly and discuss my concerns, about Balsam Hill and about artificial trees in general. The rep I spoke with (and I'm sorry I didn't write down her name) was extremely professional and knowledgeable while also being friendly. She listened to my concerns and answered all of my questions. I have since received my tree and set it up, and I am very satisfied with it. I am convinced that the high quality and realistic appearance of my new Balsam Hill tree will soften the blow of not having a live tree in the future. I am extremely satisfied with it and with the outstanding customer service I received. Your representative really sold me on the tree.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Waiting for Christmas

I'm very pleased with my purchase and can't wait to put my new tree up next Christmas!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

The tree is realistic to a point.

When you step back and look at your tree it really looks a wonderful. But up close the needles are plastic looking. They could look AND FEEL Little softer. Put the little balls on the ends like pine trees . And the inside stuff starts a little too soon. Let the realistic needles go back into the tree a little farther so that they don't show the uky looking needles. My family overall loves the tree. The tree went up great and was a fun family event like putting the real tree was. Thank you for making our lives a little easier.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

This company is very professional.

I would recommend this company to all my friends.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

We ordered, but have not opened...

We are hoping that it is as beautiful as shown... By the time we received it we were taking everything down from Christmas.... So we can tell you much better this coming December 2014 when we set it up for the first time... Your warranty is a great one, so we are sure that all will go well...
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

christmas in january...........ain't happening!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I purchased a Christmas tree to replace my old one which I used for 2013. I did not receive this tree until mid-January....ergo, I have not assembled it. I just hope it is what I expect when I open it in November.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

easy to work with

They were helpful on the phone and answered all of my questions honestly, even when it regarded some of their inferior products, they told me they were rated low. I am very pleased with my experience. I have not opened my new tree, I am saving it for next year.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Very happy Balsam Hill customer

I ordered a 9 ft Balsam Hill Fir tree with LED lights during the after Xmas sale. After reading some of the bad reviews, my husband and I decided that we should take a look at the tree now (since we won't be actually needing it until next Xmas). We decided to put the tree up in the garage just to make sure we were happy and that the lights worked. Putting the tree up was. Very quick and easy process (compared to our previous tree purchased at Michael's). Once the tree was set up we plugged in the lights- and Voila- everything worked perfectly. It is a beautiful tree- that does require a good amount of fluffing (which we didn't do because we won't be using it until Xmas 2014). There was no strange smell (which a couple of reviews had mentioned), and the look of the tree is incredible!!! I can't wait until Xmas to actually have it decorated in the house. However, I can tell that it will probably take a couple of hours to fluff the tree- and make it perfect. We'll just plan to open a bottle of wine and spend an afternoon fluffing and shaping the tree and I have no doubt that it will be amazing!!!

My husband and I put the tree into the bags and will store it in our garage until needed later this year.

The tree was received on time and packaged extremely well. I am absolutely 100% a happy customer!!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Wanted to cancel order 2 hours after placing it, but they would not let me.

I ordered a 7.5' Frasier Fir at 8:30 pm on New Year's Day 2014. They were having a sale and I thought I would get a tree. After placing my order I started reading most of the reviews on their website. Many people said that their trees looked nothing like the picture that was on the website. That bothered me. After reading tons of reviews, I decided that an artificial tree was going to be hard for me to store and seemed like it would be hard to set up each year. I changed my mind and tried to cancel the order. Being New Year's Day no one was there to take my call. I sent an email that evening. I followed that up the very next morning by calling them the minute they opened. I was told that I could not cancel the order. I asked if I could refuse the shipment when it arrived and was told that if I did, I would incur a hefty charge. When the 2 boxes arrived, I took them to FedEx and had to pay $80 to have them sent back to the company. Then it took over 3 weeks for the credit to appear on my credit card. This was NOT a good experience. If in the future, I DO decide to buy an artificial tree, I WILL NOT be buying it from Balsam Hill.
Balsam Hill

Reply from Balsam Hill

Hi Victoria, our sincerest apologies for any delay and inconvenience this has caused you. Your feedback is immensely valuable to us, and we have shared this to our management team to further improve the customer experience. Please let us know if we can further assist you in any way. Thank you.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Superior product and delivery!

The tree we ordered arrived promptly and is beautiful. It took a bit of time to spread out all of the branches, because there are so many. I found if I thought one area was a bit bare, I had missed separating the branches....they were there! The Balsam Hill tree is made so realistically. It does not consist of thin branches with a tuft at the end, but of varying length branches as a tree actually grows. We couldn't be more pleased with Balsam Hill, and I would certainly recommend the company and the products.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Why not to shop Balsam Hill

First of all I recommend that no one buy a tree from such a place as Balsam Hills. I ordered a tree and my nightmare began. My tree was delivered quickly and we began to put our 9 foot tree up right after Thanksgiving. This is when the nightmare began. Half way up the lights failed to work. We called Balsam Hills and they said they would send out new lights and I would have to restring the lights. I told them that it didn't sound like a good idea unless it was not time consuming and easy to do. They said it would take time. I told them they could send out a new tree instead. They preceded to tell me that they did not have the tree. They would send me out a different one that was $50.00 more but not until they received this tree back. They said that customers were not trustworthy. I told them I understood but they would hold the tree for me and send me the labels for FED X. Easy enough I thought. How could they mess this up! They sent the labels but only for 1 box. FED X would not pick up the other box without a label. I called as soon as I got home from work and they sent out another label. FED X picks up the tree, I call with the number they gave me, and the lady tells me that my tree will now be shipped out. I asked how long until I receive it and she tells me about a week. A week goes by and no tree. I call back and the tree was never shipped out and they do not hold trees. I was floored. I preceded to tell them that someone was lying through this whole mess and why was I given a number that they looked up and found my order? They couldn't answer that question. Now they precede to tell me they have no 9 foot trees with multi lights. I would have to go with an eleven foot tree. I said fine but they told me I would have to pay the additional $300. I told them it was not my fault and they should have to eat the $300. not me. This went on for a while with them telling me they would not ship out the tree until I paid the $300. I was furious by now. Why should I have to pay the difference when they have inconvenienced me through out this whole mess? Well I got home and found so many bad reviews about this company, who I have to say, the employees have no way of contacting the home office. They told me they have no phone number for their managers. Very strange!!! A company without any managers, just young kids running the operation. I asked for my money back, which took a few phones calls to get. Ordered my tree from Tree Classics and am very proud how polite their employees are and very respectful to their customers. My tree came on time and in perfect shape. Oder your tree from Tree Classics and avoid the poor quality of trees from Balsam Hills and the rude employees.
Balsam Hill

Reply from Balsam Hill

Hi Phyllis, we sincerely apologize for the customer service experience you had. May we request for your Order ID? Kindly send it to social@balsamhill.com so we may review the conversations you've had with our support team and possibly pursue further options on your behalf. Thank you.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Beautiful tree that has a strong chemical smell!

Although the tree is visually very beautiful, it has a strong chemical odor. Both my wife and daughter could not be in the same room with the tree because it caused them to have breathing problems. We left the tree up for about two weeks thinking the smell would dissipate over time. Unfortunately it did not. We took the tree down, put it back in the box and put it in the basement.
Balsam Hill

Reply from Balsam Hill

Hi John, we sincerely apologize for the smell that your tree is exuding. For new trees, please know that a plastic smell can be normal. To help with the scent, placing the tree next to a window or in an open area can aerate the tree. This can take 24-48 hours. Please let us know if we can further assist you by sending your Order ID to social@balsamhill.com. Thank you.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Don't do it!!!

The tree is beautiful, but the customer service ends after the purchase. DO NOT buy a pre-lit tree. The lights are wired tightly and that is wonderful until they don't work. I called, emailed and waited for return calls as I was told to expect. NONE! I guess they were too busy helping new customers and here I sit with a tree that has too many bulbs out to replace ( that is if I could...so hard to pull out to test that more were ruined checking them.) I was told there was a tool to help, but they were not sure if they could find one for me. The candlelight clear lights I have can't be matched so I am doing the best I can stringing additional lines on the tree. I waited 10 days for them to help...no help. It is too much money to spend without service later on. My tree is only a few years old so I can't justify the expense. As I said...look elsewhere...some company has to have your interests at heart. No one wants to deal with this when decorating!
Balsam Hill

Reply from Balsam Hill

Hi Debi, we sincerely apologize for not being able to quickly contact our customer service team each and every time. We're glad that you were able to contact them regarding our light remover tool. Please email your Order ID to social@balsamhill.com so we may help expedite your concerns to our support team for you. Thank you.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

H E L P ! ! !

Finally got to put the tree up. We just moved all our furniture to home in Arizona from Georgia. I've been here since January and wanted a special tree for my father's home that I have had totally redone and living in. My husband put the tree together today while I was at work and 3/4 of the way up the whole strand of lights does not work. Yes I found a broken one.... on a strand of lights that was working and when I went to replace it with another light, that strand went out, so I took the bulb out. We cannot unplug the strand that doesn't work to see if it needs a fuse. This tree was quite expensive to not work. Help please.

J. Plant
Balsam Hill

Reply from Balsam Hill

Hi Jeanne, we sincerely apologize for the lighting issue you're having. You can contact our customer service team by calling 888-552-2572 Monday - Friday 8am to 11pm Eastern Standard Time (5am to 8pm Pacific Standard Time) and Saturday and Sunday 10am to 6pm Eastern Standard Time (7am to 3pm Pacific Standard Time).

You can also email your Order ID to social@balsamhill.com and we would be glad to help you resolve your concerns. Thank you.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Nice tree

This is a very nice tree - full and well shaped. My only complaint is that it took an hour to "fluff".

Balsam Hill Details

About this company

Simply stunning artificial Christmas trees, wreaths, and garlands made at the highest quality. Free shipping over $100 for all our Christmas tree products. Our original Balsam Hill Collection and our two signature collections, Vermont Signature and Napa Christmas, offer a variety of pre-lit Christmas trees to accent the style in any home with sales sales, coupon codes, or discounts for our prelit Christmas trees.

Visit Balsam Hill

Category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.