Barker and Stonehouse reviewed by

2 Reviews

Review by confirmed purchaser
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Not a standard of service or quality control that I was expecting.

The nest of tables we ordered were clearly damaged. While the design is such that the tables should be distressed the item was clearly damaged. On complaint staff of B&S tried to suggest the damage was part of the distressing process. This is clearly not the case. Continued objection caused me to suggest that I would return all the goods under distance selling legislation. B&S staff immediately agreed to replace the tables. Something that should have been done immediately and without argument that was clearly poorly founded.
    Barker and Stonehouse
    TrustScore 7.7 / 10
    563 Reviews

    Reply from Barker and Stonehouse

    We are sorry that you were unhappy with your Micklow nest of tables. After you kindly provided us with photographs to highlight the issue which you were unhappy with it was confirmed to be the inherent nature of the product which is distressed as part of the characteristic.
    Despite our staff highlighting to you that the product was not faulted an offer of a replacement was made as a gesture of goodwill. When we advised that the replacement would require collection from store as per the original sale it was at this point which you advised you would cancel the order under the distance selling regulations unless we would offer free delivery, which we subsequently agreed.
    We thoroughly inspected the replacement prior to delivery and found it to be free of fault and we were therefore disappointed to understand that it was rejected on delivery. A second inspection of the rejected replacement once returned confirmed that there was some distressing present but no damage or faults and although we contacted you to discuss we were advised that you would keep the original furniture and no further action was needed.
    I am sorry that you remain unhappy and hope that you agree that this is an accurate reflection of the events. Barker & Stonehouse pride ourselves on offering a high level of customer service and we are sorry that you feel that this was not the case in this instance.
    Kind Regards
    Barker & Stonehouse Web Team
    Comment (?)