Best Pest Control reviews

Best Pest Control reviews

Good
8.3
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
445 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Item never received, no communication - avoid!

Telephone never answered, emails not responded to. The amount involved is not worth bothering about - £12 - but this is service at its worse.

There are other companies selling similar products - shop around.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Nightmare to deal with; shoddy businessman

TO CONTACT BILL PILKINGTON: he doesn't respond to emails or phone calls using the information on the BPC website. His new email address is billpilkington@yahoo.co.uk (he contacted me about business matters on this email address so it is not his personal email address). However, the best way to reach him is to go through his job. According to his LinkedIn page, as of March 2014 he is the Northern Area Manager (Glass & Stone division) at Intermac UK. Intermac is part of the Biesse group; If you email info@biesse.co.uk and explain you want to reach him (and why), they will forward it to him; when I did this, he wrote back the next day and it was the only time he ever responded to me.

Also, remember that you can do a chargeback for amounts under £100. As he doesn't pay attention to the emails Paypal sends him, he won't dispute the chargeback and you can get a refund.

-----

I placed my order on 4 January. Received a partial delivery on 24 January, with no invoice or explanation. Phoned Bill on 27 January; he did not explain his omission and said he would send the remaining goods that afternoon. He never did.

In total, I sent eight emails and left four voicemails and phoned about two dozen times. Apart from that one phone call mentioned above, Bill did not answer or respond to anything, in spite of his claims of "personal touch, just phone and talk to a human being" on the BPC website.

I filed a chargeback with my credit card company for the goods I had never received. However, since Bill had sent the first batch of goods out of the blue without bothering to respond to any of my attempts to contact him, I had no idea whether he would once again send my goods without notice and then demand payment, so I continued trying to get in touch. The only way I was able to reach him was when I found his new employer on his LinkedIn page and emailed their general address, asking them to pass on my message. This was the only time he returned any of my messages. He was clearly quite peeved that I had done this, but he never bothered to explain why he had failed to answer any other email I'd ever sent him. Certainly he didn't offer any sort of apology.

It turns out that Bill Pilkington was such a shoddy business owner that he completely ignored the fact that Paypal alerted him to my chargeback in early February. Had he done so, he might have been able to send me my goods and everything would have been okay for both of us. However, by the time he looked into it, Paypal had long since taken back *all* of the money I had paid - in other words, he lost the money for the goods he had already sent me. Paypal also charged him an extra £14 fee on top of that.

Bill demanded that I return the money for the goods he had already shipped to me - however, my chargeback was only for the goods he had not sent me. I was only refunded that amount by my credit card company. I have no idea what happened to the rest of the amount that Paypal took back from him. It certainly didn't come back to me.

Bill clearly thought I was lying about this. He then attempted to convince me that he would send me the rest of the goods if I paid for them with a credit card. However, he had lied to me so many times that it was obvious he would simply pocket any further money I sent, so I ignored him.

I have no sympathy for someone who claims to be running a business but who ignores emails from his customers and his payment gateway provider over a period of months, and then tells extra lies on top of that. I think his losing all of the money I sent him and being charged a fee on top of it was karma for shoddy business practices. I would like to think it made him pay more attention to his customers, but based on other reviews it is clear this is not the case.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

works a treat

when i put down grass seed on soil i always get cats digging holes and pooing (not in the hole they've dug) where i try to grow grass.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Still waiting for a refund on a faulty product returned in May

I have sent the faulty Sentinel 3 way cat repeller/deterent ( £149.99) back to the company in the post in May 2013. After speaking to the owner on the telephone, was told I would receive a refund on this, I have not received any refund or any notification.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Dire service

Without doubt the worst service I have experienced from an on-line business for at least a decade. Bill simply never responds to anything,
I have sent him several e-mails asking for a small refund (only £9.99) which I paid for next day service by carrier (the product took a week to arrive.....by standard Royal Mail ) but have not received a single acknowledgment .
I have found it also impossible to get through to anyone on the phone.
The piece of kit I bought at £149.99 (Sentinel ultrasonic bird/cat/everything else scarer) is not very good, but I have resigned myself to accepting that any chances of getting a refund are zilch. It emits a sound but is ignored by the pigeons.
Dreadful customer care ! I have downgraded to 1 star since my earlier posting.....
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Fast and efficient

Fast and efficient service from this small business. Would use again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Got rid of that damn cat

Bought an ultrasonic cat repeller (stv610). Put it in the garden. Cat mess gone. Job done.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Shipping to Ireland took a while

My order took a while to arrive because cans of spray cannot be sent by airmail. But when they got here they did the job.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Excellent service, but the Falcon didn't work for me.

The falcon I purchased recently would make a good paper wieght when full of soil, but is not very good at stopping the starlings I have roosting at the side of the house. I sat it on the garage roof overlooking the roosting site some 30 feet away and they swooped in as normal. I chased them all away with a brush and moved the falcon onto the wall right above the roosting area, and they circled twice and came straight back in, and have done every night since.

Bill kindly offered a refund, but I declined. Excellent service, but the Falcon didn't work for me.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Slight delay in dispatch

A couple of days delay in getting the items, but nothing to complain about.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

No problems

Goods ordered and received in good time.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent customer service

When I wasn't sure which cat scarer to buy, I noted that Bill Pilkington put a telephone number on the site in a manner which suggested that it would be answered out of hours. I rang on Saturday afternoon on the off-chance and Bill answered it and gave helpful and straightforward advice.
We should all deal with people who give customer service like that. I certainly will (and subsequently did).
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Total Rip Off

Ordered an item on 15th Feb, asked for confirmation of dispatch as it was to Norway, nothing. Emails sent 20th and 27th Feb, no response. Phone calls no reply, even left messages, until he decided to pickup the phone on 0th Mar. Said item was not in stock, so he would refund the money straight away. Still no money, 6 emails sent, 3 phone calls with no response. As it was under £100, not covered by credit card, spoke to CAB, open a dispute, so lets now wait and see. Takes money, does not deliver, stay clear. 1 star well deserved here.
Best Pest Control

Reply from Best Pest Control

I hold my hand up, I could have been quicker off the mark refunding this customer. However, I might be slow at times, but I'm not in the habit of "ripping off" people and the refund of £37.98 left my account on the 19th March.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Looks the part, delivery very fast.

We are taking our owl out to our property in Portugal that has residents pigeons. As the property has not been occupied full time the flock has grown. Fingers crossed this very authentic 'Boris' Owl will solve the problem, will keep you informed.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Excellent sevice

This is great for a large infestation to catch a few bed bugs but does not work with a small one
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Great service

Easy to use website, good prices and fast delivery. Would recommend
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

The smoke fumigators worked but...

The smoke fumigator a arrived quickly and did the job of killing bed bugs, but one failed to light and we had to send it back for a replacement.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Here's hoping the repeller works

Trying to keep pigeons way from our bird table. Easy to use website. Goods arrived in a couple of days.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Would happily deal with this website again.

It took a couple of days longer that expected to arrive, but nothing worth complaining about.

Best Pest Control Details

About this company

We're a VAT registered business based in Todmorden, West Yorkshire, offering quality items at a reasonable price. All goods carry a 12 month warranty. You can be assured of a prompt and professional service at all times.                                                                                      

Cheapest isn't always the best.

We might not be the lowest priced seller on the Internet, but sometimes it can be better to pay a little more and have peace of mind, knowing that if you do have a problem after parting with your money, it will 100% for sure, be sorted out.

 

Regards,

 

Bill Pilkington.

 

Visit Best Pest Control

Contact information

Call us on: 0844 585 6444
We live here: Dove Cottage
OL14 8SE Todmorden
United Kingdom

Category

Best Pest Control is ranked 54 out of 84 in the category

Best Pest Control is ranked 7 out of 10 in the category Pest Control

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.