BSO reviews

BSO reviews

Acceptable
6.1
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
34 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

I was concerned about the negative reviews on delivery, I need not have been so.

The online chat was very good and professional. The item was value for money. I ordered at about 11:30, the order arrived next day. Very good, thank you BSO.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent

Had been looking for a mira shower and found this website having the best price. Delivered on time.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

So Easy

Ordered a Mira Sport shower on free next day delivery arrived the next morning, cheapest I could find on line and really nice website.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Clowns! Great in a circus but rubbish at delivering building materials

I ordered rockwool and timber from this company and they scheduled them for delivery the same day on two different wagons. To be fair to them they did deliver the rockwool but sadly gave the timber to the house next door because it is a building site. I can't get it back from the builders so BSO said that they would deliver again two days later. I did offer to stand in the street with a sandwich board to help them but they reckoned that the driver would get it right second time around. I spent another day at home waiting on them. I called them at 3 wondering whether it was still happening, the confirmed yes. At 1630 they left me a message saying that they were outside the property and there was no sign of me. Very odd as I was inside the property all day. I called them back at 1635 and they were unable to track down the delivery driver so another day passed without a successful delivery. I phoned a local firm, they delivered next day (a Saturday) without any issue. If you don't really need the materials this is a great company to buy from, if you do I suggest you buy elsewhere - price might be slightly higher but at least you will get the job done!
BTW, I had to give them one star but did that grudgingly, don't think they deserve that. I'll find out tomorrow whether they'll dispute my right to cancel and add insult to injury....
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

I would never use this company again

To summarise, BSO were unable to offload my order to a safe place, and charged me £480, more than half the total cost of the order, when I was forced to cancel the order.

I ordered 1100 bricks but was told that as BSO didn’t have them in stock I would have to pay a premium to get them delivered from a depot elsewhere. I agreed to this as I needed the bricks urgently.

Although the website said “Except for the use of a vehicle mounted crane, the Buyer will provide all necessary labour and equipment required to unload the Goods” I never thought for a moment that the vehicle would not have a crane as every other heavy delivery I have had for my building project has been made with such a vehicle.

A container lorry arrived after dark with three pallets of bricks and just a pallet truck to unload them. The driver said he was going to unload the bricks onto the public highway as this was all he could do with the equipment he had. The road is busy and poorly lit, and there would have been an accident within minutes – my bricks, my responsibility. So I declined and asked him to take the bricks away.

I contacted BSO the next day and they said that they would arrange for them to be sent again on a smaller lorry – but still with a pallet truck. As the size of the truck was irrelevant to the driver’s ability to get them off the road, I had to cancel the order.

BSO then retained a whopping £480 which they said was the cost of carriage for the bricks back to the depot, just over half the total amount I paid for the bricks and carriage.

Fortunately I had paid by PayPal and when I disputed BSO’s actions using their dispute resolution, PayPal found in my favour and I got my money back.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

One of my worst online shopping experience, if not the worst

Ordered a tile cutter on Mon 5th Aug by economy delivery (3-5 working days). Got no email regarding delivery so emailed Thur 8th Aug to check if it is in stock but no reply. Emailed again Fri 9th Aug to request cancellation & refund. Then bought one from a shop over the weekend as I can’t wait any longer. Finally got reply Mon 12th Aug that “ordered… last Mon after 12pm so we do have until tomorrow to deliver this”. On the same day, they also sent me an email that they have despatched my order – hence my cancellation request last Friday was ignored. I was out of town offline this day so by the time I read the emails on Tue 13th Aug, I called home and asked my wife to reject the delivery but the courier had already been 5 min ago. Hence I contacted BSO and requested return & refund but “We do not send pre paid. You send it to us with proof of postage and we will refund you if applicable up to £5”. Took it to a post office and it will cost £16 so requested BSO to arrange courier collection but no reply after 3 attempts. So now I end up having a spare tile cutter.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great!

Friendly and helpful, and a great price too.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Overall - completely useless!!

Ordered on Sunday, paid for next day delivery ( which was 35GBP on a 500GBP order) so it was due for delivery Tuesday. Monday I get a call saying they can't actually deliver till Wednesday, not great, so I call other builders merchants to try to get the goods sooner, then I get a call beck saying that they can deliver Tuesday after all, great! Tuesday comes and at 3pm I call for an update as nothing has arrived, am told the goods will be with me on site before 6pm...nothing turns up!
Wednesday morning I call again, for about the 6th time in total, and get an apology from the guy on the sales line, am passed onto a manager when requested who was extremely rude and basically basically just argued with me! Probably the poorest example of customer service I have received in a long time!
Overall experience - RUBBISH!!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Efficient and friendly staff, good to do business.

All very organised and without a hitch.
Will certainly do business with BSO again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

TERRIBLE COMPANY, LOTS OF LIES AND SMALL PRINT

Im not the only one to leave bad reviews for this company just scroll down and you will see. Including another guy with very similar problem.

I ordered what I thought was a bradstone 2 ring circle with squaring off kit, AS PICTURED!

It was described as 2.8meters

In actual fact all they sent for the £150 + was a few pieces of cornering the squaring off pieces.

They wanted the same amount I paid for the item to collect and refund it and would not even collect it for free if I purchased a different item from them.

I had tried paying this company by pay-pal but they refunded me and made some excuse as to why I needed to pay them via card.

There delivery dates are all over the show and nothing comes when its meant to!

All in all they are disgusting. The people running the company are devious and just out for your money.

I shouldn't think it will be too long until there business comes crashing down, they are clearyly not quite clever enough to realise all succesfull businesses are built on customer service.

Don't use this company!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Building Supplies Online

Reply from Building Supplies Online

Stephen As discussed you have now been fully reimbursed for the returned goods.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

OMG - OUTSTANDING

Many thanks for my order. It was prompt and the delivery guy was very pleasant and helpful. Great service.

Thanks again Linda
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

No delivery, no apology, no refund. 2 man company, and it shows.

Ordered 3 items with [name] for next day service, nothing arrived next day, nor any email from them about problems.

2 days later i called to find 2 items of the 3 were out of stock so they hadnt shipped anything. agreed to only take the 1 item, but it didnt arrive.

called next day, they said they had low stock, said next day, offered to refund carriage. nothing arrived.

called next day, [name] blamed the 'depot' and said next day. he said it was out with a courier. when i asked which one he put me on to '[name]' who said the courier was 'royal mail'. I double checked with him that they would refund carriage as nothing had been credited, and they denied having made the offer.

I told them to cancel the order and they breached the distance selling regulations by stating I could not cancel the order and they would not refund me upon cancellation.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Poor Website Clarity

I ordered a Bradstone Old Riven Gold, 2 Ring Circle patio kit. The web Site shows a picture against the description of the product of a 2.46m square patio. I did not realize that the "squaring off kit" was not included in my order and this was not explained on the web site, I only found this out after the kit was delivered. Although I have rang and discussed this with the company nobody has contacted me with an apology or some kind of compensation. I have now had to order the additional "squaring off kit" costing an additional £100 or so and also additional delivery charges - not happy.
Jamie R found this review useful
Building Supplies Online

Reply from Building Supplies Online

Dear Chris

We certainly apologise for any confusion we always strive to make the product description as clear and concise as possible.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Comprehensive web site

I was able to locate the items- rockwool slabs- I wanted straight away however they were deivered, they were not the goods as described on the web site. I was not advised that the goods I ordered had been substituted with a different type and had to telephone to check what had happened.

On the plus side it was then explained that this did happen occasionally when the items ordered were out of stock and that in most cases the substitute was of a superior quality - which was so. Also when the goods arrived, it was explained that they had sent a few more than ordered so generally speaking I was satisfied.
Building Supplies Online

Reply from Building Supplies Online

Mr Ashwell many thanks for your review. As you correctly stated if the item you require is out of stock we will always offer the customer a direct equivalent or a superior product.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Horrendous

extract from email i sent to them:

1. I called your office on the 15/03/12 to ask if it was possible for an order,if placed, to be shipped to me by Monday. I was told yes, definitely, it would be with me by Monday 19/03/12.
2. I received an email confirming dispatch
3. I called your office on the 20/03/12 when the goods had not arrived. I spoke with [name]. He said they would be with me that day, 20/03/12
4. 21/03/12 I had still not received the goods; I called you office again. [name] said your systems were all down & could not check where they were. He would call me back
5. 21/03/12. I had still not received a call to advise. I called again. Still no system. [name] would call me back.
6. 22/03/12. I had still not received a call. I spoke with another person (forgotten his name) & he actually apologised, I appreciated that, & said he would get [name] to look into it & advise.
7. 22/03/12. eventually [name] called & said the stock was not available, it had not in fact been dispatched & the suppliers weren’t; able to supply the stock imminently. Still no apology form him?!
8. I cancelled the order
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Cheapest on net, great service, helpful staff

I ordered goods online and arranged for a specific delivery date. They emailed to say it would arrive on the requested date. Unfortunately something came up and I had to change dates. I called them and spoke to Paul who was extremely helpful and happily rearranged the delivery to suit me. I would happily recommend Building Supplies Online to anyone, the prices are generally the best available and the service is above and beyond that expected.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Great value for money

Found the product on-line much cheaper than anywhere else.It was delivered two days later for a small fee. Stones looked nice and decorate the flower beds well at a great cost.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

OK especially on price, but a bit devious.

Extra delivery charges to highland Scotland, but the materials were subcontracted and delivered by my local supplier! The extra delivery charges are a bit annoying, but I suppose we have to provide cash for the impoverished south east of England. I phoned and complained but they said it was delivered from the south, I don't think so.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Well done Building Services Thumbs Down for delivery driver

Online service excellent however, lost a star due to the delivery driver who did not deliver to rear garden when asked. I was not at home at the time - only the builder. When I phoned and explained that the 3xton bags of chippings were left at the bottom of the driveway and had no way of taking them round the back garden - he refused to come back. I had to pay another delivery driver at a neighbours house to move the chippings to the back garden!
Building Supplies Online

Reply from Building Supplies Online

Hi Christine

Thanks for your order and your rating it is appreciated, for future reference because it is a kerbside drop, if when ordering you put your specific requirements in the delivery notes section we can then inform the driver beforehand so there's no problem when delivering.

Best Regards
BSO
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

GOOD.

VERY PROMPT. ON SENDING MY PRODUCT.

Building Supplies Online Details

About this company

BSO selling over 45,000 DIY products online. With a huge range of power tools, paving, garden tools, bricks, cement, plasterboard and much more. We deliver throughout the UK to consumers and the trade.

Visit BSO

Contact information

Call us on: 08448044535
We live here: Unit 8 Penhill Ind. Park
OX16 1RW Banbury
United Kingdom

Category

BSO is ranked 931 out of 1032 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.