Buyagift reviews

Buyagift reviews

Acceptable
5.6
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
193 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

'Bird of Prey Day' was the worst day I've ever had standing about in a field!

My husband and I were delighted on Christmas morning when we opened our present from our son to discover we had a 'Bird of Prey Experience' to look forward to. We were told this only took place one Saturday per month and the first available was 15 March 14, which we duly booked and were looking forward to. Our son is a full-time student, and I knew at £70 each, he had thought he was buying us a day we would remember.
Sadly, we will always remember it for the wrong reasons. We had read up on the website of the falconry company - Elite Falconry, near Kirkcaldy - and understood we would be part of a small group with lots of opportunity to handle the birds. To our great disappointment there turned out to be 28 of us, with the handler constantly referring to the events of the afternoon being "the Groupon deal" and this is all you get for your money. 'This' meant standing about in a field while all 28 of us took one turn to have four different birds land on an outstretched gauntleted hand. As it was a four hour 'experience', this meant we each had approximately 30 seconds of interaction per hour. I do not know what "the Groupon deal" participants thought, but £70 each to stand about in a field for four hours is, in our opinion, a complete rip-off. When I challenged one of the organisers at the end, I was told "Groupon and Buyagift are the same thing". We have had to lie to our son and tell him we had a great time as he would be so disappointed to hear the truth.
Buyagift

Reply from Buyagift

Hello

Thanks for submitting your review.

I'm really sorry to hear you were left feeling disappointed with your Birds of Prey experience, especially as this was a gift from your son.

We never like to hear of customer's being left feeling upset or disappointed with their experiences. We aim to provide experiences that create fun and enjoyable memories for our customer's, and never like to hear of this not being the case.

Please email me at tellusmore@buyagift.com with your voucher reference number and the date you attended your experience. I will then be able to look into your comments further for you.

I look forward to hearing from you in due course and once again I am very sorry for the disappointment caused.

Laura, Buyagift Helper.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Outstanding customer service!!

I recently called buy a gift customer service as I had not received my voucher due to no fault of their own it was a mix up with the billing and shipping address. I called twice as I had to find my reference number on an email I spoke to two guys one Bradley one called simon and I have to say I work in customer service myself and they put me to shame! I asked for a full refund and they did it immediately! So friendly! So helpful and absolute delight to deal with I only every company had a customer service team like these guys! Really impressed!! Thankyou guys!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great communication!

I had a couple of questions before I actually placed an order, and the team were brilliant. I got all my answers and got my item within a couple of days of purchase. Excellent service. Thank you.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

FRUSTRATED-incorrect information advertised at point of booking online and on voucher information in presentation tin.

I have purchased a gift for my husband's birthday 7 weeks before his birthday, so I thought that would give enough notice to book a suitable date on a weekday on or near his birthday on Wed 23/4/14 (as he works weekends) for one of the locations the vouchers offers. I have emailed the supplier last week and called today to try to book a weekday but the supplier tells me that they only operate on weekend dates on all of their UK locations, (15 locations are mentioned on the voucher info).

When I told the supplier that Buyagift advertise week-round availability for their company (on the website when booking and on the information with the gift voucher), they said that they have had several customers contact them wanting a weekday and tell them that, but Buyagift advertise the incorrect information.

I have had an email back from Buyagift saying I should get a reply within 4 business days.

I feel this has inconvenienced me in wasting my time and now I am back to having to start spending time, (and getting my money back) finding another surprise present for my husband.

I cannot see a telephone number to call Buyagift so will have to have to wait and hope I get my money back to pay for another gift.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Efficent

I found the company presented thier gifts in a easy to search formate, quick to send the purchased gifts. Good communications re; en,quiries. Good value.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

So Disappointed

A group of us were interested in the medieval night and saw an offer on Buy a gift. We all bought our vouchers.So far, so good. Unfortunately myself and my wife couldn't go because she found out she was pregnant and it is a late drinky kind of evening. Our friends had an amazing time, so we extended our voucher, intending to use it later. We had to pay the difference between the offer rate and the full rate plus an extension fee. A bit cheeky, we thought, but oh well. The pregnancy ended very sadly and we decided to do this as little pick me up later. Our voucher was coming to an end and as it happens sometimes we couldn't arrange a date before the voucher was expiring. We looked on the website and to exchange out voucher for THE SAME THING would cost ANOTHER £47.50 on top of the full price and extension fee. We didn't think this could be right because we had already paid the full price. After a long time trying a failing to get hold of anyone by phone we sent an email asking about the extra we had paid before, only to get a very standard email which didn't take out personal query into account, stating that we could exchange the voucher for a similar product. No clarification has been given as to why our voucher was only worth the original price, and not the full price we have paid. I do not want to chase this company because this was meant to be something to make us feel better, not worse. We got no real response at all from asking for help before. As the voucher couldn't be extended further and we are really not going to be paying any extra AGAIN, we have been forced to to exchange it for something we really don't want, just to get any value out of this voucher. For the next medieval night, I shall be encouraging my friends to buy the tickets somewhere else and i would urge others not to waste your time and money. This company really doesn't care
Buyagift

Reply from Buyagift

Hello

Thanks for submitting your review.

I am really sorry to hear of your recent circumstances and I can imagine how hard this has been for you and your wife.

I would like to assure you that we always take personal circumstances such as your own into consideration when making any decisions and I am very sorry that my colleague who had originally dealt with your query hadn't acknowledged this.

I am sorry that my colleague hadn't explained to you why the voucher had been less in value than the current voucher price and I'd like to explain this to you now.

The voucher you originally purchased was in 2012 and in 2012, the experience was valued at £69.00. Two years have passed and our supplier has increased their pricing which has had an affect on our pricing and as such, has increased the current value of the voucher to £100.00.

When you had purchased your voucher in 2012, you had also used a discount code to save 25% off your order which effectively made the value of your voucher £51.75 instead of £69.00.

We are always more than happy to extend a voucher prior to the vouchers expiry date and for this, we charge a £20.00 administration fee including any uplift in price and this is outlined in our Terms and Conditions.

I can understand that you are disappointed with the increase in price of the experience and I would like to rectify this for you. Please would you kindly email tellusmore@buyagift.com with your voucher reference number and I'll personally look into this for you further.

Again, I am very sorry for all the disappointment which has been caused. I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Despina, Buyagift helper
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

my opinion one big con

my granddaughter brought my wife and i and my daughter tickets for afternoon tea, when we looked at the places we could go to we found we were expected to pay money on top of what our granddaughter had already paid, plus the venues were miles from where we lived , i now have to tell my granddaughter what a bad present she brought with her hard earned money, buy a gift never again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Brilliant experience

I bought this showboat London cruise for two for my husband's birthday. I must say what a brilliant evening we had. From the time we stepped on we had very warm welcome and glass of wine. Someone took us to our seats. If you want to sit on window you should book it beforehand. Seats were a bit too close but fortunately seats next to us were empty.
Customer service, food, atmosphere & music everything was really good. Half bottle of wine, two beers or four soft drinks per person were also included in the price. If you want to purchase extra drinks the prices were very reasonable. Food and service was very high class. The cruise was by city cruise.
I have purchased lots of other gifts from buy a gift some good and some bad but I must say buy a gift's website is very easy to use with lots of choices. Even exchanging an experience is very easy. I had to call buy a gift customer service few times for different reasons and I had very pleasant experience every time. Every one has been very helpful and resolved my problem every time.
Well done buy a gift.. Keep up the good work.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

What a rip off!!

We exchanged our vouchers for a 2 night family break at the Novotel London, once we had exchanged our voucher we had to contact the few hotels on the list to check for availability, there are no vacancies at all for the entire year at these hotels. I went back to buyagift and they extended the voucher to the Novotel Selection which is for nine hotels in London, all are fully booked for the entire year, although they have plenty of rooms they would be willing to sell to me! I went back to buyagift again to be told that I could exchange it for another hotel chain in London, back to the website and none of these do family breaks! Back to buyagift, a manager will call me to sort something out - funnily enough they never got round to it. Have ended up paying for two nights in the premier inn, which we couldn't afford, as we didn't want to disappoint the children. Buyagift and Novotel should be appalled by their customer service, do not offer something which you cannot supply! We have ended up exchanging the vouchers for things we don't really want just to use them up. This was a corporate gift for long service - not much of a gift as it was so much hassle. Corporations and individuals beware - you can get much better service and value for money elsewhere. Complete scam artists, do not waste your money on these two companies.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Easy, Fast and brillient

I purchased the afternoon tea for my mum, she hasn't been yet but i ordered alot of my christmas shopping online this year, this was the last item i purchased for christmas online and it was the first i reseived through the post, very impressed. me and my family have always been happy with buy a gift, there is always something for everybody.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

The BEST company I have ever shopped from!!

Quite simply and amazing company. I have never come across customer service like it!! So helpful, so quick at responding and went out of their way to make sure I got the best prices. I had a few voucher codes that Buy a Gift had given to me for free and of course you can only use one code per order which is very fair so I decided to place several orders so I could use up all my voucher codes. This resulted in me having to pay for postage every time, which became very costly. Over £60 for 10 items!! Buy a gift then sent me an email offering to give me a refund on some of the postage because some items were being sent from the same location so they could do the postage cheaper! Saved me £40!! Thank you Buy a Gift, superb customer service again. There are going to be some very happy family members come 25th December. I recommend to all and really can't wait to see the looks on peoples faces when they open the great gifts I've just bought from this fantastic company.

Thanks again BuyAGift, You've made this Christmas special

Yours,

A very satisfied customer

Jack Scott
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Buyagift? More like Loseyourcash.

I strongly advise people never to use this company. My husband bought me an experience for my birthday, costing nearly £120. We used their dreadful website to activate the voucher and select a few dates on which we could use it (unlike dealing directly with the end company you can't just choose a date and book, you have to submit a selection of dates and let Buyagift choose from those dates). We never heard from Buyagift to confirm which date we could use the voucher on, but we did get an automated email asking us to rate our experience. When my husband phoned their customer service team to ask what was going on, they told him they'd sent an email and that we should have already gone on out experience. We explained that we never got the email but Buyagift weren't interested. As far as they were concerned their systems showed an email had been sent, we were recorded as a 'no show' on the day, end of story. We wrote an email of complaint to their customer service team which has had no reply to date. Appalling.
Buyagift

Reply from Buyagift

Hello
I'm really sorry to hear of your disappointment. The company you were contacting to make your booking originally was our supplier and not Buyagift. I am really sorry that the supplier hadn't got back to you with the dates you requested and I am sorry that they had advised you that they had sent you the dates when they hadn't. I can see that this has since been resolved for you and we have passed your feedback regarding the issues you encountered with our supplier to them in hope that they will improve their services in the future.

Again, I am very sorry for the inconvenience and disappointment caused.

Despina, Buyagift helper
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Wow...what a day and we can't stop smiling

My husband and I have just returned from a Four Supercar driving blast at North Weald, Essex. WOW!!! What a fantastic day.
I would highly recommend this day for anyone wanting to experience the thrills of these great cars. The instructors were all fabulous and friendly, and the whole experience ran really smoothly with hardly any hanging around in between drives. Still smiling now!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Best thing since sliced Bread

What a fantastic day was had at Wellsbourne Airfield well looked after by the staff all very friendly and helpful great being allowed to take control of the Helicopter flew out over Sratford upon Avon then allowed to fly it after taken back to the Airfield there we did a hover over the Airfield then allowed to have a go at hovering myself then allowed to touch down and lift off again just a fantastic day mick mcginn
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Service as promised

Good service and fast delivery.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Please avoid this company

My wife bought this Driving Experience as an anniversary present for me.

She gave me the voucher on our Anniversary having received it a few days previously.

I went to book the driving day a couple of days after our anniversary as it was over a bank holiday weekend. Only two dates were available only to find that both were fully booked.

My wife rang Buy A Gift to ask for advice to be rudely told that it was nothing to do with them and she should sort it out herself.

We were so disgusted with their attitude of the staff over the phone we decided to ask for a refund. We were told that we couldn't have any sort of refund as we didn't ask for it within seven days of receipt. Who opens a present before the date it was intended for?

Please avoid this company. Their customer service is absolutely appalling and their refusal to offer a refund is staggering.
Buyagift

Reply from Buyagift

Hi
Thanks for submitting your review. I'm really sorry to hear of your disappointment with the lack of availability of your voucher and the service you received from our customer care team. This does not sound like our usual service and I'll be passing your comments over to our customer care manager who will review the issue accordingly. I've checked our system and I can see that the issue has since been resolved. Again I'm sorry for the inconvenience.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Recommended

No hassle. Really fast delivery and presented in gift box. Will use again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

A PAINFUL MIDDLE-MAN OF A COMPANY THAT YOU COULD DO WITHOUT

### Please be aware that a vast majority of positive reviews on this site relate solely to customers being happy about receiving a cardboard box from buyagift containing a voucher, and nothing to do with the booking process of the actual experience ###

When I received my gift (flying lesson) all I expected was to log on, submit my voucher details, view the availability online, and then book at my convenience. The voucher code/pin didn't work. A number of emails left me with a phone number for the flying company but still no online access to my voucher. I didn't pursue the booking at the time due to lack of time. I came to finally book it and the voucher had expired. I contacted buyagift and explained the initial problem I had had with activating the voucher and I'm given the option of extending my voucher for a £25 surcharge. I cannot just pay the £25 there and then to extend the existing voucher, I have to go back to the website, find a new experience I'd like and then phone them back. Voucher extended with a new/similar experience. A few months pass and I decide it's time to treat myself and use the voucher. The experience I'd purchased no longer exists. I now have a voucher to exchange for a different experience. I pay a further £25 to exchange for a driving experience; purchased after much deliberation over similar experiences based on the limited details given regarding location etc. I now think I'm on the home straight, contact the 3rd party company that offers the experience and find that they only have 5 possible dates between the start on September and the end of the year, and in the foreseeable future will only be running my experience on days of the week that I cannot attend. None of these vital details are accessible via the buyagift website prior to purchasing the voucher. So I could go through the process of having to email buyagift to start the refund process to eventually get me back to my previous voucher to only have to find a new voucher, pay the applicable surcharge to get to the point when I can contact the actual vendor to find they only operate on Thursday afternoons after 1645hrs on the third week of any month as long as it ends in 'y', as long as it's a leap year where the sum of the individual digits of that year is an even number. I don't have the time to faff around with this or the luxury of endless free time that is required to fit around the slim pickings of availability. There seems to be too big a gap between buyagift and the companies they are selling on behalf of. These are supposed to be gifts not ordeals. This is a lightweight, minimalistic, parasite of a company that charges to loosely point you in the direction of limited experiences that usually come attached with a handful of restrictions and surcharges.
Buyagift

Reply from Buyagift

Hi

Thanks for submitting your review. I have also responded to a review in which you left on a different site and I've provided the same feedback below.

I'm really sorry to hear that you had trouble booking your first voucher. If ever a customer has a problem logging in, we will always provide our suppliers contact number as this is the easiest and simplest way to arrange your booking. I'm really sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the administration fee to extend your voucher. We do charge an administration fee of £20.00 for extensions however, we do always take on board any extenuating circumstances. Considering the issues you experienced firsthand, but without looking at your details as at this point we do not have these, I am unsure why you were charged when you were clearly having so many issues. I apologise that this was not the case.

Furthermore, I'm sorry that the second voucher was no longer available. We don't charge an administration fee to exchange. All exchanges are free of charge and customers have the option of paying an uplift if they wish to exchange to an experience which is higher in price. The price paid of £25.00 would have been the difference in price but this is optional as you don't have to exchange to something of higher value. You can simply exchange to an experience which is the same value of your current voucher without any additional cost. I'm terribly sorry that the new experience you exchanged to has a lack of availability and I'm really sorry if we hadn't made this clear enough on the products page prior to purchase. As you can imagine when an experience is popular it does get booked quickly but our suppliers will always add extra dates based on demand where they can.

We really want to make our customers happy and we never like to hear of any negative feedback. I'd really like to look into this for you and help you as much as possible. I'd really appreciate it if you could send your voucher details across to tellusmore@buyagift.com and I'll personally look into this for you as a matter of urgency.

Again, I am terribly sorry for the disappointment caused to you and I look forward to hearing from you shortly.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Not worth the trouble!

I had a Buyagift voucher for two nights in a camping pod - great idea but they were very booked up so I decided to exchange this when I saw what I thought was an amazing offer - two nights for £99 at a wide range of hotel locations throughout the UK. I thought I'd buy this for my boyfriend as he hasn't been on holiday this year and as there was over 60 locations to choose from, there would be plenty of choice. So I thought anyway!

Anyway, when he sat down and looked through the hotels that were including with this offer he was pretty disgusted. After checking them with TripAdvisor it was quite obvious why they were on this deal - their ratings are terrible with some being rated only 'terrible' or 'poor' and having 0%! Shocking - not hotels him or I would like to stay in - no matter how cheap they are!! He did find one that was a chain so couldn't go too wrong - but surprise surprise - fully booked pretty much every weekend so can't go there either.

We have spent hours on the Buyagift website, which is very poor and times out meaning you have to constantly re-enter your voucher details, and I feel like I have just wasted time looking at low cost run down budget hotels that are not worthy of business or hotels that are fully booked because everyone with this voucher has the same idea as us I'm sure!

In addition to this, although I understand that Buyagift is a business and has to make profit, I'm very surprised by the cut they take off some 'gifts'. Some of the hotels I was looking at were considerable cheaper to book through directly. It would really benefit for people to go direct to the experience they would like to do - easier, cheaper and not tied into something!

I am now left with a £99 voucher that I do not want and do not want to exchange as I know the same issues will arise with many of the experiences.
Buyagift

Reply from Buyagift

Hi

Thanks for submitting your review and I'm really sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with the choices of hotels listed on this experience.

We do always try to provide the best choices for our experiences and I've passed your feedback regarding this across to our marketing and buying teams who regularly review the suppliers we use based on customer feedback.

All dates are subject to availability and during the summer season, the hotel vouchers do seem to be very popular, as do direct hotel bookings so availability may be limited with some hotels. If we are aware of hotels being unavailable for the full validity of the voucher, we will always remove this hotel from the list of options. The voucher itself is valid for 6 months so we cannot base the lack of availability for the first month or so as there many still be plenty of dates available in the future.

The price of the hotel is for 2 nights including bed and breakfast and the experience is available seasonally. The prices of a direct booking fluctuates during peak seasons and the price of our voucher covers a booking for the most sought out seasons.

I'm sorry that you feel you have been left with a voucher you cannot use. The option to exchange is there for you however, if you would prefer not to take this option, please get in touch with us by emailing tellusmore@buyagift.com.

Again I am very sorry for the disappointment caused.

Despina
Buyagift
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Avoid booking a Driving Experience with them

Buyagift have taken over a week to respond to me via email and now they are saying NONE of the tracks are available for the whole of October 2013. A real pain to deal with & they don't do anything to earn the money they are charging.

They charge £25 extra for weekends, which they don't make clear earlier on.

They fail to reply to phone calls.

Disappointed as was spending £160 on the experience.

AVOID
Buyagift

Reply from Buyagift

Hi, Thanks for submitting your review and I'm really sorry to hear of your disappointment. I'd like to look into this for you urgently. Please can you send your voucher details across to tellusmore@buyagift.com.

Buyagift Details

About this company

Buyagift is the UK's leading provider of gift experiences, unique gift ideas and fabulous traditional gifts - all at great prices. Find the perfect gift for every taste and budget here!

Visit Buyagift

Contact information

Call us on: 0844 888 2882
We live here: United Kingdom

Category

Buyagift is ranked 132 out of 144 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.