Carpetright Plc reviews

Carpetright Plc reviews

Very low
2.4
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
36 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Their guarantee is worthless

First of all the fitters sent me out to B&Q to get edging strips for the doorways.
I delivered the nice new chrome strips to them and went back to work. When I got home they had used the old damaged and paint spattered ones but there was no sign of the new ones.
I didn't bother too much about this but a few weeks later areas of the carpet started to show spots of discolouring almost like bleach had been spilt. As there was no obvious reason for this we called the store and they sent someone out who agreed there was a problem. We were told to visit the store and choose a new carpet.
We selected a carpet and they said they would be in touch. After hearing nothing for a few weeks I phoned the store to be told the person I needed to speak to was on holiday and he would call on his return. Three weeks later there had been no call so I phoned again and again until I was told it was down to the Belgian manufacturer to compensate. Trading standards office said it is the responsibility of the supplier of the goods to us so we went back to Carpetright only to be given the run around again to the point where we got tired of it and gave up. My only consolation is I work in the refurbishment business and whenever a client is talking about finishing their project with new carpets I recount this sorry saga and tell them to use their local independent shop or call a carpet fitter and get him to bring samples round which saves them a fortune. This tale has probably cost Carpet right 10 or 20 times what it would them to live up to their guarantee to me. Only recently towards the end of a job for a church decorating the 5 bedroom house they had bought for the new minister the church warden said 'I'm off to order flooring' [for every room]. I said 'where?' and told the tale so she changed her supplier.
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi Steve, We're very sorry to hear this. Please provide us with your order number and contact details so that we can look into this as soon as possible. Regards Sandy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

NO STARS!!!! and should be renamed 'CARPETSH*TE"!!!!

NO STARS!!!! and should be renamed 'CARPETSH*TE"!!!!

Sold me a carpet three years ago now which when fitted looked nothing like the sample that I had based my original purchase upon!

When I made a complaint to head office they didn't want to know (just like the branch from which I purchased it!) as they said that 'the sample of fibres that they took from my fitted carpet was a close enough match to the sample they held on file' (whatever that means?!?)

The fact that my carpet would change colour from the brick colour that I thought I was getting, to bright pink dependent upon which way it is brushed was not something that was explained to me at the time I looked at their sample (which most certainly didn't react in this way!).

I have since been informed by another reputable carpet vendor that my particular make of carpet is well known for reacting in such a manner and that they themselves would never have sold it without making sure that the customer was aware of this fact - something that 'Carpetsh*te' quite clearly couldn't be bothered to do!!

Not only that but their installation was appalling, with my newly hung wall paper (at a cost of nearly £60 per roll) damaged and the carpet cut short of the skirting board in several places.

Again they didn't want to know (there's a surprise!) saying that they were not responsible for the fitters, despite the fact that it was they who provided them!!! WTF!!!!!

Now I have read more recently that their share price is going down the sh*tter, with yet another of several recent profit warnings!

Well 'newsflash' d*ckheads! If you treat your customers like sh*t you won't continue to sell them any carpets, as word will eventually start to get around that you're cr*p! 'Simples!'

So when your sorry excuse for a company finally goes down the toilet if you listen carefully enough you might just hear the sound of me laughing my c*ck off!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

wont go there

I am so glad that I read the reviews on this page as i was going to buy some flooring for my flat about 40sqm will be going to another supplier
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi John, we're sorry that you feel this way. We hope your redecorating goes well nonetheless. Regards Sandy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

They won't get our business again!

My wife ordered some underlay to go under a rug from their Dorchester branch last Monday (10th March), and was promised it would be in by Wednesday. Yesterday, Thursday, as I was passing the store, I called in mid-afternoon to collect it on the assumption it would have arrived, but was told it would not be there until later in the afternoon. This morning, Friday, having heard nothing, I telephoned just to make sure, but on the first two occasions I let it ring for nearly 5 minutes and there was no reply. About half an hour later, it was third time lucky, although I was told the underlay had still not arrived, but was expected in the next half hour or thereabouts. The manager did ring back later, but only to announce that they did not have the type that had been ordered, but could offer an alternative!
When I got to the store, I was told that it was not wide enough, and therefore would have to be laid in two strips, and the reason for this became clear when the underlay was retrieved from an outside store housing bits of excess unwanted carpet! By this time I was beyond caring (and we needed the underlay for the weekend), so I took two bits sufficient for the whole rug, albeit that these were clearly offcuts from another customer. Although I thought this performance demanded a discount on the price (anybody concerned about customer satisfaction by then would have seriously contemplated letting me have the offcuts for free!), the manager was totally unreceptive, and all I got was a partial refund because the catalogue price of the replacement was cheaper! If I had not wasted so much time already, and by then we had to have the underlay, I would have told him where he could stick it!
It was bad enough having to deal with these people for a 3.5 sq m of underlay, so I would never contemplate placing an order for carpet, and, judging by their customer rating, I am not alone in this!
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi Chris, we apologise for this. Please provide your order number and contact details so that we can resolve the issue. Regards Sandy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Unhelpful!!!

Visited the Southport store today and spent about 15 minutes looking around. Nobody approached us so we walked out. We had a chat outside then went back in as we'd seen a carpet we liked. Same as before..totally ignored!! I had to approach a staff member and ask for a quote. I hadn't budgeted for gripper rods and there was a definite "what a silly woman" attitude-even the underlay book was shoved at me! He had to be the worst salesman going. There was no attempt to get a sale - no smile or friendly chat. He reluctantly wrote all the individual charges down in a booklet (rods, underlay, fitting etc) and we left..not even a goodbye was said!! Nah..we won't be returning Terry..you could have had nearly £300 off us today..learn some manners and Customer Service..
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi Dawn, we're not happy to hear this. Please provide us with your contact number so that we can speak to you about this.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

BUYER BEWARE

This company has a NO CANCELLATION POLICY .. they do not tell you this at the time of purchase......and treat you like c'2m p once they have your order. I purchased from Shirley Solihull NEVER EVER AGAIN
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

NEVER ORDER FROM THEM

VERY disappointed .. delivery of a TWO THOUSAND BED and they take the mattress in 1st and when they cant get it up the stairs they say. "If we make it go up you can not get refund".... NO MENTION IF THEY CANT GET THE MATTRESS THEY WONT GET THE BED IN.... now we are stuck with a mattress and NO BLOODY bed with a 6 week delivery on 2 options that are not nice!!! If you must buy from them make sure BEFORE you buy anything you get it in writing that they will come round and measure your house to ensure they can get a bed delivered or they will charge you 35% of your purchase to take it back to their warehouse after their delivery company tells you the wrong information (apparently provided by carpetright) about the t&c's to get you to keep the most expensive items.. In our case they wanted a £700 re-stocking fee to take away... MY ADVICE STICK TO DREAMS they can deliver a nice bed in 6 days, gave free delivery and went out their way to agree if the bed didn't get up the stairs we will get A FULL REFUND...
http://www.trustpilot.co.uk/review/www.dreams.co.uk
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

RUBBISH DONT USE THE READING OXFORD ROAD STORE

Attitude of the fitters was awful... the sales man did not tell us that we had to move furniture out of the room- or move the cooker out of the kitchen. I had asked him these questions when we booked the fitting- he said no we will do all that. do not use....the fitters were arrogant and rude, keep away from them..
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi Kate, we're sorry about this. Please give us your order number and contact details so that we can look into this for you. Regards Sandy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Never again!

Well, well, well! From being sold goods deceitfully to having saw dust all over our new carpets, our newly decorated walls and our brand new furniture, this was quite appalling! One would have thought that these otherwise nice people would be a bit more professional and clued up! We certainly have learned from the experience never to use carpetright again!
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi Matianne, we're sorry that you feel this way. Please give us more information, your order number and contact details and we'll look into this. Regards Sandy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Absolutely dreadful!

I was in the process of moving house and purposely arranged to have both my rented flat and my newly purchased flat for 2 weeks before I moved so that all work could be complete.
I booked Carpet Right to fit all my carpets in my new flat and arranged an afternoon off work to wait in for them. I was told they would arrive between 1-6pm. They eventually turned up at 7.30pm and only fitted half of what they were supposed to! I now have to move into my new flat with half of it having no flooring. I will also have to rearrange time off work again for the rest of the flat to be carpeted.
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi Annabel, we apologise for this. Please provide us with your order number and contact details so that we can look into this. Regards Sandy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

All seems good so far!

I was a bit concerned about using Carpetright after some of the reviews on this site. Nevertheless, I arranged purchase of carpet through the Grimsby store. I was kept informed as to when the carpet arrived in the warehouse and when it would be fitted. This was done today at exactly the time arranged. The fitters couldn't have been more helpful, including taking up the old carpet. After fitting the carpet, they vacuumed half the room before their cleaner broke down - they then offered to finish it with my cleaner! The carpet looks to be very well fitted, so all seems good so far, but I'll see how well the carpet wears before making final judgement.
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi Careful Shopper, thank you very much for your nice feedback. We will be sure to pass this on to the store. Regards Sandy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Pleasantly Surprised

I purchased an Ifusion 1200 pocket sprung mattress and divan and apart from not being told that the interest free finance would take an extra week, although we were excepted, therefore no guaranteed delivery before Christmas, everything else went brilliantly. We should have been given this information before signing the paperwork. Having then cancelled this form of payment we then paid cash so as to have the pre chrimble delivery. They notified us, 6 days in advance of the delivery, the exact day for it and it arrived on time. The bed is an absolute dream and I would recommend to anybody who wants a mattress that contours to your body and gives you a wonderful nights sleep. Thank you Simmons for the mattress and a big hats off to Carpetright, who got it right and made it a pleasure, even if there was a slight hiccup at the beginning.
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi Cinato, thank you for your feedback. We'll be sure to pass on your message. Regards Sandy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Appalling delivery service by TFS -Order # 0165111075387

Laminate flooring bought & paid for to be delivered 3/12/13 as confirmed by the delivery company on the morning between 9am-5pm. 4.30pm, no delivery or phone calls....Called delivery company, store & emailed customer services - no response apart from confirmation that it would be delivered that day!..9.45am following morning 4/12/13, still no delivery, by which point I am absolutely fuming having to take a day's leave from work & placing calls/emails to follow up the delivery. Finally - every excuse under the sun later - 12 noon it arrives.. Store Manager called & refunded the delivery costs £29. A small consolation for all the stress & running around I have had to do.
I will never ever order anything from this company again. All beware, the contract you sign for your goods is with CarpetRight, but the delivery company (TFS) is a 3rd party!!! If you must order from this company, pick it up yourself.
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi Sharon, we're very sorry about this. Please provide us with your order number and contact details and we'll look into it.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Appaling Service - DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY

Ordered and paid for a vinyl floor to be fitted in our kitchen. Was asked at the point of ordering if I was happy for the flooring to be taped down, which I confirmed I was. The night of the flooring being put down our puppy pulled up one side and chewed it, it had not been laid down for 24 hours yet. On investigating we found that the flooring had only been taped down on 2 sides, not on all 4 corners as I expected. The 2 sides that have been taped down are non-traffic areas. Contacted the store who sent someone round to inspect it. I questioned then why I was not told it would only be taped down on 2 sides but got NO answer. The store later contacted me to say that the flooring was fitted correctly and it's nothing to do with them that our puppy "interacted" with the flooring. I then visited 3 independent flooring specialists in my town who all confirmed that they would have taped all 4 sides regardless of size of flooring. One even showed me the fitting instructions from the manufacturer that states that it must be taped with acrylic adhesive especially at door openings which Carpetright's fitter did not do. Sent a recorded letter to Carpetright asking for an explanation as to why I wasn't informed it would not be taped on all 4 sides (especially as they sell the floor tape themselves) and why their website mentions nothing about this at all. Got a patronising reply yesterday from their head of Consumer Affairs, Richard Renouf, stating "...the advice you have been given by the three carpet retailers you have consulted is inaccurate... ...I can confirm that your vinyl was fitted correctly. I'm sorry that your dog has chewed it, but we do not accept liability for this and would strongly recommmend (sic) that you check the terms of your household insurance policy to see if it covers such damage." They have offered to fit the flooring for free if I buy it from them again.

I shall be seeking further legal advice about this company as I feel I was mis-sold the fitting procedure. As for their failure to reply to my questions they really treated their customers with complete contempt. Regret ever walking through the door of this crooks - AVOID AT ALL COSTS
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Dear Mr Hartley-Smith, We’re sorry you’re unhappy because your puppy chewed your vinyl and you feel it hasn’t been fitted correctly. We follow the British Standard for installations and the guidelines of the Flooring Industry Training Association, and we’re sorry the other retailers you have spoken to don’t work to these same high standards.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Disgusting

I ordered a carpet from carpet right in Gillingham kent and a first the service was ok I was told the fitter will be here from 12 onwards well this was not the case!! coming upto 5pm the fitters had still not been so I contacted the store who informed me they was running late which I was kind of upset over since no thought to tell me so they arrived at 5:30pm! Thankfully the fitters were very polite and apologetic which was a small bonus but then they turned round and said 'oh we cant fit your carpets as its just one big piece we wasn't informed it was for two rooms'!! They suggested they could try cut it outside where its was raining heavily and dark so no way was I having a brand new carpet cut up outside yet again they did apologise as it was not there fault it was the stores!! I called the store and explained my anger and all they said was SORRY and nothing they can do!! had even ripped all the old carpets up dismantled all my furniture and beds and stored them so it would make it easier so that night my disabled parents had to sleep on the floor which I found disgraceful.. the fitters came back next morning and fitted are carpets thankfully so yet again I called the store and was told oh we are sorry but least they had somewhere to sleep!! But of course two disabled people sleeping on the floor of the front room is fine!! I was then offered a SMALL amount of £29 WOW!! I WAS going to keep going to carpet right for my other 3 carpets but im taking my custom elsewhere they was nice when taking my money but the after care and customer service was disgusting never AGAIN WILL I USE THEM AND ID ADVISE OTHERS NOT TO
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi Tara, we strongly apologise for this. Please provide your order number and contact details so that we can look into this. Regards Sandy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

A good review!

Visited 2 Carpetright stores, 1 in Bicester, 1 in Oxford, with parents who wanted to buy 2 single ottoman storage beds. On both occasions staff were very helpful, attentive but not pushy. When one member of staff did not know answer to our question, he contacted department that did. When decision was made and we returned to purchase beds and headboards, service was efficient and friendly. Delivery was stated as being within 2 - 3 weeks. Parents were contacted and delivery date arranged, arrived on time, took old bed away and installed new ones with no issues. Parents very happy with purchase.
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi S Brady, thank you for your message. We will be sure to pass it on to the stores. Regards Sandy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

CARPER WRONG

my mum has had nothing but trouble getting my carpet fitted. the fitters came and stood and watched my mum remove everything from my room. we were informed the bed and wardrobe were OK left in. then after they had finished i realised they had damaged my wardrobes by dragging it along the floor. they were brand new... today we were called after 3 weeks of chasing after them to sort this problem out. and told that i had admitted they were already broken to the lady when we placed the order..... judging the fact i have only been in store once and didnt speak to any staff i have no idea when i have said this especially when the wardrobes were not broke till the fitters have been. they have done nothing but accuse me n my mum of lying and making it very difficult. the don't accept responsibility and customer service is shocking.
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi Emma, we're very sorry about this. Please send us your order number and details so that we can resolve this. Regards Sandy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Rude horrid staff

As I struggled through the door with three children (1 being in a car seat) and two under 5, two men stood chatting away to each other. I had around £1200 to buy carpet for my stairs and bedrooms. I finally manage to get in and have a look around for 5 minutes clear in my mind what I was going to go for. I look towards the door and an older man and women are about to walk in. The to staff couldn't get to the door quicker! Speaking nicely to them and asking if they would like any help! Seriously! Because I have three children I must be poor right! Well that was it. I decided not to spend my money there! I shouted how rude that was as I left and wrote a letter of complaint. They sent me a 15% (I think) money off voucher. No apology, just money off. I would NEVER shop in carpet right now or in the future.
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi Joanne, we're not happy about this. Please provide your contact details so that we can speak to ensure this doesn't happen again. Regards Sandy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Fast and efficient

I live in Hull and had a problem last year with a carpet bought in the Debenhams branch some 3 years previous, the clough road branch visited Gary is his name and he was totally professional, as a result the whole stair and hall carpet was changed in March 2012. However, this month the carpet has frayed at the top and bottom of the stairs. The manager has just been and no quibble is replacing all again. Whilst it is an inconvenience I cannot fault the service given. We will however be buying our own better underlay and avoiding their carpet fitters.
Most of the reviews read are for branches in the south, maybe the staff should come north and take lessons on customer service from their colleagues here.
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi Sam, thank you for your nice feedback. We will be sure to pass it on to the store. Regards Sandy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

further rubbish

Bought laminate flooring end of March from Carpetright and arranged for it to be delivered by fitter and laid 28th March they turned up without laminate. However, I arranged for them to come back the following day. They came laid floor in dinning room and hall in 1/2 a day and were duly paid £250 in cash for job. Towards the beginning of August the floor became uneven at the edge and eventually cracked at edge. Also I noticed one plank was coming up in middle of floor. I duly telephoned the Romford shop who said they would get fitter to call me, I am still waiting for that call so arranged for another fitter that I know to come in and see floor. He told me that it had not been laid well at all and I should get Carpetright to come in and take floor up relay it and compensate me, I explained that I couldn't get a response from them and just wanted it put right. He is coming in this week to do that for me for which I have to pay Also while looking on line found the same laminate for half the price of the supposed super sale in Carpetright. Don t use this Company they rip you off and fitting can be done for half the price Carrying on from my review on the botch job on my laminate flooring gave Carpetright a call yesterday and explained the situation to customer service who said they would call by end of day. Yes they did call stating that according to their Romford shop I had picked up laminate and got my own fitter, I pointed out to the girl that I had not blamed them for anything but the fitter but that I was now really cross as they were now spouting out and out lies. I explained AGAIN that their fitter bought the laminate from shop and fitted laminate and that I didn't like being accused of lying. She said well that s what shop says she said we will get fitter to call you I said no you have had over three weeks to take action and I am now so angry that I have arranged for a fitter to come in to put their botch job right. She said you can t do that, I said I am and that I will be reclaiming through the VISA protection scheme against the product. It is obvious why they insist their fitters (ALL SUBCONTRACTED) are paid in cash, that way they are not taking any responsibility for anything there fitters or delivery people (ALSO SUBCONTRACTED) in majority of cases. In other words all they are is a sales room but do not take responsibility for their other staff. DO NOT waste your money on letting them fit your products it is shoddy. I made the mistake of paying in full otherwise as I said to their customers service I would cancel any direct debit with them and let them take me through the courts. Go elsewhere laminate they sell is available online at half their sale price, better underlay and find your own fitter.
Carpetright

Reply from Carpetright

Hi Marianne, we're very sorry about this. Please provide your order number and details so that we can look into this. Regards Sandy

Carpetright Details

About this company

Carpetright can help you choose the best Carpets, Laminate, Vinyl and Rugs. Visit us to learn more about our excellent fitting service and quality guarantees.

Visit Carpetright Plc

Contact information

Call us on: 0845 6045619
We live here: Harris House
RM19 1TT Essex
United Kingdom

Category

Carpetright Plc is ranked 119 out of 119 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.