City Link reviews

City Link reviews

Very low
2.7
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
817 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Poor.

Delivery missed yesterday, card left saying they would re attempt delivery today. After 9 hours of waiting, no parcel. Apparently they had tried twice already and had no plans to deliver today.
No card was left on the apparent first delivery attempt. Contacted their customer helpline, after much faffing around, spoke to a man who said he couldn't do anything. No apology or explanation for the missing card. Wanted me to drive to their depot two towns away to collect my parcel.. I wasn't prepared to pack up my 8 month old daughter to make that trip, after our day wasted waiting for them.
The parcel has now been returned to Mothercare and a refund issued. My daughter is currently without the cosytoes we have been waiting for. Citylink have wasted our time and cost Mothercare a sale. Not good business.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Broken mirror and poor communication

City Link seems to be getting a bad reputation!
I ordered an old mirror from Ebay, had a friend in Gloucester collect it for me and send it via City Link to Scotland. After a few days, no sign of the mirror so I went onto the website to track the item and found it 'could not be delivered' and had gone back to the depot. This was news to me as I had not received any card through the door. I contacted City Link via their LiveChat and was told the item would be delivered the next day. Waited in all day until 5.30pm but no item arrived. I contacted LiveChat again and was told they would need to call the depot. A day later, my friend informed me that he'd been telephoned by City Link to pass on the news that the mirror was 'smashed to pieces'. However, he then received another email saying the item could not be delivered and was being returned to sender. Very confusing! Today, the smashed mirror turned up at my friend's office and we are back to square one minus a useable mirror. We now need to make a compensation claim and think what to do with an empty mirror frame. I have complained to City Link tonight in the strongest possible terms as I feel this level of service in inexcusable given the ease of communicating with customers these days. However, even if we get back the small cost of the mirror and postage, we will not be compensated for the huge amount of time two busy people have wasted sorting out this mess. I am very angry about this and will not be recommending City Link to anyone.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great service

The delivery guys were lovely and brought my stuff (which was huge) all the way in to the living room where I wanted it. Quick service, delivered in the time slot I was advised.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Helpful online chat to change delivery address

I needed to change delivery address before collection. Used the online chat service and was helped by Adam, who promptly sorted it for me. Good job!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Signed, Sealed & Delivered

Although I haven't heard from the recipient of the item I sent it was really easy to track and find out that the order was delivered on the date required and I could see that it was signed for from the tracking, very satisfied customer
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Appalling service

Ordered Item from ebay told it would be delivered by courier (if they had said it would be City link I would not have gone ahead with order) Day off work today, Home all day, card appeared through letter box this afternoon saying I had missed delivery. At no point did I recieve any communication from City link stating which day they would be delivering. Neighbour later told me man in van pulled up got out put card through letterbox and drove away, made no attempt to knock or ring bell. I phoned city link to be told that they would attempt another delivery tomorrow but said it was an all day call, I told them I would be at work all day (13 hours) but could arrange for someone to come to the house to recieve delivery but couldnt expect anyone to wait in my house for up to 12 hours. The very disinterested girl who sounded as if she was eating something said that there was nothing they could do about it although she did suggest I could collect fom their depot which is a 64 mile round trip from here. I later contacted seller who promised to phone city link and arrange something.........so I am still waiting. Heres a suggestion, maybe City link should only deliver to the unemployed or retired or even someone who likes to sit by the window all day everyday just incase city link decide to deliver without notice
City Link

Reply from City Link

Good Morning Diane,

I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the service that City Link have provided on this occasion. I can completely appreciate your frustration and we would be more than happy to assist. If you can email customer-relations@city-link.com with your consignment number, we will do our utmost to assist.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience and frustration that has been caused, however I am confident that we can resolve this for you.

Thanks

Daniel
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Friendly Service

The website let me know the driver was running late. He arrived after the standard times which was nice and unexpected, Shows dedication. He was very friendly too. Overall very satisfied even if it was a few hours after the expected delivery time.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Absolutely awful service, rude customer services and extremely slow driver

Bought an item off amazon, paid for next day delivery. The item that I ordered was a cot bed mattress. Now don't get me wrong, its not the biggest of items but it isnt exactly the smallest of items either.

Checked the track item site at 11am- item due to be delivered between 14:21-16:21. Great, no problems with that, although they could of emailed and told us a time as we had been waiting since 07:30.

17:00- item still not arrived.

17:15- called Golborne Depot who was delivering the mattress. 'Sorry love, the item should of been with you by now, try tracking your item and see what it says'. Please note that I'm 33 weeks pregnant, and NOBODY calls me love. 'Er the item should of already been here so no, i won't track the item, i want to know where it is. I have been waiting in since 07:30 and its still not here!'

18:15- Item still not been delivered. Just as I'm phoning the depot again, some big unmarked white van parks outside my house. I can see he's writing one of the cards out, so i went outside and said 'are you delivering the mattress?' he said 'well I'm meant to be but I'm too tired to get it out my van so I was gonna leave this card and deliver it tomorrow morning'. I HAVE JUST ENDED UP HAVING TO GET A PARTICULARLY HEAVY ITEM OUT OF HIS VAN JUST SO I COULD HAVE MY OWN ITEM DELIVERED ON THE DAY I ASKED FOR IT TO BE DELIVERED.

At 33 weeks pregnant, I shouldn't be expected to have to do the job the courier is meant to be paid to do! Absolutely shocking, and next time, i'll even pay amazon to use a different courier!
City Link

Reply from City Link

Good Morning Amy,

I have read through your Trustpilot review and I am shocked at the level of service that you have received.

We would be more than happy to look into this for you and find out what went wrong, can you please email customer-relations@city-link.com with your consignment number and we will do our utmost to assist.

I would like to apologise for the unnecessary stress and inconvenience that has been caused.

Kind regards,

Daniel
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Amazing service!!!!

I actually couldnt beleive it when my door got chapped and there was the gentleman standing with my parcel as i recently got an attempted parcel delivery from another rather large company in the uk and his comment was "there was too many doors so i popped a card through a number similar" and took it to the local post office!! The gentleman who delivered from city link investigated through asking some local business's downstairs who sent him to the correct location instead of being lazy and driving away.....whats more he was very polite mannered too! Top class service in my opinion.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

In 21st century how is it possible for a delivery driver to deliver to the wrong address

We have GPS, paper maps, smartphones,google etc etc-at no point in human history has it been easier to find a location.
The delivery driver has one job, to deliver-its not brain surgery. He not only delivered to the completely wrong address,but despite there being no message that this was acceptable-he went through a strangers back gate and dumped expensive multi packaged items in their garden! The staff on the phone were unapologetic and arrogant about it-I therefor cancelled my order. Three days later, I find the order-which has already been refunded mind you-dumped on my doorstep, where anybody could steal it...Its absolutely unbelievable-How are these people still in business?
As to the glowing 5 star 'reviews' they are so obviously planted by the company-if a delivery company just does its very basic job and just delivers the item-how many people are genuinely going to go to the trouble to write a review-its not a night at a fancy restaurant -its someone driving a van from A to B.
WHY DONT THEY JUST IMPROVE THEIR DREADFUL SERVICE??
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent service! 100% recommend!!!

The service provided was excellent. I received my parcel on time without fault. The driver was very polite and well mannered. If I was you I would choose CityLink for your next parcel delivery!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Two consignments, neither delivered - and now they have disappeared

I buy a lot off Amazon and usually the delivery is faultless. The only time I have had problems is with City Link and this time was just unbelievable. They made one attempt and we were out (the fact they only specify the whole day doesn't help - other couriers are much more customer friendly) so I went on the website and asked for redelivery. We had someone stay in all day and it didn't come. So I went on the website again to see they had unilaterally decided, without telling us, to deliver another day. So again we arranged for someone to be in, but it wasn't delivered. Again they had unilaterally moved delivery to the following day without telling us. The next day I looked on the website, the consignment numbers had both been changed and now one says the delivery has been returned to Amazon (so no second delivery was ever attempted) and the other says the new number is not a valid number, so it has completely disappeared. According to the Amazon site, I received both deliveries on 11 March. I didn't. I have been complaining to City Link via the website and had no reply, and I have tried customer services but it gets you absolutely no where - its all electronic. Is this a legitimate business at all?
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

City link could only have been bettered by teleportation.

I received a tracking number for city link at 6:30pm on the day I ordered my goods. I logged into their website and saw that my parcel was destined for delivery the next day. In the morning I again looked at the website and estimated delivery was between 10:30 and 12:40. The van promptly arrived at 12:20 the driver was courteous and the van was very presentable. Overall a better experience could not have been asked for 10/10 for me. Many thanks City Link.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Absolutely shocking!!!

I ordered a Samsung galaxy tab 3 10.1 which was being sent through city link. I was in for most of the day but nipped out for a hour and this is when the parcel was delivered so was left a "sorry we've missed you" note. I knew I wasn't going to be in the next day so decided to drive 45 minutes to the depot to pick it up. When I arrived the gentleman took my consignment number and started to look confused. He went in the back for about 10 minutes then came back out to me to say it wasn't there. He said the delivery driver had been back and he had questioned why the parcel hadn't been signed back in? The drivers reply was that he had already delivered it (which he hadn't) so obviously he has took it home with him?? I'm sure this is breaking the rules as well as lying?? I'm absolutely fuming and going to take it further!
My question is what about if he has left it on his van and it gets broken into? Where would I stand with that??
All I can say is avoid this company, it is shocking!!!
I wouldn't even give them a 1 star rating
City Link

Reply from City Link

Good Morning Lauren,

I would firstly like to apologise for the service that you have received. The service that you have received is not indicative of the service that we aim to provide. We would be more than happy to assist you in anyway that we can, please email customer-relations@city-link.com and your complaint will receive the attention it deserves.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience that has been caused.

Daniel
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

City link delivery services = no brainer & no need to think........Its MINT !!

The best delivery service on the net to date.
Tracking information is a absolute doddle & is so in depth in day to day or even hour to hour.
Very good service will be defo using asap AGAIN...
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

City Link Service Disgusting

I have experienced appalling service from this company. Supposed to deliver a mower to my house today using a next day delivery service and did not even have the decency to attempt the delivery. Just took it back to the depot after telling me all day it was coming and it looks as though they're going to attempt a pointless second delivery with no communication I wont be in. There was no communication on their useless online tracking service after waiting all morning for an update they stated that they would attempt delivery 13.30 -15.30 so waited in all afternoon. It was a complete waste of my time, ringing my supplier who in turn contacted CityLink was also a waste of time as their only comment was the driver will deliver albeit late so I wasted another three hours waiting for their no show!! . Other courier Companys I have used always text me times or telephone and are punctual . Had I known the company I purchased from used City Link then I wouldn't have bothered as I try and will avoid all companies that use City Link for delivery. They are in my opinion clearly the worst delivery service I have had the misfortune to be involved with.
Use this company and expect little or no tracking info and what you do get take with a pinch of sat.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

CITY LINK STINK!

Hello again,

Another courier moan and groan from me, maybe I'm just unlucky?

Booked a delivery through Parcel2go, Thought I'd try City link, next day service,City link failed to collect two days running.

Rang City Link to ask why?
They said it was an I.T. problem with their new system and issued a new tracking number and promise of collection, they also gave me a number to contact Parcel2go for a refund.

Rang Parcel2go, they said I could not have a refund as there was no guarantee of collection (basically hard luck!), they then changed the courier to TNT as they said they were more reliable than City LInk?????

Rang City Link who said only Parcel2go could issue a refund,
AT THIS POINT I GAVE UP!

CITY LINK LET ME DOWN BUT CANT GIVE A REFUND AND PARCEL2GO WONT GIVE A REFUND, WHERE DO I STAND????

I have refunded my customers post as I'm an honest kind of guy and don't like people to be let down, My loss I know but I prefer to be honest.

LOOK AT ALL THE OTHER REVIEWS FOR CITY LINK, WHAT A TERRIBLE COMPANY RECORD, SO BAD I SUSPECT THE ONLY GOOD REVIEWS ARE FROM THEIR EMPLOYEES PAID TO DO SO.






UPDATE, UPDATE, UPDATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

City Link asked me to contact them after reading this review,
I did and this is the message I recieved.

Good afternoon Mr Brammer,

Further from my recent email, I am sorry for the delay in responding to you. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

The Depot Manager at Shrewsbury has been investigating further and we have discovered that there has been an IT issue, resulting in your consignments not being allocated to their depot for collection. They have reported the problem to our IT department to ensure this gets resolved as quickly as possible.

I understand you have booked a new collection for today, they have confirmed this has now been allocated to a driver to ensure you have no further delays.

Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience or frustration that has been caused on this occasion. If there is anything else I can help you with then do get in touch.


Kind Regards,

S. A. City Link


THIS WAS MY RESPONSE

Hello S.A. City Link

Once again I have to say I am in disbelief!

You have spent the morning gathering information that I already have?

Did you read my Review? It clearly states I was aware of an IT problem, I told you that?
It also states TNT are now the couriers for this consignment and they have collected it in the last hour,
So why City Link are collecting today as well is beyond me, they probably wont turn up anyway.

My point is I’ve had to refund my customer as he paid for 24 hr courier not 96 hr courier.

I shall now add this further info to my Trustpilot review as my time has been wasted even further what a joke!

End.

WHAT A WASTE OF TIME, they responded to my review without reading it,
BEGGARS BELIEF.
City Link

Reply from City Link

Good Morning Mr. Brammer,

I am sorry to hear of your concerns with City Link. I understand that you are seeking a refund from Parcel2go, please email customer-relations@city-link.com and we may be able to assist.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience that has been caused, however I hope that we can rectify this matter.

Kind regards,

Daniel
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

"Forgot to allocate my collection to a driver"

Really, I'm not sure if they were serious. They "forgot to allocate to a driver".

At least [External Reference] tried to deliver, even if they did screw up.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Avoid like the plague

Yet again I have experienced appalling service from this company. Supposed to deliver some food to my house using a next day delivery service and did not even have the decency to attempt the delivery. Just took the food back to the depot and it looks as though they're going to attempt a pointless second delivery. Had I known the company I purchased from used City Link then I wouldn't have bothered as I try and avoid all companies that use City Link for delivery. Other problems I've had in the past include - ignoring rescheduled delivery dates after a card has been left, arranging to collect from depot then they stick it on the van so it's not at the depot when I turn up, do not answer phone, lying about leaving two cards and returning goods to sender.
Use this company at your peril.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

pathetic

waited in for two days,made 15 phone calls and on each occasion i was told he was on his way or he will be with you in the hour,they lied and cheated the whole time and still no parcel which was urgent,i could continue with this review but im that pi%%ed off i cant be bothered,dont trust them,if any of my future suppliers uses city link i will not purchase from them, idiots,my final phone i asked them for a morning delivery as it was so late to be told "we cant do that at the moment"

City Link Details

About this company

City Link - Premium Express Delivery Services, visit our site for courier services throught the uk and worldwide

Visit City Link

Category

City Link is ranked 45 out of 51 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.