Diet Chef reviews

Diet Chef reviews

Good
8.3
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
3357 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

rude staff, disgusting over priced food.. AVOID!!

Firstly, dont bother wasting your money. Before you sign up to diet chef, there is little to tell you how expensive it will end up beeng is for such awful food. They tell you in a little leaflet with your food.. You have to buy loads of other things like fruit vedg, rice etc, so it becomes very very expensive.. I canceled my monthly subscription online, i actually havent eaten my previous months, its still in the box as the food was vile, but shocker diet chef took £280 out of my account, and even though its their fault they are refusing to refund me until I return parcel (which I am yet to recieve). I am getting married next week and now cant afford what I need to buy thanks to diet chef. I am very distressed but The staff were rude, unhelpful and arrogant. I am taking this matter further starting with a claim for fraud and to the watchdog as well as social media sites!!
Diet Chef Limited

Reply from Diet Chef Limited

Jazmine

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments.

We are sorry to hear you have not enjoyed your Diet Chef experience, we do try to provide meals to meet everyones tastes.

I can confirm that you have opted for a product which does repeat monthly until cancelled, and no cancellation notice has been received. This has now been cancelled so no further orders are to be processed.

The charge for your hamper will be refunded as agreed with our customer service team once we receive notification that the hamper is back in transit to us, this will be processed.

If our team can be of any further assistance, please do let us know

Regards

This review has been reported to customer service by the company for missing proof of purchase.

Customer service is in the process of investigating this review.

Following this investigation, it will either be deleted or returned to Trustpilot.

See our review guidelines here.

This review has been reported to customer service by the company for missing proof of purchase.

Customer service is in the process of investigating this review.

Following this investigation, it will either be deleted or returned to Trustpilot.

See our review guidelines here.

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Lost 3.5 stone in 2 months - this absolutely works - loads of friends doing the same!

Cant recommend this enough and i regularly send back products bought from the internet etc for misselling so trust a really picky person when i say this is so easy and so incredible i have to right this revew as DC has changed my lfe! Do not listen to the bad reviews its not true. The food quality is exceptional and so tasty. The time saved going to the supermarket adds even more value and im not tempted to buy goodies! Adding veg is so simple: 1 head of brocolli and 3 leeks boiled/ steamed every day is your additional dinner requirement what could be easier and so cheap!(you can choose what veg or rice you want and the guide book explains calories and weight of portion required- we do broc and leek as so simple to buy, prepare and keep fresh and it's the lowest calorie so our plates are heaped with food it's hard to finish it all!) I cant feed myself like this on £6 per day and delivery all at once is a bonus as i choose 2 of everything and can then choose what i fancy each day. 2 minutes in a microwave to cook everything, hardly no washing up its incredible and simple BUT now i can breath (asthma gone!). Can tie my shoe laces, fit into fabulous clothes, so much energy, skin looks great, drinking so much water im hydrated and living happily! We took 1 week off for birthday parties and it had no effect, so we will be using this as our personal chef whilst in our working life and when we hit our target (just 1 stone to go) we will carry on using this and also have our treats that will balance our intake and maintain weight. Ive been to diet camps, spent thousands on juicing retreats and none of that worked. Finally im loosing weight, not hungry ( if i feel hungry i eat fruit (just buy bags of Granny Smiths it's so simple), drink water and eat extra popcorn - so filling and so low calorie), and everyone is shocked how much weight ive lost so quickly. So my husband is also on it and loosing the same amount, my friends are on it and everyone is raving. Ignore the minority negatives, they will still be overvweight and unhappy whilst all the positive reviewers are getting lighter and healthier and happier in just weeks! What will you be? The choice is easy DO DIET CHEF! You have nothing to loose but stones!!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Losing weight from a wheelchair

I have quite aggressive multiple sclerosis and have been in a wheelchair for the last ten years or so. I do stay as active as possible, with swimming and a motomed machine, but have gradually (some would say inevitably) been putting accumulative weight on over the last decade because of my severe mobility issues. I actually eat a very healthy diet in general. I understand the principals of common sense healthy eating (I'm a pharmacist).. But portion sizes have been an issue I think combined with my enforced lack of activity. Used to be really sporty and travel the world - I still travel a lot, but to attend sports events now... Rather than participating in them.. MS fatigue makes even the lightest exercise challenging. It's all a balance.
I have lost one and a half stone in my first two months with dietchef. It's been a revelation.. And feels very empowering for me .. To be able to take control of an aspect of my physicality in a positive way. My condition is very much about symptom management... and being able to deal with associated weight gain in a such a sensible and pro active way means a lot to me. I have nothing bad to say about Dietchef...
I have never been on a diet before so have nothing to compare it against, but I've found it really easy... And an education, re shaping in my head what a more appropriate portion size is across the main food groups. I have already dipped back into the healthy BMI range.. (Just!). So intend to continue in the same vein, until I hit my target which equates to the middle of that range which is just under 12 stone for a six foot one bloke. I really enjoy the granolas and porridge flavours for breakfast... Have always been a huge fan of home made soups... which is just as well :-) It's the quality and variety that makes everything so appealing imo. I personally wasn't so keen on the mushroom one... But I phoned up and exchanged five of those for five tomato ones (which I love) .. The girl on the phone was so lovely she told me not to go to the expense f sending the mushroom ones back.. Just to give them to friends and family, which I have.
The main courses have all been outstanding ... Not one disappointment really, apart from the sausages feeling a tad synthesised for me... But otherwise everything Really really tasty.. And so much to choose from!! Something for every taste I should imagine.. I love the curry style dishes, pasta mixes and the red Thai chicken is delicious!! The whole plan is within all the FDA guidelines, nutritionally complete and well thought through with the personal addition of dairy, fruit and veg. I honestly find myself spending less overall, than I would have, making meals from scratch. The dietchef meals are so easy to prepare, I have been able to do them all myself.. with the minimum of effort, which again makes me feel good. Preparing meals as healthy as this from scratch in a hot kitchen with MS isn't easy...hugely fatiguing.. So I love dietchef's simplicity as well as the great variety and taste.

I'm very very impressed to date.. And look forward to reaching my end goal in the next couple of months.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Suffering from loose skin!

It really does work well and I think you just have to get into the regime and forget anything else but your breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack + some veg. You will get used to the smaller amounts but the food is good and tasty and very satisfying. I really rate the whole thing. Have lost 20lbs so far and am over the moon. I want to lose another 20lbs now and am confident it will happen. I have spent money on skin tightening cream! Imagine! Also got some new clothes although I might need to buy more if I make my goal. Incidentally my blood pressure which was a problem has dropped appreciably and generally I feel great. So may thanks - it does the job and I would recommend it to anyone making a serious effort to lose weight
Richard
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Really Tasty, Really Easy - But a Bit Bulky

This diet does all the thinking for you, but still leaves you with choices, cereal for breakfast, porridge, or granola? Or maybe just a cookie, or bar - great for grab-it-an-go breakfasts!
The soups are great, with a wide variety, as are the main courses. And the snacks, although small, are tasty.
The only downside to this diet is that it comes once a month (the meals are vacuum packed, so no worries about freshness), and some of them are pretty bulky. Having only a small flat, this is becoming problematic. Certainly, next month, I shall opt out of the popcorn, and possibly some of the (very good)cereals, simply to save space. The meals come well packed in a reasonable sized box, buit you can't keep them in there AND have easy access to all your meals. Currently, My kitchen worktop is full of soup and main courses, and the popcorn is in the living room!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Too expensive due to all foods that have to accompany the diet chef dishes

We could not believe how much we would have had to purchase to accompany the food provided! It is really not cost effective and it worked out very very expensive with the shopping on top! Disappointing was that we found next to no info about this on the website before purchasing! Diet chef did give us a full refund which pleased us x
Diet Chef Limited

Reply from Diet Chef Limited

Laura

Thank you for taking the time to feedback.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your Diet Chef experience.


We do account within the Diet to add your own fruit/veg and dairy, this not only helps maintain a healthy diet, but just as importantly gives the variety that any diet success needs, I am sorry you feel that this didn't help your success.

As well as comprehensive information on our website, we do have our 7 day a week Live Help on the website, to help with any unanswered questions.

Regards
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

GREAT FOOD. EASY WEIGHT LOSS. TRY IT !

ALTHOUGH VERY PLEASED WITH THIS DIET. ITS LET DOWN BY THE DELIVERY SERVICE. DIET CHEF STATED QUITE CLEARLY ON HAMPER MY ADDRESS, BUT DRIVER WENT TO COMPLETLY DIFF ROAD.1ST TIME, LEFT CARD. I GOT NO DELIVERY. I THEN CALLED DELIVERY CO, AND ARRANGED NEW DELIVERY SLOT AND TO BE LEFT WITH NEIGHBOUR, THEY THEN AGAIN WENT TO WRONG ROAD, LEFT CARD AT WRONG ADDRESS AND LEFT MY HAMPER WITH UNKNOWN PERSON, IT WAS ONLY OUT OF THE GOODNESS OF RECEIPRENT OF CARD WHO COLLECTED PARCEL, AND CAME ROUND HOPEING IT WAS MY ADDRESS THAT I GOT MY HAMPER. I THANK THAT PERSON. BUT DELIVERY COMPANY NEEDS TO BE CHANGED.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Not wonderful

I understand from TrustPilot that my review can only be published if it is a review of the service, rather than the product.

I can understand this in the case of where I buy Brand X from Shop A - Brand X might be rubbish, but that is hardly Shop A's fault, and a review of the the product would properly be placed on Brand X's feedback.

In the case of DietChef, this is a different matter - as DietChef is the only source of the DietChef product, and DietChef only sells the DietChef product. Where else would it be appropriate to give an honest first-hand review of the DietChef product? In any case - surely part of the DietChef service is the design, production, packaging, stocking and supply of the the DietChef product - and my review included comments about many of these elements.

However my review would remain unpublished unless it is mainly about the service - so I am having to make this review more wordy to explain the service-relevence to every part of it.

Dieting through portion-control is a frustrating experience at the best of times. My hope was that Diet Chef would live up to the expectations of somehow reducing the faff and increasing the enjoyment.

Not so.

Ordering the food is not too bad, (the web site provides reasonable service) but it's a pain when it all arrives as 28-days worth of food takes up an awful lot of cupboard-space (poor service by DietChef as it would be more convenient to have the option to pay for smaller, weekly or fortnightly deliveries). The heating instructions are simple, but printed so small that I needed a magnifying glass to read them (poor service by DietChef in the design of the packaging)

The point of the meal planning is that each day you have a breakfast, a lunch, a snack and a dinner - and you add to it some dairy and some fruit - and somehow this comes out at around 1200 Kcal. Not so - the variation of the energy levels of different meals means that you have to be no less vigilant of actual values, than if you had bought fresh ingredients at the supermarket (poor service by DietChef in the design of the product - it does not fulfil its purpose sufficiently in making it easy to plan eating).

And then there is the food itself.

There seem to be three categories of food:

1) Revolting - sloppy food which smells foul, looks dreary and tastes unpleasant - this includes EVERY one of the pasta dishes - avoid them at all costs (This is a comment about the product - however I am not sure where else to make it)
2) Mediocre - food which tastes ok, looks a little dreary but it lets itself be eaten (Another comment about the product - but I am not sure where else to make it)
3) Unavailable - food which you rather enjoyed once, and then is either out of stock or discontinued when you come to re-order (This is a comment about the service and DietChef's inability to maintain sufficient stock of the more popular - i.e. edible - items).

All in all, the food did not live up to expectations - and it has made a frustrating diet only more frustrating, and rather dreary to boot. Now I have done my 12-weeks (without much significant weight-loss) I am looking forward to being free of the chains and inventing my own meals again. (These are my concluding remarks giving my overall impression and opinion of DietChef as a whole - service and product).
Diet Chef Limited

Reply from Diet Chef Limited

Ray

We are sorry to hear you have not enjoyed your Diet Chef experience, we do try to make enough meal choices and selections to appeal to everyone, however that isn't always possible.

We do account within the Diet to add your own fruit/veg and dairy, this not only helps maintain a healthy diet, but just as importantly gives the variety that any diet success needs.

It is clear for all customers, that in the event you do not enjoy certain meals, we can offer an exchange within 21 days of receiving your hamper, because tastes and preferences do vary.

We do wish you success on your future diet options.

Regards
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Absolutely Amazing ♥

I started with Diet Chef in January, it took me 2Month's to adjust, from getting use to only consuming 1200cal a day, to turning away from unhealthy food and bad choices, to understanding food, healthy living, exercise and achieving the goals I placed in-front of myself.

It's now March and I don't even eat 1200cal a day, I eat less. Everything have changed looking at food with fresh eyes, knowing why I say No! to eating unhealthy.

Diet Chef have many variations of delicious food and I love it, I can not see my self buying anything else, I love the food, Love the discipline I gained through their amazing health plan.

Not everyone will agree, but I have struggled with my weight for years now, trying to get back to a healthy weight and lifestyle and Diet Chef have helped me and are still helping me to achieve my end goal.

I have set 3goals/targets (3Stone to lose) for me to reach, I have reached my first Goal and have lost 1Stone since starting and are now busy with my 2nd goal. Setting goals helped me not to push my self beyond, what my body could achieve but my mind, doing so I'm more determined than ever.

Including exercising 1hour a day for 5days a week, it works. I wanted to share my experience letting you know that it can be done, you just need to be willing and it does take hard work, determination and the absolute power in saying No!
I failed many times (cheating) that's why it took me 2months, but by braking through those barriers, I achieved my fist goal, if I can do it so can you.

Thank you Diet Chef and the wonderful team behind the company. You have and are still helping me and so many other people out there.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Brilliant love it

Brilliant ole the variety and very easy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

diet chef is the best

I think diet chef is great I have lost 4 stone now .1 stone to go it as made me lazy now I don't want to cook any more lol. thank you diet chef.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Suits my busy lifestyle perfectly

I'd become fed up of faddy diets, starving myself only to put the weight back on as soon as I resumed eating normally. So glad I took the plunge and decided to give diet chef a go, 2 weeks in to my diet im 6lb lighter, haven't felt hungry once or short on energy and, most importantly, it fits in with my shiftwork. I have really enjoyed most meals, the ones I dont like are down to personal taste - I'll just order something different next time.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Calorie counting done for you

It makes it simple to monitor and keep to by simply choosing the right packet for the time of day and meal
Have lost 7 lbs in first month
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC, CANNOT PRAISE THE COMPANY ENOUGH.

I placed my order and I don't know how but I made a complete and utter mess of it, to put it politely. I thought I had to order 28 days supply of food , but in error I must have ordered two months supply, to be delivered at the same time. When the two boxes turned up, all extremely well packed I thought, oh my god, what have I done, I checked everything and realised one of the boxes was what is called a standard box which I must have ordered in error when ordering my 28 days menu box.

I decided to do an online chat, and spoke to a fantastic young lady called ABBY, I explained the problem, and that I could not understand what I had done wrong, she explained it thoroughly but I could not get my head around how I had managed it. She went through all the steps with me very patiently, she must have thought she had a real idiot on the computer talking to her, but she explained everything and promised to have the standard box collected and another one to my specifications delivered, free of charge. Because I had paid in full for two boxes for 56 days, I cancelled my order subscription as I thought after 8 weeks, I would be the correct weight. If I wasn't I could always put in another order for another month.

ABBY was true to her word, they collected the standard box last week and delivered my correct box today.

I have been on the diet a week and have lost 4.1/2 lbs and am over the moon, as I did not think I would ever start loosing weight again due to the stress with my husbands illness. When I first opened the breakfast cereal pack I thought 'oh my god' not much there, same with lunch and same with dinner, but once I started having the meals, and adding fresh veg, a fat free yogurt with fresh melon, I was full to overflowing. Last night I was still full from my dinner and it took me all my time to eat my tea.

Everything is so well packed, no need to keep them in the fridge I just put them in a cupboard and every morning when I get my bag of cereal out to have with a fat free yogurt, I get out my lunch, tea and supper, no planning at all, the food is there waiting for you.

I wish I had tried Diet Chef years ago, I kept looking at the website and thinking, no, it's too good to be true, but it isn't, all the meals are fantastic, very delicious, I have had Hotpot today, with green beans and carrots, I have bought some steam bags and I pop the veg in there and it only takes a couple of minutes in the microwave and they are ready to add to the Diet Chef meal.

My husband is disabled and needs very high fat meals on a daily basis so I spend all my time cooking his meals and by the time it is my turn I cannot be bothered so I have been eating packs of biscuits hence the weight gain.

Diet Chef has given me my life back, I don't have to think about anything, just put the food in a dish or on a plate, add the veg and hey presto, a good wholesome meal in minutes.

The boxes are delivered by the courier UK MAIL, who are very efficient and the drivers are great, they deliver when they say they will and have never let me down, I have many parcels delivered by them.

I have also noted my shopping bill is much lower now, I have to online grocery shop because of my husband being housebound, and with me buying Diet Chef I don't spend money on cream cakes, ice cream and chocolates anymore so it balances the weekly bill out.

Just one last thing, thank you ABBY, you are a credit to your company, it is not often that someone is patient and caring and tries their very best to ensure their customers are being well looked after. Thank you.

Looking forward to wearing all my summer clothes now, roll on.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Much better than expected - and working!

Reading some of the negative reviews is so infuriating - like the person complaining about the size of the box delivered to work, what on earth did you expect, it's a month's worth of food! Similarly to the people with food restrictions, it was all clear on the website, and relative to other choices of convenient, healthy, ready meals there's a lot of choice. There's the odd thing I don't love, but surely that's the point of testing and updating my order, and frankly I could have read the blurb before ordering if I wanted to be sure nothing had a particular ingredient in it. For the price and variety on offer this service is trouncing the competition and works for most people who actually like food.
Doing well so far, but I f I fail that's down to me, this time I categorically can't blame being too busy to eat well!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Effective, but do not deliver the food you prefer!

On the up side this does help with weight loss.

On the downside they try to make you buy what is left in their inventory instead of your preferred order.
Diet Chef Limited

Reply from Diet Chef Limited

Dlep

Really pleased to hear you are losing weight.

However it sounds like you have had a problem with your hamper, A member of our team will contact you to discuss this further

Regards
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Tasty meals which are easy to store and prepare.

I have been struggling with my weight because of medication and just could not shift it and more to the point could not stop putting on weight.
For the first two weeks I found it hard to get used to the portion sizes but now in the fifth week I am managing well.
I now find the porridge, soups and main meals very filling and tasty.
I also have my first diet bear!!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Amazing

I am not very active so I find it hard to lose weight but wow diet chef is brilliant I lost 4lb in the first week and 5lb in the second , all I can say is this is the best diet I have ever been on .

Diet Chef Limited Details

About this company

Visit Diet Chef

Contact information

Call us on: 0845 302 8303
We live here: Rosewell House, 2 Harvest Road
EH28 8QJ Newbridge
United Kingdom

Category

Diet Chef is ranked 83 out of 182 in the category Food & Beverage

Diet Chef is ranked 219 out of 391 in the category

21 Day Money Back Guarantee

Try Diet Chef risk free!

Every hamper sold by us is backed by our 21 day money-back guarantee. You can cancel the contract at any time up to 21 days from delivery of the first Pay Monthly hamper to you. In order to return any hamper, please obtain a Return Authorisation Number either through our website or by telephone

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.