Direct2Drive reviews

Direct2Drive reviews

Low
3.2
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
60 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Good , but...

Good, but annoying. Having to scan and send my ID was a bit over the limit.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

WoW these ratings are harsh.

LOL they should rate this compared to other gaming providers for example steam. Steam has a lot of good games good pricing. But when it comes to something going wrong your own your own. I complained about drive to drive not being fast on responses lol at least you get a response in 24 hours. With steam it could be months you are ON YOUR OWN. Do not even try to complain about the lack of service because they moderator drones will remove your post. All the low scores you just do not know whats out there. NOW im torn as what to do because the pricing on steam is good but if something goes wrong you have to call Microsoft. Some of the gaming providers do not even have customer support. If direct to drive starts to get pricing like steam im sold. At least until something better comes along.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Pre-Downloaded games do not work

I actually had backup copies of my games downloaded prior to the transition. None of them would activate using the serial numbers supplied in the purchase history. After 3 attempts at getting help from their "customer service", they said I needed to wait until the games where in the gamefly client. What? I thought that they wanted us to download any games that might not make it over? They won't even supply the manual activation codes. Terrible service.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

WAS very good, now its gamefly I'd avoid!

Oh D2D we loved you so much... Gamefly is massively inferior, and they expect us all to jump to it just because they bought a website! I would sagest boycotting companies like this one.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Paid and NO GAME

I bought Bad Company 2 for the PC from D2D Feb. 2010, now I need to download it again and Gamefly has acquired D2D and the purchase does not show up in their custom console. It does show on the website, however, I can not download it yet and they have posted it will take several weeks to get the data merged over properly. If this was a bank taking over another bank and you could not get your money out, there would be some serious LEGAL issues regarding this. So I plan on filing a small claims suit against Gamefly next week due to no response from mulitple emails. I only have recieved the automated response reverting me back to their FAQ stating they are working on it. Well, I don't think the courts will back them once they face the judge soon!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Pathetic or worse

I don't think I will EVER deal with this company again. I can not access my games; I can't get any customer service; all I get is automated email responses and I still don't have access. They have my money, I have nothing. I can not imagine worse service than this. DO NOT BUY from D2D now they have moved. And there is no human to talk to, and I am sick of getting the same useless email over and over again. I wish there was a rating of -1 or maybe -10. I repeat, vote with your wallet; DO NOT BUY from D2D until they fix their problem.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Poor Customer Service

I purchased several games from D2D, and now that Gamefly took over (over 6 weeks ago) almost none of my PC games are available for download. GS took over Impulse, and my games were available right away. I have contacted support at Gamefly several times, with no result except a promised a 20% discount, but that won't cut it if they cannot deliver what I already paid for. It seems that Gamefly bit off much more than they can chew, I would steer clear until they unsnarl the mess that they are in.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Extraordinarily useless

I bought Dragon Age: Origins three years ago, and now when I need to download it again it won't appear on the Gamefly client. Attempts to contact customer service have gone totally ignored, and I am certainly not going to rebuy a game that I already own; even if it is only $5 at the moment.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

1 and a half if this site allows it.

BF3 and Rage were purchased with no problem whatsoever. Yet, the f***ing Paypal option would not accept my phone number 3 times in a row, even though I gave them the correct number each time. Then, I tried to use a debit card and they said I exhausted that option 3 times in a row (when I actually only tried it once). No wonder they're going under. Hopefully Gamefly will not give me a f***ing headache like they have.
www.direct2drive.com

Reply from www.direct2drive.com

Hi Brian,

I do not see anything from you in our support. We are happy to help if you would please follow the link in the message you received. Each time you attempt to checkout if there is a problem we provide the message: "Your transaction will require review by a Customer Service Agent. Please contact Customer Service for further information. We apologize for this inconvenience."

The link in the message was: http://www.gamefly.com/support/gameflydigital/

We will not be able to discuss your payment in public. That is a matter of privacy for your account.


Thank you!

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Phone Authorization Failed and Response from Support

Title says it all. As soon as I entered my number (same as on file with bank and visa), I got a message saying that they could not validate my number. I made sure I typed it correctly and tried again with the same result. I have had an account with D2D for years and bought several games on this card without a problem. Submitted a ticket to support during their business hours as there is no number to call but no response yet. Definitely will never use them again. Buying digital is supposed to be convenient, not a pain in ass.
www.direct2drive.com

Reply from www.direct2drive.com

Hi Matt,

We cannot discuss why your payment did not succeed in public. If you created a request online, our response time is approx. 1 hour. Please make sure you used the Contact Us on http://www.gamefly.com/support/gameflydigital/

Thank you!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

No problems so far.

(Note: This review is for games bought in March 2010 and March 2011. I have not had any experience with the site since then)

I have bought two games here, downloaded, paid for and installed without trouble. Direct2Drive was also the cheapest on the market with these games. (I bought RIFT and The Witcher 2)

Luckily, I have not had to deal with their customer service. It sounds like it's the CS that is responsible for all these bad ratings.

To future buyers: Do not just look at the total rating, rather look at the individual reviews. Some 1-stars are simply because people cannot find out how to download or install a game.

In my case, the company provided what I need, which is a game download. Cheaper than the rest of the market, too. I do not see the big problem here.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Money taken but no game delivered! No response from support!

I tried ordering Tropico reloaded from this site. Was my first attempted purchase there. When I checked out the system told me my card couldn't be processed and they did not give me the game I ordered. Went to my cards website to find out why and saw that direct2drive had charged me for the amount of the game! I have been waiting for a response from them for a couple days now. Even went to ignsupport as well and opened a ticket there too. Still haven't heard anything. I really want the game or my money returned!! They seem nearly impossible to get hold of. I'm very disappointed with this company. :(
www.direct2drive.com

Reply from www.direct2drive.com

Hi Victoria,

We responded to your request within 3 hours of submitting it. I personally communicated with you. Your issue was banking which we cannot post here on a public site for your privacy. There were no charges from us on your account as the card was declined as you noted. We cannot provide product without the transaction completing successfully.

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Installation fails with download manager.

I have re-downloaded the installation for Fable 3, 4 times using their download manager. I only used their download manager because no browser download for Fable 3 was even available. Once downloaded, and the installation launcher opens, I click install only to receive an error to insert disk 3. FAQ says this error happens because when installing through the web browser, not when the download manager is used. Customer service keeps telling me to check FAQ even though I tell them it isn't helping. The fact that they do not have phone support is rediculous to me. From now on I will check the site throughout, before purchasing. I let me excitement get the better of me.

Bottom line I paid for a product, and what I received was more or less broken. I would like a browser based link provided so I can download and install my game using the directed solution they have provided.

Incident:111031-006693
www.direct2drive.com

Reply from www.direct2drive.com

Hi Joey,

We have reviewed your request that you originally sent, 111031-006276 and we see that you were being helped by a CS Rep within 1 hour of requesting support.

We absolutely offer http downloads, this is shown in our FAQ: How do I download using my web browser?

http://digitalsupport.gamefly.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/236

We want customers to be able to move forward with their needs by providing all information needed online including screenshots with step by step instruction.

Please feel free to browse our site at your convenience or ask Agent Striker to help as well. He's shown on the right had side of Support. He's virtual but pretty handy too!

Thanks!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Bought 2 games from them as cheaper than amazon

Bought 2 games from D2D and it's been a good experience. Once i got the download to start (i used comrade as couldn't get it to work otherwise) it was plain sailing. Downloaded and installed BF3 in around 4 hours, not bad for a game of that size.
I would thoroughly recommend them and find it difficult to understand the huge list of negative comments (which is why i've posted here to try to give some balance). I used them for BF3 as they were cheaper than amazon.co.uk and .fr (i live in France)
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

I BOUGHT AND TRIED TO INSTALL BORDERLANDS. THE SUPPORT TEAM HAS YET TO HELP ME INSTALL IT OR TO GET TO THE FACT THAT I HAVE REQUESTED NEW KEY, SAID THE ACTIVATION WAS NOT VALID AND IT FAILS TO INSTAL

I'LL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH D2D AGAIN. SUPPORT GOES OUT OF ITS WAY TO REPLY TO NOTHING I'VE COMPLAINED ABOUT. THERE HAS BEEN NOTHING DONE TO GET MY PURCHASE RUNNING CORRECTLY, NOT ONE SINGLE TIME HAS SUPPORT TRIED TO HELP ME, AND I WANT A REAL TECH THAT KNOWS WHAT HE'S DOING, NOT THESE PRE-SCHOOLERS YOU HAVE TRIED TO PAWN OFF ON ME. OR REFUND MY MONEY IMMEDIATELY.
STEVE PARKER
www.direct2drive.com

Reply from www.direct2drive.com

Hi Steve,

We have replied to both of your tickets. Your second ticket is that you did install the game but have trouble activating. We are waiting for you to provide the unlock request code.

Please reply to your ticket with that code so you can get what you need.

Thanks!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Buy a game and can play....

I buy the game Sims 3 Town Life on the mac version on July 30, 2011. The game doesn't want to work and I do not understand why. It is installed but i can't play. I send a message to the customer service the same day and I have not always had a response. I can belive tha't a pay 20$ and can not play, or even call for help. Website stupid !!!!!!

Ticket #: 2833-8533791
www.direct2drive.com

Reply from www.direct2drive.com

Hi Javiera

Please go to http://support.direct2drive.com and click on My Support.

You will see your ticket. We replied to you. Here is what we replied:

Hi there!

"Thank you for contacting Direct2Drive Store!

The experts for help running your game are EA Game support. Please visit http://support.ea.com and seek advice from their experts for help running your game.

Thank you !"

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Customer Service is unresponsive

I opened a ticket with customer service on 6/26 and still no response as of today, 7/5. Hard to give them a good rating based on their lack of response. I certainly will not purchase from them again.
Ticket #: 2833-8525121
www.direct2drive.com

Reply from www.direct2drive.com

Hi Bob,

We did reply. You wrote:

Game downloaded and successfully installed, but when I click to run it for the first time, it asks me sign in. Then it says "We are unable to activate your game using the EA account provided. Please sign in with the EA account you used to purchase the game."

We replied:

Thank you for contacting Direct2Drive Support.

This is an auto response to your choice on our support request.

For any assistance with EA Game keys please visit http://support.ea.com

Direct2Drive is a retailer and does not provide key support to EA Games. They will assist you with any activation needs for your game.

Thank you!



If you did not receive our reply in email please see your ticket online. We cannot assist you with EA Logins. Only EA Support can help.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Poor

Take note of this companies overall low rating, and look at the number of complaints and excuses given on this page. Personally had a bad experience, £15 lost to game I couldn't get to work, I had not activated this game and felt asking for a refund/exchange was not unreasonable. Customer service quick to respond to electronic only customer service, but unable to offer the help required.
Order Reference Number : 10006-6286104
www.direct2drive.com

Reply from www.direct2drive.com

Hi Matt,
Please have a look at your ticket online if you didn't see the email reply. You wrote us on 6/15 and we responded on 6/17. You never replied back to our question.

Please go to http://support.direct2drive.com and see your ticket now closed as you never replied answering the CSR's question. If you still feel you need a refund, please open a ticket for that and reference the ticket you allowed to close and reply to that question if you would please.

Thank you !
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

No problems at all

Have purchesed several titles through D2D.No billing issues and everything that I should have gotten,I did.Web-support,when it was needed was realitively fast and correct.

(the one issue I had was due to a demo version conflicting with the d2d version)

Pricing is per the norm.A greater variety of seasonal sales than steam,and sometimes gets things quicker than steam.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Be patient with the Customer Services Department!

Attempted to place an order with direct2drive.co.uk, however encountered the same telephone authorisation problem others have encountered here.

I contacted the Customer Services department and as per other users, received a response after about 4 hours. They stated what the authorisation was required for (manual review to confirm account is genuine and valid) and informed me they had activated my account at their end after checking my details.

Unfortunately the price had since gone up for the item I wanted. After a couple more messages explaining the situation, I received a response within a similar timescale. They very kindly credited the difference in price to my account.

As the sale had ended and without authorisation being cleared for my account, there was no trace I had previously tried to place this order, so direct2drive would well have been within their rights to state they could not honour the original price, so the credit was greatly appreciated.

I understand that a chat forum would be quicker to deal with these queries but considering this is an IGN owned service (and the support is probably run from limited sites for all global queries), I’m pretty sure query levels are quite high and I’d rather wait 4 hours for an email/ticket response than spend 20mins online waiting for someone to become available.
The 4 hour response time is more than acceptable for an online query and end-to-end my query was dealt with, more than to my satisfaction, within 12 hours.

Overall, very pleased with the experience I’ve had with direct2drive, will be using again and would recommend to others with the caveat of just being clear if raising a ticket query is required and advising just a little patience.

www.direct2drive.com Details

About this company

Get Full Version PC Game Downloads - Why drive to the store or wait for shipping when you can download games straight to your PC now at D2D!

Visit Direct2Drive

Contact information

We live here: California
United States

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.