Your order confirmation number is 12114879 - This is my order confirmation number for 6 curtain tracks I ordered on Wednesday. I paid express delivery charges for next day delivery although I was entitled for free delivery due to the size of the delivery. Today is Friday and I did not get any communication from the company. So I decided to call them on an expensive 0844 number line and I was told that my order has been suspended as they do not have the stock. I checked stock prior to ordering them as the website asks you to do this before you place order. So the customer services tells me oh, you should have been told and I do not know when we will have your items in stock and if you want, he will cancel the order !!! And I did and I am never shopping with these jokers again.
Please see all the all the emails I HAVE sent and received which involves emails from the director and CEO. They are liarsand provide you with false iinformation. Avoid them at all costs.
On 27 Feb 2014 08:48, Dear ******,
I am sincerely sorry we have been unable to reach an amicable agreement. Based on feedback from Store colleagues I remain convinced there has been some confusion/misunderstanding, all colleagues have confirmed the price reduction was specific to the displayed ‘clearance’ product in Store and whilst more product was available on-line this would be at the normal price. In these circumstances I continue to believe the offer of a 25% discount, as a goodwill gesture, to be fair and reasonable. Given the nature of your complaint Nick Wharton our Chief Exec has been kept informed throughout and I can confirm supports my view.
Regards Central Operations Director --------------------------------- Sent: 26 February 2014
You have stated the following, "The Store colleagues are clear, the 50% discount applied specifically to the clearance lines on the shopfloor."
Obvious, this isn't the case as TWO members of staff clearly stated I could get the items I required from online with the 50% discount.
I don't think you are understanding this situation clearly. The only way I can see a solution is if you provide me with the goods at the price you staff members stated to me.
If this isn't possible by yourself, please put me through to someone that can resolve this and understands this problem that your company who you work for has caused.
If this is not possible by any other member, then I will clearly send all the correspondents to your CEO instead and deal with him personally only.
In the mean time, I have been researching the best number of ways to make this public knowledge of how your company liars and treats people. And have decided, I will be posting all corresponded online on shame sites on facebook pages, that many people are linked to. And to even try and post it on your Facebook page and a number of other pages, just in case you decide to remove it of your page.
You are not taking any responsibility of your actions and clearly stating this as a confusion and a misunderstanding to get away with what was promised to me.
I don't feel your offer of 25% is reasonable or appropriate.
Further to your latest email following further consideration I remain convinced there has been a misunderstanding. The Store colleagues are clear, the 50% discount applied specifically to the clearance lines on the shopfloor. Yes there was stock available on-line but at the normal price. I assure you operating with integrity is absolutely core to our business. In resolving any issue or complaint I always strive to reach an amicable solution and on this occasion I continue to believe the offer of a 25% discount as a goodwill gesture is appropriate.
Regards Central Operations Director --------------------------------- Sent: 25 February 2014 00:12 Dear ******,
I am grateful for your reply.
The misunderstanding you are referring to, was supplied by two members of staff in store. That assured me that I can purchase the items for the same price that it was in store on line (50% off).
You stated the following, " The Store therefore were correct to say it was available on-line but at the normal price."
The store staff stated they were on sale on line too with the 50% off discount as they were discontinuing them.
You have also stated, " I therefore feel Hayley's offer of a goodwill 25% discount is appropriate.".
This is not a goodwill offer. This is not the price that two of your colleagues in store stated they would be. Unless you are adding 25% as a goodwill gesture on top of the price I was provide in store by your staff, making it 75%? Which I would be happy with and accept.
I have been lied to by your colleagues and it feels like your company don't really care. This is becoming very annoying and frustrating and making me think twice about using your company. I don't really understand why you think it is fine for your company to treat me like this. I don't have time to be messed about and that exactly what your company have done and are still doing to me.
This confusion you are referring too is caused by your company. The reason they referred me to on line was that I didn't have room in my car to take the furniture and they stated to order them on line to have them delivered, as I am now 8 months pregnant. This is causing me a lot of stress with me being this far in my pregnancy, I can't even travel anywhere else because of the sore feet I have. Now I have no furniture because your company has lied to me and clearly you are trying to cover your tracks up. I am truly disgusting with your company and very shocked.
I can't believe this, you have wasted the limited time I had left. Your staff in store were so happy that I had chosen your company to replace my furniture I had lost in the fire. But this has not helped me. I will always remember DUNELM MILL TO BE LAIRS AND PROVIDE CUSTOMERS WITH FALSE INFORMATION.
I will be posting all the corresponded I have received on line for everyone to see, so no one else gets let down and treat like I have by your company.
Do you think it is fine for your company to treat customers like I have been treated?
I only wanted what your store originally stated they were going to provide. As that is what was agreed in store.
Regards, ********* --------------------------------- Hi First sincere apologies for the delayed response. My preference would have been a conversation as in my experience this can help avoid confusion. However i respect your request and I'll try and cover main points in this email. In brief I think there has been a genuine misunderstanding: the 50% discount was genuine but only applied to the products visible in the Doncaster Store- it was indeed a local clearance offer as it is moving to be available only on-line. The Store therefore were correct to say it was available on-line but at the normal price. I have checked to see if anymore of the discounted lines are available in any other of our Stores but unfortunately no further stock is available. I therefore feel Hayley's offer of a goodwill 25% discount is appropriate. We can also arrange free home delivery should you wish to proceed with your order. I do sincerely apologise for any confusion. Regards Central Operations Director --------------------------------- On 21 Feb 2014, at 11:07 Thank you for you email
Unfortunately I am at work and busy most of the time and don't really have two minutes to my self. So I would be grateful if any correspondence can be emailed to me as I would like all the details about this incident in write to keep a record of it.
Many Thanks ********* --------------------------------- On 20 Feb 2014 14:30 Hi Sincere apologies for the delay in response to your previous note to ******. I would very much welcome the opportunity for a brief conversation if you could advise the best number to reach you on and a convenient time to call I would be grateful; alternatively, if you prefer, you can reach me on ***********. Hopefully we can talk soon. Regards Central Operations Director -------------------------------- Thursday, 20 February 2014 15:25 Cc: Nick Wharton
To whom it may concern,
I am still awaiting a reply from your customer service advisor from the correspond I sent to your colleague ******.
I would be grateful.
Thank you --------------------------------- On 18 Feb 2014 02:02, Dear *******,
Thank you for your email and respond.
As I stated in my original complaint regarding this. The assist in the store stated that the range has been discontinued all together not just from store. That's why they were selling them in store and on line at a 50% discounted price. They also stated that they had already sold all the stock in the warehouse and only had the ones left on shop floor. They stated that if I want to have that packaged up then for me to order them from online at the same price they were selling them for.
I was not told that they were just selling ex- display items only. So therefore, I have been provided with false information and lied too.
I accept your apology regarding this matter but don't agree with the fact that there was a confusion, when it was two members of staff that stated and confirmed this information with me.
I am sorry but your offering if 25% off the range doesn't justify what I was offered by your store staff. Even though no payment was taken, they confirmed and agreed that the same prices was available online. For me, this is like a contract between myself and your company. Even though, it is only verbal but your company lied to me.
If your members of staff provided customers with the correct information in the first place. Then customers like myself wouldn't feel like I do. I am so disappointed in your company and how they have treated me.
I will be telling my friends and family regarding this and making other people aware of the false information supplied by yourself.
I am sorry but the originally I was offered 50% off and if I had a company like yours, I would keep my word and stick with the information provided not increase the price and call it a good will gesture. This is disguised and disheartening.
That's why one of the reasons I sent this letter to your CEO regarding this matter as I wanted him to realise and notice how his members of staff have treated me, not one but two members.
So therefore, I would like to know if you would honour your original quoted price to me?
I look forward to your reply.
Regards, ********** --------------------------------- On 17 Feb 2014 12:12, "Complaints"
Dear ******, Thank you for your recent email to Nick Wharton our Chief Executive, regarding your experience when trying to purchase the Harrogate furniture range.
I am very sorry to hear about the disappointment caused and I can certainly understand the need for you to get in touch. Customer satisfaction is our primary concern and we spend a great amount of time and effort working with our stores and customer services the ensure that they are delivering the high level of service that our customers expect and deserve. It is therefore particularly disappointing to hear that we have failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that incidents of this nature are rare.
I have spoken to the Doncaster store today and it has been confirmed that the Harrogate range which they had on display was being offered to customers with a 50% discount. As Ryan has previously advised, this was to make room for an alternative display and therefore the goods were on offer. All items from this range in store have now been sold. The reason for the 50% discount was purely due to the items being ex-display and this would not be reflected in the prices online.
I am sorry for any confusion caused when advised to visit the website for the items you wished to purchase which weren’t available in store at the time. You should have been advised in store that the same items bought elsewhere would not have the same discount to that applied in store and I am very sorry that this does not seem to have been the case.
Whilst the items are not available with a 50% discount online, I will be happy to offer you a 25% discount on the full range should you wish to still purchase these items. This is as a good will gesture and by way of apology for any disappointment that has been caused. If you wish to accept this, please place your order and let me know the order number and I will make the necessary amendments to the value of your order.
It is never our intention to disappoint customers and I am very sorry for what has happened on this occasion. I do hope that this can go some way to restoring your faith in Dunelm.
High Level Complaints Customer Service Team --------------------------------- From: Nick Wharton Sent: 17 February 2014 11:23
Firstly please allow me to apologise for any confusion or inconvenience caused when looking to purchase our Harrogate furniture range. Customer goodwill and advocacy are hard earned and easily lost and no retailer can afford to so readily disenfranchise customers at this time.
By copy of this email I would ask ***********, who is part of my Customer Service team, to investigate further and to contact you to see how we can resolve your situation to your satisfaction.
Nick Wharton Chief Executive --------------------------------- Cc: Nick Wharton
Dear ******, Thank you for your reply but this hasn't help me at all. I have wasted a lot of time in you store and the store staff assured me that I could make the purchase online or on the telephone with your self, hence why I made a purchase in store for over 300 pounds.
So in fact I have been lied to. Customer services experience I have received had been very poor. The information provided to me has been misleading. I spent a lot of time in your store deciding which furniture to go for ( hour +). To not to be supplied with goods that your staff members have stated I could get from yourself.
Do you normal provide this kind of services to all your customers? Do you lie to them often?
My parents have shopped at dunelm mill since it was open and I have. Your products have always been well made, but if the the service I received continues, I won't be the only one that would be leaving dunelm mill to make purchases somewhere else that wants them.
I have lost faith hun your company and I will not be going to your store to make further purchases again.
I would be grateful if you manager or CEO could get back to me regarding this matter. As l I have not been fairly treated here.
Thank you for your e-mail, I am sorry for the delay with my response.
I have today spoken to our Doncaster store, and they have advised me that the Harrogate furniture they have in store is display furniture they are selling off at half price.
The range of furniture has not been discontinued, but is being replaced in the store with a new range. Most of the Harrogate range has now become online only.
I’m sorry to say that we will not be selling the Harrogate range online at the display prices in the store.
Kind regards. ********* --------------------------------- Sent: 13 February 2014 10:56 To: Dunelm Customer Service
Dear ******, Thank you for your reply. The items I want to purchase are the following.
1. Harrogate Oak Lamp Table with Drawer £149.99 Store price: £74.99
2.Harrogate Oak Nest of Tables £199.99 Store price: £99.99
3. Harrogate Oak Coffee Table with Drawer £199.99 Store price: £99.99
4. Harrogate Oak Large TV Unit £249.99 Store price: £124.99
5. Harrogate Oak Mini Sideboard £249.99 Store price: £124.99
Total price: £524.95
Your last email to me didn't clearly state if what the store manager said to me was a lie or not. Can you confirm if you can also supply me the items above at what the store had them in store at 50% as they are discontinued. Or have I been lied to by you store.
If I have been lied to I will not be a very happy person as a company lime yourself should not be dishonest to their customers. I spent over an hour in store talking about this furniture and I spent over 300 pounds in the store.
If this is the case than I will have to return the purchases I have already made and make other customers aware that you are a dishonest company and the staff provide customers with lies and incorrect information.
I look forward to your reply and this is also a complaint.
******** --------------------------------- On 13 Feb 2014 08:19, "Dunelm Customer Service"
Dear Customer ******, Thank you for your email regarding the harrogate living room furniture and I am sorry for my late response to you.
So I can assist you further please could you let me know which pieces of the Harrogate range you wish to purchase, however if you order online these item won’t sold at the 50% off which you have seen in our Doncaster Store.
I look forward to your response.
********** Customer Service Advisor --------------------------------- Sent: 10 February 2014 21:15 To: Dunelm Customer Service
Customer Name: *********
Message: Hi, I have been in your store in Doncaster. And was interested in buying the harrogate living room furniture. They had it on half price in-store (50% off). As it was a clearance because you are no longer doing the range. But as they didn't have all the pieces they asked me to contact you of you would be able to supply the other items at what they had in store. I would be grateful if you could get in contact with me asap. Regards, ****
Ordered a daily use dinner set online but when it arrived it was damaged the packing was completely inadequate for the type of product will- not buy online again from them, had to go to shop to exchange but they didn't have stock of certain items - Very poor
I do a lot of work for local upholsterers so tend to bob into Dunelm for piping and zips etc. Love looking around the store wonderful things to buy and I often think I could not work there as I would spend all my wages The 1 thing I hate about it is the double waiting when you need a metre of piping cord you have to wait for someone to measure and cut it and they have to use a machine to scan it and then print a label One of these machines never work After this you have to go and join the queue at the main till so it takes a good half hour just for a piece of piping not good
Ordered a kitchen mop from Denelm, which arrived a few days later, but was broken in two and therefore had to return it, thankfully at no cost as it was collected from a local shop. Despite specifically requesting a replacement, rather than a refund, a refund was provided. Email enquires were answered after three days, stating I would have to reorder if I still wanted the product. So after a couple of weeks, I am left no further forward, still have not got a mop, and although not out of pocket, have been caused inconvenience. I will now therefore go elsewhere and cannot recommend Dunelm to others.
I did on line stock check for chair, 2 stores were showing as having stock, I travelled to one and they said they had no stock, i then ordered the other one for click and collect at other store, got confirmation email it was ready to pick up then went to pick it up, had to wait half an hour while someone searched only to be told they had no stock and they would get back to me that evening to notify me when they get stock back in.
They never rang so 3 days later i rang them and they put me on hold for further 10mins and told me they couldnt order any more stock so were just cancelling my order!!
I ordered a set of pillows from Dunelm about two weeks ago, which have been delivered to someone else. I've got no clue who signed for it, it's not the neighbours so basically this order has disappeared. Been trying to solve this with customer service, but it's a) very hard to get on the line with them as waiting times are long, and b) the customer agents don't seem to be empowered to make decisions themselves so it needs to go through a long, standard process to see who's signed for the package... (which is weird if you ask me, they should know who's signed for it straight away). Wouldn't recommend using Dunelm.
we ordered £400 of stuff , some of which is "Out of stock" . but you can collect it from the shop !? when questioned i was told it is NOT POSSIBLE to move stock from the shop on to the van coming to my house . just how did man walk on the moon ? All the customer servive people i spokr to repeated the same mantra . why not get rid of the whole lot and install a taped message . I've worked in customer service the idea is to help Customers . to use a well worn phrase . the clues in the name .
I ordered various products from Dunelm, these shipped as 4 separate packages, it took a week for the items to arrive and one was missing. I phoned up and was told that it was still at the depot, so I waited a week, still nothing so phoned again, it was still at the depot, they said they'd ring back and let me know what was going on, another week passed with no contact and I get an email from Paypal saying that I've had a refund from Dunelm, no call, no email, no explanation, no offer of a replacement, just a paypal refund. Saying that, the items that did arrive were okay quality for the price.
Ordered 3 pairs of curtains and 2 curtain poles. Were delivered via Yodel couriers over 2 days, half the order one day, the other half the next day. Thankfully the courier left the parcels with a neighbour each day. The only slight issue was that the yodel courier said he left our parcel with number 6 when it was actually with number 4!!! Would use again.
Bought mattress topper from the coventry store. realised it wasnot the right size. take it back to the store and they wont accept return duo to their return policy despite that we never opened it (it doesnot have any seal anyway). the manager is very pushy salesman (probably they were burned down to the ground last year!) push for profit?
When I was furnishing my flat, I came here just to see what was available having never heard about the store. There are many advantages of shopping here, you can feel the quality of the bed sheets, covers and pillows. So you see what you're paying for, you get the quality you expect and maybe the price is slightly more than a catalogue store but you don't end up with products that aren't what you want. There is also a huge selection, for example the kitchen section has so many mixers, toasters, pached egg makers, there is everything you need for the kitchen and they have basic items that are cheap to more expensive brand names if you are feeling slightly flush and really want the best in that category. I now come here quite frequently as I can get everything in one please, more over my home doesn't look like a generic IKEA catalogue home.
I order a dresser and stool before December I had one delivery date which meant it would be here by Christmas- Perfect. However I receive a phone call from the courier saying that they need to arrange another delivery date, bit annoyed Dunelm them self hadn't phone me to tell me the products were out of stock. The other delivery date was made for just after new year which then a few days later I receive phone call from Dunelm saying they wont have the products in time for the other delivery date. The courier phoned again and tried to arrange another delivery date, i then proceed to tell them of the issues and didn't want it to be delivered and wanted my money back, they insisted I phoned Dunelm and cancel the order. I tried to cancel THREE times and still didn't work, then went in store and they told me to phone a different number. My order has been cancelled but the refund has not been linked to my account. Therefore my order has been cancelled but I haven't got my money back. £329 I lost due to them, I'm reporting them and ensuring I get extra on top due to spending at least £20 on phone calls to sort this out as well as £7.50 in Petrol. Avoid it and always buy in store, much less hassle!
On 4th December I placed an online order for 4 pairs of matching curtains and matching tiebacks. It was confirmed that the items were in stock and would be delivered by 16th December (just in time for Christmas). I have just received an email on 16th December to say 3 pairs of curtains were not in stock after all and there was no confirmed re-stocking date so they had been removed from the order but the other items would still be sent. Why on earth do they think I would still wan't a single pair of curtains and 4 pairs of tiebacks?
Dunelm Mill is the example some other more unscrupulous companies ought to follow. Customer care and after sales are important to Dunelm because then they know people will come back. No-one will ever get 100% but the ratings seen here for Dunelm, I believe are very good, we will continue to shop there.
I went to pick up a pre-ordered product from the Hemel Hempstead store. After having a look round, I went to customer services to pick it up.
I was waiting for rather a long time, and no one thought to apologise about that. I also noticed that the queues at the two operating tills were growing quickly.
While I was waiting, I noticed that one of the young ladies on the Customer Service desk ("Sammi") was chewing gum, and at the same time carrying on a lively conversation with her colleagues.
Both of these are no-nos in my book. If you want to make your customers _want_ to come back, these things need to be improved. People may not remember a good experience every time, but they will remember a bad one.
On the plus side, Dunelm had the cheapest price and the only stock of the product I was looking for, so I was satisfied in that respect at least.
my first order was for a mirror which arrived on time and in one piece, very happy with the service, so I decided to order some furniture, I ordered the toulouse pot/bedside stand/unit and the 4 drawer small chest which was lovely and was ready made no flat pack just open the box and put in place, this furniture is nice if you like the French shabby chic stuff and at a good price,the items arrived on time and I was kept informed all the way along right up to delivering to the door, delivery guys quick and friendly,,very please with dunelm mill so far, I have now ordered another set of furniture in the toulouse range for the spare bedroom, hopefully everything will be as straightforward as last time if not I will be back to let you know..very happy so far so good