FirstUtility reviewed by

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

FU save money by being RUDE

I have been a customer for 1yr. I chose them because they offered a £75 cash back and I could use email as a means of contact. I don't use phones, I hate them, and have told FU this every time I have emailed them.
It all started when they chose a bad date for my direct debits (just before pay day) I had to cancel the direct debit just before Xmas and emailed to explain why asked for a new date for payments and then made a debit card payment online a few days later. No reply to the email. Since then I have sent emails complaining and the only one that got a response was when I sent an email at the end of February that said
"This email is sent as a reminder that as you have failed to respond to ALL previous enquiries that you have now entered in to a contract with me to pay £10 per day compensation until my outstanding issues have been resolved."
It didn't solve the problem but at least they replied and said I wouldn't get the cash back.
I still have not been able to set up a direct debit payment system and my last email sent in March inspite of being addressed to an individual 'Patricia Fothergill' with a reference number PCE-4469 was ignored as was the reminder sent in May.
As stated I have now been a customer for one year and my last bill informed me that I was not eligable for the £7 a month reduction for paying by direct debit. Of course I am not eligable because they have NEVER reinstated it inspite of receiving writen instructions to do so.
SO BEING RUDE AND IGNORING CUSTOMERS PAYS why change now.
Will I be looking for a better deal now that I can without penalty - What do you think!!

2 automated replies and a note on this site but it is Thursday evening and nothing of any substance has been received. I hope you are not trying to phone because as I have always said I DON'T USE THE PHONE and anyway I am at work when your complaints office is open.
    FirstUtility
    TrustScore 1 / 10
    368 Reviews

    Reply from FirstUtility

    Dear Mr Clayton,

    We’re really sorry you have not had a good experience with First Utility and thank you for bringing this to our attention. A member of our Consumer Affairs team has investigated your issues and will contact you directly to resolve. Once you have had chance to review this we hope it will bring a satisfactory conclusion to the matter.

    Kind Regards,
    Customer Services, First Utility
    Comment (?)