Laithwaites reviews

Laithwaites reviews

Low
4.1
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
29 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Don't trust this company, they'll keep sending and charging you even if you cancel their Plan

Tried one of their wine "plans" and found the wine supplied sub par-- I guess you get what you pay for. Cancelled through their online contact us form, its quite hard to figure out how to contact them or to cancel. Anyway here I am over three months later and another case of wine shows up! I don't live at the address they delivered to anymore-- but happened to be visiting-- told delivery man I didn't order the case and he ignored me and shoved it at me. Nice! I looked online and it looks like they charged me £97 February in addition to the original cost of the first case! SNEAKY, and a lousy way to recruit for wine plans. Lesson learned use your local wine shop and ignore these big bully companies!
Laithwaites

Reply from Laithwaites

Thank you for taking the time to get in touch with us, both on this review forum & via e-mail.

I hope that your conversation with our Call Centre and our subsequent response to your e-mail has gone some way to explain, but more importantly, apologise for the poor service you received.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please do let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards,

Matthew Young
Laithwaites Wine
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

repeat order but now resolved

Ordered box of reds, R. Now 3 months later they have sent another case as part of their wine plan. I did not sign up for this, but have been charged none the less. Was resolved quickly by Laithwaites - and very courteously (though it did cost me $19 in exchange fees from the nasty credit card company) so thankyou for that Laithwaites. Mum enjoyed the first case very much. Wine good. Be careful when ordering that you don't inadvertently sign up for a plan - I am sure I didn't !
Laithwaites

Reply from Laithwaites

We are sorry to hear about your bad experience with us. I am keen to resolve this for you and would like to discuss this further.

Please e-mail as at online.support@laithwaiteswine.com and we can look into this for you.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Disgusting wines delivered fast

The wine is simply filthy. They must have tasters who smoke heavily and have no refinement to their palate. I got a case of "Big Reds". What this should have said was "Red Diesel". Who in their right mind buys a wine containing 15% ABV? This company have no idea - I buy better wine in Aldi for £3.69 a throw (for my twenty year old son when he has a party!). Majestic Wine would never stock the filth that this company offer. The case is being collected tomorrow. what a waste of time and money

My response to the reply:

Well I have indeed resolved my query insofar I have been offered a refund. What I want to know is why there is no attempt to show how aggressive the wines in this case are: not for the sophisticated wine buyer. I'd love a wine advisor to call me. Then maybe I can make use of the promotional code and have my faith partially restored. I just do not believe that Tony Laithwaite would even consider serving any of the wines in the case I received.
Laithwaites

Reply from Laithwaites

I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the wines within The Big Reds selection.

On looking at your account, I can see that you have spoken with my colleague already, have arranged a collection and resolved your query.

For future note, we have a team of Personal Wine Advisors, who would be more than happy to help you choose a selection that would suit you. Please do not hesitate to contact us and we can get you in touch with one if this is something you would be interested in.

Our response in reply to your further comments:

We can certainly arrange for a Wine Advisor to give you a call so you can have a chance to make the most of a promotional offer you have.

If you could kindly reply with your surname and postcode, I can then locate your account and arrange someone to give you a call.

We look forward to hearing from you.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Shockingly poor business systems and customer service

Ordered a case online as a present. No email to confirm so I chased them and they said they would get back when they had checked it out. 4 calls later (I had to call them each time), I still don't know if they have received my money or order! No compensation offered other than free delivery which we already had a voucher for. Not the sort of service you expect in this day and age. Will never buy anything from them again!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

They employ staff who lie to you.

My recent seasons case was meant to include a bonus bottle worth £10 as an incentive. It did not, I telephoned Laithwaites who apologised and said it would be sent out to me.
A few days later I received a letter asking me to contact them to update my card details, which I did. I also queried where my missing bottle was, Megan the agent had no record of my previous call, but said they would send this with my next case. I told her this was not good enough and was offered a £10.00 deduction from the payment I was due to make.
I accepted this. but surprise surprise no reduction was given.
Had a similar incident several years ago with Laithwaites, will never use them again . I do not like being lied to...
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Never listen

I have enjoyed my case of wine over the last 6 years, however, the type of wines included no longer excite me, and have become much of a muchness!! and got too expensive. So I asked to cancel, that was all agreed, and surprise, surprise, they have taken the money out of my bank again this month, why cant they just do what you ask!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Customer Service is non-existant

On March 15 I signed up for the wine club. I was not given a chance to finalize purchase with shipping and was mildly surprised to see a 20.00 shipping charge added to purchase price. I selected one of three option : the mixed case and happily set out to wait my wine. I cannot drink red wine but my fiance does so I know I selected that case.
The following Monday (18th) I saw that no charge had been made to my card yet so I went to review my order; wanting to make sure it had been placed correctly. I noticed that it was all set, but that it was just reds not red and white. I immediately called and asked them to fix it. At that time I was told that it had "already been sent to the warehouse and couldn't be changed." I then asked about cancelling the order. Again I was told that "it was already sent to the warehouse so they could not cancel." I then asked to speak to a manager. They said they would issue an interruption to try to keep the order from shipping. I called the next day and I was told the warehouse had received the information and would cancel as soon as a tracking number was issued. On March 21 I got an email saying that it was set to ship out and that a tracking number had issued. I called to make sure the interruption would go through and I was assured that everything was set to do so. The following day I noticed it had actually shipped. I called again and was told there was no guarantee that they could have stopped the shipment and that my only option was to refuse the shipment so that it would ship back to them and then they would be able to issue a refund. I find it hard to believe that it took a week to ship and NO ONE could stop it or cancel it. I find it frustrating that all I wanted was the mixed case and there was no way just to sub that in. I find it ridiculous that my money is held hostage while I repeatedly tell them there is a problem and no one can fix it. It seems like an odd business practice to pay for shipping two ways when a customer calls way before it ships to let them know there is a problem. This is awful customer service. EVEN if it was originally my fault and I clicked the wrong button.... Oh yes I was also told I could order a new case of the correct wine while I waited on this to get resolved to make sure I got the wine in time for an event. Umm no. I will never order from this company again and I fully expect to continue to have problems getting my money back or the correct wine. I am very concerned about refusing the shipment and having it shipped back and having to wait until they get it so that I get a refund. I am expected to have the wine April 2 so I am expecting
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Used to be great - they've lost our custom now.

We've been buying from Laithwaites for 15+ years, but I've given up now. We've had some very good experiences. The wines are typically all good and when we've had occasion to fall back on their guarantee they've stood by it (even on a £50 bottle of whisky). Particularly enjoyed visiting their Windsor shop.

In recent years it's to be more of a struggle. They became much more aggressive about the wine club part of their business and were continually trying to get us to subscribe. I understand the business sense, but it marked a distinct change from a customer focus ethos to a recurring revenue focus.

We've also had more than one occasion when we visited the Virginia Water shop with a brochure which had been sent to us to be told that the offers weren't available. We eventually managed to convince them that we (and the brochure) were correct, but its not a great experience. In fairness, my last visit was better in this regard. Although they couldn't supply one of the cases, they offered to send to my home at no charge and did have the other case I wanted.

As others have commented their value has recently deteriorated badly. Until this happened, I'd happily buy any of their mixed cases and know that I'd be happy whether they were everyday drinking wines or something slightly more special. Better value and more reliable than buying elsehwere. Now, the value just doesn't seem to be there.

On top of this, some of the marketing tactics are a getting sharp. We recently received 2x£20 vouchers to get us to "come back" but when we checked out the prices, we found that the prices on the available wines had in some cases been "adjusted" so that the vouchers did not give the face value discount expected. That sort of thing is enough to put me off for good.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Simply the best

I started ordering from Laithwaites over 2 years ago and have always been very impressed with their level of customer service and quick delivery times. Add to that some really excellent wines at prices which won't break the bank and you have a winning combinaton.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Lovely people!

Informed, friendly, helpful, flexible, and not at all pushy.

All telesales people should study at Laithwaites for 6 months.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Very very good wine from here.

I used to be a member of the 4 seasons wine club at Laithwaites, but I cancelled it a while back now. Don't think I ever had a bad bottle from them in all the yrs I was with them. I used to get the all red case every 3 months. The main reason I stopped was that slowly but surely the price of the case crept up and up a little bit every now and them. Saying that though I would use them again and have no problem at all in doing so.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

LOVE this company!

We have a regular order - supposed to be 4 times per year, but we find we don't need that much. Laithwaites have happily amended to twice a year. They have unbeatable customer service - it seems they'll happily do anything you want!!! and the people on the end of the phone are pleasant extremely helpful if you ring to make any changes.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

pretty good

Just enjoyed a wine tasting course with them, great fun and informative
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Good samplers, but watch out for the repeat

The sampler cases have some really good wines that will definitely have you coming back for more! Just be careful because even if you didn't plan on coming back for more, you will 'subscribed' to get more. This isn't entirely obvious when you first order.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great wine, great service

Have been a member of Laithwaites for about twenty years, and bought wine from their Solihull shop just the other day. Great store and really friendly staff. The only thing that has stopped me giving a five star rating is that I think their wines have become a touch expensive of late
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Fantastic wines, good prices!

We've tried a few companies in this lark, but Laithwaites seem to be the best. They did have a dodgy website (insecure) but they seem to have got past that now. Deliveries will leave the stuff in your back garden if you are not in (you decide if that's a plus point).

Most importantly, the Big Reds and Australian Reds are wonderful. Only ever had one bad bottle and they credited us straight away.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

could have been a 3 but "o go on" a 4

Some highs and lows over the past year ish. Thats not the wine which is always generally good, but the service which seems to depend on who you speak to when you call. Have had occasions where requested changes have not been recorded which is anoying. More recently recommended substitutes which where superb. Prehaps losing that small focused supplier felling?
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

lovely lovely wine

Great wine great service highly recommended
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

getting a bit too big to be as personal as they once were...

I joined with two accounts many years ago when they were just developing and the wines were great and the service had the right level of sales contact and support, more recently I have found them a bit pushy and frankly snobby when contacting me. one sales guy suggesting that unless I spend more / up my budget I would not experience the full enjoyment of the slightly more expensive wine he was trying to flog.
I cancelled one of my accounts immediately and now have the same deal with a local independent wine merchant, Alfred the Grape, I get great quality and do not have to pay for delivery so a win win situation.
I shall be closing my last account now that Xmas is over and I recommend finding a local indie if you can.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Never whine about wine

In many years of buying from Laithwaites (via Sunday Times Wine Club) there has never been a duff bottle and service is impeccable

Laithwaites Details

About this company

Buy wine online from the UK's Independent Wine Merchant of the Year. A wide range of wines delivered to your door, from great value everyday drinking to the world's finest bottles.

Visit Laithwaites

Category

Laithwaites is ranked 30 out of 30 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.