Marine Mega Store Ltd reviews

Marine Mega Store Ltd reviews

Low
3.9
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
12 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

very slow dispatch and dire customer service

i ordered a small cheap product from them and waited for it to arrive. it doesnt turn up after more than 10 days so i try to get in touch and need to go through their 'live chat'. it is extremely dead feeling and i waste half an hour trying to get an answer out of the vaguest and rudest person and the end result is, we had problems with our dispatch last week. so it was shipped late. apparently it is my fault for choosing the economy service. £6.95 is not cheap in my book for shipping a small item that weighs less than 500g. AVOID AT ALL COSTS
Marine Mega Store Ltd

Reply from Marine Mega Store Ltd

Whilst we endeavor to get items to the Highlands as quickly as mainland orders, our preferred courier of choice (FEDEX) does not delivery well to these more remote zones so we switch to using our secondary couriers Parcelforce / Royal Mail. This order was shipped same week according to the system and is still expected to arrive within the stated time for the order service it was on. We have offered already to track down / issue replacement if it fails to arrive by the end of the 3-10 working day period however there are still a few days left for Royal Mail to deliver before they class it as lost. Unfortunately postal shipments are less trackable than Fedex however we are strongly confident the Highlands customer will still see delivery within our stated times on this order as there are several days left to run.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Stock is all Vapourware

I ordered something from them (actually I suspect just a single him) 8 days ago, heard nothing until I contacted them via Liveperson, was told that the item was "Special order only" (when asked to confirm where it says that on the product page - screenshot taken I didn't get an adequate response.) And that the price had gone up.

Mysteriously when I told them to cancel it all of a sudden it was available at the old price and could be shipped today. Having 0% confidence in them (him) by this point I declined.

Looks like a one man band without stock that only contacts his suppliers when he gets a order (or in my case once the customer contacts them after a week) and then tries to pressurise the customer into paying more than advertised.
Marine Mega Store Ltd

Reply from Marine Mega Store Ltd

Unfortunately some highly specialist items such as this 150m dive canister are very special products. We have updated the item now to be special order only and apologise to the customer for confusing information.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

They Did Right By Me

To be honest, I placed an order for a new Lofrans Tigres windlass from Marine Mega Store prior to reading the reviews. I probably would have ordered from Marine Super Store, but they were slow getting back to me by email.

At any rate, I was in St. Lucia and the motor went out on my windlass. There were no motors available from Budget Marine (the Caribbean dealer) and no schedule as to when more would arrive. Marine Mega Store had the best price, so I ordered from them. I dealt with Richard on their "live chat" and he was very helpful. He asked if I could live with a 2 to 3 week delivery schedule and I had it in 2-1/2 weeks. Maybe I was lucky, maybe they have been trying to improve, but my experience was exactly what I expected and $1,000 less than buying the same windlass in the States.

Ask for Richard, I think you will be pleasantly surprised.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

An unbelievably dire experience!

On 10th February, I ordered a Scanstrut lifting crane from Marine Meagastore, since having done an on line search, they had the best price. I ordered and paid for the product at £425.54 inc VAT, with a discount for an order over £300 bringing the price down to £361.45 - pretty good, I thought. I received an immediate email response confirming my order and giving me an order number. Ten days later, when I was beginning to get anxious about my lifting crane, I received an email from Marine Megastore asking me to 'Livechat' with them. 'Livechat' turns out to be a semi-automated system going by the name of 'Richard'. It told me, much to my astonishment, anger and dismay, that I would have to pay an additional £95 if I wanted the product, since it was a 'special order'. I rejected this, saying I wanted the product at the agreed price that I had paid. I was then told the product was out of stock and that the new product had an improved specification which cost more. A quick call to Scanstrut in Devon confirmed that the product was in stock and the specification has not been revised in recent years. When I mentioned this to Marine Magastore, I was told I would have to speak to someone else on Monday. I left my telephone number and requested them to call me.
I then went on line and looked at the reviews about this company. My heart sank and I quickly realised there would be no phone call from them, so I contacted Trading Standards, who acted very quickly. Two days later, once Trading Standards had rattled their cage, Marine Megastore sent me an email confirming that my money had been refunded - but no apology for all the hassle, waste of time, porky pies, etc.
With so many good on line chandleries available,who offer 'knock-your-socks-off' srvice, why trade with a shower like this who have no understanding of customer value or care? AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Stay clear of these people

You order, they collect........
If you are lucky you get your goods a month later, after they have surcharged your créditcard.....
Poor, poor quality
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Appalling customer service and seemingly random product selection!

Do not be tempted by the seemingly low prices as their products seem to be vaporware. Once they've messed up your order you're then stuffed as they don't answer emails, you can't ring them and the live chat is terrible (I actually think it may be automated as the responses are always the same). I get the feeling this is a one man band sitting behind a few suppliers as the emails point at an individuals Facebook account and not a commercial one. DO NOT GIVE THESE JOKERS YOUR MONEY.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Scraping the barrel.

Poor Webb site. Non existent customer service. You can't contact them unless your handing money over. Emails not answered, phones not answered, no one on the not so live ' live chat'. This is the WORST company I've ever used online. Save yourself the hassle.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Stay clear of this company whatever you do!!!!

If I could give zero stars then I would. Ordered a product, they took the money and sent confirmation of delivery within 2-5 working days. 5 days later I then get an email saying:

"Dear Mr. X,
Please find the order comments for your order WEB-XXXXXXXX below :

Please come onto our live chat service regarding your order."

That was all they said. When I get onto live chat you have to sit there and wait for up to 15 mins apparently - and you really do. You have to enter your order number on joining chat so when I got on I expected them to know why they had emailed me - apparently not. Then on checking - no apologies at all, no hint of sympathy at their mistake - "that product is obsolete". No other message. Therefore my reply was simply - "can you please refund me asap". Which they then confirmed the following day.

Net result and thoughts:

1) All these negative reviews are entirely believable and I can concur with them.
2) Being asked to use live chat is shocking - they should pick up the phone if there are problems. The email should aslo explain why I have to go onto live chat and be apologetic if they have made a mistake.
3) Why does it take 5 days to tell me a product still featured on their website is no longer available?
4) I've just lost 6-7 days and still don't have the product I needed
5) When things go wrong, surely the first rule of business is apologise or at least seem sympathetic
6) Live chat is clearly run by someone called Richard who really doesn't have any manners or seem to care.
7) I will NEVER use this company again and would strongly advise nobody else to go near them,
8) They seem to have a relationship with the RYA so I will be writing to them to tell them about my experience too.
9) I have yet to receive my refund, so will post again if this doesn't come back in a timely manner, but not holding my breath.
10) I'm really angry that a company can behave in this way.
Marine Mega Store Ltd

Reply from Marine Mega Store Ltd

Dear Trustpilot,

This customer has unfortunately stretched the truth. He placed an order (WEB-6052401) with us at midnight on Friday 29th June 2012 and was emailed by us on the 2nd working day Tuesday 3rd July (to come on our Livechat service) as opposed to the 5 days quoted by him. The order was cancelled with him immediately when he did come on livechat on Tuesday 3rd July as he did not want to pick an alternative and the refund was processed in less than 24 hrs and copy sent to him as promised.


Copy of our system time stamped emails, time stamped livechat transcript and time stamped order confirmation have been sent to Trustpilot as evidence to support our statement of facts as they are confidential.

Kind Regards
Marine Mega Store
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Handy for unusal or late needs

I needed a difficult Stainless Steel hardware item to find and they managed after a few minutes of waiting on hold to dig one out for me which they had a while so discounted down. My luck I guess. They seemed fairly knowledgeable.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Simple packaging but effective

They delivered quickly my new VHF radio which I am quite pleased with. Packaging used was simple but effective as it kept the product box nice and dry for me despite it raining heavily that day and some other parcels I had were soaked.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Useful advise

My overall experience was quite good, they gave me some useful advise that I had ordered two electrical parts that didnt work together as I had picked the wrong voltage on one when I checked for a delivery estimate and that saved me having to make a return and also would have delayed my little project. Parcel turned up within the time slot I selected and was what I ordered.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Ordered a number of yacht maintenance items

Several items came straight away including the paint item I really needed. The rest turned up later in the week and so all was good for the weekend when I went down to my boat

Details

About this company

Visit Marine Mega Store Ltd

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.