Ocado reviews

Ocado reviews

Acceptable
6.3
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
209 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Cancelled my order without notifying me!

Placed an order and after waiting for 2 hours after quoted delivery time I rang up to ask what was going on. They informed that my order had been cancelled WITHOUT informing me! They claimed I had been flagged by the finance department and therefore had cancelled my order - even though they had validated my card with verified by visa ! Sure wish they informed me rather they had cancelled my order rather than sending a confirmation of delivery time and then fail to deliver! They now claim I need to send in a council tax receipt to proceed - yeah, right ...keep dreaming Ocado! You really think I will attempt to use Ocado again with their infuriating service without showing common courtesy of informing me that they changed their mind after accepting the order?
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Brilliant

Very pleased with ocado. Really love their french range of products.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

People need to really work out what they want.

Having been a regular customer of Ocado since the start I'm always amazed that there are people who think they are owed something. Ocado is a business like any other and like any other it will make mistakes, however unlike most others it does everything it can to put them right. I've never really had to complain as such merely ask that when things went wrong they were put right. They always do and with amazing efficiency. Ocado also happens to be way cheaper than the crap like Tesco & if you've ever had an Asda delivery you'll know they don't exactly help. Ocado does what it does as best it can & if customers have a bad experience I'd always want to know how they complained & how they reacted. The veg are fresh, the products clean & well packed & the prices as keen or keener than the high street. Living in the countryside & not always able to get the bus I rely on deliveries, I'd not switch to any other online supermarket.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Regular happy shopper!

We order weekly from Ocado, they stock everything we need, drivers are lovely and customer service is lighning fast.

The app is really easy to use espepcially as more than one person can do it so me and the missus can look at whats been ordered - and can edit ;)
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Cancelled my order and account without notice!

Placed 2nd order and horrified to find a day later that the my smartpass has been cancelled and then my order! Rang customer services and was told it had been cancelled as it had been flagged by the finance department as abnormal and being my FIRST order they had cancelled it. I was told the only way I could reactivate would be to provide my council tax bill and they could accept nothing else, being away from home that was not possible so my order stayed cancelled. The CS supervisor could also do nothing but did also tell me they accept tenancy agreements, no use as I own my home, though they may be able to work around with other ID. Customer Service was unhelpful and would not budge so no order and now no account so I think I will be using Waitrose or Sainsburys in the future.

Customer retention is definitely not a priority for Ocado.
Ocado

Reply from Ocado

Hi Luke,

Gosh, we're so sorry to hear about your delivery. We're looking into this and have been in touch through your account.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Love them

I have ordered with Ocado regularly for over a year now and absolutely love their service and also their customer service. Only once did I have to call customer service and I immediately got refunded.

Brilliant way around having to carry those big shops home. Plus, they have not only all the yummy Waitrose things but also their own very good products.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Ocado is Fantastic

Online website much better than Waitrose. The level of communication regarding your order is great. In addition, you get a text regarding substitutes if applicable; in advance. You receive details of the delivery; driver, reg number etc. Very efficient friendly helpful service with good delivery staff plus I love their carrier bags!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Tesco was better read this review and a few more on here before you use this company

6 months ago I signed up to the Ocado deal for 12 months delivery.... I really should have checked the reviews on the service…. In 6 months I have had to complain numerous times, ranging from late deliveries, wrong items delivered, poor quality meat, broken eggs (so many times it’s a joke)items missing, completely wrong bags of shopping left…
Today they have just delivered a soft iced birthday cake costing £10 placed sideways, in a bag with other shopping, and it looks like it has been dropped as well. You can imagine the result. Do they employ anyone with any common sense?
Previous to Ocado, we used Tesco and in 3 years of using them I had to complain twice. I moved to Ocado in the mistaken belief that it would be a better service with higher quality products, In reality its poor on both counts.
If you are reading this review, you have probably read a few of the others….Make you own decision on if it’s worth patronising this company
Not good is it Ocado?
Ocado

Reply from Ocado

Hi Tony,

We're very sorry to hear about your recent shopping experiences, especially the damaged birthday cake, that must have been really disappointing. We'd like to help and look into what happened if you email us to ocado@ocado.com or call 03456561234.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Untrustworty and unethical

I often shop with Ocado via My Supermarket. Recently Ocado had a promotion voucher on the My Supermarket site. I completed a shop but when I got to the checkout the voucher was refused because it was for first time shoppers. However, the add did not say this. I sent a copy of the misleading add to Acado's customer services who a first denied they had anything to do with it and that some third party had issued it without authorization. When informed of the facts they then tried to wriggle out of responsibility by asking for photos of the add, even though I had already sent the add to them.
It was clear they had no intention of accepting responsibility for the misleading add and so I cancelled any further communication with them. I shall, of course, never shop with Ocado again and will shop with Waitrose and other supermarkets who, whenever I have had any issues, have dealt with them reasonably and ethically.
Ocado

Reply from Ocado

Hi John,

That doesn't sound right, we're sorry you couldn't use the offer you found on My Supermarket. We of course value our existing customers too and would like to look into what happened here if you call us on 03456561234 or email ocado@ocado.com.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Average customer service

I've ordered from Ocado 3 times in the past year.

The first time, the order arrived on time, but I was surprised that several of my products had been substituted without my consent. Having not ordered online groceries before, I have come to realise this is somewhat normal protocol.
The second time, the delivery arrived 20mins later that the hour timeslot. There was no prior notification or apology for lateness from the delivery driver.
The third time (and possibly last), the order was scheduled for between 7-8pm on a Thursday evening. At 815pm, the delivery driver phones my mobile to tell me that she is running very late, and that she should be with me in about 'half an hour to an hour'. I say ok. At about 940pm, I have heard nothing from the driver or Ocado, so I call the driver back. She is startled to hear me and says that my order has been cancelled. I'm shocked to hear this. She says that she has informed the depot and that they should have called me. I say 'ok, can you please get someone to call me as soon as possible'. She agrees to this.
Then, at about 10.30pm I have heard nothing still (at this point, this has disrupted my whole evening). I call the Ocado customer services. They apologise and tell me that the driver was looking for my address for a whole hour, but then gave up when she couldn't find it. Frankly, if this were the case, I cannot understand why the driver did not call me and ask for directions (this happened with a different driver on the first delivery). It seems implausible, given that she herself called me and said she was going to be up to an hour late.
The delivery has been rescheduled and a small voucher has been offered as compensation. Pretty much wasted a whole evening waiting for a delivery that never came. Very unimpressed with this level of service.
Ocado

Reply from Ocado

Hi Nigel,

We're so sorry to hear about your 3 deliveries, especially the confusing information you were given at the last one. We're glad to hear it was rescheduled at the end, but it must have been very inconvenient when your evening got disrupted. If there's anything we can do to help, email us to ocado@ocado.com. We hope you choose to give us another try so we can show you how good our service can be.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Not at all the 'modern', customer focused company it claims to be.

So having been bombarded with emails every week trying to entice me to use their service again, I placed an order including an item I needed and have struggled to find elsewhere. A few hours before the delivery I received an email to say that 'Everything’s there'. As soon as the order arrived I realised the important item was missing and called customer services straight away. They confirmed with the driver that there was no trace of the item and then told me all they could do was refund the cost and advise me to place another order over £40. I explained I just needed the item and would be happy for it to be put through the letterbox when a driver was passing my house at some point in the future. But no, their system allows no flexibility and they can't even put it through as a new order. I now have to try and source it from elsewhere and even if I did place another order from Ocado it has now gone up in price. Moral of the story is don't order anything that you actually need as if they make a mistake they will make no effort to get the item to you.
Ocado

Reply from Ocado

Hi Giles,

We're so sorry your important item was not delivered recently. We'd like to help and try our best to make it up to you if you email us to ocado@ocado.com.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

The worst experience online shopping ever!

Ocado cancelled my order for baby milk and even de-activate my account unreasonably! Contacted customer services who placed the blame on their finance team. Avoid this company for ever!!
Ocado

Reply from Ocado

Hi Katia,

We're sorry to hear about your recent order. If there's anything we can do to help email us to ocado@ocado.com.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Ocado changed my life

I made the full conversion to Ocado approximately 18months ago and have never looked back. I save money and avoid the hassle of supermarket shopping with a 4 year old which is impossible to put a price on. As a working mum it has completely taken the hassle out of shopping and drastically reduced what I spend and what we waste.

The smartpass means I can choose the most convenient delivery slot without worrying about the price. The deliveries are nearly always on time and the drivers polite and friendly. If they are going to be early or a few minutes late they have always phoned / text. The only time they were really late I received a voucher.

I like the quality of the food and if you buy what is on offer there are great savings which most importantly are easy to understand and see how much you actually save.

I have experienced a couple of problems related to packing i.e burst yoghurts but this seems to have improved and refunds have always been processed immediately. The minimum life guarantee means you dont get everything use by 2 days after delivery and the itemised use by receipt makes meal planning a doddle.

And they do great offers on good wine not just rubbish stuff!

I recommend Ocado to loads of people. Give it a go......
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Customer is always wrong

Let me begin by saying that a few years ago, the sun shone out of every part of Ocado in my (then) opinion. The deliveries were made on time by smart, intelligent and courteous drivers and all was well with every item. They even gave me little "extras" and a not so little extra on my first order of all.
When I needed them again, I was happy to make contact and even trial the delivery discount system, which last item I cancelled after the first delivery. It was by the way, also implied that I would get some little "extras" which I took to mean the occasional single wrapped biscuit or similar. That didn't happen.
Goods came in a "bunch" of bags instead of in trays, no valid reason, except the drivers had to walk a few steps before getting to my front path. Some veg were crushed to extinction, but there is no time allowed for checking the goods, drivers are up and away like lightning.
Left it a long while, but decided to have some things just before Christmas, for which I paid a whole lot of delivery money. Discovered they were out of all sorts of "Christmas essentials", even carrots, cream of the size I could use, etc etc. Had to go shopping on the morning of Christmas Eve, which is what I paid to avoid. The delivery arrived more than two hours earlier than booked, with absolutely no explanation or warning.
Again, the goods came bunched up in bags despite my being told before that it "didn't usually happen". The driver said they were "allowed" to do this if the delivery was difficult - it isn't.
I tried a third (and final) time, had the same dismal experience, plus many of the items were right on the sell by date.
Please note, Ocado, many of us don't drive and can't carry large amounts of stuff, and that is why we pay your rather high delivery charges. I live alone and so can't use up all of my over-£60 order in one day!! Also as I don't drive how can I easily replace anything that's missed out or unfit for use? I can't - I am stuck without the goods I need.
Not being a driver is the sole reason for ordering online!!!
I mentioned this among many other grouses on a call to so-called customer services. Oh, I was SO wrong in every way. Their rules are their rules, they "pick" their goods from an automated system moving along the appropriate shelves, they can't tell their drivers to use trays for delivery, etc, etc, and if I didn't like it that was too bad - or that was the essence of their retort.
Well, now, Tesco have improved beyond recognition and have one hour time slots, so they are top dogs in delivery. Waitrose are offering free delivery and I will give them a try soon, plus they have a discount card, therefore I can get the same Waitrose stuff Ocado offer without paying through the nose to have it brought here. If I can't get the required time slot from the above, there is always Sainsburys. All of these stores allow their drivers time to unpack goods in my kitchen (and I don't hold them up, it's a two minute job) and check items such as eggs to ensure they are not cracked. If only one egg is broken the whole lot is given free.
Ocado, I don't like your attitude, the intransigent manner of the drivers over bunching and smashing goods in plastic carriers, and the "official line" that the customer complies with your rules which are not at all customer-friendly.
Ocado

Reply from Ocado

Hi Colnpr,

We are very sorry to hear you were not happy with our service. Our drivers are usually very friendly and while they don't carry shopping in trays they would be happy to check eggs or help with any issues you might experience. If there's anything we can do to help please email us to ocado@ocado.com. We hope you choose to give us another chance.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

very bad customer service

Ocado cancelled my order for baby milk without any prior information and i was waiting for my delivery late night. No one from customer services even bothered to call me. Contacted customer services who placed the blame on their finance department. Avoid this company at all cost.
Ocado

Reply from Ocado

Hi Farrukh, we are very sorry to hear about your cancelled order. While we have security checks in place, mainly to verify the card details, we’d like to look into what happened and help if you contact us on 03456561234 or ocado@ocado.com.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Hands down the best!

I discovered Ocado by spotting one of their vans in my neighbourhood. At first, I was a little reluctant to try an online supermarket after hellish experience with Asda but I decided to give it a go anyway.

They are incredibly efficient from their prices to their packing and delivery service. Ocado constantly stays price competitive which is a bonus for the costumers. Also, the variety of goods is phenomenal especially their speciality. I have been obsessed with the cereal Nutrigrain ever since my visit to Australia and I was ecstatic to find that Ocado stocked them! I absolutely adore the fact that when booking delivery slots, they'll show you the particular times the van is already in your area to save fuel costs. In addition to that, you can also return your bags to the driver immediately or in your next order to recycle the bags. A supermarket who supports being environmentally friendly definitely has my vote.

Next, the delivery time itself. Rather than later, they showed up earlier than expected, giving a call before showing up. Driver was very polite and courteous.

I also love the fact that Ocado sorts your shopping for you. I found the most tedious part of grocery shopping is the sorting. Ocado divided the items according to fridge items and cupboard items whilst colour co-ordinating the bags for you.

My groceries came in good shape and they also had everything on my list so there were no replacements.

I will definitely use Ocado more in the future and recommend them to ALL my friends and family.

Keep up the good work Ocado!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

No shows

Out of about 6 orders with them, 2 didn't show. Not a good ratio.

The first time was a few months ago. I kept checking the website to track my delivery live. It kept delaying the delivery by 30 minutes until it was past midnight, then I went to bed. I wasn't contacted, and the website discourages you from calling them as it claims they have no more information than they show you. The following day, they didn't call me, I had to call them. They offered to redeliver (for free!), but not that day. I complained over email and got a standard apology saying they had taken steps to ensure it would never happen again.

Last night was my last attempted order with them. I booked a 10-11pm slot which, again, didn't show. No call, nothing. I tried calling them at 11, but that's when the call centre closes. Wouldn't it be a good idea to have it open until 11.30, so if problems come up they can be fixed there and then? But no, I had to call them this morning. It turns out, the order shows as delivered on their system. But I know it wasn't delivered to me. Did some lucky opportunist get £110 worth of groceries and spring cleaning stuff, free? The call centre employee was apologetic but all she could offer was to have my stuff delivered some other day. I opted for a refund.

Also, every time I order, I buy eggs. They have never not smashed at least 2 eggs. I always request a refund, and they refund the full value of the eggs. So at least I get free eggs. 2 stars.
Ocado

Reply from Ocado

Hi George, we're so sorry as it is very unusual to not receive your order and our drivers try their best to keep customers informed. We're just as disappointed as you are with your recent experiences. We'd like to help if you contact us on 03456561234 or ocado@ocado.com and show you that our service can be much better.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Good offers, good prices, great drivers but.....

I like the wide range of items on offer and I like some of the specially priced offers. The ones I don't like are the ones that allow you to get a special price only if you order another item with it, usually another item you don't want or don't need.

The drivers are a strong point. Friendly, helpful, a pleasure to deal with.

Customer service can be friendly and helpful at times, but in the last few months has tended to be abrupt and unwelcoming.

The really bad thing for me is the packing. Heavy solid items with fragile pastries or fruits. Who on earth thinks it's a good idea to put two heavy bottles of bleach in with a number of small pots of yogurt (which then are smashed and leaking)? Why on earth would they put cleaning items in with a (squashed) loaf of bread? Also, who puts a pack of six 1.5 litre bottles of water in with oranges (mashed also)? I no longer order things like berries (had too many that were crushed) or bread (almost always mashed flat) or tarts and pastries (crushed). I've asked for innumerable refunds and they do that quickly and obligingly, but the packing never improves. They must be spending a fortune on refunds because of the bad packing, so why don't they learn?
Ocado

Reply from Ocado

Hi Sandra, thank you for your kind comments about our range and the drivers. We are however very sorry to hear you've found the packing bad as we're always working on improving this. We'd like to help and look at what has happened with your deliveries if you contact us on 03456561234 or ocado@ocado.com.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great service and communication...But...

Tried all supermarkets online shopping and the least stressful had to be Ocado. The quality of products offered is lovely although the American shop could be improved with more variety and extended product lines. Communication from Ocado is excellent, prices are very competitive, the food always arrive fresh and got a good best before date. Highly recommended but I have two suggestions:

1. The customer service line is a rip off and should be replaced by a normal landline number, it should not cost customers 30p-70p per minute from a mobile to call.

2. Ocado should accept food vouchers which have been supplied by the manufactors for example I have a £4 OFF Warburtons vouchers and £9 for GU deserts. So I will need to do my next big shop at Tesco for example to get the money off vouchers so the big loser from this is Ocado...Big Shame.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Really bad experience and customer service

We had an awful experience with Ocado this week. Delivery was planned for 10-11pm. The driver doesnt show up and doesnt contact us. We waited for a while and went to bed, but the driver rang the bell around 00:15 and woke my family up. By the time I went to the door he was gone. No calls or text messages to let me know that they would try to deliver the items after midnight!

Obviously I was charged for the delivery that never happened, Ocado never responded to my email about this, the delivery was rescheduled 2 days later, not even the next day, with some missing items compared to the original delivery - I could not modify the delivery to replace the missing items without being charged high delivery costs.
The customer service on the phone was at least helpful, but not being able to redeliver the next day and charging someone for a delivery that didnt take place is unacceptable. I was not offered any discount or offers following this incident so will never use Ocado again.
Ocado

Reply from Ocado

Hi Antonin,

We're so sorry to hear about your recent delivery, as our drivers are usually quite good at keeping our customers updated. We would like to help if you email us to ocado@ocado.com. We'd like to ensure that you weren't charged and hope you decide to give us another chance.

Details

About this company

Visit Ocado

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.