Parts Gateway reviewed by

1 Reviews

Review by confirmed purchaser
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Golf Wheels Don't Fit a Polo

I purchased a set of second hand Polo wheels from Multi Company Breakers via Parts Gateway. The company had my car registration and details of the make and model but sent me (according to my garage) wheels that wouldn't fit and appeared to be for a Golf rather than a Polo. The company took back the wheels and refunded the purchase price but declined to stand the delivery charge (£30) despite it being entirely their fault. If I had simply not wanted the wheels that would be reasonable but in the circumstances I'm not at all happy. The Company has resisted my efforts to get them to accept liability and refund this money.
    Parts Gateway
    TrustScore 9.3 / 10
    4,647 Reviews

    Reply from Parts Gateway

    Hello John,

    We can see from the extensive message history that the steel wheels you ordered were 100% removed from a Polo (the pre-purchase online msg from MCB - the supplier, on 7th Dec states "set of 4 steel rims 15 inch complete with good tyres removed from a 2010 plate polo, excellent condition"). MCB didn't refund outbound post in line with their clearly displayed T&C's ("Customer is to pay carriage on any parts returned"), instead using this to arrange costly TNT collection to avoid the inconvenience of you having to send these 4 items back yourself. Your online msg to MCB on 20th Dec states that "My garage say that the wheels are identical to a set of Caddy wheels they have which are themselves indentical to Golf wheels" - and while this may well be the case (VW making identical looking wheels in a variety of sizes, for a variety of models within their car range), it is the stud pattern, offset & PCD that will determine whether the wheels will fit. As the wheels you purchased were removed from a 2010 Polo - the same year as yours, and with 2010 being such a relatively late car, it is unlikely the wheels will have been swapped since manufacture - and if they had it would have been for alloys rather than steels. While we cannot say for sure why your garage advised you as they did, we would sincerely apologise for any delay in refunding your online order.

    Kind Regards,

    PG User Support
    Comment (?)