Pingo Phone Cards reviews

Pingo Phone Cards reviews

Low
4.5
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
79 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

FALSE ADVERTISEMENT

I SIGNED IN TO THEIR SERVICE THURSDAY FEB 23,2012 AND CHARGED MY CARD $20 IN ORDER TO GET A $10 AS A FREE BONUS... WHEN I CALLED THEM TO ASK WHERE IS THE $10, THEY TOLD ME I WILL GET IT IN 10 DAYS.. THIS IS NOT WRITTEN CLEARLY ON THEIR WEBSITE.. I ASKED THEM TO CLOSE MY ACCOUNT COMPLETELY THE SAME DAY I OPENED IT.. THEY SAID THE REFUND IS NOT IMMEDIATE, IT TAKES SEVERAL DAYS.. WHY? I TAKES A SECONDE TO TAKE MY MONEY BUT FEW DAYS TO REFUND IT...I AM MAKING SURE YOU HAVE A VERY POOR RATING ON THE INTERNET SO THAT YOU THINK TWICE BEFORE TREATING CUSTOMERS LIKE THAT.
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

We are sorry for your experience. Pingo has updated its verification process to speed up the process for signing up to the service, however this will go into effect this Wednesday. As part of the transition this week, we needed to manually issue the $10.00 credit which the delay is mentioned in the terms.

When you request to close out the funds, its a mater of your bank or credit card provider to issue the refund which can take up to 3 business days.

- Customer Service
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

wow

hi, pingo is the best calling card ever.
great rates , great customer service, i've been using pingo for more thatn two years, yeah sometimes a problem comes up here and there but over all, it is a great service, you go pingo.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

I haven't received my confirmation email from Pingo

This is the second time that I buy a calling card for Pingo. The first time I waited for years and they never answered my confirmation( or whatever )mail to verify my account. So, yesterday I decided to give a new opportunity to this company but It has been more than 24 hours and I am still waiting for the verification mail ( I can't remember that name)... Please!!! verify my account 801 636 3772 I need to call my family.. it is an emergency!!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

bad Service

i have purchased the 20 dollars international phone card, couldn't use it
from the beginning, the next day i could't even access the account, it keeps saying that invalid account number , please help with the issue, my account number is : 2014232752 First name: Wenqiang Last name: Miao, i have sent the customer service email , but so far no reply, please solve the issue for me ASAP!!!
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

Miao Wenqiang,

Since you provided your account info, we were able to look up your information. The new customer verification team was not able to confirm your account. When signing up, you need to respond to a verification email and in some cases we will email or call you to verify your information. We have reviewed your account and went ahead and opened it, so that you can start using the service.

We are sorry for the in-convenience that this may have caused you.

- Customer Service -
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

AVOID!!

I just signed up with this company 3 hours ago. For the past two hours I've been trying to make a single damn call. NO WAY! First of all, there is NO ACCESS CODE from Turkey! Thanks for telling me this before you took my money PINGO! Second, their soft phone is totally useless, it either says the number is invalid, or else it "connects" without any sound from the other end, even though the audio test works perfectly. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS COMPANY! In frustration Ive sent three emails to the company now, and havent heard back once. Of course a company rep will respond to this email just like all the other ones, with some lame excuse/explanation. ENOUGH LIES!
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

Istanbul Turkey Customer,

We are sorry that you are left frustrated and need to express your concerns online.

1. Access Code for Turkey

A. We list access codes in the top navigation of the site
http://www.pingo.com/en/accessnumbers.do

B. Rate check

If you did a rates search before signing up, you would have seen that we only list the web dial rate option.

2. Call Quality

The service offers a call quality guarantee. However your account may have not bin verified to start using the service.

This is not the proper format to resolve this as we don't have your account info to look into the issue. Please call customer service to assist you, as we hope to regain your business.

= Customer Service =
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Worst experience ever!

I needed to call another country on an urgent matter, so I found this online and thought it'd be easy and a great idea. I was so WRONG!. Things written on the website contains much of a huge miscommunication. I also called to verify that I will NOT get charged additional from my provider, and the speaker confirmed that everything I'm doing is correct, and when the bill comes around, NOTHING is CORRECT!. I called customer service, and that SUCKED. They change the wordings so that the CUSTOMER is WRONG. I was not trying to any additional benefits. I just wanted my call to be credit towards the credit that I bought. ERR.
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

Nancy,

I'm sorry that you are left frustrated and need to express your concerns online. However this is not the format to resolve this as we don't have your account info to look into the issue. Please contact the account verification manager directly to assist in resolving this 781-505-7477.

Here is a link to a video to help explain how to best use the service to ensure that your not being charged for Int. calls from your cell phone carrier. Hhttp://youtu.be/EUBbuxw8hKA

1. Be sure you heard the Pingo jingle at the start of the call

2. Use Pingo Speed Dial to pre-program up to 25 of your friends and family phone numbers.

3. Call your cell phone provider to block International phone service.

These are 3 simple ways to ensure your taking advantage Pingo EZ Dial on your smart phone.

Please call us to address your concern, in the mean time i hope this was helpful on how to use the service to ensure that you hear the Pingo jingle before making an Int call.

- Customer Service
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE

They charged me for $20 when I only purchased $5 and then refused to refund the difference and told me it was my fault when I emailed them. Called them and they said they "put in a request" for the refund and the money would be refunded to my card in 3-5 business days. 2 weeks later and nothing so I emailed to close my account like it says to do in their terms and conditions and they told me I had to call and they couldn't close it unless I did. And of course they don't make it easy to actually get connected to a customer service rep; the only way to get through is to select the option that your calls aren't be placed properly or something. No options for anything related to account issues. In fact the automated message even says for everything else (other than issues actually making calls) to use their website or email them! Its so screwed up! And when I called to close my account they only "put in another request", so who knows when/if it will actually be closed and I'll finally get my money back.
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

@DancerGirl

I'm sorry for your experience. We offer a no contract service that you can cancel at any time to get a full refund on your remaining balance minus any free bonus minutes given. Since we are not able to look up your account from this post, please contact are verification manager at 781-505-7477 to help quickly resolve this, if you still have not received confirmation. We are sorry to loose you as a customer as we try to continue to maintain a 95% customer retention rate.

- Pingo Customer Service

12/28/2012

Follow up to @dancergirl comment.

I'm sorry but the verification manager's direct phone number given is away on holiday vacation this week. Customer service is available to set up a closed account ticket or if you have not yet. Send an email with your account number to pingoverification ////at/// pingo dot com. Please allow 3 to 5 business days for your bank to credit back your account.

- Pingo Customer Service
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Calling Card Company from Hell

This is the worst calling card company to do business with........everytime I do a recharge my account gets suspended.......customer service sucks......claims my credit billing info needs to be the same as the one on file.......how many times do I have to email you that its the same.....no tel# for 'account verification'.......what business model is this?
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

Felix Peters,

We are sorry for the difficulty that your experiences. For some reason your account is going under review, please contact Pingo's verification manager at 781-505-7477 to help quickly resolve this. As its not are business model to have this happen but we needed to put some protection in from potential fraud abuse.

- Pingo Customer Service
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Very poor quality service to say the least.

Quick to take your hard earned money! Then you get there don't give a rats ass! about our customers service. I have tryed four times to get them to take care of my on line account. Every time they tell me the same thing. It will be 3 to 5 days and we will take care of your needs. How can you call that a company we can trust. When all you have done is tell me a lie for a mounth now. I have lost your TRUST for ever.
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

William Bill Trevena,

Account verification was able to located your account by the name provided. They went ahead and closed your account, which will refund your money. As we offer a risk free satisfaction guaranteed or we will refund customers remaining phone card balance minus any free bonus credit minutes. I'm sorry for the experience that you had with the service.

- Customer Service

UPDATE:

We did refund your money. Its up to your bank or credit card provider to clear the funds that can take 3 to 5 business days.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Poor customer service

I opened my account few days ago and have paid $5, they sent me an verification email and I replied with all the needed info, got nothing back since then. And now every time i try to log in my pingo it says "invalid account". Sent tens of email but no one reply till now. Can anybody resolve my problem? My account #3614312930.
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

Xiankun Zhang,

I'm sorry for the experience that you had in signing up. Providing an account number helped us to investigate the situation, to resolve this, as your account should now be working to make calls.

We appreciate your business and patience in resolving this.

- Customer Service
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Poor Customer Service and Lies

I have used Pingo for at least a year to make calls to Australia. All of a sudden the calls were not completed, for a number of reasons, ranging from insufficient funds (when funds were available) to reason 7 (whatever that is) to just a standard message that the call could not be completed. I have called them every night for the past 5 nights, since it started, and each time they answer is the same - the problem will be escalated but the problem still has not been fixed. Last night around 8:00 I called and asked to speak to a supervisor and was advised that no supervisors work at night. Today when I called during the dayI was advised that only one supervisor was working and that two worked the 4 to midnight shift. I'm fed up with their run around, lies and poor customer service. I'm cancelling the account today.
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

Susan,

We wanted to personally respond to your concern online to know that we are listening. I'm sorry for the experience your having. Please note that we are one of the few phone card providers to have a call center available all day for seven days a week. However your request caused a trouble ticket that we needed to investigate the issue for termination. We do offer a call quality guarantee for this temp. inconvenience caused. I hope that you'll call a manager directly at 781-505-7477 so that we can help address this quickly to not loose your business today.

- Customer Service

8/31/11 UPDATE: We were able to review your account by name. It looks like you were able to make calls. Its just a few times the call wasn't able to get through. We don't typically have issues to calling Australia, however we put a tech ticket to review termination of calls to this destination. We did just try to call you back personally in the hopes of resolving your concern personally.

***Update Susan responded with a comment on TrustPilot that confirms this issue was addressed and resolved.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Do not use Pingo... its ridiculous

Service is poor. The thing I do not understand is what are they charging 98 cents maintenance fee for?
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

Please include your account number so that we can validate and Nilesh,

We are able to provide the most advanced features, online account management of all your calls & low rates because of the 98 cent maintenance fee. Unlike some of are competitors, we do not hide or charge any additional fees other then calling from a payphone.

Why Pingo?
Pingo maintains a 95%+ customer retention rate with ongoing loyalty promotions. There is no contract as you can cancel at any time and we offer 100% call quality guarantee.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Money Taken, Can't Make Calls, False Advertising, No Customer Service Response Ever!

1. After I signed up it took them almost a month and only after about 100 emails from me for them to approve and activate my account.

2. I signed up through a reference link from my boy specifically so that he could benefit and we could both call our parents for their anniversary but after my account was (finally) activated and I emailed Pingo (yet again) to inquire about my brother getting credited I never got not even one single response!

3. I just added money to my account to make a call. but each time I try to make a call I am given a message which says (every) number that I try to call is invalid. Oh? Really? Please tell me how that is so Pingo. And since their track record concerning customer service is disgusting I am not feeling too confident that the situation will be resolved or that I will get my money back and it is a highly inconvenient and frustrating situation.

4. When I inquired about the publicised promotion on their website (which I had taken great pains to follow the procedure stated in order to qualifiy for it) and be credited a certain amount-I never got a response. And I must say the promotional ad is till there on their site!

From now on I will discourage and successfully convince any person I know who is even thinking about signing up for Pingo and will find another company to use.

Pingo, honestly, you suck.
The high number of horrible reviews says it all.
Good riddance.
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

@Russee

We are listening and sorry that you feel disappointed in the service. To clarify a few things. Some promotions are only valid to new customer only. We also have a process to collect call quality concerns to ensure call quality.

- Customer Service

August 1st Update: This is not the proper format to resolve your concern. We do not have a contract and you can cancel the phone service at any time. Please reach out to the account verification manager at 781-505-7477 or email your account ID, name and details to pingoverification /at/ pingo dot com.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Poor Performance

I have used Pingo for at least 2 years - when I saw a slick ads on DC metro buses. It's been a very frustrating experience for my wife and I. We call Thailand regularly. I would say, conservatively, 90% of the time the call does not go through. After we dial the number, we get extended silence and then busy signals, busy signals, wierd ringing sounds, silence and clicks. This morning, in fact, I tried 10 times, but was unable to get through. The helpdesk, who have thick Spanish accents, tells us to wait a half and hour. I wait, still the same. I call back, they say wait a half hour. I tell them that is what you said before, let's get their technical people on the phone, they say they can't do that. This has been going on for two years. I am now searching for alternate international calling options.
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

@Clark

We do have a partial Spanish speaking call center based in Chicago to assist are multi-lingual customer base 7 days a week. We are sorry about your call quality issues and do have a process in place to set up a tech ticket to improve the route and termination. We are listening and hope that you'll consider using the service again when we can fix this calls to your specific destination.

- Customer Service
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

New client: Calling from my cellphone in the US to Cellphone in Paris France

My girlfriend is in Paris, France for a month and after spending almost $400 with AT&T I started investigating alternatives. I tried "Pennytalk" a complete joke and Skype which is fine if your near your PC. I am calling cellphone to cellphone both AT&T US (CA) cellphone numbers. The first phone call went through without a hitch and subsequent phone calls were better then my providers! I read the bad reviews and can't understand what the problem is? This is a first rate stand up company that I will recommend to all my friends!

Eric S, Palo Alto, California
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Horrible Service with no product to even use

I tried to set up an account recently and thank god i did not give them my credit card number but used PayPal instead. I have been trying to contact their customer service for over a month with not one reply i have provided all the pertinent account info they should need and still not one email, call or any other contact. I tried to call the 800 number they said they couldn't help me because the account was not activated and their department is unable to help with anything other than call quality issues. they aren't even able to look up account info.
When I set up my account on a Friday I was able to log into it Saturday and Sunday but could not use it due to it needing verification once Monday came around it said the account did not exist. This was over a month ago and my account is still not active and I have not even had a response from a single Pingo representative. I have sent emails to contact@pingo.com, pingoverification@pingo.com, customerservice@pingo.com.
Not one person or even automated reply stating they received my request or concern. This company is a committing Fraud by taking money and not delivering anything at all.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

No star absolutely, I wanna put minus

That's really funny that $30 is charged and shown on my online account, but it is ZERO balance when I attempt to make a call. I sent 4 emails in a week, and there's no response from this company. Keep away from this company! If you are fine with Pingo, that's b/c you are getting close to danger.
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

Ken, When you make a purchase online, the bank in most cases holds those funds for 3 to 5 business days. If you haven't bin able to make a call it means that you haven't bin approved through the verification process to open your account. We only take funds when we accept a new customer otherwise your funds will be returned to your bank or credit card provider that you signed up with. We have posted a direct email for verification and phone number on this forum before to help resolve issues like this with customer service. We are sorry for the trouble this may have caused and hope you'll reconsider if approved to use Pingo to save on International calls. - Customer Service
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

No stars for them

I bought a pingo calling card to call India. The calls always go to a wrong number or it says invalid number. There was no problem at all when I was calling the same numbers using Airtel calling card, but unfortunately they discontinued the service. To top it, an auto-top has been done by pingo even though I did not select auto-top when I created the pingo account. Can someone please give me their customer call number (phone number, not the email-id). I want my money back.
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

Chaithra,

We wanted to respond on a Sunday to help address your concern with using the service. We hope that you'll contact customer service by phone so that we can set up a trouble ticket to review the phone number your calling. Please note that we make an effort to provide 100%c call quality and just reduced the rate to call India from 1.95 cents to 1.75 cents to provide value to former Airtel Call Home calling card customers. The service has an auto-recharge feature that you have to opt-in for this feature. Please contact customer service that is available seven days a week at 1-888-878-8838 and will be sure to review this and assist in closing your account, if you wish.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

They charge you Monthly Account Maintenance Fee

Nobody tell you that $.98 will charged every month.

I always call to China by other calling card. Thay never charge me Monthly Account Maintenance Fee.
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

Chong Wang,

We are sorry that you needed to voice your issue online. The monthly maintenance fee is clearly stated across the website and in the terms and conditions. China is one of our top destinations because we charge only 1.2 cents a minute to call from the States. Pingo offers some great sign up promotions to earn a ton of bonus free minutes to call China. To clarify, we only charge a monthly maintenance fee for active accounts, we don't continue to charge if your account has a zero balance. We are sorry that you weren't aware of this one fee to use the service and take advantage of the low rates.

- Customer Service
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

stay away....was never a pleasant experience

Found them online and read the first 3 reviews on google...open an account that was under review for hours and then decided to call. Slow response on Cu. Service, granted, not the only ones with problems.

On the meantime decided to look more into the reviews. Fourth one brought me here and I realized I was in for problems. I wish I read these reviews first.
They actually activated my account when asked about it and charged my cc. Because of the delay, I learned of the monthly fee and other problems and asked about it. Then asked to cancel the account. They hung up on me.

Called back and since I always ask them to repeat their names and write it down, got the same guy. He told me I hung up on him, even though I called back and waited more than 5 minutes to speak with someone.
Promised a credit within 3-5 days....I'll wait and will update post.
Pingo.com

Reply from Pingo.com

@Cassiano

I'm afraid that we are in a high fraud industry and need extra steps in place to control new sign ups. Which can cause a slight delay in the new customer verification process. You could have contacted our account verification team directly to help confirm your account pingoverification /at/ pingo dot com. It also helps to verify your email when you sign up to speed up the process.

Customer service is available 7 days a week from 9am to 12pm EST to resolve these types of issues. I'm not able to see your account to look into the issue that you experienced but we are sorry and need to work hard to maintain a 95% customer retention rate.

Pingo.com Details

About this company

Pingo.com is a virtual phone card service that prides itself on a 95% customer retention rate for providing 100% guaranteed call quality. Owned by a public company that you can trust, that delivers over 1.3 billion minutes a month in International voice calls.

Visit Pingo Phone Cards

Contact information

Write to: contact@pingo.com
Call us on: 888-YO-Pingo
We live here: 20 2nd Ave
01803 Burlington, MA
United States

Category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.