Plusnet reviewed by

2 Reviews

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent customer service. (But still don't agree to pay the engineer's fee).

Initially promised 4mbps with a range of 2.5mbps-7mbps.
I got 0.8mbs max - consistently. That is ONE THIRD of the LOWEST promised speed and too slow to even stream low res Youtube videos.

You cannot get through on the phone unless you have no value for your own time whatsoever. You cannot email anybody directly at all.

To try and get further help you need to raise a ticket by following a tick box troubleshooting process which is quite frustrating an leads you to a funnel where you are forced to agree to pay a large sum for an engineer's visit IF no fault on the line is found. Please people do not agree to pay this. Call or write but do not click to agree to this no matter how frustrated you are. The agreement is clear and concise and could leave you out of pocket and in a troublesome situation in terms of proving where the fault lies. You are entering into a contract to pay a lot of money if no fault is found. The idea is to ensure you do not frivolously book an engineer without troubleshooting first but if you don't have a spare router it kind of leaves you in a predicament.

Eventually my complaint was picked up by Plusnet support via their ticketing system and after some discourse an engineer arranged. I think I got lucky with the Openreach engineer who was outstanding and did several hours of work to locate a line fault and fix it.The speed has now been improved to within the lower end of the promised range, although the upload speed is quite low at 0.3-0.4 mbps.

Once I finally got a decent human at Plusnet to pick the complaint up the patience and professional tone of their communication has been outstanding. This far surpasses any other telecomms company I have had to deal with. The unprompted updates are excellent. For me the phone waiting time is still too poor. I feel for the guys in the call centre. The one I did speak with (Simon) was polite, professional and knowledgeable. Plusnet - don't burn them out!

For the price I will be happy to stay with Plusnet providing the speed remains at the current level. This has cost me several hours of time and half a day off work but at least it appears to have not been in vain.

Note that there is legislation including the Unfair Terms In Consumer Contracts Act 1999 which provides consumers with protection over any tricks in small print which seek to evade a clear statement or promise that is made to induce you to enter into a contract in the first place.

As with all complaints I urge you to record ALL phone calls, letters etc incoming and outgoing or at least make notes of peoples FULL names, dates, times and the contents of what was said.

For the commenter:
The line speed was checked by Plusnet at the beginning of the sign up process and was confirmed as 4.5 mbps as per above. This is obviously not based on pinpoint information relating specifically to your address although it gives the impression they are actually testing your individual line when you sign up.

It is still the responsibility of the supplier if they give false information when you sign up regardless of whether it is a mistake or not.
    Plusnet
    TrustScore 2.3 / 10
    210 Reviews

    Reply from Plusnet

    Hi there,

    I recognise you wrote this review some time ago so you've probably since left however I'd just like to offer some clarification regarding Openreach Engineer charging.

    Like other ISP's, when reporting a fault we expect the customer to carry out certain diagnostic tests at their side to rule out the potential for the problem to be related to anything the customer's side of the main BT master socket.

    As long as these diagnostic tests are carried out, then you have pretty much eliminated the potential for the fault to be the result of your local set-up. Whether the Openreach Engineer identifies a fault or not, you will not be charged under these circumstances.

    We simply ask that you understand that you may be charged if the fault is something local *and* you have failed to carry out the tests we've asked of you.

    If by chance you are still with us then feel free to let me know if I can help with anything. You can get in touch by sending us a private message over on our Facebook page, tweeting us @plusnet or posting over on our Community Site discussion forums - https://community.plus.net/forum/

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.
    Comment (?)