ScS Sofas reviews

ScS Sofas reviews

Low
3.6
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
176 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Can't complain at all

Seen a sofa in my local shop and after having a look around elsewhere I knew this was the one I wanted. Ordered online, which was quick and easy. Sofa was delivered last week with no faults and the delivery men were great. Hopefully nothing will change but up to now, fantastic service all round. Thank you ScS.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

READ THIS REVEIW! If only I had read the reveiws about this company before I parted with £1800.00 of my hard earned!

So my Mrs and I decided we needed a new sofa and with hindsight and HUGE regret we found ourselves at SCS after seeing their Matrix corner sofa, while it is a lovely looking sofa this is where our problems began. We paid £1800.00 for a scatter back corner sofa with foam upgrade and a large footstool. We paid in full as no finance was needed which in hindsight I now regret as I get the feeling that the people at SCS customer services couldn't really give a monkeys about their customers because they've got my money so what have they got to worry about. The sofa was delivered when they stated it would be but there didn't seem to be enough large scatter back cushions? it turned out there wasn't as we only had 8 instead of 9. Then we noticed that the patterned material on one side of the footstool was put on at a funny angle, then we noticed that all the seat cushions apart from the corner one sat at an angle tipping backwards which was clearly visible especially as we upgraded to foam seats, imagine 2 seats cushions sat at an angle, high at the front then tipping downwards towards the back then the middle/corner cushion sits flat then 2 more the other side tipping back again, it looks ridiculous and not the £1800.00 that sofa that I paid for!!!
If all that wasn't bad enough…I sat on the end seat and it CREAKED LIKE AN OLD FLOORBOARD!!!!
After a night of efffin and blinding between the Mrs and I we called SCS (calmly) the next day and was told an upholsterer would be out to rectify the problems and the missing cushion would be sent out in 3 to 4 WEEKS!!!!!!!!!!! Now please bear in mind that the back cushions make up the back of the sofa so me my family and friends would have to sit uncomfortably for nearly a month on our CREAKY brand new sofa!
Ok we thought, what can we do, we’ll have to see what happens...a week or so later a guy turns up and proceeds to take the material off the footstool and replace it properly which was fine but then he takes the bottom cover off the sofa and tells me that SCS DO NOT MAKE ANY OF THE SOFAS THAT THEY SELL and that he could only stop the creaking by placing a PIECE IF CARDBOARD INBETWEEN THE CREAKING JOINT!!! (BODGE JOB I THOUGHT)
Ok I said will it stop creaking? Yes it should do but if it happens again within the years warranty then just call us back up and we will sort it out. He said this like SCS are doing me a favour! Obviously I’m not happy about it and intend to complain!
He said he would have to come back to sort the seat cushions out because he didn’t have enough foam in the van, I assumed he meant that he would be replacing all the foam but when he returned around 5 days later he only had a piece of 1 inch thick foam probably enough to do one seat so I said what are you going to do with that, I thought you would replace all the foam not BODGE JOB IT and just put little bits in? no, he said this is standard practise! He asked me to sign something before he left saying something about a non-fault, I though it was about the job he had done, but now I have just spoke to SCS customer services who said that my cushions are the non-fault!!! And that the upholsterer is just putting bits of foam in as a goodwill gesture!!! NO I SAID I CAN SEND PICS OF THE DODGY CUSHIONS, she replied that I should talk to the guy when he turns up.
Here I am now 3 weeks later but 5 weeks in total and the missing cushion has turned up now but he still hasn’t been back and the other end of the sofa is CREAKING now!!!! So I guess he will bring some extra cardboard and foam with him if he ever turns up??
TO SUM UP, I AM NOT HAPPY AT ALL AND ONLY HOPE THAT PEOPLE READ THIS HONEST REVEIW AND TAKE HEED OF WHAT ME AND ALL THE OTHER REVEIWERS HAVE TO SAY ABOUT THIS COMPANY AND HOW THEY CONDUCT THEMSELVES.
UNLESS THINGS ARE CHANGED TO MY SATISFACTION I WILL BE TAKING SCS TO THE SMALL CLAIMS COURT AS THIS SOFA IS NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Liars, cheats and taking deposits before credit applications approved. NEVER GO THERE!

I had bought a new house and needed to carpet the upstairs. The 0% interest free credit SCS offer seemed appealing and I therefore went in and was treated to the full pre-order niceties and promised that if i put an order in I would get free fitting. I stated that I hadn't decided what carpet to go for but the response was that it didn't matter because I could change my mind any time. I needed the interest free credit over 30 months but was told that they would apply for the credit and while we waited for it to come through they would need a deposit of £300. I paid the deposit on my credit card in good faith and waited for the finance to come through. Four of the salesmen stayed in to go through with it even after their closing time - it seemed odd at the time and should have set off alarm bells for me. The credit application was declined and they asked me for more documents. I came back the next day with a council tax document and a savings account letter from the bank as proof of address. They declined my application again and i requested my deposit back. The sales man said he couldn't give it back since i had signed the contract for the order and I had to go through with it and that if i wanted to cancel then i would have to pay 25% of the total order price. The total order was £1696.24 not including my £300 deposit. I'd like any one reading this to decide for themselves how they would feel if they were in a similar situation and if they would like to ever put their money into the pocket of a company that treats its customers like this. I was so dismayed I sat in the car and cried - I didn't have the money to pay upfront and they should never have taken a deposit before clearing me for credit.
If you have had an awful experience from SCS tell everyone you know, Spread the word. If i had heard some of these awful reviews I would never have gone into the store in the first place. Tell everyone you know. I work in a large hospital and I promise you SCS that I will spread the word to family, friends and anyone else who will listen to me. It will be my mission for 2014. Sharing is caring.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Bit concerned now with all these bad reviews!

Just ordered the Sisi Italia San Remo 3 seated recliner been told 8 weeks for it to be delivered. Fantastic quality in the shop hopefully the same when delivered to our house. I will update this and let you know if this has been the case and if in the 8 weeks!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

liers

On the 26th feb 14, my mum and myself went to scs mansfield, my mum wanted a new sofa and chairs which she found in this store, we spoke to a very slimy salesman and asked how long delivery would be on this sofa to which he replied 6 to 8 weeks, we explained that was cuttingbit fine as mum was going on holiday on 1.5.14 and wouldnt be back untill 29.6.14, he assured us that it woulx be there innplenty of time to which mun brought it and payed in full £1930, 3 weeks ago she got a phone call saying they have stopped making the chair she orded and it would be replaced with a duel action electric chair which mum hadnt even seen or tried, she is disabled and struggles with her fingers using things, today we went to the store to find out a delivery date to be told by the same slimmy salesnan it wasnt ben delivered to scs untill 30th april, no ay was mum gonna get delivery before she went on holiday 1.5.14, we wasnt happy its even wroto on tne sales reciept that she goes on holiday on 1.5.14, the salesmen told us to cancil our holiday or go on a later date, the holiday is booked and payed for!! They was talking to us like we was kids so i raised my voice and asked for a refund as the contract had already been broke by them for swopping the chair, to which they told me to get out of the shop and they proceeded to call the police! The police came and i am now banned from the shop, its ok for them to talk to me like crap but when i raised my voice the police was soon called, now mum still hasnt got a delivery date and is on about canceling her holiday as we have been informed she could be charged for storage costs!! Great customer service from scs, i would never recomend anyone buying anything from there, if anyone has any advice it would greatly be appriciate!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Simply awful. Their mission statement should be "to rip consumers off with shoddy goods."

I was happy with my 4 seater sofa and 2 seater swivel chair that I purchased from ScS Stevenage at first. They looked nice but that is where the good experience ended.

For starters its a 4 seater sofa but god forbid actually allowing 4 people to sit on it. There is 2 of us and after a year of use the sofa is bowing in the middle as it has insufficient support.

The cushions are of crap quality. The lining is peeling away in the inside of the covers, causing them to be lumpy.

I have complained about this several times with the same answer given each time. "Sorry nothing we can do".

Actually there is something you can do ScS. Under the sale of goods act 1979 I am entitled for a partial refund or a free repair as the sofa was never fit for purpose. I will take legal action to see this through. My sofa is only 2 years old and I can make a claim up until 6 years.

Basically NEVER buy from here. The reviews speak for themselves.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Super Customer Service!!!!

Customer service srvond to noe. No pressure sales but informed of the best deal to suit yoyr beeds. Quick service all complete within 15 mins. Recomnend to everyone looking for a new suite or any of the other excellent products on offer.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Give it a miss

Purchased a carpet,promise to deliver/fit before Easter. Day before delivery carpet fitter (Monday)Rebooked fitting for Thursday no one turned up.Yet again!!! in all day as well.
Rang the store, they will ring back in your dreams. They take your money. Customer service is extra.
.Up date Tuesday 22/04/12
Carpet fitter turned up at last. Out of the 31 sticks (Carpet runners) he only used about 10.He made do with the old ones on the stairs. Which I had taken photo as proof. So they gained an extra £42.10.I will never see that.
If you go into Norwich store watch out for there surveyor name Darren. He will give you a few porkies!!!!!!
If he was a bird he would fly.( read between the lines)
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Not very happy feel cheated

We ordered 2 stratos raspberry 3 seater sofas for £699 each and have been given 14-16 weeks delivery only to look at sofas on website 4 weeks after ordering that they had gone down to £489 each I will be ringing you tomorrow !!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Laddish and pushy service instore and telephone ordering

I planned on ordering a sofa I liked instore, but on arriving at 5pm was faced with three laddish salesmen who made me, as a woman alone, feel really uncomfortable. I decided to order online and chose the 4 yr interest free option. I was called by a salesman who tried very hard to get me to take out the insurance and then worked hard on making me worry aboutvhaving 4 yrs interest free credit. Apparently my credit rating would be negatively affected if I could afford to pay more quickly!!luckily I was confident in my own knowledge and insisted on the 4 yrs which had been advertised. Had I not liked the sofa so much I would have hung up. Horrible horrible experience.
ScS Sofas

Reply from ScS Sofas

Hello Ms Nicholson,

I'm sorry to hear about the experience you had in one of our stores and with our online department.

Whilst I can make the online manager aware of this, would you be able to tell me which store it was you visited so I may do the same there?

Many Thanks

Helen
ScS Customer Care
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

:) :) :)

Amazing furniture!!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Cheaper online

We went into our local ScS to have a look at the sofa's only to fall for one that was nothing like we were looking for, the staff were very helpful and gave us a lot of information, pricelists etc and off we went home to measure up and decide on a two or three seater. Only to find if we ordered it online we'd save an extra £100, so i did. No sooner had i placed the order then a lovely helpful young man phoned me to go through the order and the payment details. Do watch out though that your only paying for the extra's you want, my agreement came through with an added extra i didn't ask for, but one quick phone call soon got that sorted. Now i eagerly await the arrival of my new sofas.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

lying sales staff, manager rude arrogant, stay away from scs at all cost

15th January bought a sofa from SCS at Drake house Sheffield. Once I'd picked the sofa and chair he told me he had to check on how many seats were availiable as the sofa had to be made to my spec, at that point I asked him how long I would have to wait for it to be made. He told me to take a seat and he would check on both matters. He was gone 5mins came back and told me that there were 6 seats availiable has I only needed 4 that was fine then he told me it was 10 to 12 weeks for delivery but more than likely before that time. I told him I had nothing to sit on but if it was no longer than 12 weeks I would place the order which I did and paid the deposit in cash. On 23 Jan I called in to the store to ask if the chair could be alter to a recliner he checked to see if that would be possible, when he returned he told me that would be ok as they had not started work on my sofa, I then paid a further £500 so that I would not have a large sum to pay on delivery (big big mistake) After 9 weeks I called in the store to get a progress report to which I was told there would be a delay until the end of April. I was not pleased and told them so, I then left the shop. 13 weeks have now past so I return to the shop to get a refund as I was sick of waiting for my sofa. I asked to speak to the manager he came and I asked for a refund as he had broken his agreement of 10 to 12 weeks, he told me I would not be getting a refund and my sofa would not be delivered for another 4 weeks until 18th May on hearing that I said shit to which he told me not to swear and if I continued he would eject me from the store and if I refused to leave he would call the police.I told him to go ahead and call them and I would be outside waiting for them but in the mean time I would be informing anyone who walked in the store of their shoddy work ethics. When the police arrived they asked me to move as I was in breach of the peace, which I did reluctantly. Is there anyone out there in the same boat or could give some advise? For anyone who is considering buying a sofa from SCS DON'T. mr T J Harrison
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Quick, helpful, friendly, very good service

Brilliant, James my sales advisor was friendly, really helpful, made me feel as if I was completing
the purchase in my own home having a cup of tea with James face to face. Very impressed
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

sweet and nice and gave me a great price

The sales representative was very clear and easy to understand . Very attentive to the questions that I had about the sofa told me the information i needed about finance and insurance and what it inured all in all very happy to do business with
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

AVOID !!!

On 14-th of January I ordered a piece of carpet 2.00m by 2.30m in SCS Cribbs Causeway in Bristol, after 3 weeks of waiting I collected the carpet from the store and putted it to my storage room for few weeks. On Sat (22nd Mar) I tried to fit it and after unwrapping it showed up so carpet is 196cm wide instead 200cm. I took the scroll immediately back to the shop and reported an issue. They refused to take the carpet back and promised me to call me back on Monday. I received no message until Wednesday then I decided to call them, twice on Wed - no call back as promised, and twice on Thu - during second call, very rude lady said so I reported the fault too late and I should measure the carpet straight after purchase. Shop manager in next phone call informed me so in this industry is a 5cm tolerance in size !!! and they will deal with manufacturer to exchange the carpet but as a good will !!!, Service Customer manager offered me an exchange for 3m wide piece if I will paid the difference in price. Why they offering 2m wide pieces when they are unable to deliver it? Why no one said the word about size tolerance during purchase? Why they didn't advice me so I should check the size immediately after purchase?
Rubbish customer support - will never use again for sure.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Excellent on line service

Having been round the shops looking at different sofas and being followed by shop assistants checking if we had made our mind. We decided to go online which was so much easier.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Quick easy and prompt service can't wait to receive our sofas !

The process was extremely quick and easy although the extra care for the sofas was pushed a little too hard but other than that it was a smooth transaction and we cannot wait to recieve our sofas
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Beware of rubbish imitation suites supposedly from La-Z-Boy

We just paid £4356 for what in the store was the comfiest suite I had ever sat on. It was on paper a La-Z-Boy cool 3 seater recliner couch, 3 seater static couch and a recliner armchair.
What we got looks the same but is barely better than an upholstered park bench as far as comfort goes. Upon complaining to SCS they sent an inspector who agreed and arranged replacement of the seat cushions. After 2 visits by an engineer to fit said cushions there was no noticeable difference to the hardness of the couch. We again complained and have today been told that there is nothing more that can be done. We have asked for a replacement suite of the same quality as we were shown in store, not for compensation or a refund. Looks like we will now be meeting SCS in court as their response is totally unacceptable.
ScS Sofas

Reply from ScS Sofas

Hello Steve,

I'm sorry to hear about the concerns you are having with your suite.

The interiors you have will relax with regular use, and will then feel like the one in store.

However, if you would like me to look into this for you, could I ask that you send me your account number or delivery postcode please.

Many Thanks

Helen
ScS Customer Care
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

2 SETTEES BOTH FAULTY, CHARGEBACK NOW UNDERWAY AS CUSTOMER SERVICE IS APPALING

Purchased a leather corner suite £2599. 4 repair visits eventually exchanged for a cheaper 2 & 3 seater combo.
After 4 months seat cushions are out of shape. 3 week wait for upholsterer. adjusted springs which has resulted in a loud squeak from base of settee. Rang up and the earliest date for them to come & fix problem is 25 days time.
Have contacted finance company for refund.
Do not buy from scs, poor quality settees & customer service centre in sunderland dont care or want to help
ScS Sofas

Reply from ScS Sofas

Hello Ian,

I'm sorry to hear about the concerns you have with your suite.

I would like to look into this for you. Could you send me your account number or delivery postcode please?

Many Thanks

Helen
ScS Customer Care

ScS Sofas Details

About this company

Looking for a sofa? ScS sofa stores have a huge range of quality settees, sofas, chairs, lazy boy recliners and sofabeds in fabric and leather materials

Visit ScS Sofas

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.