Secret Escapes reviews

Secret Escapes reviews

Good
8.7
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
361 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Credit??

I had £15 credit on my account and used it toward booking a night in Madrid today. When filling out my credit card details, the page clearly stated that the £15 was being deducted and the resulting price to be charged was £107.35 (I have a screen shot and print out of same).

However, when I received my email confirmation a few minutes later, the price I was charged was £122.35 i.e. the credit had not been applied. I went into the 'My Account' page and it states that the £15 credit was used for the booking. However, it actually wasn't.

Tried to call Secret Escapes (from Ireland) but the number given on their website is not recognised. I emailed them but no reply.

I have never used Secret Escapes before and, after this fiasco, probably won't again. It must be illegal for a company to state a figure that will be deducted from your credit card and then charge a different amount.

Very naughty!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

SO COLD BUT SO GOOD

JUST HAD A WEEK END BREAK IN ICELAND. FIRST TIME WITH SECRET ESCAPES DEFINATELY NOT THE LAST. HOTEL HILTON NORDICA EXCUTIVE ROOM BRILLIANT, TOURS AND ORGANISATION EXCELLENT EVEN MANAGED TO SEE THE NORTHERN LIGHTS! MUST DO GOLDEN CIRCLE AND BLUE LAGOON
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Impeccable customer service.

the actual hotel we stayed in turned out to be a real let down - so much so we left after only one night. the hotel themselves made no effort to accomodate us or make our stay any more comfortable. they also wouldnt allow us a refund for the night we didnt stay. when i returned home i got in touch with Secret Escapes who have cleared everthing up for us without our having to get too involved. they have been beyond fantastic in dealing with us and have ensured that we will be using them to book our breaks away again and again. i've never been so impressed with a company's response and the speed in which they did it.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Avoid, no invoice possible for the night

You have to pay in advance the full amount. Then booking with the hotel worked.
But the Hotel did not have the payment from this agency on my departure date and could
not give me an invoice for this nights. Only with a lot of workload I get after a while a proper invoice for the night from the hotel. But less the original amount I paid to secrect escape.com. So for the full amount you will never get a proper Invoices.

Therefore I prefer good and normal booking possibilties in the net, and you get the same
prices there as well. I will never book again via secret escapes.com
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Fuss free and pleasantly surprising - it really is the best option for luxury travel

Having never used Secret Escapes before, I was unsure of what to expect and was slightly sceptical. All I have to say is that it totally exceeded my expectations. Their customer service is brilliant and any email queries I had were dealt with promptly and efficiently. The hotel I booked was absolutely perfect and was in a fantastic location. The staff were extremely accommodating upon arrival and were helpful throughout my stay. I have no complaints whatsoever. Following a wonderful holiday, I can't wait to use Secret Escapes for my next one!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Misrepresentation! Absolute joke!!

I went on the website and booked three hotel rooms in Amsterdam on the 11/01/2014, "Booking received" email and believed everything was okay and continued to book my flights. Some five days later i received an email on the 16/01/2014 saying there had been a "load error" . I called customer services and was advised that the hotel rooms booked were no long available being offered alternative dates or a full refund. So i called the hotel directly to discover there were plenty of rooms available for the dates i had indeed booked. I then re-called Secret Escapes customer service to clarify the room status, explaining the prior conversation with the hotel for Secret Escapes to then change their reason to it being the hotel who are not willing to sell the rooms at the advertised rate on Secret Escapes and that the information had been loaded onto their website incorrectly. Obviously Secret Escapes now being aware of the error, i should not be able to go to the website and re-book the SAME hotel, the SAME dates for the SAME price, but guess what ... turns out you can! So, even if they are now knowingly advertising a mistake, they still continue to take bookings and payment from customers. I struggle to understand how they can continue to legally advertise information which they know to be an error.
I have emailed their support: support@secretescapes.com for the Head of Customer Service - Shane Simpson to which i will post their response ... once it is received that is. Given some of the reviews i have read, when this type of issue is raised, i think its best not to hold my breath.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Service beyond expectations.

Inadvertently booked twice into the same hotel on the same day. Only came to light on registering at the hotel. Between the hotel and Secret Escapes they sorted out a refund even before I checked out the next day and the first I heard about it was with a confirmatory email. My mistake but Secret Escapes sorted it, they were fantastic as was the hotel.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

First Time - First Class

I used Secret Escapes to book the Hotel Pulitzer in Barcelona. We had a fantastic stay for 4 nights. My wife and I both considered that it was really great value for a central city location and contributed to a wonderful weekend.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Unreliabe, bad communicaters, bad customer service

I booked a break in Dubai and received confirmation, so I booked my non refundable flights. two days later I hadn't received any confirmation from the hotel.. The Hotel told me they didnt have any booking for me. I had to phone Secret Escapes and chase them for two days to let me know what was happening. It was very stressful. after many phone calls eventually I was told the hotel didn't have availability so offered me another hotel that wasn't even on a beach. I was really unhappy. They wouldn't honour the booking I had or allow me to do one day at the replacement hotel and 3 days, which were available, at the original hotel I had confirmation for. In the end a had a full refund and booked myself direct with a 3rd hotel. BEWARE dont book flights even if you have their confirmation, and they are terrible for replying to emails and phone calls. I was very dissatisfied and wont recommend them.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Keine Rechnungen - weder von Sekrets Escape noch vom Hotel

Wenn man eine Rechnung braucht ist man vollkommen allein gelassen.
Ich kann nur alle Nutzer dieses Portals warnen - es gibt keine Rechnungen - für eine geschäftliche Nutzung also komplett unbrauchbar.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent booking service

I found the break I wanted within a few minutes and the booking process was simple. I spoke with someone at Secret Escapes for some further advice and the response was swift and precise. Highly recommend.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

I will keep going back

Great website to find quality hotels. Booked a couple of hotels and one holiday through them and the venues have been great. Had trouble with flights with one holiday, but the customer service and Twitter team were very helpful. I will keep using them.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Exceptional value for money

We have stayed at three different hotels this year, for short breaks and booked them with Secret Escapes.
The discounts were amazing and much cheaper than on other web sites. Do keep an eye on these offers as they can go very quickly. E. mails are sent to you so that you can see what offers will be available within the next few days. Once booked an E mail is sent out immediately, both to you and the hotel.
We booked a hotel named Rowton Hall in Chester. It was in an ideal location, down a quiet country lane and away from the noise of any traffic. The food, ambience, bedrooms, sleep quality and staff were all first class.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Check flight times first or you might lose a day's holiday

We booked a seven night stay at Mazagan Beach Resort. There were three flight times although they were not specified for any particular date and I didn't think too much about it. After booking I found that the departure flight time was 22.40 from Gatwick, arriving at Casablanca at 01.25. In practice this meant that we arrived at the resort at 04.30 fairly tired and the first day was spent catching up on lost sleep. Day/night one a bit of a waste of time. Return flights were booked for 09.35 so, up at 05.30, we were hit with a double whammy of lost first and last days. This was in effect a six night holiday, which I imagine helped with the costing of the holiday in the agent's favour.
When I spoke to Secret Escapes, they said we needed to speak to Fleetway Travel since they were the agents dealing with the holiday (a common theme here, looking at other bad experiences). When I spoke to Fleetway, it seemed as if the 22.40 flight was always going to be the option on that date (could this be anything to do with it being the cheapest flight!). The problem was that, where there were a number of flight options, it was not possible to know which flight you would be on until after you had booked your holiday. In our case we were also booked on really early return flight; I thought that normally if you arrived late, you returned late but not in this case. This was partly my fault for not checking with SE but I also think that they have been a bit underhand by using the flights they did; lesson learned.
The moral of the story is, where there are a number of flight times specified, make sure you have been advised which flight times you would be allocated on a specific date before booking otherwise you could well have a shorter holiday than anticipated.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Apalling customer service

I wanted to unsubscribe from Secret Escapes marketing emails and found a range of options on their website, from taking a break to complete unsubscribe.

I'm not sure why they bother as nothing I do - unsubscribing, writing angry emails or calling - has succeeded in stopping the flood of emails! If they can't even do that right then what are their holidays gong to be like?!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

First Class Service

Just enjoyed a 2 week holiday booked with Secret Escapes and it was wonderful, also this has been the first time booking with them as we normally go through other tour operators, but we will be looking to go with them in the future.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

5 star holiday for 3 star money

Booked a 2 center Thailand holiday with Emerald Travel through Secret Escapes. Hotels with free upgrades were fabulous and the whole package was well organised. Would not hesitate to use again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

A bad experience

We booked an all inclusive week in a five star hotel in Tunisia El Mouradi palm marina. Secret escapes need to vet the companies they are agents for. Just sunshine knew they had accepted bookings from Great Escapes, but were over booked so our " luxury five star travel at three star prices " ended up being appalling , with us being placed in a room you wouldn't put your dog in. Dirty carpets, a roof for a view and a smell like nothing I have ever experienced before. Took three days to get moved, spoiling three out of a six days you actually get at the resort. We will be perusing a refund, as it totally ruin our holiday.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE FROM SECRET ESCAPES

Due to a computer glich, we received TWO confirmatory Emails for our holiday in Lanzarote in November and were concerned that we would be charged twice as the terms and conditions say no refunds. Following an Email and phone call, the whole issue was sorted out within a few hours and we received an Email and return phone call confirming that my credit card account would be reimbursed with the second payment within days. SE staff were at pains to reassure me immediately that we would be reimbursed and in this day and age it is wonderful to receive such fantastic service from such friendly people.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Perfect

Hotel was fabulous all flights and transfers were. An absolutely no hassle holiday

Secret Escapes Details

About Secret Escapes

At Secret Escapes, we negotiate exclusive rates for luxury hand-picked hotels and holidays in the UK and abroad, at up to 70% off the price you'd pay by booking anywhere else. We're a new site and a new way of saving on your holidays and we hope our offers may look too good to be true. Just to be clear, they are very true. However, we know people will have questions, so we'd love to hear from you and help answer any questions you may have. We are a member of ABTA (membership number L8959), and we fully comply with the high standards that ABTA set and regulate

Visit Secret Escapes

Contact information

Call us on: 0843 22 77 777
We live here: 29-35 Farringdon Road
EC1M 8JF London
United Kingdom

Category

Secret Escapes is ranked 84 out of 327 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.