Shutterfly reviews

Shutterfly reviews

Low
4.1
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
77 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent Customer Service

I will admit their website doesn't always cooperate and isn't necessarily the most user friendly. However, the customer service is better than any company I've ever given business to. I have ordered 2 photo books from Shutterfly and run into different issues both time for reasons that were completely my fault. They always respond to my email within hours, don't question anything I say, and go above and beyond to take care of the issue immediately. Also, my books have always turned out fantastic. They have turned me into a loyal customer!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

HOW DOES SHUTTERFLY STAY IN BUSINESS?

Started a photo book 3 days ago. Pics are from our trip to California. Was to be a special gift for my grandson, a special memory of our time together. Found the site to be hard to navigate but was finally getting the hang of it, adding text, embellishments, etc. On third day began to have trouble opening my 'saved project'. Chat person was helpful and I was able to open project again. Was 99% finished after countless hours and saw that there was 30% discount on larger book. THAT IS WHEN THE REAL TROUBLE BEGAN. I clicked on larger book and that was the end of that. After hours the larger book was still 'loading'. Called Customer Service and spoke with Seth. He promptly dropped my call. A new Customer Service rep, Melanie, came on the line and I had to through the issues AGAIN. She said it was a programming or code issue (something like that), would need to be sent to engineering and I might hear back from them in 4-5 DAYS!!!!! Are you kidding me? She couldn't have cared less, had no idea how to deal with a dissatisfied customer and wished me 'a good rest of the day'.
NEVER, NEVER, NEVER AGAIN WILL I USE THIS SITE.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Sent me someone else's pictures!!

I have been a customer for a long time, and I used to LOVE this website. UNTIL I ordered a photo book off shutterfly and received the wrong one. Someone else's personal pictures were sent to me, and who knows if mine were sent to someone else.
First time I called the customer service told me there is no way of telling if someone has my pictures. Second time I called the customer service assured em no one has my pictures, and then I asked them about how to prove it and they gave me a horrible explanation ( "since it was not documented").
Then when I asked what happened to my initial book that I never received, the customer service mentioned that is has been recycled and responded "No" to when I asked "do you not check if the book is an order before you recycle it" claiming everything extra gets recycled.
He was rude, and would use my own words against me and stop the conversation. They first offered a replacement, which should have been instant, and then after a long talk gave me y money back.
He even told me "we didn't give you any hard time and gave you a replacement!" as if they had a choice!
And to top that off they never asked who's book I received!

Bad customer service, they have different stories, rude, and I definitely lost my privacy with my pictures. Once they hire friendlier customer service and not send my photos to the wrong person, I will consider them again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent customer service

I recently had two issues, the coupon that was emailed to me wasnt working so customer service made sure it was fixed and extended date until expiration. My photos were then delayed over 10 days assumed lost right away when I emailed them without question they shipped out the photos again and received them in a couple days, even after the annoyance of the situation I would definitely use their services again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Website is clumsy and drags down my computer, customer service so,so.

My third shot at trying to purchase a photobook on Shutterfly, each incorporating many, many hours of work and anticipation in time for a crucial date ... each has met with the same result - failure. The learning curve on the website is not too bad but functions could be more intuitive. For unknown reasons the web-site will just stop working when in the middle of something (I don't have super computer power or the fastest possible connection but I have better than average for both). At other times it goes hours without problem through heavy use periods in my neighborhood. I suspect the hold-up is known but we are not informed.

The ordering process is what finally beats me. I am an overseas customer and have separate billing address and delivery address - but this is not unusual and works with most other vendors. At times I suspect Shutterfly simply doesn't accept my situation but this doesn't come through in the marketing. Perhaps there is just not enough thought gone into the website design to cater for overseas customers as the website seems incapable of handling me. I get through the selection (after a few hiccups very often) enter delivery address details (my billing address is already recorded on profile (pity that there is no function within my account profile to also record my delivery address - the address book expects me to be someone else for an added address) select delivery preferences, get to see the order and costs, press order and then always finish up with the same message - "the page you are trying to connect with is temporarily unavailable" - nothing else stated but the never-ending circle then starts - an invite to back-page and try again - re-enter delivery address and back to the temporary unavailable message (always) - back again, re-enter delivery address again, for the same result - painful to read, no doubt - certainly painful to write except it gets it off my chest, and most definitely painful to have to go through at the end of several days composing your photobook. - a never ending totally frustrating circle. So much potential but someone needs to invest in finishing off the effectiveness of the site. I'm about done with the site now - shame - a lot of lost work !!

Peter
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

I Love Shutterfly!

I have bought 4 books on 4 separate occasions . I live in Canada and have never had an issue with shipping! I always look for promo codes to make is a little less expensive! The service is fast the quality it amazing! I have always received my orders within a week ! I will always use shutterfly for when I make my vacation books!! It's easy.. Time consuming because I want it to be perfect but well worth the time I put into it! I highly recommend!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

ANGRY & SOOO FRUSTRATED!!! Customer service and website is awful!!!

Shutterfly's customer service is terrible and their system is absolute crap! I ordered a living social deal for a calendar. As it turns out, I couldn't apply the deal to the calendar I created because it was an 18 month and not a 12 month like the deal was for (in the fine print said it could apply towards a different size, so naturally I thought I could apply it to a different month range). I called customer service. The RUDEST girl answered and pretty much told me "too bad, make a 12 month calendar instead." She didn't try to make things right or anything. She didn't even ask my name when she picked up and just sounded irritated the entire time. I got off the phone and tried to save my calendar as a 12 month calendar so I could use the stupid deal, but I wanted to save the 18 month calendar in case I decided to buy it in the future because I had put so much time into it. All the other times I've changed the calendar and then saved it, a save option window pops up giving the option to save changes to the current calendar or save to a new calendar. I thought changing it from 18 month to 12 month would give me the same option, but it didn't! Instead, it overrode my original calendar, deleted the 6 extra months, and changed ALL the fonts back to default. I called customer service again and felt completely panicked that I had lost all of my work and was thinking that they had some cache or backup or something of my account information that would allow them to retrieve my original calendar and they pretty much said "No, no way to retrieve anything. Too bad, you'll just have to redo it". Well too bad for you that I'll never give you business ever again. Shutterfly SUCKS! I spent weeks on that calendar just because I had that promo and now all I have is a bitter heartache about my lost calendar and the lack of care and respect that Shutterfly has for their customers. It's obvious that Shutterfly doesn't give a rat's *** about the time and energy that their customers expend on these creations.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

TOO BAD I CAN'T GIVE THEM 0 STAR RATING

It was the worst experience. I was charged shipping and handling and then upon delivery (I live in Canada), I had to pay tax and handling fees. Which is fine, I obviously know that I need to pay to get something through customs, but NOTHING was mentioned when I placed the order.
They need to CLEARLY state that additional charges will be applied to anything shipped outside of the USA.
This is just the first MAJOR problem I've had with them. There have been many minor issues. Looking at the big picture and reading the other reviews, I see I'm not alone in my rating decision.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

They sent me the wrong thing, then made me start from scratch!!!

Shutterfly is horrible. I will never order from them again. I have been making calendars as Christmas gifts for probably 8 years on different sites. This year I decided to try Shutterfly. The calendars arrived, I mailed them to the people they were for (I don't live near them), and then in January, I finally saw one of them. I was informed that the calendar was dated for the PREVIOUS YEAR. Shutterfly explained that because you make the calendar in 2013 (december) they assume you want a 2013 calendar (already so stupid). So they credit my account and tell me to just place the order again. Fine. So when I update the calendar to 2014, ALL OF THE CONTENT WAS ELIMINATED. I called them again, and they explained that since it's technically a 'new calendar' you have to start from scratch. They can't even tell you what your old one looked like. Where your photos were. What text you had. Nothing. The calendars are not somewhere that I can go and get one to see what it looked like. Thanks for double postage, lousy Christmas gifts, a sloppy system, wasted time in recreation and an all around headache, Shutterfly. Once my existing project is ordered, I will NEVER be back, even if you GIVE things away.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Unbelievably pathetic- over 40 minutes being transferred around!

Some idiot at this contemptible company labelled a $24 photo cube as a $500 item for Canadian customs so we were told to pay nearly $40 duty. We rejected the item and called their miserable customer service department to ask for a reship. Well we didn't need customer service evidently; we required technical support. Lady has no clue, puts us on to someone else. 18 minutes later, buddy comes on the line telling us we need to speak to such-and-such a guy. Another long wait. Dude helps us but we're required to stay on the line (on hold) while he dinks around at his end. Horrible. Dog**** company.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Offered a coupon in an email then stated the coupon expired.

I received a coupon for $20.00 to use toward a purchase at Shutterfly. They sent me an email to confirm, then sent me an email stating that I had One Day Left. So I went onto the website to place the order but the coupon did not work. After exchanging emails back and forth for a week, they finally contended that the coupon expired 10 days earlier.

When I sent them a screen shot of their email to me, they wrote back to say they could not honor their coupon since the date had passed. They did not offer to make it right with a new coupon. I would not recommend this company at all.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Horrible Customer Service!

I've ordered a photo book with 40% off and free shipping. The order was for $95 before discounts. The price on the check out pace was correct before I submitted the order. Guess what? Somehow discounts didn't get applied and my credit card was charged a full price + shipping. I contacted customer service via email and that's what I got back from them: "We are sorry for the confusion caused. There was a problem with our website. We thank you for choosing Shutterfly. Please let us know if we can offer any additional information". Well, I've inquired again about the discounts.. They responded with "Free shipping will apply when you have merchandise value for $30 or more as subtotal after excluding discounts"... well, my order qualified for that discount, where is it?. Anyway, I'm not getting reasonable responses from their customer service whatsoever. All their emails sound like they just want to get rid of me.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Absolutely wonderful product and service

We live in Australia, and it is always hard to find a gift to send over the distance. Postage costs can be so exorbitant. We wanted a Christmas gift for our daughter and her family, they live in the USA. There are a few companies I use over there, but when I saw the advertisement for a photo blanket (sent by email), I knew this was the answer for a special gift. On the website I was able to design a blanket telling the story of their marriage and family. It is hard when you don't physically see the product yourself, and one really hopes it will be okay, as it was posted direct to our daughter.

Well, it was beautiful, with the help of other modern technology , "FaceTime", we watched as she opened it, and her delight was wonderful and heart warming to see. She actually got teary when she realised what it was all about.
We were very happy it turned out so well. Therefore we give our recommendation for this great product and prompt delivery before Christmas. Thank you Shutterfly.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER! NEVER RECEIVED ORDER AND CAN'T GET ANYONE TO GIVE ME A REFUND!

Shutterfly has the absolute worst customer service I have ever encountered! I have never received my item and cannot get a refund! Although I had never used their service before, for Christmas I decided to create a meaningful and personal gift and looked into Shutterfly to create a woven picture blanket. I placed my order on 12/18/2013 and payed $30.00 in rush shipping to guarantee a delivery date of 12/24/2013, for a total of over $130.00. I decided on Shutterfly because the many reviews and picture reviews on their site looked promising, and I could receive a guaranteed date of before Christmas.

A couple days later, I received an email from Shutterfly that my order had been delayed until 12/26/2013. That won't work as a Christmas gift, and was especially frustrating as I payed $30.00 to guarantee my item by the 24th! I called Shutterfly's customer service number and was told there was a wait time of 57 minutes, but it gave the option of having a customer service representative call me back when I reached the front of the line. I opted for that, but I never received a call. I then wrote an email to Shutterfly explaining my problem, and an autoresponder told me my email would be replied to within 24 hours... 36 hours later with no reply I emailed 3 more times.

Then I wrote a negative review on the Shutterfly woven blanket page. My review was approved and posted, and not an hour later I finally received a reply. I received this reply on the 22nd, 3 days after I initially contacted Shutterfly! This was the response I was given:

"Thank you for contacting Shutterfly. Our apologies for an unusual delay in delivery of your order. There are orders queued up at the lab and this has caused the delay. Please note that estimated date is just a notification, if you have not received your order before Christmas then please write back to us we will refund your amount. We do not want to pay for the order which has not arrive ontime for an event. We thank you for choosing Shutterfly. Please let us know if we can offer any additional information."

Great. So now I know this means I will have to try to contact them again when my item won't arrive on time. Shutterfly then removed my negative review from their website. Well what's the point of having reviews if they just delete them!?

So on the 26th, two days after the delivery date I was charged $30.00 extra to guarantee, and still without my order, I again tried to contact Shutterfly. Again the phone line was pointless, and I still have not received a response or refund. After another 24 hours of waiting for a response, I have just written another email to Shutterfly. I have now been emailing Shutterfly for 8 days trying to receive my item and/or a refund! I even received another automated email from Shutterfly saying that my order is now delayed until 12/31/2013.

Shutterfly has stolen $130.00 from me. I have not received my order that was guaranteed to arrive by the 24th. I payed $30.00 to guarantee this date. I will never use their service again. Instead of a heartfelt, personal gift, I now have no item, nothing but a $130.00 hole in my pocket and a nightmare!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Shutterly goes above and beyond in customer service!

I was designing a photo book for Christmas. I finished, and had made an error that was difficult to correct. I called Shutterfly customer service. Bryan Ruiz remade the book for me. It was labor intense and time consuming, but he patiently kept working on it until it was exactly to my liking. Many online photo companies no longer have customer service reps that you can actually speak with. Shutterfly does, and they are friendly and knowledgeable. I could not have completed this project without his help. He even offered to expedite it, so that it would arrive in time. I am definitely using Shutterfly in the future! Thank you so much!
Brooke E.
Montana
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Editing my review—Shutterfly came through!

I will leave my orginal post following my edit but:

Though they said they could not get me my book in time after an operator told me that I would, I DID get my book on time!

I assume they took it seriously and then made sure I got my book. I did get my book and I won't take a hit on my grade. The book looks good. We also got the calendars early and except for a minor crop issue, they look great!

Previous Post:
I needed a portfolio book for an assignment; I called in to be certain I could get it in time, they assured me I could if I paid for rush delivery and it turned out to be completely false. I let them know my grade depended on it that I needed to know for sure and they still assured me it could be there.

When I called to tell them, they were completely unconcerned and the first operator/salesperson "dropped" my call.
A few days before this I ordered 200 calendars that must be here for an open house Thursday and Friday—they assured me they would be here but now I'm VERY concerned that those won't show up on time either!
There are alot of photobook (Apple is really good and dependable), calendar, etc. companies out there; find one you can trust!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Awful customer service with a website designed to be problematic

I worked on our 2013 Christmas cards. It took many tries and many different applications before I could get photos to successfully upload. After I had my first draft of a card, I reviewed my address book to check who would be sent the card...and Shutterfly saved this into my shopping cart. When I went to edit the card and submit it for design and delivery, they did not accept my editing of the card as a simultaneous deleting the old card. Who edits a project and still keeps the faulty original?! I reviewed my cart before ordering and everything was listing as one card per recipient, so I submitted the order. Shutterfly THEN billed me for the first draft card and the final copy card AND mailed BOTH to everyone!!! When I called to complain, they told me there is nothing they can do and that I had to manually delete the first draft from the account and that editing it does not do so. I will NEVER use them again!!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Angry & Frustrated

I have been trying to work on a calendar all week and 8 times out of 10 when i try to log on to shutterfly the server can not be found. What is going on? I have albums saved on this site from 2001 to now. I want to just take them all off any upload to a competitor site I am so angry and frustrated with shutterly. I buy a calendar every year and have never had issues until this year. What is new going on with the site that it doesn't work half the time.
This is what I am getting today:
Proxy Error

The proxy server received an invalid response from an upstream server.
The proxy server could not handle the request GET /home/myshutterfly.sfly.

Reason: Error reading from remote server

I don't know what to do. I am half way done but un able to continue work on it for now.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great company.

Great company.
You can recover some of your money spent for the purchase and also you will get 5$ to your account. To do this, follow the link and register online Extrabux
Cash back 6% http://www.extrabux.com/r/525e6bcc40
Extrabux makes it easy to earn cash back and find coupons at the stores you love. After you create a free account, simply click to a store from Extrabux and make a purchase. In 1-7 days, your cash back will be added to your Extrabux account!

Is Shutterfly your company?

Get to know your customers. Simply claim your company now. Get real customer insight and respond to your reviews. It's free.

Claim this company Learn more

Is this your company?

Try out Trustpilot's exclusive tools for gathering reviews-- get started with our Kickstart service! And remember, it's absolutely free to respond to reviews. Learn more

Claim this company

www.shutterfly.com Details

About this company

Create photo books, buy cards & stationery, and share photos with family and friends at Shutterfly.com.

Visit Shutterfly

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.