thetrainline.com reviews

thetrainline.com reviews

Acceptable
5.1
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
164 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Fine if your train appears, nightmare to get a refund if your train is cancelled.

Having previously used the Train Line before with no problems I prebooked tickets to go and visit a family member. I picked up my tickets a day or 2 in advance and went to get my train on Saturday 5th April. Unfortunately the train was cancelled and the next through route was over an hours wait so I decided to take my car instead and opt for a refund. I telephoned the company and was told that as I had the tickets, in order to get the refund I had to post this back by recorded mail. I queried why it had to be sent recorded as surely I was out of pocket enough already but was told it was teh onlly way they could guarantee teh refund and the cost of the recorded delivery would also be refunded to me if I detailed all my charges in a letter to them.
Following this and also having to chase this up with an email to the company I have now finally received a refund of the tickets and booking fee but the recorded delivery fee remains outstanding. AGAIN I have had to chase up the company for this and it's now 23rd April. For all the hassle of getting the refund it's put me off using this company altogether. It ended up being cheaper driving in the end anyway ironically.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent customer service

I booked a ticket online for my student son to travel back to university. I paid for it using my credit card only to see to my dismay that when I printed the ticket out, it was in my name and showing my ID ref (credit card digits). I "chatted" online with Sunaina who was very kind and understanding and able to liaise with the train company to have a letter emailed to me very quickly, to enable my son to travel. I was really grateful for her kind help as the error was all mine, but I didn't want my son having problems while travelling. I use the Trainline a lot but have never had to contact customer service before. I was really impressed!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Very impressed with agent and very pleasant experience.

So nice to be spoken to as human and agent was so helpful and answered all. Questions and booked the train well so as passengers we are now very relaxed. Also I was surprised at the good price!
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Stefan,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and for the 5 star rating, it’s much appreciated :- )

It’s great to hear we were able to answer all of your questions which hopefully helped put your mind at ease if you had any concerns.

Last but not least, as we always aim to help our customers make the best savings it’s fantastic to hear you were impressed with the price!

Thanks again,

Vikki
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Limited customer service

I booked an advance single, for 1 adult and 2 children, however when booking through the app, you can't see seating allocation until you have paid. When the reserved seating was displayed, 2 seats were in 1 carriage and 1 in a completely different carriage. Perhaps a warning that the seats won't be together( especially when travelling with children) would be useful, as I probably would have booked on another train. When speaking to customer services,they said there is nothing they can do. I don't even think they saw this as a problem ! When they emailed me back It was basically a reflection of the email I had sent to them !
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Hazel

I can appreciate your concern about your seat reservations given that you will be travelling with two children – understandably you wouldn’t want to be separated from them on your journey.

Unfortunately, the restrictions of Advance tickets mean that the seat reservations on them cannot be changed after they’ve been booked, which is why we haven’t been able to change them for you.

Most train operators have an unreserved carriage for people who buy their ticket on the day, so you should be able to go into this carriage and find more appropriate seats together. I would recommend getting to the station as early as you can so that you can do this.

For anyone else who is wondering, our App is designed for people booking their trains tickets on the go - often just before they are due to travel. To help make the booking process as speedy as possible seating preferences aren’t included. However, if you’re booking for more than one person travelling we will always try to get seats together if there is enough availability on the train.

When booking on our website there is the option to select seating preferences, and then view which seats that have been allocated on the shopping basket page – this might be a better option for you in future Hazel.

Thanks
Fran
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

My first experience with the Trainline

The website was easy to use and the customer service was brilliant when called but the pricing structure and advertising surrounding the discounts offered is a completely different story: If you want to book 30+ days in advance, travel on set trains at the most inconvenient time you might be eligible for a discount.
I booked a few days in advance and paid more than paying at the station on the day of travelling.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Gary,

Great to hear that you find the website easy to use and the service was brilliant - exactly what we like to hear!

For the best savings to be made it's really important to be quick off the mark. The Advance tickets, which offer the potential savings of up to 43%, are released approx 12 weeks prior to departure date and they are subject to availability.

We've got really great and very handy tools that help our customers get ahead of the pack. Whether it's our best fare finder or Advance Ticket Alert, these are the sort of things that, when used, give the best possible chance of makings the biggest savings and grabbing a bargain!

Booking a few days in Advance, although can still save some pennies, may not be the best option when looking to save as much as possible. Of course, it's not always possible to book that far in advance so the expectation of saving the most really is realistic in honesty.

In terms of paying more with us than on the day at the station is strange to be totally honest, we offer the same tickets types as the station does. We'd really need to get a couple more pieces of information on that before commenting.

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback, it is greatly appreciated!

Craig :)
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

So simple really

I asked for help from Trainline because I had got myself into a tangle trying to book tickets on line. When the operator started to tell me what to do I saw at once my mistake and rectified it. He complimented me - which makes a change. Very pleasant young man - thank you.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Elizabeth,

I think we've all been there before!

It just takes that little nudge and then the penny drops..

Glad we were able to get you back on track and tickets booked.

Thanks for sharing your comments.

Craig
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Mistaken Purchase,Cancellation & Refund Plus Customer Services

Hi trainline.com
This is not an enquiry at all.it's simply to thank you & especially to thank the operator I called earlier today to help rectify a very foolish mistake I'd made yesterday when booking my train ticket initially (though yesterdays operator was very helpful and thorough too) Todays operator was kind sounding,very efficient indeed & in no way made me feel stupid at having made my mistake yesterday,instead he simply talked me through the entire cancellation/refund process,which went ahead relatively seamlessly,before then explaining that he was happy to search for a replacement ticket for the very same day,but of course to the correct train station this time!! So he did this,assured me the cancellation had been actioned & that I would get some of the cost of the ticket back into my account soonest,he furter assured me that the new ticket would be with me in the post asap & that the whole mistake had only cost me £10 in total,which to my mind was not a problem at all considering how very helpful your staff have been throughout,both yesterday & especially today.So I simply want to say a Huge Thank You to trainline.com :)
EH3 5DA
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Bill

You’re very welcome – thanks for taking the time to share your comments about your experience.

Everyone is human and makes mistakes from time to time – so we understand that these things happen – and we’ll always help out as best we can within the restrictions of the ticket type that you’ve got.

It’s brilliant to hear that you feel that the agent you spoke to was so friendly and supportive in getting this sorted for you :)

Thanks
Fran
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

A great service for me and my bicycle

I was relieved to discover not only could I amend my booking but also book my bicycle for my journey as well. With regard to explaining terms and conditions of my ticket, I could not have asked for a friendlier fellow on the phone. Just hope the journey goes as smoothly...
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Erika

It’s brilliant to hear that you found our support team so helpful in explaining things and getting your bike booked on the train too.

I’m sure your journey will go smoothly – fingers crossed this nice weather holds out for you so that you won’t be cycling in the rain!

For anyone else who is interested in getting their bike booked on the train, it is just a case of getting in touch with us. (we have several free ways including Live Chat, Facebook & Twitter) If there is enough availability on the train you want to take your bike on we will get a bike space allocated for you. We will then provide you with an 8 digit collection reference which you can use to collect the reservation coupons for your bike space from a self service machine at the station. You’ll need to keep one of the coupons yourself (to show to the train guard) and attach the other to your bike. Easy peasy!

I hope you enjoy your trip Erika!

Thanks
Fran
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Wonderful Customer Service

I booked tickets to travel to Birmingham later in the week. For the first time ever, I used the mobile app so the tickets could be downloaded straight to my phone. I soon noticed that the app was not working correctly and my tickets could not be found in anyway on my phone. I contacted customer services, who very qyuickly sorted out the problem for me. I have now been able to print my tickets instead, due to the app not working. I am now looking forward to my trip at the end of the week.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Christine

I’m sorry to hear that your first experience booking on our app wasn’t an ideal one – but I’m so glad we were able to sort things out so quickly for you & that you’ve now got printed tickets to take along for your journey instead.

I’m sure when you use our app next time things will go without a hitch!

I hope you have an enjoyable journey later this week.

Thanks
Fran
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Upset by telephone manner

Hi,
Not complaining about price of tickets, it is easy to book online and have done so many times.
However I booked three tickets on Friday afternoon, and by my own mistake, I admit, I booked the ticket journeys the wrong way round!
I realised immediately so I called the helpline number on the E-Ticket to see if there was anything I could do. I didnt think there would be, as I have booked with you before and I know that if it is an E-ticket there is nothing you can really do if you mess it up!
However, what i wasnt prepared for was the attitude of the woman on the end of the phone. Her attitude really upset me and pretty much told me it was my own fault (yes, I was my own fault, but it's not ok for a customer service rep to say that),
She was very unsympathetic, and kept turning her phone onto mute which I thought was rude.
After basically losing over £100 and her stinking attitude it ruined my evening and thanks to her attitude I will not be booking with you again.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Jackie

I’m sorry to hear that you feel this way about the way you were spoken to by one of our advisors.

We take comments like this seriously, and would be keen to get this call listened to so that the appropriate action can be taken with the advisor that you spoke with. If you contact us on either Facebook or Twitter (@thetrainline) we can do this for you.

For anyone else who is wondering, E-Tickets (also known as Print Your Own tickets) can offer great value, and are a very convenient way to have your tickets delivered, as you can print them out in the comfort of your own home rather than queuing at the station. The comprise that goes with them however is that they cannot be amended or refunded once they are booked.(apart from bookings for East Coast Trains routes) These restrictions are set by the train operators who we sell tickets on behalf of, and as such, we have to follow them.

Thanks
Fran
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent customer service

I've used the train line on several occasion to buy cheaper tickets. On the one occasion I had to phone them, they resolved the issue straight away, were friendly, polite and very helpful.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Heather,

Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We appreciate it, a lot :-)

Just an FYI - the cheapest tickets are released about 12 weeks in advance. If you’re quick off the mark you can grab a bargain.

Also, if you click on the 'tools' tab on our homepage we have a pretty handy ticket alert function.

Thanks,

Chris
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great customer service

I had a problem booking the tickets which meant I was charged twice. Once I realised what had happened I contacted them and it was resolved immediately. So pleased to deal with a company that did not quibble. Booking online is hassle free, and great not to have to queue for tickets.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Ann,

Thanks for posting this wonderful review! :-)

I'm glad to hear that we were able to sort this problem out with no hassle.

Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Thanks,

Chris
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Can only speak as I find!

Great experience using this service whilst waiting in the waiting room heard other travellers buying tickets the same place times etc at a higher price so must be good.
Every little helps as they say.
I for one would use again.
Very straight forward to use and collect ticket no problems at all thank you.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Marilyn,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and for the 5 star rating, we're very grateful :- )

We’re always looking at ways to help our customers make the best savings (check out our tools and tips on the home page) as well as making our website as user friendly as possible.

On this basis it’s great to hear that not only did you find it easy to book your tickets but you also made savings too!

Thanks again,

Vikki
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

more expensive than booking direct

They can get you the same price but they add a booking fee, the service from Greater Anglia is the same price, no booking fee, instant print at home tickets for no extra. I won't ever use trainline again
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Karen

Sorry to hear you won’t use us again!

At thetrainline.com, we’re committed to finding ways to save you money on train travel; we do this by continually investing in new technologies and developing value-adding tools to improve the service we offer, such as: Best Fare Finder, Ticket Alert Emails, Off-Peak tool, and our best in class mobile apps.

To enable us to continue to do this, we apply a booking fee to all transactions. We also review our fee structure regularly and do take on your point of view.

There is a number of delivery methods to suit your needs and of course print your own is one of them (when applicable).

I really hope you change your mind!

Thanks

Joanne
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Thought I would have "hassle", got great service!

I never received confirmation of my booking in my inbox. Called the help line center, expected a load if hassle! Received 1st class, prompt and effective service.
polite call centre operative and instantly knew how to resolve to my the customers satisfaction
The Trainline is a good service that I can fully recommend
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Paul,

Excellent to hear we provided a 1st class service! This is exactly what we strive to produce every time!

Thanks for sharing your comments, much appreciated :)

Craig
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

invariable efficient and helpful experience in using Trainline

I have been using Trainline for the last five or even six years from Edinburgh to Beeston in Nottingham to help out my aged father, now I am based in Beeston and pay visits to Edinburgh as he approaches 100 years of age. I have had invariable good experience of using the website to book tickets and on two occasions - the first where there was some chaos due to bad weather resulting in applying for a refunding under rules for delays, and the second just now where I had made a mistake in ordering an advance ticket and mistaking my return date. The question of rebooking for the correct date and applying for a refund over the phone was dealt with sympathetically and efficiently. Yours sincerely, Rod Eley
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Rod,

Nearly 100 huh?! What a fantastic age. I bet your father has a few stories to tell.

Anyway, thanks for posting this wonderful review. We always appreciate feedback like this from our customers. It’s nice to hear that the staff member who dealt with this was sympathetic and understanding. We can’t really ask for much more than that.

Best wishes,

Chris
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Unpleasant experience at Beeston station

I had never used this company before and first attempted booking my tickets online. However, I had a few simple questions about the train line. I walked to the Beeston train station today hoping that asking my questions in person would be the least frustrating and easiest way to find answers. Unfortunately, I was completely wrong. The blonde, 50 something year old woman behind the glass window was rude, cold and frankly...completely useless. As a 21 year old student who has just moved across the world from Canada to the UK, trying to find the easiest routes in the most effective and inexpensive way is very valuable to me. Regardless of whether this woman likes her job or not she could at least put some effort into it. It was a very unpleasant experience that I hope no one else has to go through.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Carla

I'm sorry to hear about your experience.

When you buy tickets with thetrainline.com there are ways to get in touch with us if you have any questions. That includes phone(8am to 10pm, 7 days), web chat, email, twitter and facebook. We also have a very handy company forum page for general advise and for sharing experiences.

The contact details are on our website along with our help section. The help section is also really straight forward and easy to use and our customers have found this very useful in the past.

As you can see, we make all this available to you as we want the whole customer experience to go as smoothly as possible.

It's a shame to hear about the station and as an online ticket retailer, we have no control over this situation. Without knowing the nature of your query there is a chance she couldn't help although I can appreciate you were unhappy with the way in which it was handled. It may be worthwhile getting in touch with the train operator who manages the station.

In the meantime, I hope the journey goes smoothly without any hitches.

Thanks

Joanne
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Brilliant. I'm a repeat customer and will always use this company

Cheap and easy to book online. I always know my tickets are booked and I can pick them up easily or sometimes get them sent out to me. I know it's the cheapest prices I can get for train tickets and I'm always happy with the service. I like booking the train seat as well which makes everything easier when I'm travelling. Would always recommend this website.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hello,

Great to hear your comments, exactly what we like to hear!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments.

Craig
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent Service

I have used this company many times and have always found their prices to be competitive and their website and booking procedure to be one of the easiest. On this occasion I incorrectly requested to collect my tickets from Gatwick Airport. On realising my mistake I immediately went online to chat to an advisor who took my address details and said my tickets would be posted to my home address, but as it was a Saturday, the department was closed until Monday, but she assured me that this would be done. I was a little sceptical but hoped for the best. The advisor rang me on Monday to say that my tickets had been posted and sure enough they arrived on Tuesday morning. The advisor was most polite and true to her word. I would definitely recommend Trainline and will be using their services again myself.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Susan,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your comments and feedback, it really is appreciated!

It's great to hear we were able to assist you in the way we did.

Thanks again,

Craig
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

So easy

Having never booked train tickets online before thought I would give it a try and was very surprised at how much I saved. Peace of mind as well knowing we didn't have to bother buying tickets at the station so will be doing this all the time in the future. A great service which helped make a weekend away a good one so thank you.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Christine

Thanks so much for the feedback.

We do everything we can to help you save a few quid and I hope this gave you a bit extra spending money for your weekend away.

Next time you're planning a trip, why not check out our ticket alert! It lets you know when the cheapest tickets are released saving you even more money!

Also worthwhile browsing our train and hotel deals.

Cheers

Joanne :-)

thetrainline.com Details

About this company

thetrainline.com: Save an average of 43% at the train line - the UK's No.1 independent rail ticket retailer online. Buy train tickets, check times & prices and reserve seats on all train companies.

Visit thetrainline.com

Category

thetrainline.com is ranked 2 out of 2 in the category

thetrainline.com is ranked 303 out of 327 in the category Travel & Holidays

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.

thetrainline.com is no. 2 in the category:Train - Fare Aggregator

1. Loco2
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
871 Reviews
2. thetrainline.com
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
164 Reviews