thetrainline.com reviews

thetrainline.com reviews

Low
4.9
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
157 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

A great service for me and my bicycle

I was relieved to discover not only could I amend my booking but also book my bicycle for my journey as well. With regard to explaining terms and conditions of my ticket, I could not have asked for a friendlier fellow on the phone. Just hope the journey goes as smoothly...
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Wonderful Customer Service

I booked tickets to travel to Birmingham later in the week. For the first time ever, I used the mobile app so the tickets could be downloaded straight to my phone. I soon noticed that the app was not working correctly and my tickets could not be found in anyway on my phone. I contacted customer services, who very qyuickly sorted out the problem for me. I have now been able to print my tickets instead, due to the app not working. I am now looking forward to my trip at the end of the week.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Christine

I’m sorry to hear that your first experience booking on our app wasn’t an ideal one – but I’m so glad we were able to sort things out so quickly for you & that you’ve now got printed tickets to take along for your journey instead.

I’m sure when you use our app next time things will go without a hitch!

I hope you have an enjoyable journey later this week.

Thanks
Fran
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Upset by telephone manner

Hi,
Not complaining about price of tickets, it is easy to book online and have done so many times.
However I booked three tickets on Friday afternoon, and by my own mistake, I admit, I booked the ticket journeys the wrong way round!
I realised immediately so I called the helpline number on the E-Ticket to see if there was anything I could do. I didnt think there would be, as I have booked with you before and I know that if it is an E-ticket there is nothing you can really do if you mess it up!
However, what i wasnt prepared for was the attitude of the woman on the end of the phone. Her attitude really upset me and pretty much told me it was my own fault (yes, I was my own fault, but it's not ok for a customer service rep to say that),
She was very unsympathetic, and kept turning her phone onto mute which I thought was rude.
After basically losing over £100 and her stinking attitude it ruined my evening and thanks to her attitude I will not be booking with you again.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Jackie

I’m sorry to hear that you feel this way about the way you were spoken to by one of our advisors.

We take comments like this seriously, and would be keen to get this call listened to so that the appropriate action can be taken with the advisor that you spoke with. If you contact us on either Facebook or Twitter (@thetrainline) we can do this for you.

For anyone else who is wondering, E-Tickets (also known as Print Your Own tickets) can offer great value, and are a very convenient way to have your tickets delivered, as you can print them out in the comfort of your own home rather than queuing at the station. The comprise that goes with them however is that they cannot be amended or refunded once they are booked.(apart from bookings for East Coast Trains routes) These restrictions are set by the train operators who we sell tickets on behalf of, and as such, we have to follow them.

Thanks
Fran
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent customer service

I've used the train line on several occasion to buy cheaper tickets. On the one occasion I had to phone them, they resolved the issue straight away, were friendly, polite and very helpful.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Heather,

Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We appreciate it, a lot :-)

Just an FYI - the cheapest tickets are released about 12 weeks in advance. If you’re quick off the mark you can grab a bargain.

Also, if you click on the 'tools' tab on our homepage we have a pretty handy ticket alert function.

Thanks,

Chris
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great customer service

I had a problem booking the tickets which meant I was charged twice. Once I realised what had happened I contacted them and it was resolved immediately. So pleased to deal with a company that did not quibble. Booking online is hassle free, and great not to have to queue for tickets.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Ann,

Thanks for posting this wonderful review! :-)

I'm glad to hear that we were able to sort this problem out with no hassle.

Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Thanks,

Chris
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Can only speak as I find!

Great experience using this service whilst waiting in the waiting room heard other travellers buying tickets the same place times etc at a higher price so must be good.
Every little helps as they say.
I for one would use again.
Very straight forward to use and collect ticket no problems at all thank you.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Marilyn,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and for the 5 star rating, we're very grateful :- )

We’re always looking at ways to help our customers make the best savings (check out our tools and tips on the home page) as well as making our website as user friendly as possible.

On this basis it’s great to hear that not only did you find it easy to book your tickets but you also made savings too!

Thanks again,

Vikki
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

more expensive than booking direct

They can get you the same price but they add a booking fee, the service from Greater Anglia is the same price, no booking fee, instant print at home tickets for no extra. I won't ever use trainline again
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Karen

Sorry to hear you won’t use us again!

At thetrainline.com, we’re committed to finding ways to save you money on train travel; we do this by continually investing in new technologies and developing value-adding tools to improve the service we offer, such as: Best Fare Finder, Ticket Alert Emails, Off-Peak tool, and our best in class mobile apps.

To enable us to continue to do this, we apply a booking fee to all transactions. We also review our fee structure regularly and do take on your point of view.

There is a number of delivery methods to suit your needs and of course print your own is one of them (when applicable).

I really hope you change your mind!

Thanks

Joanne
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Thought I would have "hassle", got great service!

I never received confirmation of my booking in my inbox. Called the help line center, expected a load if hassle! Received 1st class, prompt and effective service.
polite call centre operative and instantly knew how to resolve to my the customers satisfaction
The Trainline is a good service that I can fully recommend
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Paul,

Excellent to hear we provided a 1st class service! This is exactly what we strive to produce every time!

Thanks for sharing your comments, much appreciated :)

Craig
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

invariable efficient and helpful experience in using Trainline

I have been using Trainline for the last five or even six years from Edinburgh to Beeston in Nottingham to help out my aged father, now I am based in Beeston and pay visits to Edinburgh as he approaches 100 years of age. I have had invariable good experience of using the website to book tickets and on two occasions - the first where there was some chaos due to bad weather resulting in applying for a refunding under rules for delays, and the second just now where I had made a mistake in ordering an advance ticket and mistaking my return date. The question of rebooking for the correct date and applying for a refund over the phone was dealt with sympathetically and efficiently. Yours sincerely, Rod Eley
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Rod,

Nearly 100 huh?! What a fantastic age. I bet your father has a few stories to tell.

Anyway, thanks for posting this wonderful review. We always appreciate feedback like this from our customers. It’s nice to hear that the staff member who dealt with this was sympathetic and understanding. We can’t really ask for much more than that.

Best wishes,

Chris
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Unpleasant experience at Beeston station

I had never used this company before and first attempted booking my tickets online. However, I had a few simple questions about the train line. I walked to the Beeston train station today hoping that asking my questions in person would be the least frustrating and easiest way to find answers. Unfortunately, I was completely wrong. The blonde, 50 something year old woman behind the glass window was rude, cold and frankly...completely useless. As a 21 year old student who has just moved across the world from Canada to the UK, trying to find the easiest routes in the most effective and inexpensive way is very valuable to me. Regardless of whether this woman likes her job or not she could at least put some effort into it. It was a very unpleasant experience that I hope no one else has to go through.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Carla

I'm sorry to hear about your experience.

When you buy tickets with thetrainline.com there are ways to get in touch with us if you have any questions. That includes phone(8am to 10pm, 7 days), web chat, email, twitter and facebook. We also have a very handy company forum page for general advise and for sharing experiences.

The contact details are on our website along with our help section. The help section is also really straight forward and easy to use and our customers have found this very useful in the past.

As you can see, we make all this available to you as we want the whole customer experience to go as smoothly as possible.

It's a shame to hear about the station and as an online ticket retailer, we have no control over this situation. Without knowing the nature of your query there is a chance she couldn't help although I can appreciate you were unhappy with the way in which it was handled. It may be worthwhile getting in touch with the train operator who manages the station.

In the meantime, I hope the journey goes smoothly without any hitches.

Thanks

Joanne
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Brilliant. I'm a repeat customer and will always use this company

Cheap and easy to book online. I always know my tickets are booked and I can pick them up easily or sometimes get them sent out to me. I know it's the cheapest prices I can get for train tickets and I'm always happy with the service. I like booking the train seat as well which makes everything easier when I'm travelling. Would always recommend this website.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hello,

Great to hear your comments, exactly what we like to hear!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments.

Craig
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent Service

I have used this company many times and have always found their prices to be competitive and their website and booking procedure to be one of the easiest. On this occasion I incorrectly requested to collect my tickets from Gatwick Airport. On realising my mistake I immediately went online to chat to an advisor who took my address details and said my tickets would be posted to my home address, but as it was a Saturday, the department was closed until Monday, but she assured me that this would be done. I was a little sceptical but hoped for the best. The advisor rang me on Monday to say that my tickets had been posted and sure enough they arrived on Tuesday morning. The advisor was most polite and true to her word. I would definitely recommend Trainline and will be using their services again myself.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Susan,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your comments and feedback, it really is appreciated!

It's great to hear we were able to assist you in the way we did.

Thanks again,

Craig
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

So easy

Having never booked train tickets online before thought I would give it a try and was very surprised at how much I saved. Peace of mind as well knowing we didn't have to bother buying tickets at the station so will be doing this all the time in the future. A great service which helped make a weekend away a good one so thank you.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Christine

Thanks so much for the feedback.

We do everything we can to help you save a few quid and I hope this gave you a bit extra spending money for your weekend away.

Next time you're planning a trip, why not check out our ticket alert! It lets you know when the cheapest tickets are released saving you even more money!

Also worthwhile browsing our train and hotel deals.

Cheers

Joanne :-)
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Fantastic customer service!!

I missed my train and did not collect my ticket from the machine so the trainline sent me an email informing me I was eligible for a refund. I applied and the request was processed the same day, with the money in my account 4 days later. Really impressed and satisfied customer!
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hey Cecilie,

Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback.

We do our best to look out for our customers. I'm really happy to hear we were able to refund the tickets you weren't going to use!

Thanks again,

Craig :)
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Given wrong information

I am usually very happy with the service from the trainline, however the information we were given on a recent trip to London was frankly incorrect. Firstly, our train was booked from Tiverton at 8.37, when we checked online we could not find a train leaving at 8.37, only at 8.34 - after calling thetrainline we discovered that the train had been moved forward (due to flooding I think) we did make the train but perhaps an email detailing this change would have been a matter of courtesy? However, the most aggravating part of our trip was the trip back from London. We are aware there has been some flooding in our area but were reassured on the phone that our trip would occur on trains and there were no replacement buses - not so! Although we managed to get to London on train, our trip back involved a bus, extending our journey by nearly 2 hours. A member of staff informed us that this was possibly due to lack of stock after a certain time and a rather impatient station guard told us 'they're providing alternative travel arrangements so I don't see what you have to complain about' in so many words! An extra 2 hours is what we have to complain about! I know it could be worse and I am perfectly aware that the trainline cannot control the flooding but I am very annoyed that we were assured that our travel had no disruptions when we inquired less that 48 hours beforehand. I was required to take a bus on a trip a couple of weeks ago so staff obviously know about the problem - why were we not informed? If we had known about the issue we could have made alternative travel arrangements hence why we telephoned beforehand. I am very disappointed with either the lack of knowledge of your customer service team or the decision to not inform us of the disruption to our travel.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Lauren

I’m sorry to hear about your experience.

The ticket information given to us at the time of booking comes from the National Reservation system and the train operators are responsible for keeping it up to date.

There is a good chance that the timetable wasn't updated before your return but without sight of the actual booking, it’s difficult to say. We do rely heavily on schedules being updated and if you’re aware of floods in the area, would strongly recommend checking before you start off on the trip.

You may well be entitled to compensation through the train operators delay/repay scheme and would recommend pursuing this.

Thanks

Joanne
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Too risky to use

Warning!!!...do not use thetrainline.com to book train tickets. If you unexpectedly need to make any change it is impossible!
Because you can print your tickets it means they will neither change nor refund your tickets. I lost the whole booking when I had to change to a week earlier. This is a huge disadvantage to booking with the train company or buying your ticket at the station. I see no advantage what so ever in using the service.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Equity

It sounds like you booked ‘Print Your Own’ tickets for you journey.

For anyone else wondering, there are advantages this type of ticket - you can book them for someone else to travel, they can be re-printed if you lose them, and you can save yourself time queuing at the station, as they can be printed out in the comfort of your own home or office.

On the other hand, there are restrictions to this ticket type which are put in place by the train operators who we sell tickets on behalf of. This means that unlike some other ticket types they aren’t able to be refunded or amended once they’re booked.

We make these restrictions clear throughout the booking process so that so that our customers can make an informed choice as to whether it will be the right ticket type for them or not.

As much as we would like to be able to make changes to this ticket type, the restrictions set by the train operators mean that this isn’t possible – we don’t make the rules, but we do have to follow them.

East Coast Trains are the one operator at the moment who allow for changes – we’re hoping that this will include more and more operators in the future, as they invest in the technology to make this possible.

Thanks,
Fran
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

APPALLING

Please see below the letter I sent to train line (recorded delivery), they have received it and I have had no response -

To Whom it May Concern,
RE- Formal Complaint
I am writing to you today in relation to my bookings ********* and ******** .Please take this letter as a formal complaint; I am absolutely appalled by your complete lack of customer service or empathy towards personal circumstances. I have never been more disgusted with a company than I am now.
I called your customer service line before booking to clarify what procedure needs to be taken when booking tickets for a friend (obviously I am not going to give them my debit card!). The gentleman I spoke to told me to place an order through PayPal, and then any valid debit card could be used to withdraw the tickets from the machine. I booked a return journey (********) for my friend (who by the way is travelling to her mother’s funeral), as I was in such a rush to book the tickets, out of error I entered the wrong return date, as soon as I saw this error I called your customer service line again to try and rectify – this is where I was told that it could not be amended, changed or refunded. I asked for a supervisor to return my call, surprise, surprise – no call was returned I just wanted to get her travel sorted, so I booked another journey for her to return (********).
This morning my friend contacted me in tears from Lancaster as she was unable to redeem the tickets, she spoke to someone in the train station who told her it had to be my card used!! From here I called your customer service line where I spoke to someone who kept me on hold for 8 minutes and then hung up. I attempted to call again but the call was not answered. I have gone onto your live chat and asked for a manager to call me by close of business, at time of writing it is now 15:20, and I am more than 99% sure I will not receive a call from said Manager.
I have absolutely no faith in your company, and do not believe that the ticket machine will dispatch the tickets to her on her return journey.
I would like you to refund the full amount for each journey this accumulates to £74.97, I can appreciate your company policy states no ‘refunds’, but after this horrendous experience it really is the least you can do. As this is a formal complaint I will expect to receive a response within 48 hours of you receiving this letter, if I have had no response by the 11th of March 2014. I will be taking this matter to higher authorities. Please do not hesitate to contact me via email – *************** or telephone.
*****************
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Hannah,

I'm sorry to hear about you and your friends experience.

This is clearly a matter that needs to be looked into and it will be.

You've mentioned that you've sent us correspondence already, this will be picked and responded to within 3 working days upon receipt.

At the moment I'm not able to look into this matter as the reference numbers are not visible over the review site.

A member or our Customer Relations team will be in touch with you as soon as possible. We'll pick up the points and concerns you've raised.

Thanks,

Craig
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Fast, cheap and easy!

I'd never used the trainline before, but needing to get from Aylesbury to the Brecon Beacons and wanting some time to work went for the train over the car. Looking around at other sites no one offered me the choice or price of the trainline and I will definitely use them again!
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Mark,

Trains always a great way to get work done on the move.

Thanks for taking the time to leave the comments you have, it's always great to hear from first time buyers!

Regards,

Craig
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

ANNOYING !

I booked train tickets to Torquay a few days ago. No problem with booking etc..to day I get an email from Trainline.com, requesting one to complete a customer satisfaction question ere, and offering a voucher for £49.00 (wine) I am not a wine drinker, and went ahead with the survey. At the end a message thanking me, and stating that I can use the voucher only in conjunction with a purchase over something like £50.00. This kind of deceptive marketing strategy annoys me!!!. Honestly perhaps they could offer a discount voucher for another train trip. However I just went in to Q JUmp, and found cheaper tickets for the same destination, and better choices. I will not use trailline.com again.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Tim

We’re sorry to hear that you felt this voucher offer wasn’t in your best interests.

We’ve fed your comments back to our marketing team.

Thanks,
Fran
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Truly appalling customer service

I had to cancel due to illness. Trainline sold me insurance so I tried to claim. I have asked them over the last 2 weeks for written confirmation that I cancelled and just get the same old standard reply saying my tickets are non refundable. BUT I AM NOT ASKING THEM FOR A REFUND but to claim on the insurance they sold me!! I have replied twice more and not had any response. I have now written to their operations director.
thetrainline.com

Reply from thetrainline.com

Hi Sarah

I'm sorry to hear you were unable to travel.

If you wish to cancel your tickets at least two hours before the journey, we may have been able to go ahead with a change of journey. This of course depends on the delivery method used at the time of booking.

It sounds like this wasn't an option for you and since you opted to take insurance out with Columbus Insurance when booking your tickets, I would recommend getting in touch with them directly.

If you just need an email from us to say we were unable to reimburse your non refundable tickets because your were unwell, then I'm sure we could put an email together to confirm that.

I can't look at your booking on the review site but there are many ways to get in touch including phone, email, web chat, twitter and facebook.

I hope you are in better health now and would strongly recommend getting in touch with the insurance company as soon as possible.

Thanks

Joanne

thetrainline.com Details

About this company

thetrainline.com: Save an average of 43% at the train line - the UK's No.1 independent rail ticket retailer online. Buy train tickets, check times & prices and reserve seats on all train companies.

Visit thetrainline.com

Category

thetrainline.com is ranked 2 out of 2 in the category

thetrainline.com is ranked 307 out of 327 in the category Travel & Holidays

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.