Urban Industry reviewed by

1 Reviews

Review by confirmed purchaser
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

The item I received had a defect -- a hole in the crotch area, all I was offered was a return at my own expense to get a refund, or a £5.00 voucher!


I recently bought a pair of shorts on Urban Industry and got a bad surprise when I unwrapped the package.

The shorts had a manufacturer defect: the zipper wasn't stitched properly so part of the fabric wasn't stitched up. In result, the shorts have a hole in the crotch area... Not the kind of defect that goes unnoticed!

I emailed customer service to inform them of my problem and sent them pictures of the defect. I got a quick response but all they offered was to have me send the shorts back, at my own expense, to get a refund. Which is my right in the first place, as in I have a month to return the item and get my money back even if it's in perfect condition. That's the law!

Once I let them know that I'd rather get an offer or a voucher instead, all they had to offer was £5.00. That's barely the amount I'll have to pay to get the defect fixed. It is not a compensation. It is more like an advance on repair!

I am very disappointed by the way customer service handled this matter and I won't be shopping there again.
    Urban Industry
    TrustScore 9.5 / 10
    5,510 Reviews

    Reply from Urban Industry

    Sorry to hear about these issues. I think there might have been a misunderstanding. With defects we always say to return the goods to us for a full refund or exchange of a new pair. A return of this nature is ALWAYS at our expense, we provide a Free returns sticker on every invoice we send out so I'm unsure why you would have got the impression that you had to pay for it, apologies for that. We believe that if an item is damaged it is not fit for use so we think a full refund would be better and most customers seem to prefer this so far. We don't presently offer a mending/fixing service as we've also found this to make the process long and complicated, the customer is left without the garment and their money. Im very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion.
    Comment (?)