Viator.com reviews

Viator.com reviews

Good
8.4
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
616 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

So little time, so much to see

My son told me to book with Viator because that is what they did years ago and were happy with their experience. I did. He was right. Viator seems to read my mind, knows what I want to see and do in Rome. I also booked day trips to Tuscany and Florence. The price is right.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

One stop overseas tour adviser

Used Viator for tour in Singapore recently. It was well organised, value for money and covered all the things I was after. Pick up from hotel prompt & the driver advised us of the dress code as we were having high tea at the Raffles Hotel. Couldn't fault anything other than the operator or Viator initially advising us collared shirts & long pants were required for men. No shorts for ladies too.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Best tours on the planet

I have used your booking service several times, for different destinations. I have never had a problem with the service, you always get what you paid for and more. Highly recommended.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Extremely disappointed and lied to by VIatro.

Booked a tour two weeks ago to luminescent bay in Puerto Rico. Family very excited. Two days before excursion received email the bay was having environmental issues from Viatro. Trip may not happen. Meanwhile other tours are still occurring. Called to find out third party provider was on vacation. I say I was lied to in the email. I would not recommend Viatro forany trips in Puerto Rico.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Plan your trips with Viator

We had tried to book a few trips through other sites to no avail, however booking through Viator, we got the trips we wanted on the dates we wanted, the web site was easy to use and we where really happy with the results.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

The service is affordable but too expensive

The service provided were good. The guide was professional but, at the end, I think that the price - $150 - is too high. No place visited were to be paid officially, therefore I believe that only for transport and tour guide the price is too expensive.
The visit to Madame Toussaud could be avoided.
The day of the tour - Saturday April 12 - were a big Wasghinton holiday - therefore the car traffic were very congestionated. We lost a lot of time. The organization could have been more ready to avoid that date.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Viator is a predator........,

Viator is nothing more than a puffed up middle man tour agent with a pretty website and not much else. They rely solely on local tour operators in each location and frankly you can do much better by going directly to these local agents. Not difficult on the internet. Their tour prices are excessively high. Make sure you read the small print as they need 7 , yes SEVEN days notice to cancel a tour . Our plane was delayed for a day and I was only able to give 2 days notice for cancellatiom of a USD2,700 3 day tour of Kyoto/Nara and Viator did not give me back a single penny. Strangely though they were able to refund the measly, in comparison, USD146 for the one day Mt Fuji/Hakone trip with only 4 days notice. I booked exactly the same tour through Hato Bus for USD90
AVOID VIATOR
Viator.com

Reply from Viator.com

Hello Mike,

Thank you for your feedback. We wanted to write back to address some of the concerns you expressed here. Our Terms and Conditions do say that we guarantee a full refund if you need to cancel 7 days or more before the tour date, we can guarantee you 50% returned if you cancel 3 - 6 days before the tour date, and 0 - 2 days before the tour date, the tour is nonrefundable.

Some tours do break from this, if the tickets are non-refundable for us once we've booked (most notably shows in Las Vegas, tickets to Alcatraz, or tickets to The Shard). We do always recommend looking through all of the tabs for a specific tour you may wish to take, just to be sure that you have all the information you need to find the tour best for your family.

That all said, if our customers do need to cancel a tour at the last minute, we can always the tour operator if they can extend us a refund for the cancellation. For a three day tour, however, the tour operators generally have paid out their reservation expenses to the hotel and transport companies, meaning they are unable to extend us a refund. Seven days gives our tour operators enough time to sell the seat they have held for you.

If you have taken out traversal's insurance to cover situations like these, the insurance company will let you know what they need from us in order to file your claim, and Viator is happy to provide you with that paperwork.

I have looked into our system, and I don't see that we work with Hato Bus at this time, so unfortunately, I'm not able to comment on why their tour is cheaper than the one we offer. We do our best to ensure that the companies we work with offer great tours to our customers. The companies we work do sell their tours to us at a price that is equivalent, and sometimes better than the prices they offer direct.

Viator is a service intended to offer one easy location to purchase tours, tickets, and transportation across the world. We are also working to integrate new languages and new currencies as we grow, to ensure that purchases our customers make are as convenient as possible - avoiding potential miscommunication from internet translation software, and bypassing currency exchange rates by allowing our customers to book in their home currency.

We are sorry that you weren't able to make your tour, but we do hope this information helps. Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns, and we hope the rest of your time in Japan was excellent.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Viator delivers top quality

We took several Venice Viator trips. All came up to and exceeded our expectations. No trouble joining the tours, great instructions. Tour guides were knowledgeable and very enthusiastic and interesting.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

So far so good.

Yesterday
The pick up and ride from the airport to the hotel was seamless. The driver was there early and on time. No waiting at all. We came out of immigrations and there was a gentleman there who gave us clear directions for our arrival. And off we went to meet the driver. Hassle free.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Wherever I go Viator is usually there.

I am booking with Viator again because it takes the strain out of trying to see the sights while driving lost in a strange place. I prefer resting comfortably in a clean coach to driving when possible. The tour guides are always helpful, knowledgeable and entertaining. Over the years it has always been convenient and reliable. Prices are reasonable, reliability is outstanding. Transferring from the airport to a cruise terminal using Viator is my latest discovery. NWG
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Their website lists services they cannot provide

My partner and I are staying in Malaga, so we decided to use one day of our break for a trip to Gibraltar. Thinking we'd treat ourselves to an arranged tour rather than doing everything ourselves, we booked the 'Gibraltar Dolphin Cruise from Malaga' option on Viator's website.

Despite the product description repeatedly stating that we would be picked up from (and dropped back at) our centrally located MALAGA hotel, this transpired to be a lie.

After receiving no pickup time from either Viator nor the local operator they supposedly arranged with, my partner did the legwork and phoned around. The tour operator that Viator planned to use said that they were only able to pick up from Torremolinos (a completely different area 15km away) and certainly didn't pick up from specific hotels.

Given that we paid a premium for a supposed door-to-door service this is unacceptable. The lack of communication or confirmation is also somewhat scary - presumably if we hadn't chased this up, we'd have been left waiting with no idea that we were going to be left in limbo.

In the end we have had to do everything ourselves anyway and locate public transport routes in order to make our way to Gibraltar. Thankfully the company running the dolphin cruise was fairly accommodating and allowed us to book a dolphin cruise to fit with that schedule.

Viator have not responded to our communication to customer services in a timely manner (you can only email them, not phone). A significant portion of our holiday money has ended up stuck with them despite not receiving the described product.

Here's a tip - do not list services you cannot provide. That way people won't pay for them, leaving themselves out of pocket.

Overall a very poor experience with a frustrating financial impact on the rest of our holiday.
Viator.com

Reply from Viator.com

Hello Ant,

We're sorry to hear of the difficulties you experienced while on your trip, and wanted to write back concerning a few of the issues. Unfortunately, we're not able to find your reservation using the name provided above, so if you would like for us to follow up concerning your specific experience, please write to socialteam@viator.com, and include the e-mail address you used to book, and your booking number along with your comments so we can investigate your experience for you.

Many of our tour operators do require customers to call and reconfirm their reservation, which is when you're given your pickup time and location. Your reconfirmation instructions will be listed under the "Important" section of your voucher.

That said, we do understand your frustrations about being told that this tour only picks up from Torremolinos. Once we have your reservation number, we would be happy to follow up with the tour operator to check the information we were given for our site.

Though we are experiencing a high e-mail volume at this time, we do have a call center that is open 24/7 for you to call if you should need us. To access our most frequently used phone numbers, simply hit the "contact us" link found at the bottom of the Viator.com website.

We hope this information helps you and future travelers in having the smoothest possible tour experience while on your travels. Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent

We used this tour company to celebrate mine and my best friends 40th birthday and they made it special from start to finish. Excellent
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

It is easy and friendly to make purchase through victor.com.

They give detail breakdown of the purchase. It tells you whether the deal includes cost of admission to sites of interest.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Efficient booking and good tour

We had no problem booking the tour or subsequently confirming it. The tour itself was excellent with a lot packed into our visit to Death Valley and a knowledgable tour guide.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Fin oplevelse.

Billetter til Eiffeltårnet var som de skulle.
Fin guide.
Ingen problem !
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

accurate

I love viator for their accurate information.

This review has been reported to customer service by the company for missing proof of purchase.

Customer service is in the process of investigating this review.

Following this investigation, it will either be deleted or returned to Trustpilot.

See our review guidelines here.

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Never again

Had an unexpected family funeral. Viator refused to refund and blamed tour operator. Tour operator that was totally not true since we pd Viator.
Viator.com

Reply from Viator.com

Hello Suzan,

Thank you for your message. Fortunately, I was able to find your booking using your name. Though we are the merchant of record for the booking, in that we took the money, however we do pay the tour operator directly for their reservations. In this case we are still being charged for your reservation, per what we were told by the Tour Operator when we called to check on the refund for you.

If you've taken out Traveler's Insurance, we'd be happy to help you with any paperwork that you need from us. We're sorry for any inconvenience, but we hope this information helps. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact us.

Viator.com Details

About this company

Visit Viator.com

Contact information

Write to: support@viator.com
Call us on: 888-651-9785
We live here: United States

Category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.