Winstanleys Bikes reviews

Winstanleys Bikes reviews

Good
7.4
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
15 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Perfect service. Actually beyond perfect.

We have be comparing makes and models of bike trailers for children for some time. Winstanleys have been really helpful in that process. Emailing manufacturers data sheets etc. Typically we made our decision late in the week before a bank holiday weekend. We thought it would be great if we could get it for the weekend. When I called Winstanleys they were very busy (as one would expect pre bank holiday) but took the time to discuss things (again). I asked about delivery but as expected this was really too short notice but they would try. Anyway the trailer arrived in time for the bank holiday and we have been enjoying zipping along the sea front in the sunshine ever since. Also it is the perfect model for us. Worth the time taken to chose. Just wanted to say thanks to Winstanleys for doing the impossible. Also thanks for the time and expertise before I placed the order, their advice was invaluable and the item was perfect. It is much appreciated here. Will certainly be using them again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

I CAN ACCEPT A PROBLEM,BUT!

So "can i have a new bike for my bithday Dad? was what my son asked, and as we were moving house soon and he would no longer be able to get the coach to school "yes of course you can" i replyed. mistake number one! we went around the local bike shops to see what he wanted, a DAWES EXPLORER was perfect, unfortnately no one had his size in stock. so i went online, wow Winstanleys have it so! mistake number two, paid and ordered. a couple of days later recieved an email, "sorry not in stock please phone to order an alternative". mistake number three, i did, could have a newer model at an extra £100 or next size down at the same price. mistake number three, i ordered it. bike came as stated, we were moving house so put it away till the day.
well how happy was he when he saw it ? over the moon, until he opened it!" Dad its only got one wheel"! sure enough no rear wheel! " dont worry ill phone them tommorow and sort it out. so i did the chap i spoke to was very apologetic and said hed contact DAWES and find out what happened! when he called me back i was told the new wheel would be with us by the end of the week, my son was disapointed but what could you do. well the end of the week came. and went, no wheel! more phone calls "oh sorry i thought DAWES were sending it direct to you seems they didnt! ill check our goods dept and call you back. well after i phoned again im told DAWES dont have any wheels till next week! a bicycle manufacturer with no wheels? pull the other one its got bells on, or have they run out of those as well? well as it stands the bike was dispatched on 11/03/2014 its now 18/04/2014 and guess what "NO REAR WHEEL" what the hell do you want me to tell my son about his present now? upset! would be an understatment! would i recomend WINSTANLEYS ? would i hell! not even got the decency to phone me with any updates! if there were any! ill feelings? you bet i do! if the elusive wheel ever turns up i will update this post! thankyou very much WINSTANLEYS for ruining my sons birthday!
Latest update!!!!! Recieved a phone call from Winstanleys on Saturday unfortunately I couldn't answer as I was a work, the young lady called back on easter sunday! To say the case had know been passed on to a manager and that this has been going on for to long(really). And that it would be sorted out Tuesday and a rear wheel would be sent asap! Good! I thought, sorted at last! Well today(Tuesday) recieved another call!apparently Dawes sent a wheel direct to me last week!(don't know which courier they use but that pigeon must be knackered to take this long!) Don't think I'll hold my breath as this is the fourth time I've heard this! But if it does turn up I wonder if I'll get the water bottle I was promised to make up for this bloody fiasco?generosity knows no bounds eh! I'm now wondering if it wouldn't be easier to just put the damm thing in the car and take it back?
Wow update! As i was typing this, Winstanleys phoned to say I won't be getting the wheel from Dawes after all! Seems there was a problem with the delivery address!and it was returned,(stupid bloody pigeon) well as I've been fitting a kitchen I would have seen any attempt to deliver here! They will be taking a wheel from a new bike and sending that to us for tomorrow, with the water bottle! We'll see if it turns up shall we?or whether I get to drive up north this week? Will update when I know!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Wrong item received, helpful customer service. (Updated)

I'd like to update this as I've had further responses from winstanleys bikes via email and the response here.

My opinion has changed and I won't hesitate to use them again.
Their customer service has been outstanding and they have done a lot to resolve the issue in which it turns they weren't at fault for either.

They have my confidence and I look forward to buying from them again.
___________________________________
original review:

I ordered a hard to find Bottom Bracket for my DMR, The site said it was in stock and an extra surprise was that it was cheaper than other site. Cheaper and Quicker, good combination.

It arrived on time, no issues there.
The only problem is they sent me the completely wrong BB (a budget road bike BB).

They responded to my email promptly enough, and admitted that "this has occurred as the result of a labeling error" and I would refunded plus extra for postage, but only after I have sent the BB back.

I don't think it's right I'm needing to pay out in advance and wait for possibly a week+ for a refund for a mistake I didn't make.

So my advice would be to phone and make sure they have what you want in stock, but it might not even matter as it might be mislabeled.

I'm in two minds about this company, they seem helpful enough, this has just left a bad taste in my mouth.
Winstanleysbikes

Reply from Winstanleysbikes

Hello Colin,

We're so sorry you have had a negative experience with us. It is very rare for something like this to happen and we would never attempt to hide from the fact that we did make a mistake in this instance.

The issue backs up to our supplier who is now aware of the problem and is in the process of replacing stock for all retailers..

You have today been issued a complete refund and do not need to return the incorrect item you have. If you do or already have, then of course we will refund your postage for that.

Because the issue goes right back to supply there is now a 6 week wait for these bottom brackets for all UK retailers. I have however placed one on order for you, which you will get updates about from our customer services team.

We do genuinely care about the service we provide and hope that this goes some way to proving this as well as restoring your faith in us.

Kind Regards
Winstanleys Bikes
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Cheap price equals cheap product. Such a shame.

We bought two Sparkle 14 inch bikes for our twins' birthday. Not only were there insufficient tools to put the bike together but the stickers on the bikes looked like they had been thrown on in the dark. The wire baskets had holes and very jagged edges making them unsafe for small children. Both bikes had the same defects so it was either just a rubbish product OR they just have terrible quality control. The bikes were a very good price, but that doesn't mean that Winstanley should be allowed to get away with such bad quality.
Winstanleysbikes

Reply from Winstanleysbikes

Hi Toni,
Justifiably, you are of course unhappy at receiving a less than perfect product, and for this we are very sorry. It really is out of the ordinary and I know our customer services team have already been in touch with you in an attempt to restore your faith in us. We have contacted our suppliers about this matter and replacement baskets are now on the way to us. I know you have concerns about them being wire but rest assured, undamaged they are safe and are plastic coated with no sharp or dangerous edges. I know you are up against birthday deadlines but the offer to replace both bikes does still stand. We will now stay in close contact with you until we reach a satisfactory resolution.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great price, great shoe, outstanding shop.

Probably the best experience I've had with a cycle shop which is many. Great price, great shoes. Extremely fast delivery and great customer care.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent Customer Service

Bought bike and some accessories and found that the products are what you expect and customer service is really good. I've since used this website for more bike accessories and recommend.
Winstanleysbikes

Reply from Winstanleysbikes

It's great to hear you've had such a positive experience with us. Lets hope the weather picks up soon so you can actually start enjoying your bike.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Quick and easy online order

Highly recommend this company. I found them to be very efficient and received my order in just 2 days. The customer service on the phone was also very good when I called to check if something was in stock. Will definitely use again in the future.
Winstanleysbikes

Reply from Winstanleysbikes

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and sharing your positive experience.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

An excellent on-line shopping experience.

Quick responses to emails, very efficient helpful and friendly, would highly recommend! Many thanks!
Winstanleysbikes

Reply from Winstanleysbikes

Hi Simon,
We are really happy you had such a positive experience and for taking the time to say so.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great company to deal with. Fast delivery of bike

I'd never heard of this company before, but I was looking for a kids bike and when searching online Winstanleys had the best prices and free delivery, so I gave it a go. Was very impressed with the speed of delivery (ordered on a friday and received it the following monday). I would recommend this company to others and will definitely use them again myself.
Winstanleysbikes

Reply from Winstanleysbikes

Hi Johnny,
Hope those mountains are still being conquered!?
Thanks for the review and glad you had such a positive experience.

Winstanleys Bikes
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Incompetent online retailer - go elsewhere

I put two stars, as I believe there was no malicious intent. However, there is obviously some issues with how the company is organised & staffed.
Just three incidents of a terrible online & offline purchase experience:

1. My credit card was charged twice WITHOUT any information or consultation, for amounts and services/charges that were unclear of not communicated at all. This was despite Winstanley's having the opportunity to tell me when checking out online or in one of my two phone calls to them.

2. Bad choice of postage and delivery: my helmet & gloves were send to an address in Paris (postage 16 pounds) by normal postage. No sign for, no tracking.... they of course didn't arrive. I would attribute this to a one off bad decision; but they repeatedly insisted this was the best delivery choice.

3. Customer service: patchy. Never able to speak to the same person. Slow response to emails. When I tried to escalate and share what was a negative experience in a constructive way, they didn't want to know. Seems they don't want you to speak to a more senior person or discuss you feedback beyond platitudes.

They get the money and the orders in before they actually have the products...
... and then tell you a week later that they can't get the product. I handed over 1000 pounds for a week just to improve their cash flow to not receive a product they never had. (business model/approach seems to be familiar conduct reading other reviews, unfortunately too late!)

There are MUCH better online retailers, making much more effort. Winstanley's are definitely at the cowboy end of the scale.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Wrong item sent, inflexible delivery policy

Ordered a helmet from Winstanley's. The delivery was fast, but when I opened the box I had to discover that the item was wrongly labelled and they had sent the wrong helmet.
I phoned them and was told about their return/exchange process which I followed and returned the helmet by first class recorded delivery. I never received a confirmation form Winstanleys that they had actually received the item. This was last Thursday. However, I did mention on the returns form that I am going on holiday the following weekend and that I need the helmet before then. So essentially asking them to hurry the exchange process.
This Tuesday I received an email from Winstanleys telling me that the helmet I orginally ordered wasn't in stock until the following week. So, I phoned them again and changed the helmet to a different colour which was in stock and was assured by the lady I spoke to that I will have the item by Friday. Only to receive an email today (Thursday) stating that the helmet will be posted today by Royal Mail first class!
So, I phoned them again, as generally, unless an item has been sent next day delivery I will not receive the helmet before the weekend. The lady I spoke to was trying to be helpful, but wasn't really. She told me that they only send by Royal Mail first class and wouldn't post to an alternative adress (the one I am going on holiday to, within the UK) for security reasons... whatever they are?!
I have given two stars because everyone I spoke to had been friendly and trying to be helpful and I am still hoping that I will receive the helmet by Saturday morning... though the chances of that are quite slim.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great service, kept up to date with order

I ordered some new brake cables from Winstanleys, and they were not in stock at the time of placing the order. The following day a follow up e-mail was sent with approximate times for them receiving stock of the cables from their suppliers being somewhere near the end of March. They arrived in plenty of time before the end of the month, great work on their part!

Speedy delivery, great customer service and a good selection bike parts on sale. Will definitely be using again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Excellent Service

Ordered bike on a monday, got tracking number from them on tuesday. Bike delivered on thursday, Perfect.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Tricky order could excuse the delay

Items ordered were a bit tricky, they sent out everything I requested; but it dribs and drabs. Can't remember if site said that all was in stock or not, but crucial item turned up too late and all had to be returned. I wasn't a dream customer and this was somewhat balanced at their end too... hence 3 stars.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

settle for less

we ordered a bike at www.winstanleysbikes.co.uk for our daughters birthday yet the bike we had ordered was not the bike we got, there were wrong handle bars cheaper brakes and no reflectors or no bell which was on the bike we ordered the bike in all was a big disapointment as timing was a issue with returning and getting our money back we reluctantly accepted the bike with a £5 discount they wouldnt even send us the missing accessories

Winstanleysbikes Details

About this company

Bikes Store - the best deals from one of Europe's largest online bike stores - Up to 50% off Bikes, Parts and Clothing

Visit Winstanleys Bikes

Contact information

Call us on: 01942 707646
We live here: Unit 8-9
WN5 0LU Wigan
United Kingdom

Category

Winstanleys Bikes is ranked 38 out of 48 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.