Mike Ward´s profile

Reviews (6)

Juveneu

Beware! This is a continuous payment authority sting.

There are variations on this theme, but we were caught out by a plausible looking "IBM website user survey" which popped up when we were visiting the IBM site. It transpires that this is a Juveneu advertisement placed on the IBM site and (other than buying advertising space from them) there is no connection between Juveneu and IBM.

After completing the "survey" we were offered a "free" gift (I have occasionally received genuine free gifts - usually vouchers - from genuine survey companies conducting genuine research on behalf of firms they genuinely work for, so I was tricked into applying for the "free" gift.)

In order to receive the "free" gift - of "lift serum pro" skin cream - you have to pay £1.99 P&P by card. There is no indication on any of the pages, or the company website, or the confirmation email you receive that when you tick the box for £1.99 (rather than the £5.99 expedited service) what you are actually agreeing to is a continuous payment authority.

Once the continuous payment authority is in place, Juveneu can (and may) start sending you more cream and *will* start helping itself to £80 a time from your bank account.

You can (and we did) now stop continuous payment authorities by getting in touch with you bank. (Some banks still deny that this is possible, but since 2009 you have been able to insist that banks do this and repay any monies they pay out after you have instructed them to stop. So stand your ground!)

You can (and we did) also ring Juveneu and cancel the continuous payment authority directly with them - though many people report problems contacting Juveneu and difficulty in getting the continuous payment authority stopped even after they have contacted Juveneu. So make sure to contact your bank too!

After having realized (through internet research) the nature of what I had inadvertently signed up to and having cancelled the CPA with my bank and Juveneu, I went back to the website (in my computer cache) and scrolled right down to the very bottom of the page. There, hidden in the small print, was a link to the "terms and conditions" - where I assume the nature of the continuous payment authority is explained. When I tried it, the "terms and conditions" link was broken.

Summary: Have nothing to do with this company and, if you have fallen for their tricks, get in touch with your bank as soon as possible.

DPD UK

Unacceptable level of service

I've received stuff delivered by DPD often enough in the past without problems (all Amazon deliveries).

On this occasion, it was a Vodafone parcel - which I stayed in all day to sign for - and DPD never turned up.

When I checked the tracker, later that evening, I discovered the note "Unable to locate, directions required".

DPD had my correct address and my phone number. My SatNav (simply set to my postcode) takes me to my house. Even if DPD couldn't find our house (for some reason) there is no excuse for them not having rung.

I realize that, with the best will in the world, courier firms will sometimes fail to make deliveries they have promised, but what is totally unacceptable is that, when DPD fail to turn up, they provide no way of getting in touch to find out when they ARE going to deliver.

The tracker simply said "Your parcel has arrived at the local depot". The phoneline had an automated message: "we are waiting for an update on that parcel" then cut off. Every option on the website is based on the assumption that the recipient is at fault for not being in when DPD called and almost all options are blocked if you haven't received a card through the door - which, if DPD don't even try to deliver, you obviously won't have received. There is no way to contact a real person - though Vodafone have a means to do this and contacted DPD on my behalf.

As a result of Vodafone's intervention, I now have a delivery date four days later than promised (DPD don't deliver at weekends and I'm out on Monday). What I really resent though, is that they call this a "re-delivery". How can you "re-deliver" something you've never tried to deliver? As with the the website, the implication is that, if something goes wrong, it must be the recipient's fault not DPD's.

As I've already suggested, we all screw-up occasionally; but when I screw-up, I apologize and try my best to put things right as quickly as possible. I don't try to shift the blame onto the people I have let down or ignore them in the hope the problem will go away.

Is it too much to ask that DPD behave in a similar fashion?

PS (my response to DPD response.

DPD turned up today when they had promised (following Vodafone's intervention) and delivered the item. No directions were required. DPD have also now apologized for the failure to deliver when they originally promised - an apology I am happy to accept (as I've noted, we all screw up occasionally).

What has not, however, happened is any recognition or acknowledgement from DPD that there is something wrong with their systems for dealing with the situation I found myself in. I would be a lot happier if I had been told that DPD were going to look at their website and phone-lines and provide a clear path for people to follow when DPD fail to turn up.

04 December 2012

Reply from DPD UK

Hi Mike,

I'm sorry that we didn't provide as good a service as we previously have. I hope that you were not too inconvenienced as a result of this delay.

I see that the parcel was delivered and signed for this morning - was everything okay?

Please drop me an email to socialmedia@dpd.co.uk if there is anything I can do fo you.

Kind regards,

Bobby.

INFURN.com

Never received my bean bag ordered in October 2011

Ordered a bean bag from Infurn in October 2011 through the www.WhoPaysFullPrice.co.uk site - which is promoted in reputable national newspapers.

Had to pay some money to WhoPaysFullPrice, for the goods, and some money direct to Infurn, for "delivery".

Delivery was promised for week 48 - which ended 2011 December 04 - and this is still showing as my delivery date when I log onto the site.

It is not possible to contact Infurn, though I did receive an email on 2011 December 07 apologizing for delay and offering £20 off if I bought something else form their site before the end of 2011. Needless to say, I am disinclined to hand over any more money to this firm before I receive my original order - which I am clearly not going to receive before Christmas and for which I have been given no new date.

WhoPaysFullPrice can be contacted and they insist that Infurn are a reputable firm and are actually working to fulfill their orders, but I am beginning to wonder whether shall ever see my beanbag or my money again.

Update

After bombarding Infurn with emails (and CCing to WhoPaysFullPrice) I finally got a reply. Delivery is now promised for week 6 2012 - though I'll believe it when I see it. No response yet to my question about how to apply for a refund assuming the item does not appear at my house, just lots of rambling excuses in poor English eg "we have taken your message as a reason to question many of our service processes and procedures in those departments that you pointed out". I also note that a number of positive reviews have suddenly appeared on this thread. I have to confess to a degree a scepticism here.

It is now the end of week 6 2012 and no sign of the beanbag. The Infurn site is still showing a delivery date of week 48 2011. I have asked Infurn and WhoPaysFullPrice to refund our money and will report any developments here.

Further update:

Infurn rang today and said that they had refunded the delivery charge I paid them direct. Still waiting to hear from "WhoPaysFullPrice".

Further update:

"WhoPaysFullPrice" are ignoring all correspondence. I have reported them to consumer direct and am sending a registered letter to their London address. I've also asked Infurn the refund the £39 since I assume that WPFP passed most of this money to them.

I would strongly advise anyone thinking of doing so to have nothing to do with either of these companies.

Final Update:

After complaining on Twttter and Facebook I've now had all my money refunded - both the money I paid directly to Infurn and the money I paid via WhoPaysFullPrice. Moral 1 of the story: it pays to be persistent. Moral 2 of the story: be very suspicious of companies who don't communicate.

20 February 2012

Reply from Designfurn LTD (infurn.com)

Dear Mr Ward

Thank you for your comments and feedback. As per our telephone conversation today,as part of the new management team here at Infurn I have been appointed the post of Customer Relations Supervisor to help resolve the issues that have affected the company from fulfilling its commitments to our customers especially those problems arising from the previous management team.

Your order was delayed due to availability of your requested colour choice. We are now offering our customers the opportunity to select an alternative colour for earlier shipment, We apologise this solution was not offered by the previous management team. I can confirm we issued a refund for your shipping cost on 13 Februay 2012. It is the responsibility of your referred to refund your voucher cost.

As I mentioned to you during our conversation, we sincerely apologise for your unprofessional experience in this matter.

Kind Regards

Sonia Harris

Customer Relations Supervisor

Amazon

Excellent service during the lead up to Xmas 2011

I've used Amazon for many years. I've very occasionally had problems with them in the past, but I was always able to sort out these problems quickly and easily. During November and December 2011, however, my family and I ordered a lot of different things from Amazon and the service was simply faultless. Everything arrived very quickly - including one item which I was warned (after ordering) might be slightly delayed; communications were excellent and everything went extremely smoothly. I wish more companies were as good as this.

PS Amazon ought to pay their fair share of UK tax however!

Groupon UK

Still waiting for my goods

WHY HAVE YOU PUT THIS REVIEW HERE? I DEALT WITH INFURN AND WHOPAYSFULLPRICE NOT GROUPON?

Ordered a bean bag from Infurn in October 2011 through the www.WhoPaysFullPrice.co.uk site - which is promoted in reputable national newspapers.

Had to pay some money to WhoPaysFullPrice, for the goods, and some money direct to Infurn, for "delivery".

Delivery was promised for week 48 - which ended 2011 December 04 - and this is still showing as my delivery date when I log onto the site.

It is not possible to contact Infurn, though I did receive an email on 2011 December 07 apologizing for delay and offering £20 off if I bought something else form their site before the end of 2011. Needless to say, I am disinclined to hand over any more money to this firm before I receive my original order - which I am clearly not going to receive before Christmas and for which I have been given no new date.

WhoPaysFullPrice can be contacted and they insist that Infurn are a reputable firm and are actually working to fulfill their orders, but I am beginning to wonder whether shall ever see my beanbag or my money again.

Update

After bombarding Infurn with emails (and CCing to WhoPaysFullPrice) I finally got a reply. Delivery is now promised for week 6 2012 - though I'll believe it when I see it. No response yet to my question about how to apply for a refund assuming the item does not appear at my house, just lots of rambling excuses in poor English eg "we have taken your message as a reason to question many of our service processes and procedures in those departments that you pointed out". I also note that a number of positive reviews have suddenly appeared on this thread. I have to confess to a degree a scepticism here.

It is now the end of week 6 2012 and no sign of the beanbag. The Infurn site is still showing a delivery date of week 48 2011. I have asked Infurn and WhoPaysFullPrice to refund our money and will report any developments here.

Further update:

Infurn rang today and said that they had refunded the delivery charge I paid them direct. Still waiting to hear from "WhoPaysFullPrice".

Further update:

"WhoPaysFullPrice" are ignoring all correspondence. I have reported them to consumer direct and am sending a registered letter to their London address. I've also asked Infurn the refund the £39 since I assume that WPFP passed most of this money to them.

I would strongly advise anyone thinking of doing so to have nothing to do with either of these companies.

Rita Kristensenand Stephen Frank Mortensen found this review useful

Mike Ward´s profile

profile image of Mike Ward
Mike Ward
Reviewer
Male, 1956
City of Bradford, United Kingdom

About