Brian Riches´ profile

Reviews (8)

Blinds 2go

great service

Very good service, no problems , easy to fit.
I will buy from this firm again

Sofaworks

They are really CSL beware !

I've posted this review here because CSL have now rebranded as Sofaworks this is my story.

This was the most expensive set of settees / arm chairs we have ever purchased .( 2 double seaters and 2 arm chairs). At over £3500 we thought they would last years but how wrong we were;

The sofa arrived on the agreed date in June 2013 without issue, however the delivery guy said “ you need to sit on different seats not just 1 or 2, why I said in my car I only sit on one seat to drive!

After 2 weeks I noticed the seat that I normally use was sinking when in use, although it looked level once I stood up.

We called the service dept and a guy came out and said it was just settlement all would be ok if not they would re upholster all the seats.

We believed what he said but over the last few months both settees sunk even further when someone sits on it.

We called the service department Oct 2013 and they came to check it out last week after many more calls on the day as they had forgotten to come ! The guy said it was normal and then took pictures . We explained that the settees looked ok when not in use but the cushions sink very low once they are in use .
He still said he thought they were ok !

I’m so cross as these cushions are poorly padded or have poor fitted springs. The settees are very poorly made with a very high price, I have had products from the other 2 main sofa suppliers that have lasted years and only replaced due to a change of style required.

Update: I also paid for the premium leather.Again what a waste of money, small sections of stitching have started to split !

I did read very poor reviews from this site oh how I wish I’d listened CSL has really sold me a poorly made product.

Update 5th Nov 2013
CSL have contacted me and said they think the settees are fine ! Well at the moment I'm sitting on a "fine " settee and my butt is almost on the floor.
No wonder this firm has been on BBC watch dog in June, it seems they always blame a fav seat for all their problems. The bottom line is their product is cheap and poorly made with a premium price.
I've heard the guy that came out a few weeks after delivery and said we did have a problem has been sacked mmmmmm I wonder why ! I don't believe these settees will last a year.
One of the chair arms that is also sagging , Oh well maybe I need to sit in the other room and not where I like to sit. Wish I could award no stars.
I'll post a video when possible.
Check out their face book pages regarding delivered and quality issues ! Although they have started to delete some of the complaints now.

Joan Williamson found this review useful

Csl Furniture

Poorly made product

This was the most expensive set of settees / arm chairs we have ever purchased .( 2 double seaters and 2 arm chairs). At over £3500 we thought they would last years but how wrong we were;

The sofa arrived on the agreed date in June 2013 without issue, however the delivery guy said “ you need to sit on different seats not just 1 or 2, why I said in my car I only sit on one seat to drive!

After 2 weeks I noticed the seat that I normally use was sinking when in use, although it looked level once I stood up.

We called the service dept and a guy came out and said it was just settlement all would be ok if not they would re upholster all the seats.

We believed what he said but over the last few months both settees sunk even further when someone sits on it.

We called the service department Oct 2013 and they came to check it out last week after many more calls on the day as they had forgotten to come ! The guy said it was normal and then took pictures . We explained that the settees looked ok when not in use but the cushions sink very low once they are in use .
He still said he thought they were ok !

I’m so cross as these cushions are poorly padded or have poor fitted springs. The settees are very poorly made with a very high price, I have had products from the other 2 main sofa suppliers that have lasted years and only replaced due to a change of style required.

Update: I also paid for the premium leather.Again what a watse of money, small sections of stitching have started to split !

I did read very poor reviews from this site oh how I wish I’d listened CSL has really sold me a poorly made product.

Update 5th Nov 2013
CSL have contacted me and said they think the settees are fine ! Well at the moment I'm sitting on a "fine " settee and my butt is almost on the floor.
No wonder this firm has been on BBC watch dog in June, it seems they always blame a fav seat for all their problems. The bottom line is their product is cheap and poorly made with a premium price.
I've heard the guy that came out a few weeks after delivery and said we did have a problem has been sacked mmmmmm I wonder why ! I don't believe these settees will last a year.
One of the chair arms that is also sagging , Oh well maybe I need to sit in the other room and not where I like to sit. Wish I could award no stars.
I'll post a video when possible.

Peter H found this review useful

04 November 2013

Reply from Csl Furniture

Hi Brian,

If possible, could you email me your details so that I can look into? My address is leigh.cleary@csl-furniture.co.uk.

Thanks,
Leigh
CSL

Oakfurnitureland

Where did it all go wrong

We were due to have a unit delivered 21/08/12 between 07:00 and 12:00.
We received an E mail to confirm all was ok the day before delivery and the unit would be here between 7am and 12am.
After waiting in all morning with no contact I phoned the delivery people at 12:15 and was told someone would
contact me in the next few minutes, after 1 hour I called again but
again no one returned our calls.
At 13:30 I called and spoke to the call centre and after a few minutes they called back and said the
truck was delayed and had to go to Deal in Kent.
I called the delivery manager and was told the unit would be delivered
by 15:00, by 15:40 the driver called and said he would be here at
16:00.
When the driver and his mate arrived they were rude / surly and the box
was soaking wet

They laughed when we asked why they didn't call to say they would be late !

I was told by the delivery office that they couldn't call as the driver was
driving, OK but what about his mate? I don't think they broke down at
all , why do these people think customers are fools?.
In any case if we had received a phone call in the morning to say it
would be delivered at 4 instead of between 7 and 12. All would have
been ok
I always say communication is everything !
I'm so disappointed with Oak Furniture Land as the last order came through
without issue and the driver and his mate on that occssion were
excellent.
I E mailed to complain the same day but again no one bothered to make any contact .
We will not be buying from this firm again.

Chris, Robert R S Walters, Cara Rumseyand Oak Furnitureland Problems found this review useful

Dabs

good price

Brought items from this site may times , fast delivery even at Christmas time. I have heard some people have problems returning faulty items.
I did E mail a question before I placed an order and only got a " cut and paste" repley which didn't help at all but that was 2 years ago they may have improved.

Argos

Good prices easy to return shoddy goods

Having said that the home delivery is a different story sloppy call centre staff etc .
But the good news is the stores are fairly good but I can't understand why there is always a q. On more than one occassion I was the first in line at opening time for a basic item and after paying still had to wait another 15mins to get my goods. I think the problem is they only employee part time staff

Beds and Mattresses

Very good firm

Brought a bed and mattress last week. Was delivered when they said at the aggreed time.
Bed very good had a small part missing so I dropped them an E mail at the weekend and they phoned me Monday saying the part was in the post.
I will use this firm again and would recommend to anyone

Virginmedia

Very poor customer service

Yesterday I arranged to have Virgin media TV XL and a V+ box. They charged me £75 to have the box set up. The service lasted less than 1 hour the the box kept re booting. I then found that I couldn't use my sound system or DVD as they had left the wires out. After phoning rip off 0845 phone numbers I was told " It's due to a computer problem at our end" I checked on line and no such problem was reported. 6 hours later after calling customer services again and again I had had enough and phoned to cancel my order. After waiting 20 minutes on another rip off 0845 I was put through to the most rude person I have ever spoken too who said he didn't care and that I should call Sky and book with them. Virgin media is the worst comany I have ever dealt with steer clear !
PS the £75 set up fee doesn't inc the HDMI lead so what are they setting up ? I don't know and they couldn't say. VIRGIN MEDIA = lies, poor customer service / some at a foreign call center?

Brian Riches´ profile

profile image of Brian Riches
Brian Riches
Reviewer
Male, 1958
London, United Kingdom

About