Simon Bland´s profile

Reviews (13)

Quadlockcase

Absolutely fantastic, what a product....Highly recommend

I can't believe any of the online bike shops haven't yet cottoned onto these mounts. They are really, really good. Very secure and durable. Being the avid online shopper I am, I did spend some time reading up on various mountain bike mounts available. They all seemed OK. But I took a punt. A company based over in Australia with no distribution outlets in the UK, I was sceptical.

However I can honestly say that these mounts are superb. They come with a case (I have the iPhone 5) and attach very securely to the bike (even with the rubber bands). I have spent all summer cycling a number of miles covering a multitude of farm tracks and undulating, rough bridle paths and the thing has not moved. It's always difficult choosing a mount that you trust with your £500 mobile device, but so far, for me (and a mate of mine) it's been superb - highly recommended.

Wiggle.co.uk

If the product is not in stock, why is it still on the website??

A little disappointed. I've generally heard very good things about Wiggle. I tried to order some products from the website which I did and the order went through all OK. After five days I hadn't received a dispatch notice. I contacted Wiggle and they told me that the item I ordered wasn't in stock, even though it still showed on-line! The item wasn't available for a further two weeks. I searched and found the product on-line elsewhere and have have since received delivery. Even after informing me that the product was NOT in stock it was still displaying on the website. In short, don't rely on the website for product availability, plus they could have let ME know that they were out of stock as opposed to me contacting them.

Many thanks for contacting me back. I have sent my order number to sales@wiggle.co.uk you should be able to see all the details of my order and subsequent follow-up.

03 April 2013

Reply from Wiggle

Thank you for taking the time to write this review Simon. I am very sorry to hear that you have been effected by a stock availability issue. If you would like to reply to this message with your order number I will happily look in to this issue and see what we could have done better to improve your Wiggle experience.

Hello Simon, I have now received your email and will contact you further to discuss the issue.

Ribble Cycles

Good price, reasonable delivery, be wary of returns policy of just 7 days!

I recently purchased some MTB shoes. All OK, good delivery, as specified on the website no problem. However the returns policy states only 7 working days and there doesn't appear to be too much of a budge on that. If you order one pair and they arrive on a Thursday, you wait to try on at the weekend and decide that they are the wrong size and that you require something different, you place another order on Monday, they arrive Wed/Thurs then you make a call.....not to much wiggle room. Also consider any Christmas / Birthday purchases. I've not had a bad experience I might add (so far) but just note the returns policy. If the returns policy were 14 - 28 days then no reason not to give a FIVE star!

Fair play, these guys have responded to my review and have extended their returns period to 30 days - good work! I've therefore increased my review from a four to FIVE star!

03 April 2013

Reply from Ribble Cycles

Simon,
Fair point about the 7 days being a bit on the tight side, it is the statutory minimum required for the UK Distance Selling Regulations. As with immediate effect our returns policy has been extended to 30 days for these orders.

Regards,
Team Ribble.

Pedal On

Very competitve price online, fast delivery - happy customer

Quick search on Google for the pedal that I was after and found Pedal On. They seemed to be a lot cheaper than anywhere I had found previously. In fact the pedals were £10 cheaper than my local bike shop. Ordered on-line on Saturday, received Tuesday. Thumbs up!

Dgmeshop

Awful product, hardware totally unreliable. Customer service shocking!

Just posting up the first review of this company. I can't actually believe there's not been anymore.

I ordered two T909 tablets from this company through an offer I found on Groupon as Christmas presents. The order took some time to arrive. Both units I ended up returning as they were both faulty (this was at my own cost of which I've subsequently found that I shouldn't have paid to return faulty goods). They dispatched new tablets to me of which when opened I found they were still faulty - different issues this time. They told me a PSU was faulty and asked me to pay for a new one (of which I never received). When I tried to escalate these issues to the 'Customer Service Manager' he was incredibly rude and hung up the phone. The hardware is of terrible build quality. I ended up sending both units back for a full refund.

I'll never use this company again. Be warned! Don't get sucked in by higher advertised RRP prices for these products - there are much better products out there for similar or much lower prices, that have have a much higher spec and are 100% more reliable.

Digimate

Awful product, hardware totally unreliable. Customer service shocking!

Just posting up the first review of this company. I can't actually believe there's not been anymore.

I ordered two T909 tablets from this company through an offer I found on Groupon as Christmas presents. The order took some time to arrive. Both units I ended up returning as they were both faulty (this was at my own cost of which I've subsequently found that I shouldn't have paid to return faulty goods). They dispatched new tablets to me of which when opened I found they were still faulty - different issues this time. They told me a PSU was faulty and asked me to pay for a new one (of which I never received). When I tried to escalate these issues to the 'Customer Service Manager' he was incredibly rude and hung up the phone. The hardware is of terrible build quality. I ended up sending both units back for a full refund.

I'll never use this company again. Be warned! Don't get sucked in by higher advertised RRP prices for these products - there are much better products out there for similar or much lower prices, that have have a much higher spec and are 100% more reliable.

Tredz Bikes

Great on-line store, good prices and friendly staff

I've ordered a number of goods from Tredz and all have been received without any complaints. The most recent order was placed by a relative for my Birthday: a Topeak Defender FX-Front Mudguard. This lasted me all of about 3 weeks due to it's very flimsy design (I wouldn't recommend buying that). I contacted Tredz and after sending photographic evidence that I hadn't broken in a collision, they happily sent me a replacement. They were also very helpful and friendly.

Just FYI the replacement also snapped in the same place so bought a Topeak DeFender XC1 (highly recommended - which unfortunately they didn't stock).

Short Breaks

Great company, well established and excellent customer service

I booked a family trip to Disneyland Paris with Short Breaks this year. We had a fantastic time and I would highly recommend it. After searching around a number of places we managed to find a superb 'self-drive' package for all of us with Short Breaks (they offer many options to travel including Eurostar). They had better prices than anywhere else I could find, and the customer service representatives were really very helpful. I would definitely recommend this company to others.

Amazon

Great on-line store great prices and good service

Whenever I order any goods on-line Amazon is one of the first places that I check. I would say 90% of the time goods on Amazon are cheaper than elsewhere. Many of the items have free delivery (which when you build this into the cost of the products it can make an even greater difference to competitors). Good order history, excellent returns service. Overall always impressed with Amazon and order regularly.

Westin Gourmet

Very impressed, excellent service, will use again!

Ordered a 'BBQ selection box of meat'. The delivery arrived when they said it would, we even had options if we happened to be out. Good packaging, good post sales follow up and great meat! Westin Gourmet even called to check on the delivery date and time - the only downside to this was that they spoke to my Mrs (who didn't know I had placed the order) and I subsequently got told off for ordering all that meat that is now occupying precious space in the fridge and freezer!

06 July 2012

Reply from Westing Gourmet

Hi Simon,

Loving that you're impressed and that you'll use us again. Woops I'm sorry if we got you into trouble, I hope that your Mrs enjoyed the meat and that it made up for her finding out about the delivery.

We look forward to your next order,

All the best,

Suzanne
Westin Gourmet

Allweathers

Very helpful and very fast standard delivery

Phoned and had a query on a 'very hard to come by' front extension for my Hartford XL. Very helpful, ordered on-line that day and received the goods about 2 days after. Highly recommended and even gave their details to a mate of mine.

Camping World

Great Store, however buy online!

Having been down to Camping World in Horsham I can say that the store is very impressive, a great selection of tents and very helpful, knowledgeable staff. Great if you want to have a nose round - but don't buy from the store! Get in your car, drive home and save yourself money by buying from the same place on-line.

Some of the goods in store unfortunately appear to be a fair bit higher (not just a few quid) than they are on-line (sometimes as much as ~25%) - alternatively save yourself the petrol money and buy on-line in the first instance!

05 September 2013

Reply from Camping World

Thank you for your review. Campingworld.co.uk and Camping World are run as separate businesses and whilst we make every effort at price parity, there are occasionally price fluctuations between in store and online prices due to various promotions at any given time

VioVet

Very good and very efficient, highly recommended

Never had any problems and order from Viovet every month. A great service, very fast delivery. A happy customer!

An minor addendum to this post. Have never had any problems with Viovet....However it could be now the same old story - they've maybe got a little bigger and have started lacking somewhat in a little of the old 'customer service'...?? I placed another order recently and specified 'next day delivery' on the shopping cart on the website. It was a Friday, therefore I was (maybe rather ignorantly) expecting delivery on the Saturday. The delivery never arrived. 'Customer service' said that the courier didn't deliver on the Saturday...however no mention on the website, so not really my problem, other than the fact I parted with a couple of my hard earned pounds for the privelege. It was escalated to her Manager, I still haven't heard back. No major issue, it's not the end of the world, it's only a couple of quid, but it's cost them one star - maybe two if I don't hear back - take that Viovet!

If it were one of my businesses I would have simply refunded the couple of quid - it's the principal you see...and we all know how, when we get older, principals stand for a lot!

Simon Bland´s profile

profile image of Simon Bland
Simon Bland
Reviewer
Male, 1973
Surrey, United Kingdom

About