Kim Human´s profile

Reviews (5)

DFS Furniture

Disappointing sales service from Cambridge Store

We found and purchased an Accent Chair from the Hanley Store in Stoke as an 'off the floor' show room model £140 including stain guard and no delivery as we took it away ourselves. This item was being offered at this price because they were selling off showroom stock. Really pleased with item and service. Second time purchase from Hanley with great service, thank you Hanley!

However, we decided we'd like to purchase a second one, which Hanley had told us Cambridge store had in their showroom. So I went to the store spoke to Ali (as there was no price tag on the chair) and for the same product he came back with a purchase price of £190! I queried the price and told him what I'd bought the other one for so he said he'd need to check with his manager, he then came and asked me for details so he could 'prove' that I was telling the truth, I'm a respectable Professional and would never dream of lying, I understand that some might. So I gave him my details which he verified and said best price they could do was £165 for same product. So I said I'd need to think about it, I had a wonder around the store and found another Accent Chair (Escape Butterfly) which I really liked. This also didn't have a price on it, so I asked for a price and he said it was the same as the other Accent Chair. I said with stain guard he said yes. I said could he do a deal if I purchased both chairs ie for cheaper than £165 per chair, he said he'd need to speak to the Manager. He then called me back later that afternoon and said he couldn't do anything more on the price. So my husband and I had a chat and decided over the weekend Yes we'd like the Butterfly one but we'd like to purchase two, so we wanted to find another store who had one. We called around and found Enfield had one. Their starting price was £245!!! So we explained price Cambridge had given. He eventually said he'd come down to £165 providing we were buying both products. So we said yes, then called Cambridge to put a deposit on the Accent Chair (Escape Butterfly) and they went back on their offer. Saying the Manager couldn't agree and tried adding another £49 for Stain Guard!!! I couldn't get to speak to Ali as he was serving a customer. We then had to call Enfield and explain to them. They said they'd call Cambridge to see if they could work something out for us and call us back. Neither store called us and I feel left disappointed by in particular Cambridge for going back on the deal and then by Enfield for not calling us back. Hanley you can have my service any day!

Alina Mihai found this review useful

25 November 2013

Reply from DFS

Hi it's Hannah from DFS Customer Service.

Firstly, I would like to say sorry for the issues you have experienced in our stores.

If this matter is still ongoing, we would like to assist you further and ask you to contact us on 01302 330 365.

Again, I apologise for the issues you have experienced with us.

Hannah - Customer Service - DFS

Hammonds Furniture

Not as impressed as we were the first time ...

Having had an enormous amount of hassle following an initial inquiry we were completely put off Hammonds. However, following a conversation with our neighbour who were happy with the service, we arranged for a Hammonds Consultant to come and give us a quote. I was pleasantly surprised by the service received on the day and thereafter and right through to completion. We then needed another room fitted with furniture so of course, having had good service the first time we had no hesitation in arranging for Hammonds to quote for us again. I felt the service fell under par. We've had to make sacrifices on what we wanted since placing the order, because the Consultant didn't check for sockets/radiator fittings which we discovered the night before the Surveyor was due to visit. The surveyor came out and made some suggestions which we didn't sign up to initially as we wanted to discuss the options. This meant a second visit. The office don't seem to know their products as they weren't able to give me any advice on pricing or sizing. We haven't yet had the work completed but hope that when it's finished we are happy with it. Left feeling a bit disappointed. First time first rate service, second time, second rate service ...

01 February 2013

Reply from Hammonds Furniture

Dear Kim,

I am very sorry to hear that you’ve not been completely satisfied with your second Hammonds experience.

The Hammonds team works really hard to get things right every time but we appreciate customers taking the time to let us know if we’ve made a mistake. We’re aware that your fitting is scheduled for March and that during the surveying stage, a second visit was required in order to finalise the designs.

We also understand that a £50 gesture has been awarded to apologise that changes had to be made to the original design.

Thank you for your valued custom and for bringing these concerns to our attention.

The Hammonds online team


Poor Customer Service from Hayes & Jarvis ...

We had a fantastic holiday with Hayes & Jarvis in September 2010 (celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary). We went to Tanzania & Zanzibar and found the service and the brochure details matched our expectations whilst on holiday. Based on our experience in 2010 we booked with Hayes & Jarvis to go on tour to Sri Lanka (celebrating my 50th birthday).

We set out the itinerary we wanted to do and picked the hotels based on the brochure.

Hayes & Jarvis use Aitken Spence for their tour operaters. The guide we had was very knowledgeable on the area (a little temperamental at times!). He was always trying to get the best photo opportunities for us
He was a good driver (always felt safe in his hands), despite being quite an aggressive driver.

We had requested to travel by train if possible from Kandy up to Nuwara Eliya and, as part of itinerary we had included a visit to a tea plantation/factory. The train was booked and we departed by train (fantastic journey can't recommend this enough). However, when we arrived in Nuwara Eliya we were told that we couldn't go to the Tea Plantation/Factory because we'd travelled up by train. There was no mention of this and it was included on the itenerary from Aitken Spence. So we challenged this and our guide said that the factories were closed, we could go but there was nothing to see, so my question is why would they include it on their itinerary if this was the case???

For the last 5 nights of our holiday we finished a the Heritance Ahunghalla, shown in the H&J brochure as a five star resort. Based on our 5 star experience in Zanzibar, we opted for this hotel and were bitterly disappointed. Whilst the hotel staff were very responsive to our needs, the hotel just isn't five star. It needs a facelift in the form of quality, quality, quality!! The cream carpet in our room was dirty, the rooms lack that special feel. This could pass off as a four star but certainly not a five star.

When we got back we wrote to H&J and received the brush off about both points, were given a £50 timed voucher to use against another break. So my husband wrote again reiterating the points and once again the letter was fairly dismissive of our points. We paid a lot of money for this holiday and H&J disregarded this fact.

The main point they raised about the Heritance Ahunghalla versus the Gemma Dell Est (Zanzibar 5 star experience) was that there a different levels of five star and this should be seen by the price paid. However, how can we as a customer tell this, because prices will vary from country to country, so it should be based on a rating not price (and it wasn't cheap!!).

We feel disappointed with the responses we've had from H&J. We feel that tour operators are not taking into account the cost of holidays and that a £50 voucher is an insult!!

H&J you need to improve your customer service/relations in these difficult economic times.

Sadly disappointed!

elbec garden buildings

Forest Sorrento Corner Arbour Seat

Excellent product, nice sturdy corner seat. Speedy delivery from order. Only two niggles:
We ordered this product back in March because it was on sale from £429 down to £339 with an 'offer ends 16th March'. We were not ready to order the seat, but felt this was a good price and therefore wanted to take advantage of the price, however, the price has remained at this sale price ever since, so is this item really being offered in a 'sale price' situation, as it's now some 2+ month's later and still at the same price?
Instructions could be better. Clearer instructions on the double notch trellis as to which way round it needs to go as this isn't clear. Also once built we discovered we had one of the end trellis pieces the wrong way round, it wasn't a big job to change, but would have been useful to mention which way round to put it. Video of 'how to put it together' on website would be useful. Four bolts have replaced 8 screws - no mention of bolts on instructions, but was fairly obvious where to put them. Technical Helpline no longer in use.
I've also emailed this review on the product and it's not been published on their website, hence why I'm reviewing it here!


Excellent shed, but ...

We found Tiger Sheds just through the Google Search Engine. We found the sight helpful and information provided on the site useful. Having then read the reviews we decided to order. Noting the 10 day delivery, I contacted Tiger Sheds and was given a rather snappy response of 10 days was 10 working days and that was a minimum and was likely to be longer! This wasn't the kind of tone in response I had expected, having read the reviews I was expecting a pleasant response. Anyway, we decided to still place an order with Tiger Sheds. The process was good, being able to track on line was excellent. We placed our order late on 10 April and delivery was arranged on 23rd and was delivered on 26th. The delivery driver was very friendly and helpful. We found the video very useful, however, clearer instructions on the roof would be helpful (as to which way round). We had a bolt missing, I called immediately we discovered this and asked for it to be delivered 1st class so we could receive it the next day to be able to build the shed. However, it was sent out second class and didn't turn up until several days later. Luckily we had a long screw which we used temporarily so we could continue to get the shed built. The walls and floor were fairly easy and quick to construct, however, the roof took us some time as we couldn't work out how it went. Overall, pleased with the shed, a few more instructions would be useful. We've rated this 4 star rather than 5, just because of the customer service issues.

Kim Human´s profile

profile image of Kim Human
Kim Human
Cambridge, United Kingdom