John Morris´ profile

Reviews (2)

Lowcostholidays

THIS REVIEW NEEDS READING BEFORE YOU BOOK WITH LOWCOST !!!!

a long review but it needs reading - lowcost holidays - never use this company

Booking reference: 6425832 - just so they can look in to it

save yourself the stress of using this company. after all you surposed to go on holiday to relax.

to fly 2000 miles and not receive a room or a bed is bad enough but they dont even want to respond to a letter of complaint 2 months after i have sent it. how can you not to expect a complaint when no room or bed is given. customer services told us that night is there a chair to sleep on. when i pointed out that i wanted the rooms i have paid for - answer was - well thats not going to happen is it !!!!!

at the least i want my money back for the 2 rooms i have paid for and have not received. never mind all the other complaints i have had during this holiday.

i dont read reviews and i dont normally write them but if it saves anyone else from going through the same situation as me, then ive done the job. i dont complain but how can anyone not make a complaint - now trading standards are getting involed.

my letter of complaint below

22/9/2013


Booking reference 6425832


Dear Sir / Madam,



I am offering you the chance to offer myself compensation before I take my case to trading standards or even watchdog. I have never and I do mean never had a problem to this degree, with a holiday that I have booked with anyone, but I have now booked twice with your company and my experience I have had with your company means that I have really got to think about using you again. At least this way, it will give you a little chance to redeem yourselves.


I realise that you must get a lot of complaints from people that, just think they can complain about really nothing, but how can you expect to not get complaints when you don’t even receive a room or a bed that you have paid for.


I booked a week’s holiday in Rhodes, with your company around a year after I last booked with yourself, (to go to Rhodes). I had problems the last time I booked with you, but I thought I would give you another chance, as these things do sometimes happen. So I decided to book with your company again and booked a week in the Koala Hotel in Kolymbia.


I had read some mixed reviews some bad and some not so. But people tend not to make a review if it’s an ok holiday, but do if it’s a bad one. I watched a video on “you tube” of your company showing off this hotel and I thought it looked nice. How wrong could I have been, the video must be around 4 years old as, I can see it looks clean, the roof is still on the canopy and the sun beds look new.


We arrived at the airport, checked in ok, flight fine, arrived on time, the transfer we had to wait 45 minutes on the coach, for another plane to land, a little frustrating having to wait, especially as you have been travelling all day, and arrive late into the night, but I guess that’s just the way things are with the transfer, then we arrived at the hotel.


Eight of us got off the coach at the Koala Hotel. (Not all booked with low cost holidays). Out of the eight there was only one room between the eight of us, and we were given that, even though we had fully paid for two rooms. Then we were told that there were only three beds in the room for the four of us. So where is the fourth person going to sleep? Two other people were taken to another hotel and the other two people, had to find a room of there own, in another hotel at there own cost. I realise you are not concerned about the other people because they haven’t booked with your company but this point needs to be made, as to the way they are booking people in this hotel.


I told the receptionist that this was not good enough as I had paid for two rooms. I wanted the two rooms that I had paid for in good will. I have gone aboard for the first time with my mother and father in law, so it’s not fair for you to expect them to sleep in the same room as me. Ok if we were all teenagers or in our 20’s, but you cant expect elderly people or anybody else really, to be treated this way. He firstly offered us the staff accommodation but told us that he wouldn’t recommend it. So he telephoned the manager.


The manger said to the receptionist that he hadn’t got another room and we had to wait until tomorrow. He refused to speak to us and when the receptionist handed me the telephone he just hung up on me. Now that what I call customer service.


I got out all of the paper work and called the customer help line, I explained our situation, only to be spoken rudely by a woman named bobby. She asked for me to pass the telephone onto the receptionist. But the receptionist just told her that he hadn’t got a room for us and couldn’t do anything. The receptionist then gave the phone to myself and when I said that that I wanted the two paid for rooms, she told me, well that’s not going to happen is it. She then asked me to give the telephone back to the receptionist. The receptionist told her the same story and then the receptionist then gave the telephone back, but this time to my father in law.


My father in law was told then by bobby that we would have to wait until tomorrow to get the problem sorted. He then pointed out that we had the problem now, not tomorrow and where were we going to sleep tonight. She then asked my 70-year father in law, to sleep in a chair if there was one in the room. (There was no chair in the room anyway, please see enclosed pictures). She then told him that it was just an answering service and asked for his telephone number. She said that someone would call him the next day about our problem. He then pointed out that what is the point in having a number to call, when you do absolutely nothing about the problem in hand. He then gave his telephone number and even now we are still awaiting that telephone call!!!!


The staff in hotel never offered us a blanket, mattress or even a pillow and expected us to just lye on the floor. As we were placed in this position we went down to the bar to discuss what we were going to do. As it was after 11 o’clock, we had to pay for our drinks. I think the least they could have done is offered you a drink because of the position that we were placed in. Lucky for us, an English guest said that he had a spare bed in his room, and offered us their mattress. (Funnily enough this man had the same problem when he had arrived). So we took the mattress and put it in the middle of the small room, between the two beds. This now meaning that, even though it was yourself that had put us in this situation, we had to find a solution ourselves without any help from yourself or the hotel staff. This also meant that we all were going to be in a small room together, in that heat. Nobody could get undressed because of the situation that you had placed us in. it isn’t morally correct, to have your son-in-law naked in front of your mother-in-law or the other way around.


The heat of four people, in that small room was unbearable, in that heat, with no air conditioning to cool down the room. I don’t think anyone slept a wink. Please see the pictures of the room enclosed.


The next day again we went to reception to ask about our rooms. We where then told that they didn’t know what time we were able to have another room because if anyone had booked a late check out, they would have been given the room first. I told them that there was no way; I was accepting the room that we had been given in the basement and asked for two rooms on the first floor. Later we were told that we could have two rooms on the first floor but it wouldn’t be ready until around 12 o’clock. At 2 o’clock we were then finally given two rooms on the first floor. At last our holiday could begin after losing the first night and most of the next day.


We were given rooms 117 and 120. In room 120, the toilet didn’t work. I thought no problem, I will just tell them on passing though reception. After asking them three times to fix the problem, the lady at reception said all she could do was place it in the book for the next day. The next day we went for breakfast and on passing though I thought I better remind them of this new problem. It was later in the afternoon I noticed that the toilet still hadn’t been fixed so at around 2 o’clock I thought I had better tell the receptionist, or else I would be waiting another day. She then telephoned the maintenance man and this was finally fixed 24 hours after I had reported the problem. Five times, I had reported this problem. There were also other plumbing problems throughout this hotel, with ourselves and other guests complaining of not having hot/warm water to shower in. Also the lights throughout the week kept on tripping out for a few minutes but then coming back on. The wiring for the lighting was sticking out of the wall. No way would have this past health and safety in this country. This hotel should be closed down until all repairs are done, and standards and management changed.


During the week, talking to other holidaymakers, there were more stories about people not getting rooms at this hotel and being sent to another hotel. This must have happened at least a dozen times during the week. Let me make this clear that this is not an over estimation. At least three of those parties have booked with low cost holidays, so expect their complaints soon. You can’t expect people to travel two thousand miles and not to be given a room or in our case, a room missing and also a bed to sleep in.


All week there was constant smell of sewerage around the pool. Even a rat came though a drainage hole to the bar, picked up some food on the floor, and then went back though the hole. Please see pictures of the back of the hotel. No wonder there are rats. It’s a dumping ground at the back. The outside chairs are dirty and sun beds and other chairs broken. These should be scrapped, as they are a danger.


This is all-inclusive with a twist. You never get a room when you arrive, the food some days is no better than pigs swill although some days ok. Your Internet site states, cake and biscuits at 4 and there was no snack bar at all. No sprits until after 5 o’clock, well, its 6 o’clock. There were no fridges in any of the rooms, asking other people as well and you couldn’t upgrade to pay for one. No wi-fi as it was broken, but you could pay for the Internet on their computer. (How convenient). Tea/coffee/juice machines kept breaking down. Dinner service plates, not 1 plates the same (unprofessional).


This is a real life faulty towers. I am giving you the chance to reimburse us for the room I didn’t get and compensation for all of the faults with this holiday, also the treatment I have received. How can you still take bookings for this hotel, when you know of all the problems people receive are beyond me? It’s a disgrace. You got to see it to believe it.



Looking forward to your reply, (before I take matters further)

Søren Daniel Nepperand Richard Samms found this review useful

Lowcostholidays

A LONG REVIEW BUT THIS NEEDS READING BEFORE ANYONE ELSE BOOKS

a long review but it needs reading - lowcost holidays - never use this company

Booking reference: 6425832 - just so they can look in to it

save yourself the stress of using this company. after all you surposed to go on holiday to relax.

to fly 2000 miles and not receive a room or a bed is bad enough but they dont even want to respond to a letter of complaint 2 months after i have sent it. how can you not to expect a complaint when no room or bed is given. customer services told us that night is there a chair to sleep on. when i pointed out that i wanted the rooms i have paid for - answer was - well thats not going to happen is it !!!!!

at the least i want my money back for the 2 rooms i have paid for and have not received. never mind all the other complaints i have had during this holiday.

i dont read reviews and i dont normally write them but if it saves anyone else from going through the same situation as me, then ive done the job. i dont complain but how can anyone not make a complaint - now trading standards are getting involed.

my letter of complaint below

22/9/2013


Booking reference 6425832


Dear Sir / Madam,



I am offering you the chance to offer myself compensation before I take my case to trading standards or even watchdog. I have never and I do mean never had a problem to this degree, with a holiday that I have booked with anyone, but I have now booked twice with your company and my experience I have had with your company means that I have really got to think about using you again. At least this way, it will give you a little chance to redeem yourselves.


I realise that you must get a lot of complaints from people that, just think they can complain about really nothing, but how can you expect to not get complaints when you don’t even receive a room or a bed that you have paid for.


I booked a week’s holiday in Rhodes, with your company around a year after I last booked with yourself, (to go to Rhodes). I had problems the last time I booked with you, but I thought I would give you another chance, as these things do sometimes happen. So I decided to book with your company again and booked a week in the Koala Hotel in Kolymbia.


I had read some mixed reviews some bad and some not so. But people tend not to make a review if it’s an ok holiday, but do if it’s a bad one. I watched a video on “you tube” of your company showing off this hotel and I thought it looked nice. How wrong could I have been, the video must be around 4 years old as, I can see it looks clean, the roof is still on the canopy and the sun beds look new.


We arrived at the airport, checked in ok, flight fine, arrived on time, the transfer we had to wait 45 minutes on the coach, for another plane to land, a little frustrating having to wait, especially as you have been travelling all day, and arrive late into the night, but I guess that’s just the way things are with the transfer, then we arrived at the hotel.


Eight of us got off the coach at the Koala Hotel. (Not all booked with low cost holidays). Out of the eight there was only one room between the eight of us, and we were given that, even though we had fully paid for two rooms. Then we were told that there were only three beds in the room for the four of us. So where is the fourth person going to sleep? Two other people were taken to another hotel and the other two people, had to find a room of there own, in another hotel at there own cost. I realise you are not concerned about the other people because they haven’t booked with your company but this point needs to be made, as to the way they are booking people in this hotel.


I told the receptionist that this was not good enough as I had paid for two rooms. I wanted the two rooms that I had paid for in good will. I have gone aboard for the first time with my mother and father in law, so it’s not fair for you to expect them to sleep in the same room as me. Ok if we were all teenagers or in our 20’s, but you cant expect elderly people or anybody else really, to be treated this way. He firstly offered us the staff accommodation but told us that he wouldn’t recommend it. So he telephoned the manager.


The manger said to the receptionist that he hadn’t got another room and we had to wait until tomorrow. He refused to speak to us and when the receptionist handed me the telephone he just hung up on me. Now that what I call customer service.


I got out all of the paper work and called the customer help line, I explained our situation, only to be spoken rudely by a woman named bobby. She asked for me to pass the telephone onto the receptionist. But the receptionist just told her that he hadn’t got a room for us and couldn’t do anything. The receptionist then gave the phone to myself and when I said that that I wanted the two paid for rooms, she told me, well that’s not going to happen is it. She then asked me to give the telephone back to the receptionist. The receptionist told her the same story and then the receptionist then gave the telephone back, but this time to my father in law.


My father in law was told then by bobby that we would have to wait until tomorrow to get the problem sorted. He then pointed out that we had the problem now, not tomorrow and where were we going to sleep tonight. She then asked my 70-year father in law, to sleep in a chair if there was one in the room. (There was no chair in the room anyway, please see enclosed pictures). She then told him that it was just an answering service and asked for his telephone number. She said that someone would call him the next day about our problem. He then pointed out that what is the point in having a number to call, when you do absolutely nothing about the problem in hand. He then gave his telephone number and even now we are still awaiting that telephone call!!!!


The staff in hotel never offered us a blanket, mattress or even a pillow and expected us to just lye on the floor. As we were placed in this position we went down to the bar to discuss what we were going to do. As it was after 11 o’clock, we had to pay for our drinks. I think the least they could have done is offered you a drink because of the position that we were placed in. Lucky for us, an English guest said that he had a spare bed in his room, and offered us their mattress. (Funnily enough this man had the same problem when he had arrived). So we took the mattress and put it in the middle of the small room, between the two beds. This now meaning that, even though it was yourself that had put us in this situation, we had to find a solution ourselves without any help from yourself or the hotel staff. This also meant that we all were going to be in a small room together, in that heat. Nobody could get undressed because of the situation that you had placed us in. it isn’t morally correct, to have your son-in-law naked in front of your mother-in-law or the other way around.


The heat of four people, in that small room was unbearable, in that heat, with no air conditioning to cool down the room. I don’t think anyone slept a wink. Please see the pictures of the room enclosed.


The next day again we went to reception to ask about our rooms. We where then told that they didn’t know what time we were able to have another room because if anyone had booked a late check out, they would have been given the room first. I told them that there was no way; I was accepting the room that we had been given in the basement and asked for two rooms on the first floor. Later we were told that we could have two rooms on the first floor but it wouldn’t be ready until around 12 o’clock. At 2 o’clock we were then finally given two rooms on the first floor. At last our holiday could begin after losing the first night and most of the next day.


We were given rooms 117 and 120. In room 120, the toilet didn’t work. I thought no problem, I will just tell them on passing though reception. After asking them three times to fix the problem, the lady at reception said all she could do was place it in the book for the next day. The next day we went for breakfast and on passing though I thought I better remind them of this new problem. It was later in the afternoon I noticed that the toilet still hadn’t been fixed so at around 2 o’clock I thought I had better tell the receptionist, or else I would be waiting another day. She then telephoned the maintenance man and this was finally fixed 24 hours after I had reported the problem. Five times, I had reported this problem. There were also other plumbing problems throughout this hotel, with ourselves and other guests complaining of not having hot/warm water to shower in. Also the lights throughout the week kept on tripping out for a few minutes but then coming back on. The wiring for the lighting was sticking out of the wall. No way would have this past health and safety in this country. This hotel should be closed down until all repairs are done, and standards and management changed.


During the week, talking to other holidaymakers, there were more stories about people not getting rooms at this hotel and being sent to another hotel. This must have happened at least a dozen times during the week. Let me make this clear that this is not an over estimation. At least three of those parties have booked with low cost holidays, so expect their complaints soon. You can’t expect people to travel two thousand miles and not to be given a room or in our case, a room missing and also a bed to sleep in.


All week there was constant smell of sewerage around the pool. Even a rat came though a drainage hole to the bar, picked up some food on the floor, and then went back though the hole. Please see pictures of the back of the hotel. No wonder there are rats. It’s a dumping ground at the back. The outside chairs are dirty and sun beds and other chairs broken. These should be scrapped, as they are a danger.


This is all-inclusive with a twist. You never get a room when you arrive, the food some days is no better than pigs swill although some days ok. Your Internet site states, cake and biscuits at 4 and there was no snack bar at all. No sprits until after 5 o’clock, well, its 6 o’clock. There were no fridges in any of the rooms, asking other people as well and you couldn’t upgrade to pay for one. No wi-fi as it was broken, but you could pay for the Internet on their computer. (How convenient). Tea/coffee/juice machines kept breaking down. Dinner service plates, not 1 plates the same (unprofessional).


This is a real life faulty towers. I am giving you the chance to reimburse us for the room I didn’t get and compensation for all of the faults with this holiday, also the treatment I have received. How can you still take bookings for this hotel, when you know of all the problems people receive are beyond me? It’s a disgrace. You got to see it to believe it.



Looking forward to your reply, (before I take matters further)

30 October 2013

Reply from Lowcostholidays

Good afternoon,

I would like to apologise for the issues that you have encountered on your travels.

I can see by looking at the notes that our Customer Relations department (the complaints team) have been investigating your case. I have got an update from them and they have advised that they're waiting for an update from our supplier.

They will prioritise this case and will get back to you as soon as they have an update.

Should you have any further comments, feedback or information related to your complaint, it would be best to email the CR team directly on their email address: customerrelations@lowcostholidays.com. I understand you have written a review to give your feedback - which everyone is entitled to. We appreciate the feedback as it helps us to identify any issues and to better our services.

The CR team send their apologies and will respond as soon as possible.

Thank you for your continued patience.

Kind regards,


30/10/13

John Morris´ profile

profile image of John Morris
John Morris
Reviewer
Male, 1973
walsall, United Kingdom

About