Thomas Smith´s profile

Reviews (2)

Nigel O'Hara Diamond Jewellers


I ordered 2 watches on 25th November 2012 having been quoted 3 to 5 days delivery.Order never arrived after 5 days and after contacting by e-mail was informed not in stock and would be one to two weeks before one of the watches arrived from supplier.Prepared to wait as got good price reduction on Black friday. After 2 weeks order still not arrived. Several attempts to e-mail eventually received response that order in QC and would be sent out soon.Eventually was informed on 21/12/2012 that order had been despatched and was given a tracking no.8 days later no sign of order and after Tracking and Tracing discovered order had been delivered to Germany instead of Spain where I live.More delays followed after further phone calls and e-mails and after threatening with legal action and costs full refund was made on 4/ 01/2013. No explanation was given nor offer of supplying me with the items originally ordered. Research on other review websites seem to indicate a pattern of dishonesty and similar excuses when customers try to expedite their orders. Information on website is not to be trusted and one wonders if any of the positive reviews on review websites are genuine.I suspect that staff at business have been told to accept any order irrespective of whether or not in stock and proffer a host of similar excuses for delays when angry customers contact them.I also suspect that the offers they display on certain days eg Black Friday are not genuine and are just marketing hooks to get people to order. They probably have no intention of supplying goods which are offered on offers.They have nothing to lose as they have the customer's money which they hold on to as long as possible until they are forced to refund. This business model is perverse and in my opinion will work against this company in the long term.I advise all prospective customers to have a look at all the review sites and assess themselves whether or not it is worth doing business with such a company.

Andy Waterworthand Gary Johnston found this review useful

13 February 2013

Reply from Nigel O'Hara Diamond Jewellers

Dear Customer,

I am sorry that you have not been entirely satisfied with your shopping experience at NigelO'

Unfortunately, the model that you ordered was out of stock when your initial order was placed. However, it was on a 3-5 day despatch that is supplied via a rapid turnaround directly from the manufacturer in this particular instance.

However, the specific watch that you ordered was subsequently delayed without any prior notice from the manufacturer.

We worked tirelessly with our supplier to try and ensure that we could fulfil your order and we emailed you with an update regarding the extended lead time.

It was later explained that the watch would be delayed for some weeks and you were offered both an alternative watch and a full refund.

We fulfil over ninety percent of our orders within two days and have extremely high levels of customer satisfaction across the internet on many selling platforms including Amazon, EBay and our own website.

Despite this we do certainly understand why you have been dissatisfied with the extended delay with your order. We have since undertaken much work to eradicate this occurring again.

Your review has been used to help further improve our customer services and address any areas were we can enhance the overall customer experience.


No longer competitive with others.

I have used this company in the past and thought they were great until I discovered that other companies offer better exchange rates and faster transactions e.g TORFX. I complained to HiFx but they were dismissive of my comments.I believe the problem is they are too big and don't offer their smaller customers good deals now.

Thomas Smith´s profile

profile image of Thomas Smith
Thomas Smith
United States