james moodie´s profile

Reviews (1)

Specialised Covers

Good product, diabolical customer service.

When I ordered and paid for my caravan cover, I was advised manufacture was 4 - 6 weeks, during which specialised cover would be in regular contact and to arrange a delivery date. After 8 weeks having heard nothing, I contacted specialised covers about my order, and made another 4 phone calls before I was advised they had located my order and it was ready for despatch. I took the day off work to receive and sign for the item as requested. By late afternoon, no delivery, so I contacted specialised covers again, to be advised that the package had been failed to be collected by the courier, but again the company didn't see fit to advise me on this.
Eventually I received the product, and forwarded 3 seperate complaints regarding the poor service and lack of communication from specialised covers. Needless to say none of these complaints were acknowledged.
It was only when I forwarded a complaint directly to the managing director that I received a response, as well as a knee jerk response from his general manager.
When I questioned compensation for the poor service received, the managing director quoted "company policy", and
" numerous variables" outside their control.
What management failed to acknowledge was that the company had certain contractual obligations towards the customer in relation to the order, which they failed to act upon.
My personal impression in dealing with this company is that there is an attitude of apathy amongst it's staff with regards to customer relations, and my experience and grievances would not have arisen, had I been kept informed on progress.
Alas, I would like to think my experience was the exception rather than the rule, but I have my doubts.
This is a good product and a good tailored fit, greatly let down by poor customers service, and I would suggest there are other manufacturer's who could supply covers of equal standard and have a robust customer relations policy.

Further to Miss Fishwick's response dated 12th October, I can confirm I received no communication whatsoever, either by telephone or email from Specialised covers following my initial order, and certainly nothing in relation to my complaint

12 October 2012

Reply from Specialised Covers Ltd

Mr Moodie
we are very sorry that feel that your issues were not dealt with to your satisfaction. We admit that your cover was delayed in dispatch and was not sent to you within in our normal delivery time scale. The issues you had with DPD are unfortunately out of our control and we can olny apologise and assure you that your feedback was passed onto them.

However we do not agree with your statement that we have an attitude of apathy amongst our staff. Our staff responded to all your emails and numerous telephone calls which we have logged on our CRM system. As you can see from other customers feedback our customer service is very high and is of the utmost importance to us.

Specialised Covers
Katie Fishwick

james moodie´s profile

profile image of james moodie
james moodie
United Kingdom