MS VANESSA BAVINGTON´s profile

Reviews (10)

Petdispensary

Fast Free Delivery

I ordered my dog's Easefles Plus chews from Petdispensary - nearly £10 cheaper than Amazon and free delivery. Ordered Tuesday, arrived Thursday. What more can I say - brilliant!

Allterraintyres

Fast and Efficient Delivery and cheaper than the rest

Our ride-on mower needed two new inner tubes and a litre of the green 'gunk' for punctures. This company sells loads of different inner tubes for mowers, quad bikes etc. and three different types of tube for our particular machine. The website was easy to use and I ordered on a Sunday before a Bank Holiday. They need a signature so we asked it to go to a work address in London - it arrived on Wednesday by Fed Ex, which was much quicker than expected. All parts exactly as ordered and a lot cheaper than their competitors. Very Pleased, will order from them again.

Abebooks

Second-hand and discontinued books mail order

Very pleased to find this company. I buy a lot of books second-hand from Amazon and charity shops, but I wanted a book I'd read over 30 years ago and was out of print. Abebooks had it and sold it for an incredibly small price. It was three times as much at the American Amazon site plus P&P so really glad I found them. It arrived just three days after I'd ordered it too, pretty good going I think! I will definitely use them again as they have a very comprehensive list of older books not available elsewhere.

Vanhage

Lifetime Membership That Isn't

I have used this company at their Chenies site for over 15 years. As a professional gardener I found them useful as their are on the way to my main area of work in Chorleywood. I spend so much there that I paid £15 to join their Gardening Club as a lifetime member (you get 10% discount on live plants). However, I visited today (4th February 2013) and was about to pay, when I was told that the Gardening Club I joined is closed down and I would have to join the new one (yearly basis of £5 and only 5% discount). I spoke to the manager (two other customers were also waiting to complain about the same thing) and he said Lifetime Membership didn't mean my lifetime, but the lifetime of the individual card scheme. This is a CON and surely breaches the Trades Descriptions Act. I wonder if the National Trust Lifetime Membership that I have could also be withdrawn if they decide they need more money - I think not!
I told the Manager I was disgusted and would take my custom elsewhere, as did the two other people about to speak to him. This company will close down within the year if they behave like this - they are already struggling. Also check your till price against what you expect to pay - the tills are often wrong. A friend who goes there said she has complained three times in the last year about over-charging at the till, incurring the ire of the till workers and those queuing behind her.

Thompson & Morgan Customer Care Team

A good Company Gone Bad

I have bought hundreds of pounds worth of seeds, plants and bulbs from them over the years. I am a professional gardener and often used them to get hold of specialist plants for my clients. Sadly, like Van Meuwen, who they are affliated with, the staff don't know one plant from another any more. I ordered Eryngium Alpinum plants from them bare-root, and when they produced their first leaves it was obvious they were the easily grown Eryngium Planum - believe me there is a great deal of difference in the two varieties, both in looks and price. After waiting five months for the replacement bare-root plants to arrive, they are obviously exactly the same E. Planum, which is easily obtainable and cheap, and self-seeds. Really disappointed, as I went through the same rigmarole trying to obtain the E. Alpinum with their twin company (Van Meuwen) three times before I just gave up. T&M what have you done. I won't bother ordering from you ever again. The Trades Description Act is never enforced for mail order plants - if you pay for a particular plant that is advertised, how the Dickens can they keep getting away with sending you a cheaper one. If I order steak, I don't want a beefburger!

Maria Derry found this review useful

VioVet

Quick, Efficient Supplier of Pet Medicines

A friend recently recommended VioVet to me so that I could buy EaseFlex Plus chews for my dog. She is nearly 14 and suffers with arthritis. The vet prescribed a drug which did not work and had awful side effects. I tried a pot of these chews, which she really loves and I don't have to force her to take like most arthritis medicine, and she is a different dog, most people think she's a puppy! Viovet website is easy to use and I have ordered my second pot, because you simply can't get it any cheaper anywhere else - my vet charges nearly £80. Also your first order with them gets you £3 off. I only ordered yesterday and it arrived by Royal Mail this morning. Could not be more happy!

City Link

Avoid Like the Plague

First experience of City Link was that despite staying in all day by the front door, they claimed to have left a card to say I wasn't in. They didn't. Tried phoning, waste of money. Tried website that tells you it's out on the van tomorrow - it wasn't. Wasted days waiting in for them, eventually packet sent back to sender saying I'd Gone Away. Just Awful. Second experience even worse. I ordered a Hard Disk Drive Freeview Box from an internet site, same games played saying they'd left a card as I wasn't in and package MUST be signed for. It was always on the van due to be delivered tomorrow, so you have to take the whole day off and wait for them NOT to come. After three days lost pay and numerous calls to their depot, I had to leave the house. You've guessed it, they turned up and left the box in the greenhouse (in front garden), but didn't put a note through the door. They didn't get a signature, and it was a Saturday, which I was told they NEVER deliver on by their depot. I discovered it the next day. If I had turned it on without thinking the damn thing would have ignited when the condensation inside it shorted it out. Very angry. Wrote a letter of complaint to them (no reply) and the sender who gave me £25 back as compensation for City Link's blatant incompetance. Three days later another City Link van turns up with a duplicate package sent by my internet company. I told him I could not accept it and to return it to sender - wonder if it ever got there!

DPD UK

Great Courier

I ordered a PC from Chillbast recently, and was horrified to see they showed City Link as the Courier. On contacting Chillblast they said they'd only send out completed PCs via DPD as they'd had issues with City Link - like most of us had! DPD emailed to tell me where the package was and the tracking on the website was easy to follow. They emailed to tell me WITHIN THE HOUR that it would be delivered, and they turned up with an undamaged package 15 minutes into that precise hour - I live down a country lane with no house numbers so parcels invariably go astray or get damaged. A friend who uses them regularly also praised their efficiency, so was glad I also had a good experience. I'd always opt for them now.

28 October 2012

Reply from DPD UK

Hi Vanessa,

I'm glad you had such a good experience with us! Hopefully you order with us again sometime soon :)

Thanks, Richard

CHILLBLAST

Good After-Sales Service with Reservations

Having owned PCs for over 25 years and always tinkered with them myself, I debated whether to fully build my own system this time around, but osteoarthritis has ruined my manual dexterity somewhat, so to save too much grief decided to let a nimbler-fingered person do it for me. Chillblast always get good reviews for customer service/support, build quality, reliability and the ability to alter most components to suit your requirements. I priced out a system I wanted on their website and got an overclocked i5 and Asus P8X77-V Motherboard, with Akasa Nero 3 CPU Cooler. Even with the £25 delivery charge, the whole system came out with a build cost of under £100. I thought this was worth it, and ordered my new system with a build/test/delivery time of 7 to 10 working days. After 5 working days I emailed them to ask if I was to expect the machine next week as the updater on their website showed it hadn't even been built yet. They emailed back quickly to say due to increased orders it was now 10 to 14 working days. A pity that I couldn't tell this by accessing their website, but I thought it would be worth the wait. Sure enough it was in the build and test phase after 5 more dayss. Then I noticed that although their website say they use DPD, my order referred to the dreadful City Link as courier. I emailed them immediately to double check in case I could spare the time and petrol to go down to Bournemouth to pick it up myself. Within fourteen minutes they emailed back to say it was actually going to be DPD - great, never had a problem with them. They emailed me once it had been built and collected by DPD and I received the delivery in the allocated one hour delivery slot. I unpacked my new system. I was amazed that having spent 8 days being "tested by Chillblast" the fan on my Akasa CPU cooler wasn't even fitted - had they actually done any testing? I checked all component parts were exactly as ordered, fine. All as stated and paid for. Chillblast office not open as PC was delivered at 5.20pm, so set to putting the fan on myself. Really awkward and fiddly, and you can fit it either side of the unit, I opted for the side that didn't obscure my RAM bays and plugged into motherboard. Of course I emailed them next day with photos of what I'd done. Got an email back to say it must have fallen off during transit. OK possibly it could have come off the unit, but not unplugged itself from the motherboard. Anyway, so I should have fitted it on the other side, over the RAM bays. So after much fiddling and cursing I managed this. Ok so the system is great but I'd paid for a good one, and couldn't fault the delivery people either, but come on guys, if I hadn't checked my system and turned it on I could have burnt out the CPU. The question remains - why had I waited nearly 3 weeks for something that could have been built in a morning PROPERLY? Had it even been tested I wondered? I emailed Chillblast to ask them, and the reply came back
"We do see a certain number of problems with CPU coolers come loose during the delivery process. We try to use coolers which we have had few issues with but this doesn’t mean that they always arrive in perfect working order unfortunately. I can assure you that your PC was run through a full 24 hour test before it was shipped out to you, and I’m incredibly sorry for the condition the PC arrived in."
All I can say is I am somewhat skeptical that it could have detached itself from the four pin motherboard socket, as well as the four rubber fittings (incredibly difficult to fit and remove I might add). So check your systems thoroughly on arrival. Would I buy from them again - yes probably, they were quick to reply to queries and their after-sales support refreshingly helpful. Update to review - Chillblast emailed me having read this review and explained The Akasa Nero 3 cooler you have in your system is attached to the heat sink via four rubber anti-vibration grommets which although sturdy enough to survive 99 shipments out of 100 can come off if the system is subjected to a heavy enough jolt by the courier. Once detached the weight of the fan unit itself can easily cause it to detach from the four pin plug, which is held on by friction alone. I am really sorry you had a frustrating experience re-attaching the fan to the cooler. If you send a quick email to ben@chillblast.com I will make sure you receive steam download codes for two free PC games as some small compensation for the inconvenience you have endured. I am glad to hear that now the fan has been reattached you are happy with your system. True to form Ben from Chillblast emailed me the codes for two Steam games same day - what can I say Truly Brilliant After Sales Service! Upgraded my rating to Five Stars.

24 October 2012

Reply from Chillblast

Dear Vanessa

Thanks for your review and I am so sorry that the fan on the heat sink came off on its way to you. The Akasa Nero 3 cooler you have in your system is attached to the heat sink via four rubber anti-vibration grommets which although sturdy enough to survive 99 shipments out of 100 can come off if the system is subjected to a heavy enough jolt by the courier. Once detached the weight of the fan unit itself can easily cause it to detach from the four pin plug, which is held on by friction alone. I am really sorry you had a frustrating experience re-attaching the fan to the cooler. If you send a quick email to ben@chillblast.com I will make sure you receive steam download codes for two free PC games as some small compensation for the inconvenience you have endured. I am glad to hear that now the fan has been reattached you are happy with your system.

Thank you very much

Ben
Sales Director
Chillblast.com

The Society for All Artists

A must for all aspiring artists

I heard about the SAA through my Art Group and a friend let me have some old copies of Paint magazine to look at. I was immediately impressed with the articles and the help inside and wrote away for the free sample of the magazine. Well that clinched it! I joined up the next day and using the easy website began buying artists materials on their Home Shop. They were much cheaper than other suppliers, if a little slower to arrive, (my only criticism). They send a welcome pack with a hard copy of the catalogue, which is glossy and a good flick through for selection of materials and DVDs etc. Paint magazine is full of helpful and inspiring articles, and I keep my copies close to hand in my studio for reference.

MS VANESSA BAVINGTON´s profile

profile image of MS VANESSA BAVINGTON
MS VANESSA BAVINGTON
Reviewer
United Kingdom

About

Self-Employed Gardener
I love the outdoor life, but contrarily am an avid gamer too. I sell my paintings and drawings through local exhibitions and shops. I don't like to be pigeon-holed or classified. We all have different facets to our personalities, let's enjoy them in ourselves and in others!