Jake Mallinder´s profile

Reviews (1)

Hispek Electronics

Buyer beware - don't expect to be able to return items unless they are faulty or still boxed and sealed.

Having looked round for the best price on a pair of Yamaha ceiling speakers this company appeared to be able to meet my needs - the cheapest price online (£149 for the pair) and quick delivery (in stock and ready for delivery).
Unfortunately I won't be ordering from this company again. They called shortly after I placed the order to say that the item wasn't actually in stock but would be in 7 to 10 days. I changed my plans round and stuck with it. When they arrived I tested them for no more than 5 mins and concluded that the quality of the sound was more like a set of cheap PC speakers. I decide to send them back to Hispek and that's where the problems started. I was told that I could return them but that they would deduct a charge for the cost of postage (no problems with that) AND a re-stocking fee of 30%!! They referred me to their terms and conditions (hidden away on their website) where this is stated. The item is back in it's original packaging and is as new but despite this they were adamant that these are the only terms available for the return. (I tried all day to get them to help me) So, the cost of returning a pair of speakers that are in their box and in full working order is over £50!
I won't deal with them again. Imagine if you ordered a £1000 TV from them and was really disappointed with the sound and picture quality. Would it really cost them £300 for you to return the item! I think not.
I'll be sticking to the reputable companies in the future. I order almost everything online and haven't come across this before (maybe other companies have the same t's and c's but they choose not to enforce them because they want customers to come back). I'll stick to <External Link Removed> in the future who encourage you try in your home first and return and re-package in an as new condition. If I'd gone with them I wouldn't be £50 worse off now.

09 November 2012

Reply from Strangewood Ltd

Dear Mr Mallinder,

We are sorry you have had cause to post a poor review, your comments have been duly noted.

The speakers are due back to us today, they will be tested on arrival as you expressed a concern they may be faulty and you will be contacted once the test is completed. Initially you advised us that the quality was not what you expected in that the sound is tinny with no low end base.

As you were not happy to agree to our advice of the 30% restock fee as the goods have been opened therefore can not be sold on as a new product, it was suggested that you refer to our terms and conditions to view our cancellation and refund and exchange policy which are clearly on our web site for more information.

You will receive advice over the next couple of working days once our test engineer has completed his role.


hispek.com team

Jake Mallinder´s profile

profile image of Jake Mallinder
Jake Mallinder
Male, 1972
United Kingdom