Brian Mussared´s profile

Reviews (1)

The London Pass

waste of money and time

We had to demand at Wesminster Abbey to get in. They were letting in groups that arrived after us, we did not use the travel card at all, we were ripped off in the hard to find Harrods gift shop, the river cruise good except Cutty Sark would not take London Card, best venues were free like the Art Gallery, Museum and V&A. We will not be recommending the card to any friends. For what we paid for the cards we should have saved the money. I would recommend cabs, walking and waiting in lines. eg St Pauls Cathedral was shut the day we were there and also the oldest church in England was closed also.
The only two good venues where we could use the card were the Tower and War Rooms.

15 November 2012

Reply from

Dear Mr Mussared

Many thanks for your comments. We are unsure as to why you had a problem at Westminster Abbey as it is in our top three attractions and we send thousands of people there each month. If you had contacted us we may have been able to help but it does appear you were given entry so we hope that this was satisfactory.

Regarding travel – this is an optional extra to the London Pass and it is up to each customer whether or not to add it on.

Harrods did move the location of their gift shop which we had no control over so we apologise that we were unable to inform you in time.

We do not state that entry to the Cutty Sark is included – all the included attractions are in the guidebook and on our website so we are unsure as to why you thought it would accept the London Pass.

You only used your 6 day pass for 2 days. Had you used it on the other days you only would have needed to visit one more attraction to have started saving money. You may have been better off purchasing a shorter duration pass if you only wanted to visit attractions for 2 days – which are also available on our website.

Regarding St. Paul’s Cathedral – we send out an e-newsletter to all customers with information about closures around the time that they visit which you received but did not open – the closure you mention was included in that email and as a working church (as is All Hallows by the Tower) they are subject to closures as they are primarily a place of worship.

You mention only two good venues but you did also say that City Cruises was good.
We must also point out that the weekend you visited was during the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee celebrations when many things were subject to altered opening hours – again these were in the email and on our website.

So overall you visited Westminster Abbey, Jewel Tower, Florence Nightingale Museum, Churchill War Rooms, City Cruises, Tower of London and the Courtauld Gallery. In total that would have cost you £78.75 – so had you visited just one or two more attractions and/or utilized the other 4 days (or bought a shorter duration - or chosen to purchase a pass without travel) you would have saved money.

We hope that this goes some way to clarifying the points in your review.

Brian Mussared´s profile

profile image of Brian Mussared
Brian Mussared
United Kingdom