Brian D´s profile

Reviews (1)

PC Specialist Ltd

Unfortunately wasn't happy with service provided

I ordered an Optimus IV laptop from Pc Specialist, the waiting time was quite long but that was probably mostly me being too excited!

When I received the laptop all the hardware looked great and It was nicely (albeit plainly) boxed and packaged. When i booted it up for the first time this is where the problems started, the matte display looked very grainy and i realy wasn't happy as i was expecting much better picture out of a full HD 1920x1080 display. It probably has to do the matte option i picked when ordering but still i had previous matte laptops including a 6 year old MacBook pro which had a much better picture.

Then i couldn't install the drivers as the CD provided wasn't compatible with windows 8.... i rang up support 3 times trying to solve this, was emailed the drivers from PC Specialist but even when i installed the said drivers i still couldn't get THX audio or Bluetooth to work, and the graphics card wasn't working at full potential.

The trackpad is also quite unresponsive at times which is very annoying, when ringing up to ask for a refund i was told there was a charge of 50 euro to refund the item, then i had to send back with a courier at my own expensive as i live in the republic of Ireland, that cost me 35 euro, and the windows 8 software which was causing most of the problems could not be refunded as it was activated, but of course the OS is going to be activated before you find out all the driver problems etc... that's the first thing you do when you get a new compute, activate the god damn OS!!!

Laptop is in the box waiting to be sent back (at my own expense) so now i am losing out around 180 euro in the process of sending this back and having a copy of windows 8 i don't want!

Very annoyed and wont be ordering again

20 November 2012

Reply from PC Specialist

Dear Sir,

While we at PC Specialist can understand your frustration, the problems you are having are driver related - these are being updated daily from all manufacturers now with the release of Windows 8.

We are sorry you do not find the screen to your taste; again, this is a personal choice as you have stated, and Matte screens are not to everyone’s taste.

We have tried helping via various phone calls, forum posts and emails - we have solved all Optimus driver related problems on all other queries.

Sadly, when a new OS is released there can be teething problems and this is a prime example of this.

You are returning the laptop under the 7 day distance selling cooling off period, this does incur a processing fee, and we also do not have the means to collect from your location.

Everything above is stated in the terms and conditions which you agreed to when ordering the laptop.

If you do have a complaint to submit you can do this at and we will ensure this is looked at as soon as possible.

Brian D´s profile

profile image of Brian D
Brian D
United Kingdom