Mark Camillin´s profile

Reviews (2)

UK Digital Cameras

NO RESPONSE TO FAULTY CAMERA, 3 ATTEMPTS TO RETURN FAULTY GOODS, WHERE IS THIS SUPERB SERVICE?????

I purchased a Canon Powershot G12 from this company 2 years ago. The controls on it have stopped working twice, we purchased a 5 year warranty with the camera. We phoned UK Digital Cameras to report the fault and they directed us to there website where you click on a returns button and report your fault, then you wait and wait and wait, then you try again two further times, but there is no response. Then I tried to phone, but was told they were closed and don't open till late morning, so I emailed their sales email address and asked them to call me, after two further email requests 'Holly' phoned me and informed me that it is my spam settings at fault, I check my junk mail everyday and assure Holly that this is not the case, she then admits that they have website problems and will get it fixed soon. She then sends me an address to return the camera, simultaneously her colleague Trina miraculously finds my previous attempts to report the fault and sends me a completely different address to return the camera, Holly then says she doesn't know which of the addresses I should send the camera to. I ask to speak to the manager but Holly says that I can't and that he works from London and she will have to get him to call me. It is now 3 weeks since my camera became faulty.

The manager calls me and offers me an ex demonstration camera as a replacement claiming that the G12 is no longer available despite being on Canon's and Amazon's websites, I return my faulty camera special delivery, they send me the demo camera which doesn't turn up, having taken the morning off work to wait in for it, I find out that they have tried to deliver it in the afternoon.

I then receive a stream of correspondence from the manager stating that I needed to wait in all day, that I must also return the battery and charger and accessories and free gift! from the faulty camera despite being told just to send the camera previously.

Currently we have no camera, this company has not offered any refund or alternative and their warranty seems to be worthless. We are now taking legal advice regarding the terms of the warranty.

An extremely frustrating process, very, very poor customer after sales service. This is the second time we have had the same fault, and lost the use of the camera for 4-6 weeks. A camera that is not fit for purpose, but I am told that 'it is 2 years old' £400 for 2 years use of a camera minus the 8-12 weeks it has been faulty and away being repaired.

Paul Verrall found this review useful

02 October 2013

Reply from UK Digital Cameras

Dear Mr Camillin

I'm sorry that you felt frustrated with our service.

As explained over the phone by a member of our senior management, the delay in responding to your return request was a system error for which we have apologised profusely - both over the phone and by email. In an attempt to rectify the situation we immediately sent you a replacement camera even before we had received back your faulty one. Our warranty states that we are only required to repair the camera but we chose to exceed this in light of the situation.

You accepted both our apology and our replacement camera on the phone and we sent it the same day by Royal Mail Special Delivery. The delivery was attempted as we had promised and you collected from the depot the following day.

When we noticed that delivery had been attempted we informed you immediately and in the same email we requested that you return (at our own cost) the battery and charger from your original camera. This was not a demand but a polite request and there was no mention by us of you needing to return the freebies that you originally received with your order.

As a result of this request, having not yet collected your replacement from the depot, you decided to change your mind and stated that you wanted a full refund for the camera that you bought 2 years ago. We apologised and informed you that this would not be possible.

We feel that the offer of a replacement camera - which you initially accepted - was a very good one, given that it resulted in you receiving an as-new camera the very next day following your conversation with Phil, rather than having to wait 2-4 weeks for a repair.

We are a small, family run business that will always do everything in our power to look after our customers. We fully honoured the warranty that you purchased from us and went beyond this with the offer of a replacement. Once again, I apologise for the initial hiccups with your return and trust that the replacement camera that you now have is working out well for you.

Kind regards,

Andrew Showman, Director
UK Digital Cameras

Notonthehighstreet

WOULD NOT GIVE REFUND

Not on the High Street are a company that act as middle men for various sellers, they mark-up the prices and basically take your money. If goods don't arrive they refuse to refund you unless they have received the refund from the seller - I'm not certain that what they are doing is legal as their contract is with the customer - there is no contract with the seller and customer.
The Christmas decorations that we ordered had not arrived after 3 weeks of waiting and being fobbed off by NOTHS so we demanded a refund - they told us that we would have to wait 10 days until they had received the money back from the seller. We threatened them with the small claims court and they backed down.

Mark Camillin´s profile

profile image of Mark Camillin
Mark Camillin
Reviewer
1964
Hove, United Kingdom

About