Simon McCarthy´s profile

Reviews (3)

Appliance City

Great to deal with and value for money, delivery appalling in my experience

I ordered a number of expensive goods, £4,000 in total and throughout the order process it was easy, clear and most of all helpful, as the items were ordered weeks in advance in preparation for a delivery to a new build house and in line with the kitchen fitters arriving to take delivery. I arranged for the week commencing the 7th April. This is where the experience turns rather sour. I received a call from the delivery driver on Friday to say he had to deliver Saturday. This is depsite being promised 48hours notice. This ruined my client meeting as I was clearly I was at work as was my wife and my builder was on holiday, the key holder. So after disturbing me, my wife, the kitchen company and the builder to try and arrange for the house to be open on Saturday, more or less ruining the weekend, I arrived to take delivery. The driver then damaged a new wall and by his own admission explained he could have delivered next week but it would have been inconvenient for him to do so!. To top it all I managed to get a cracked windshieldd on the drive home. The reply to my complaint from Appliance City was the usual patronising script that answered nothing and made no mention af the stress, damage and wasted Saturday. The main excuse semed to be it was my fault for living in Aberdeen as it is so far away it was impossible to guarantee a deliver period. If that is the case, then they should not say they can./ The closing comment centred around customer service being of "Paramount Importance", sadly this is not the case if you live in Scotland or attempt to complain.

6 days ago

Reply from Appliancecity

We were sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the delivery of your recent order. As we explained, unfortunately our carrier was only able to deliver to your area on Saturday on the week in question. This meant the delivery could either be a couple of days early or at the end of the following week. We always try to exceed our customer expectation and unfortunately failed in this instance.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this caused.

Ian, Customer Care

Angling Active

Fantastic service, quick, easy and competitive.

Purchased Simms star cleats, the website says the box contains 18 when in fact it only contains 16, otherwise I would have given 10 stars given the chance. Haven't opened the container to check but unless they have opened it and placed an extra 2 in, it says 16. It's all in the detail!

18 February 2013

Reply from Angling Active Ltd

Hi Simon, Thanks for taking the time to review our service. This was indeed an error when the product was created on our website and has been corrected. We are glad you found the rest of the order process smooth and we hope you will choose to shop with us again.


Feeling totally ignored!

I am sure my equipment will turn up promptly and as ordered. My gripe is in the fact that despite emailing them and telephoning them, leaving my details for a callback to enquire about an Armed Forces Discount that one of the shops confirmed they do offer, nobody bothered to reply to either. I ended up ordering regardless but will go back to my previous supplier for future orders. Not feeling very valued.

12 December 2012

Reply from

Dear Simon.

Please accept our apology. This is certainly not an excuse but as a company we have just experienced our busiest week in our long trading history. I have drafted in extra staff from our stores to help our web team and happily they are up to speed.
As you can see from the many reviews we pride ourselves in valuing our customers. If we can redeem this situation in the future please refer to the MOD web site where you will find your discount code-our staff are not authorised to disclose this on the phone.

Steve Moseley

Simon McCarthy´s profile

profile image of Simon McCarthy
Simon McCarthy
United Kingdom