Mr Bradshaw´s profile

Reviews (1)

Simplelighting.co.uk

BEWARE OF ADDITIONAL DELIVERY CHARGES!!!

The lights we got were great, but please be careful you are not stung for a delivery charge!!! When we bought the goods online, we were told the delivery was free, had an order confirmation that told me the delivery was free, especially as they had my address and postcode. So imagine my surprise when I get a telephone call telling me my lights were too big and I had to pay a delivery cost!! I immediately baulked at that idea! I was told their system did not calculate weight, and must pay a delivery charge because of my lights size. Firstly I told them that it was not my fault that their system did not calculate the correct delivery charge (my order had said the cost was nil), and secondly I had a legally binding order confirmation of zero delivery. After much conversation, I was told that if they could put all the lights in one box I would not pay a charge. They eventually rang me back and said there was now no charge to pay!!
This clearly does not leave a nice taste, and I do wonder if they do this to all their customers!! It is not my fault their systems do not work

05 February 2013

Reply from Simple Lighting Co

Dear Mr Bradshaw. Thank you for your review.

We take all customer feedback seriously & I would hope that our current rating on trustpilot shows us positively as a great company to deal with.

I have looked into this order personally & on review I can see that your address is in the Scottish highlands which is the reason why you were contacted & asked to pay a little extra towards your delivery.

The reason why our website does not tell you at the point of order is as follows;

1) We actually send out 90% of orders into the Scottish highlands & northern Ireland free of charge because the size & weight of the parcel allows us to use a different carrier such as royal mail.

2) Our system actually does not allow us to surcharge at the point of order. Something which our I.T developers have tried to over come, over the past few months. But it is not as simple as we would like it to be.

Just touching on the first point, what we do is look at every order personally which is better than just charging everyone a higher rate.

Example, If you ordered a small, low value item which 80% of our sales are. We would not charge you anything extra & just ship out by royal mail free of charge.

So we have two options;

1) We charge everyone this amount regardless of order size & value
2) We man manager every order with a personal touch and make the decision at the time the order is packed.

I hope this answers your concerns. But as you said, following our phone call with you. We looked at the order value and actually waived this fee anyway.

Please remember, we do not set these charges. It is the couriers who do so, so we just pass on our costs.

Thank you for your order.

Chris

Mr Bradshaw´s profile

profile image of Mr Bradshaw
Mr Bradshaw
Reviewer
United Kingdom

About