Gayle´s profile

Reviews (1)

Mattress Next Day

Rude delivery driver with no thought for customer service!

I ordered a double mattress with duvet and pillows from this company and paid extra for a set delivery as I was moving to a new 1st floor flat on the day of delivery. I put it the notes section of the order that I would not have access to the 1st floor flat until 12pm to reiterate the importance of my choice of delivery not being until after this time. I then received a phone call from the driver at 11:10am on the day of delivery demanding I answer the door. I explained that I was not there and wouldn't have access till 12. He then said he was tired and wanted to go home so I need to get a taxi or something and open up. When I explained how this would be impossible he asked if I had a trusted neighbour he could leave it with. I then again explained that I wouldn't know as I hadn't moved in yet! He then started to get irrateted with me and huffed something about ringing his manager before slamming the phone down on me. 10 mins later I got a call back from him telling me he left it next door. When I got to the flat I went to collect it and had to struggle with the very large item up the stairs on my own (bearing in mind I am a young female with an extremely bad back... Hence me ordering their orthopaedic mattress) I was not impressed after spending half an hour trying to get it up the stairs to find out they had sent me a single duvet not a double so had to go out and purchase another one anyway. This was the worst experience I have ever revived from a retailer and I would never purchase from them again, it wasn't that cheap and I ended up paying a lot for a delivery service I didn't receive.

12 March 2013

Reply from MattressNextDay

Dear Gayle

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We apologise if the driver was rude as that behaviour is unacceptable.

We offer free delivery between 8am and 5pm or for a delivery charge of £6-95 the customer can narrow the delivery slot to 8am to 1pm. We unfortunately can't deliver at exact times or avoid certain times as we use a courier and they will deliver during the time slot the customer has agreed to on the order. Again, as we use a courier to deliver, deliveries are door to door on the ground floor. Drivers are not insured to enter the customers premises and will not carry orders upstairs. These points are stated on our website.

We apologise if you were not happy with our service, we have taken your points on board and aim to improve on service delivery.

Kind regards,

Gayle´s profile

profile image of Gayle
United Kingdom