Pauline Farmer´s profile

Reviews (1)

Dawsons Music

Deliver or not deliver, that is the question!!

I recently placed an order with Dawsons, for a present for my son who is studying Sound Technology in University, he also works in a recording studio. My son told me to order through various other companies, but the website seemed 'genuine', showing various shops etc and I therefore felt the company, being in the UK, was worth a try. I ordered the item on a Monday, expecting the standard delivery to be approx that same week on Friday, but the item never came.

I then received the e-mail asking for my opinion on my experience with Dawsons, strange as the item hadn't yet arrived. I thought I would look for the tracking number given on the Fed-Ex website, this didn't exist either.

I rang Dawsons, spoke to a 'Paul' who checked the order details from the number I had been given and he told me the item had been delivered and gave me the POD signature name. I explained the name was not known by me and the item had not been received at my address and he said he would look into it and get back to me that day (Friday), As I had had no returned call by Monday/Tuesday of the following week, I rang Dawsons again, spoke to Paul again and he told me he was trying to sort out getting the item back with the courier and would re-send the item that day and it would be at my address no later than Thursday (last week on 14th March). I also gave Paul additional instructions of the area where I live. I was then asked by Paul to ring on Thursday morning to confirm a time of delivery.

I dutifully rang on Thursday morning to be told the item hadn't even left Dawsons..... I was then told it would be posted out to be delivered the following day, but this was of no use to me as I had already stayed at home on 2 occasions waiting for a delivery and I would not be at home that weekend from the Friday. I was quite upset on the phone, as I felt the first 'error' could have been rectified by sending as 'next day delivery' at the cost of Dawsons to keep a good customer relationship, but this was not offered. However, I was happy about this at the time as I could make arrangements to be home on the Thursday, but when the item hadn't even left for delivery at this point, I was disappointed.

I know my order was only for £35 and not for some expensive equipment at this time, but as this was my first purchase, which could potentially bring further custom from myself, my son, his studio colleagues and his tutors etc, I felt I had a raw deal and I wasn't offered any support to rectify the situation - I won't be using Dawsons in the future and I certainly won't be recommending them either.

19 March 2013

Reply from Dawsons Music

Hi Pauline,

Thank you for your review and sincere apologies that you experienced a delay with delivery. I have looked into this issue and will need to further investigate with the courier why the parcel was delivered to the incorrect address in the first place. Unfortunately, we had to wait for the item to be returned first, before we could re-dispatch. However, we understand that this delay was extremely inconvenient and that you should have been better informed of progress during this time. I can only apologise for this, as this is not our usual level of service.

We take customer complaints very seriously so please be assured that this will be followed up.

A member of the team will also be in touch to extend our apologies.

Kindest Regards,

Paul O’Toole
Dawsons Customer Relations Manager

Pauline Farmer´s profile

profile image of Pauline Farmer
Pauline Farmer
United Kingdom