Robin Cooper´s profile

Reviews (1)

Auto Europe UK

Problem with Hertz

Hertz took R1200 from my bank account without my knowledge, which they claimed was a deposit for 'possible' charges e.g fuel, fines. They maintained this information was in the Auto-Europe document; if so I could not find it. But also as the Rand weakened whilst I was in SA, the refund was less than the original amount. There may have been a small amount taken to fully refill the tank, but no confirmatory document was sent to me. There is a need for much clearer, simple statements associated with all financial matters.

Robin Cooper

Michael Lyall found this review useful

02 April 2013

Reply from Auto Europe UK

Dear Mr Cooper,

Thank you for your comment. I am sorry for the inconvenience you encountered at the pick up time. While security deposit block is a standard car rental practice (this information is listed both on our booking engine as well as on your voucher), the actual amount that is being blocked on your credit card varies from supplier to supplier and depends on your insurance option. Therefore, Auto Europe advises our customers that deposit amount equals a minimum of: excess + fuel + vat.

In regards to your rate exchange charge - please contact our customer service at: customerservice@auto-europe.co.uk and forward your credit card statement with hire deposit record (please black out any sensitive information). We will contact the local supplier on your behalf to verify a possible refund.

Kind regards,
Kathryn
Auto Europe

Robin Cooper´s profile

profile image of Robin Cooper
Robin Cooper
Reviewer
United Kingdom

About